Janet Jackson's boyfriend sets the record straight | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 3 November 2010

Janet Jackson's boyfriend sets the record straight

In the latest issue of VMAN Magazine, Janet Jackson's billionaire boyfriend, Wissam Al Mana declares,

“I don’t date Janet Jackson. She is my girlfriend; there is a difference"
OK. But please can someone explain the difference?

21 comments:

Date as used in the western world context means they are not yet in a relationship. They go out on dates as the name implies and are still getting to know themselves to determine if to move on to the next level, which will be the boyfriend/girlfriend stage.

silk said...

u are very right anon.

There is a big difference Linda- dating is an expression used to mean playing games with each other whereas relationship indicates exactly what the word means- I applaud this man for coming out to say he is in a relationship with Janet Jackson- this indicates respect for her!

SOLA said...

Bravo Anon 1015am!
There you have it, Linda sweets.

ugo said...

but ofcourse... dating is not exclusive, but "girl/boyfriend" differentiates that person as your exclusive property. you can be dating several people at the same time but you cant have several girl/boyfriends at the same time

janet don hammer be dat =)

Dating sometimes means you are just going out hand having fun and not yet committed and exclusive.

Fomsky said...

Oh ok

anonymous 10.15am....ur spot on..

hahahahahaah. This bros no dey shame to talk. U no go marry her? ya arguing about dating...sheesh!

Lol, just semantics..

Surprise said...

Linda, I learnt you are a graduate of english, pls educate us on the issue.

Linda, just wondering if you have heard about that Azuka (this day journalist) and onyeka owenu's katakata over Toni Paynehttp://that1960chick.com/2010/11/03/in-defense-of-toni-payne-onyeka-onwenu-blasts-writer/

You can date several women at the same time. When you decide to be monogamous, you become boyfriend and girlfriend.

shouldn't it be the other way round? you can have lots of girlfriends and boy friends without been sexual or intimate with the person (or them). where as, dating, i mean a lady cant just go on a date with a guy if their isnt or maybe something is fishing. So i think they are just friends with benefits... kinda open relationship... i think,
You are dating someone, its more than just boyfriend or girlfriend or just seeing someone, it is intimate, you like the person for reasons best know to you.

ChiCLuv said...

@ Ugo - which wan be "exclusive property" again, abeg? Is she a slave or part of a chartel? What an antiquated way of describing a woman in a relationship!

Myne said...

First Anon said it all...

Dating is just going out/talking and checking each other other out with no strings attached...just dating!
Boyfriend/Girlfriend is taking it to the next level of dating...that is you guys are now an item as a couple; as in boyfriend and girlfriend...meaning serious relationship!

got it? Lol!

hahahha...story story...we know you aint gonna marry her. Just like Naomi Campbell's many billionaire ex boyfriends, good for showing her off all over the world on their $75 million yatch but they never took her home to mamam

ChiChiLuv said...

3.39am: Janet might not care to go meet his mama in Qatr, she's been married twice so she is not in the same boat as Naomi Campbell who does the rounds of rich men without producing any ring on her finger. Janet doesn't even want children sef and the two marriages she's had were keep a deep secret until the divorces.

skankmypeaceofmind said...

date means TRYOUTS
girlfriend/boyfriend means THE REAL DEAL

skankmypeaceofmind said...

dating means TRYOUTS
boyfriend/girlfriend means THE DEAL
fiance means THE ONE