Mother of rape victim cries out for justice | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 4 November 2010

Mother of rape victim cries out for justice

The victim

The mother of a 13-year-old girl, in Ajangbadi, Lagos suburb, who was allegedly raped and tortured by a co-tenant, has cried out for justice.

She has particularly appealed to the wife of the state governor, Mrs. Abimbola Fashola and other concerned mothers to assist in ensuring that the suspect is prosecuted.

Cheta (other names withheld) was allegedly raped and a deep cut inflicted on her private part, which also affected her intestine.

According to the distraught mother, some of her daughter’s intestine were seen gushing out from her vagina after the dastardly act. A medical doctor in a private hospital pushed the intestines back and stitched the private part, to stop excessive bleeding which according to her, lasted for two days.

The victim, who spoke of her ordeal in the hands of one the suspect, Chukwuemeka (other names withheld), narrated how she went to dispose of refuse, after her aunty she was living with had gone out before the unfortunate incident.

According to her, she was on her way to the refuse dump site when the suspect called her.
“As a co-tenant I regarded as an elder brother, I did not suspect he would hurt me,” she said
According to her, Emmy, as the suspect is fondly called, in the area, lured her into the flat where he lives quickly locked up the door.

“He pushed me down and used one of his hands to cover my mouth and held me to the ground.” He succeeded in removing my clothes but I vowed not to allow him have his way. I started struggling with him but he kept warning to kill me, if I did not succumb, but I resisted,” she said.

The victim, who sobbed as she spoke to Daily Sun, continued: “He has long nails. So, he used them to tear my vagina. The nails penetrated inside me and it was as if he was using sharp razor blade to cut my private part. He did not have pity on me even when blood was gushing out from my vagina. “The man was using his fingers as if he was frantically searching for a missing object. I almost died. And when he realised the magnitude of the damage he had done to me, he stood up.

It was when I stood up that I noticed that my intestine was gushing out. I thought I was going to die but I managed to go home to narrate my ordeal to people before I would die.” The victim’s mother, a single parent, told Daily Sun that she lived in Ikotun area of the metropolis, while her daughter lived with her younger sister at Ajamgbadi. She told how she was phoned and informed that her daughter had been rushed to a private hospital, after her encounter with the victim.

The angry woman, who simply identified herself as Madam Ify said she was devastated, when she saw the condition of her daughter. “ As a single mother, I knew that my world has collapsed. I tried to imagine the harrowing experience my daughter went through and the excruciating pains she went through during the attack. So, I rushed to the Ajamgbadi police station, where I reported the matter,” she said.

She disclosed that her life is now in danger after she reported the matter to the police. According to her, the suspect’s uncle and other members of his family had been threatening and intimidating her for reporting the case to the police. To her surprise also, her younger sister she was living with, had aligned with the suspect to blame her for reporting the matter to the police.

She alleged how she was beaten up at the hospital by the suspect’s relatives, which compelled the police to charge the matter to court. According to her, immediately the police charged the matter to court, Chukwuemeka’s family members threatened to abandon her daughter in the hospital.
“So, I was blackmailed to withdraw the case from the court and wrote an undertaking not to pursue the case in court any longer.”

She said even after writing the undertaking, her daughter was still abandoned at the hospital with a medical bill of N45,000, hanging on her neck. She said each time she went to Chukwuemeka’s family to request for the payment of the hospital bill, they threatened her.

She said her daughter had been having psychological trauma and abdominal pains since the attack on her by Chukwuemeka. “I am a single parent. I have no money to follow up the case. I beg Mrs. Abimbola Fashola, the Deputy Governor of Lagos state, Princess. Sarah Sosan and all concerned women to fight this battle for my daughter. It is a war against female intimidation and inhumanity to womenfolk,” she said.

Source: The Sun

34 comments:

I can only imagine what this poor girl has gone through and is still going through. This stupid man has ruined this girl's life! The guy's family and girl's aunt who are supporting this evil act forget that this girl is human just like they are. Linda pls, I will sign a petition and have a few of my friends sign it to take to Fashola's wife if need be. If you can start something like that on your blog to make sure this poor girl and her single mother get justice for what was done to the girl. I'm so furious abt this and don't even know what to do! It's so sad that people support evil so boldly and get away with it! I hope that this Emeka of a guy and the rest of the family that support this inhumane act suffer more than job and die slowly and miserably!!!!!

What goes around comes around !Mr. Oppressor .... My heart goes out to this young girl and I just prayed for her and will continue to do so !...

Ade_Cool said...

Saw this yesterday I've never heard anything like this..has Satan taken residence in Nigeria?..amidst all the churches and mosques this happens!!..
The other time some dude literally cut off the head of two of his nieces.this ain't no ordinary crime..it's just something out of this world!!..
9ja needs a firm hand..and with all this rubbish don't be suprised if the military come back!!

Surprise said...

hhmmn... whoever makes others to experience evil,may evil never depart from such a person IJN, amen

I have a God who never fails

Linda I & Bella N, these are the kind of stuff y'all need to mobilize yourself for and do something about.Anonymous 7:07PMhas said something about a petition.Can we do something about this?It is not all about glitz & glam o

Oh God why? Linda, please can you use your connects to find a contact details for the family? I would love to help in any way i can. I will also do some research on my end.

This is horrendous.

Theresa said...

I saw this story on The Sun and was hoping you would report it so we can all contribute to helping the girl. Its not enough for us to only get angry and pray, but to act and get justice for the girl. With the way this issue is being handled, why won't other people commit the same crime, because they feel they can always get away with it. I also support the call for a petition Linda. If this is the only good we do, i'm sure God will be happy that we were the voice of the voiceless.

I will pay for lawyer fees, IF I find this case the way it's told, got a tiger in the court.. will gladly pay his fees to see that this crap don't go except through the court system..

tplusf said...

yes I second Anon....

Lets petition to Mrs Fashola because the poor girl's life is ruined by a satanic rapist who will never be judged in any court of law....

I can't imagine this happening to any girl of her age. God will never rest o!!!

very wrong
the culprit is clearly possessed. I pray that Emma gets fully recovered soonest and that he comfort her mum.

Linda, ps put up petition, let us put our voices behind this

Thank you

This is more than horrible.

Nuhu Kwajafa of GIPLC is taking collections for the girl and helping to resolve her medical bills. Find him on Facebook if you want to help. N45K is only $300, some of us spend more than that in a weekend. It's time we too put hand in helping and stop expecting these heartless leaders to extend a helping hand. I've donated, have you?

Linda Ikeji said...

so how do we start this petition?...i'm down

Dobs said...

This is a nightmare, OMG. My heart goes out to the poor girl. I cannot begin to imagine what she has gone through, is going through and will still go through psychologically. A trusted adult becomes a let down to a child, 13yrs old...if it was abroad, they will put him on a pedophile list, his life will end from the day he ever thought of touching that girl,we should have something like that in Nigeria. what kind of evil urge caught him that he cannot go and chase after a prostitute and it had to be a 13yr old. He will be cursed, his supporters will also be cursed and even the girl's aunt too. I am enraged. I am in support of a petition too.

madam, please could you make a formal report at Project ALERT for violence against women office, at 21, Akinsanya Street,
Ojodu, Lagos, (beside road safety)017612479.
Nigeria
Mailing Address
P. O. Box 15456, Ikeja,
Lagos Nigeria.
here are some numbers you can contact:017612479 or 08033534410,018976856. or contact the ED Gender Action Team, Dr. lydia 08033146543

it can be followed from there.

Theresa said...

Hi Linda, you might want to take a look at this website about creating e-petitions: http://www.gopetition.com/howtowriteapetition.php
But i don't know if they will allow you to embed the petitions free of charge on your blog or if you need to register first. Sorry i'm not much help, i just googled it and this site looked good :-)

Uru Eke said...

Hello Linda!!

i read this story and cried, i wish i knew the family i would personally take up this case myself and fight those bastards. Please we need to start this petition asap!! i've founf a link where you ccan sign up and get everyone signing. you have a huge audience and with the number of people that visit your blog we can murder that idiot!! please see the link here. i'll check yur blog intermitantly for updates: http://www.gopetition.com/how-to-start-a-petition.php

Ade_Cool said...

Yes I do agree a lot of this stuff gets ignored..9ja is just too extreme..on one side everything is as they say joli..on the other side the most despicable things happen on a regular...women raped and sodomized at random..ritual killings..religious genocide..at least in a country where the rule of law prevails..rapists would do serious time..in 9ja it seems like the women deserve it...
Linda..moneygram..western union..by any means..let us know..pls

Linda Ikeji said...

I've contacted Kate from Project alert, she is looking into the matter. will update u guys...but pls feel free to call her urself - 08069839295

Shadenonconform said...

Sigh. I'm so tired of all the abuse that young girls in naija and millions of girls around the world have to endure from some sexually depraved men. For crying out loud, there are millions of women and men in the world who would be willing to sleep with you. Why pick on, defile and traumatize a young girl or boy?

I'm down to sign whatever petition.

May God strengthen and heal this young girl and her family from this horrific ordeal.

Any progress on the petition, this girl needs help and we can help her by being her voice online

Ade_Cool said...

Sahara Reports is great for generating the appropriate publicity..

Theresa said...

Welldone Linda for contactng Kate @Project Alert. I guess i will also contact her and see what i can do to help. Its great to know that we have NGOs that can help, but most times the average Nigerian does not know they exist and ends up suffering in silence.

well...done linda will send u a mail right away......i am a victim though not as grusom as hers but rape is rape .....four years on i never forget am ....and ave never really told...so i can imagine wat this little girl is going thru ,but that man will not go unpunished

S::D said...

I didn't know things like this happen in Nigeria. I feel the police were bribed into dropping this shameful case. I hope the lady and her child gets justice.

PS, what's the update on this case?

This is unbelievable!Man's inhumanity to man justice has to be gotten fot this girl.My heart goes out to this girl and her mother.

God this is too much for the innocent girl to bear,pls dear Lord let this trauma pass away and strenthen the poor girl, pls Lord.As I read thru this story tears never seize to drop from my eyes.To all mothers and women out there,pls stand up and fight this battle for the poor girl, the guy shouldn't go unpurnished. This battle is ours and we must fight it to the last blood in our vein. This is sheer wickedness!!!!!!!Once again, I call on all concern authority to make sure justice prevail, plsssssssssssssssssssssss.

Mosun Willy said...

God this is too much for the innocent girl to bear,pls dear Lord let this trauma pass away and strenthen the poor girl, pls Lord.As I read thru this story tears never seize to drop from my eyes.To all mothers and women out there,pls stand up and fight this battle for the poor girl, the guy shouldn't go unpurnished. This battle is ours and we must fight it to the last blood in our vein. This is sheer wickedness!!!!!!!Once again, I call on all concern authority to make sure justice prevail, plsssssssssssssssssssssss

Mosun Willy said...

God this is too much for the innocent girl to bear,pls dear Lord let this trauma pass away and strenthen the poor girl, pls Lord.As I read thru this story tears never seize to drop from my eyes.To all mothers and women out there,pls stand up and fight this battle for the poor girl, the guy shouldn't go unpurnished. This battle is ours and we must fight it to the last blood in our vein. This is sheer wickedness!!!!!!!Once again, I call on all concern authority to make sure justice prevail, plsssssssssssssssssssssss

Mosun Willy said...

You guys no tim for that let's do jungle justice burn the devils house down.....I can't take this nonsense ok I av calmed down wats d situation now let's followup this cas involve the whole world

I can't just believe this is happening in dis part of the wworld...God where hath thy face we need your help Lord..Everyone does things at their own free will not minding the conciquences and the Justice up there...Some days ago i was also beaten up by a guy and his wife for no reason i cannot explain and they all feel because nuttin will happen, she has noone they can always get away wit all this evil act. I just need God to intervene.