'Armed Robbers in Lagos now carry around POS machines' - Lady robbed & brutally beaten in Yaba reveals | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 24 March 2017

'Armed Robbers in Lagos now carry around POS machines' - Lady robbed & brutally beaten in Yaba reveals

This lady took to social media minutes ago to narrate how she got robbed in a bus at Yaba, Lagos. According to her, the robbers had a Point of Sales (POS) Terminal (a machine used to accept cards for payment of goods and services) and made sure to take funds from the accounts of the passengers they robbed. Surprisingly, the transactions made can not be traced by the bank, according to her. See more of her tweets after the cut...

31 comments:

Modern day theives, and God knows how to catch them.

POS payments can be traced.
Sorry 4 the bad and traumatizing xperience.

Nawa ooh. Hit cool money! Get soccer prediction tips for Saturday 25th March 2017 @ www.fortunatusblog.com  

Thank God no of them was hurt.
It's scary, robbers carrying POS.

Chop Chop said...

There has to be a tracer id for every bank transaction. This is very scary if it's true.

NA WAH

It's well... dee

Endtime arm-robbers..

Endtime armed robbers..

Ifyyy said...

It can be traced.Every POS has a terminal ID. The bank with the help of interswitch company will track the POS and thereby the name used in POS registration and Agreement form.

Get the police involved. All POS are registered. He will be arrested

I commiserate with you but I absolutely disagree that the transaction is untraceable, That's very untrue, either the bank is playing smart or something is seriously wrong with the system. EVERY BANK TRANSACTION can be traced, if the money leaves your account it can't disappear into thin air, it will land somewhere... Victim should please re-visit the bank that issued her with the ATM, request for her account statement and trace the particular transaction on the said date. POS sef will be issued by a bank in Nigeria and tied to a particular account. Robbers MAY be working in tandem with a criminal in the banking industry, an insider for that matter. But the money can be mosdef traced.

every POS has a terminal ID and can be traced, no bank would tell you it cant be traced, the POS must send u a message telling you which customer's transaction has debited your acct.So if that POS was not registered with a name then it is the work of a banking official.

you can lie for Africa

JAO said...

Funky robbers...

Oghenetega said...

It can be traced joor & the culprit will be caught..
Its official,i ain't going out with my ATM anymore ..
Hv to open a New acct with little change in case of Emergency. .
This is crazy walai..

Nathan said...

If they came with POS, then it means the funds is going to a bank account that has BVN number so that means that the owner can be traced and caught by the police. (increase your penis size @ https://penisenlargementgym.com)

God help us o

Please stop posting all these pleas from beggars on your site. Go and do menial work of some sort and stop begging. Most of them are scams.

kai

Mista Short said...

This story sounds odd to me though... what kind of robbers would take money via transfer/POS, which unlike what is stated here can and are most definitely traceable?

A pos transaction can be traced by the acquiring bank or issuing bank. She should go to her bank request for her statement from there a unique Code(TID) will be seen, the bank should send the unique code to Nibbs. Nibbs will tell who the issuing bank is from there forensic comes in.

Pos should have an acct no,bank name , acct name those criminals can be tracked with such style contact efcc & police..

Yes the bank are definitely playing a fast one.

Long story short, if they were to be honest and admit they can trace the payment, it makes them have to refund the customers and with little prospect of tracing the armed robbers, they're forced to take a loss.

Maverick said...

The thieves are nitwits, they cannot last, every POS has a terminal Id, every POS is linked to an account. So with the help of BVN they can always trace the fools that robbed the woman. Am sorry, but it's true Nigeria has surpassed that level of criminality... I

I suspect her card was inserted into a skimming device to get her card details, and not a POS machine

In a civilized society, the Point of Sales machine use makes it easy for the authority to quickly pick up the criminals.
Wetin Police dey do here, dem never step their tactics?

Evil taxi guys carry it in Abuja same with the robbers and I heard if u have less than 10k in your account, u will be thoroughly beaten.

You can sue the bank and recover your money and more...

very good, go to your bank and get your money back, the have to provide the owner of that pos......that foolishness in the robbers side though