'Is this the change we promised Nigerians? - Ben Murray-Bruce writes | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 18 February 2017

'Is this the change we promised Nigerians? - Ben Murray-Bruce writes

Read his piece below...
Two weeks ago, the Chairman of the Senate Committee of the Federal Capital Territory, Senator Dino Melaye, made a startling revelation that shook me and many right thinking Nigerians to our foundation. At a time Nigeria is going through a daunting economic recession, it was revealed that we plan on spending the sum of N250 million to build a gatehouse for the Vice President of Nigeria.
Whenever I think of the budgetary provision of N250 million to build a gatehouse for the vice president, I am moved by the inequities and inequalities of Nigeria.

There is no urgency or importance in building a new gatehouse for the vice president’s already over priced house, but if even we need to build such a house can we not build it with less than 10% of the cost?
At the black market rate (which is the most commonly used rate in Nigeria) N250 million is equivalent to $500,000. At the official rate, it is worth almost a million dollars. With that type of cash you can buy a mansion in Washington DC and a well developed property in London. Isn’t it a pity that all it can buy the Nigerian government is a gatehouse?
Now we want to borrow $30 billion from other nations and foreign financial institutions. But why should any other nations or foreign financial institutions lend us money when we have not shown prudence in managing the little that we have?
I can assure you that I did my research and not one of the ten richest nations in the world is spending the equivalent of 250 million for something as inconsequential to the well being of a nation as a vice president’s gatehouse.
Why should America, Britain or China lend Nigeria any money when the gate man of our Vice President is living in a house that only a millionaire in their own country can afford?
Should they lend us $30 billion so we can build more luxurious and befitting gatehouses for our other public officials?
Is this the change we promised Nigerians?
With a minimum wage of N18,000 the N250 million to be spent on the Vice President’s gatehouse can pay the salaries of 13,888 Nigerians!
How many staff are being owed salary by the federal government? How many staff are being owed salary by state governments? How many pensioners are dying while waiting to collect pension that never comes?
How many internally displaced persons are dying of hunger while we budget N250 million for a gatehouse? N250 million can feed one million people for a day and 200,000 people for a week.
Recently, I was driving on a federal road in the South-east and a portion of that road was so damaged that it was a death trap. I wonder how many people have been killed on that road. Certainly, from my estimation as an entrepreneur who has built several malls and other real estate projects across Nigeria, N250 million will be sufficient to repair that portion of the road, but no! We have to build a gatehouse for a VIP!
Nigeria has some of the worst maternal and infant maternity rates in the whole world. 10% of all the women who die in childbirth are Nigerian women according to the UN. Meanwhile Nigeria only has 2% of the world’s population.
The main challenge we have in reducing maternal mortality is funding and we are approaching international aid organisations to help us raise funds to help reduce death amongst our pregnant women. Can you imagine how unserious we look to them when they read that we are spending N250 million on a gatehouse while begging them for money?
We really must make better use of our scarce resources at this time. We cannot expect others to lend to us from their own hard earned resources when we have demonstrated a propensity to squander the little we have.
What we have demonstrated in Nigeria, especially within the last two years, is a strong propensity to major on the minor and minor on the major.
With the way we in government treat Nigerians, I sometimes suspect that our people will prefer to go to hell if our leaders are found in heaven!
And another thing, for a nation that wants to come out of recession, Nigeria is not spending enough on education.
The proposed allocation for education is N50 billion, which is only a third of the proposed allocation for defence.
There is a reason why LEARN and EARN rhyme. If a nation wants to earn more she must first learn more. This budget proposal does not take that into account.
We are still working with an obsolete Industrial Age thought process that operates under the wrong notion that nations become rich because of what they have under their soil.
I have got news for the executive: today’s nations can only grow rich by what is between the ears of its citizens! We are living in the knowledge worker era.
Apple, Google, facebook and yahoo are now more valuable than Exxon-Mobil, Shell BP, Chevron and AGIP. The world is changing and we must change with it.
I have been studying Anambra State for a while. This used to be one of the most educationally disadvantaged states in the South. But since the era of former Governor Peter Obi till today, the state made education its priority and allocated the bulk of its budget to education and the more Anambra budgeted for education the more their economy flourished.
They do not borrow. They did not participate in the federal government’s bailout to states. They have one of, if not the best subnational economies in Nigeria. Nigeria as a whole is importing food, Anambra as a whole is exporting food.
And their secret is education. They have consistently featured as number one in WAEC and NECO results.
If we want Nigeria to earn more money, that cannot be achieved by selling more oil. It can only be achieved by learning more to earn more.
As a nation, we are spending N49 billion maintaining about a 100 embassies and consulates. What do we get in return? That expense is a drain and not an investment.
We can spend only a fraction of that amount. Do we need a consular in every nation to issue visas? Several nations that are richer than Nigeria are doing away with consulars in preference for entry point visas.
Turkey has a policy where you pay $40 and you get your visa online. It is reducing their recurrent expenditure because now they maintain only a skeletal staff in their embassies and it is increasing their revenue because without the bottleneck and hassle of getting visas through the traditional means, people are flocking to countries like Turkey, like the UAE and other countries that have online visa policies.
Instead of N49 billion, we can spend only 10% of that and use the balance N45 billion to build infrastructure and educate our people. In fact, we can be like the UAE and Turkey that can afford to use the millions they get from online visas to run their embassies.
Two months ago, the presidency released a statement announcing that they have recently weeded out 50,000 ghost workers from the pay roll of the federal government.
If that is true, then why isn’t that being reflected in the budget for recurrent expenditure? If you have weeded 50,000 ghost workers from the system then there must be a massive drop in our recurrent expenditure. Something is not adding up.
Recurrent expenditure in the 2017 budget is N2.98 trillion. Let us just call it N3 trillion. Recurrent expenditure in the 2016 budget was N2.6 trillion.
Are we sure that the executive did not make a mistake and instead of weeding 50,000 ghost workers from the system it actually added 50,000 ghost workers because the recurrent expenditure has increased.
Has minimum wage increased? No? There are too many ambiguities that need to be cleared up.
And on housing, certainly we can do much more than what the 2017 budget proposes to do.
The American psychologist, Abraham Maslow, theorised that our most basic human need is for shelter. Let us relate this to Nigeria.
Nigeria has a 17 million housing deficit. If Abraham Maslow is correct, it stands to reason that lack of shelter, among others, is one of the single largest drivers of corruption in Nigeria today.
Civil servants and politicians steal largely because they have no hope of ever owning a home and they do not want to be destitute after their retirement. This is why the EFCC seizes a lot of houses from corrupt people.
If home ownership represents man’s basic need, then no government has succeeded in meeting this need. After all, what is the essence coming to power if the most basic need of the electorate cannot be addressed?
Nigeria needs to solve this challenge because if we do, we will go a long way to improving the human development index of Nigeria and reducing the misery level as well igniting the type of economic activity that will ease our current recession while also fighting corruption.
There is no way government can build 17 million houses. At best, the budget of the ministry of housing can build a couple hundred thousand houses annually. If we are to plug this deficit, we have to rely on the private sector just like developed nations.
We have over N6 trillion of our pension funds sitting in financial institutions. Let us deploy these funds into productive sectors of our economy.
The naira gets devalued and the return from investing pension assets in government treasury bills and bank deposits is less than the rate of inflation. Real estate is one of the few investments that outstrips inflation. The safest investment anywhere in the world is real estate.
Why don’t we use these funds to fund our real estate development and end our housing deficit?
We can and we should use the pension funds to stimulate the housing market while the government subsidizes the mortgage rate for low income earners so that they can borrow at single digit interest rates.
Promoting home ownership will lower corruption and what else could be a safer investment for our pension funds? After all, no one can run away with a house. They can run away with a car or with cash, or with shares, but a house is immovable and best of all it largely continues to appreciate in value. It only makes Commonsense to use pension funds in this way.
And I do not even see why government has to sell land to property developers and private housing estate builders in the first place. In my opinion, if you want to build houses for the masses, government should give you land free of charge!
Of what use is the land when it has no property or farm on it? At least if you allow people build on it government can charge them property taxes.
Our president and governors live in houses paid for by tax payers. It is time we return the favour to the taxpayers and the masses. It is time we begin running Nigeria in a businesslike manner and provide our people the dividends of democracy. It is time we deliver on the promised change.

• Ben Murray-Bruce is the Founder of Silverbird Entertainment Group and the Senator representing Bayelsa East in the National Assembly

92 comments:

A very bad change
ooo

Thank God I never subscribed to "change slogan"

@Goodluck Ebele Jonathan na my mine till eternity

Well said! Dividend of democracy should be provided.

Epic hypocrite why didn't you preach that to hero of corruption too? Because you were benefiting from that corrupt administration abi? Your state government assembly approved 3bn loan to buy cars for government officials,despite owning moooooonths of salary to civil servants,some is their only source of income. Ogbeni Change begins with you! You can only fool gullible Nigerians. Awon Tweet-nator.

~glo rule your world ~ cos I do•

Fantastic piece but i avnt seen any of u piece on the bogus salary and allowances received by our senators compared to other big nations or the level of corruption carried out in the last administration.Am waiting for dat too before i can take u serious

Jane said...

Burce is a good man

Sometimes I jt wish u, Ben Bruce is d President of this great country, buh men with low mindset and money looter jt kip flood Aso!! Better days ahead...

What an intellectual analysis! But Bruce where was ur intellect during the 16year PDP regime? #ponder

Well said. I wish he can communicate this to Mr President.

God is great said...

I think he should b writing is this power we promised our people not change

In my next world I will those to live in Jupiter, if APC and the change wil come back to earth.

Oga Osibanjo, if indeed u r a true man of God and an advocate for the helpless knowing you have a charity home you run, you will not accept this misuse of funds. We are watching. This time, we will know where u truely stand. Smh

I have never and will never join the Nigerian brand of change.

And the man they are building the gate house for is a pastor and a Christian , ridiculous of the highest order. This is what I don't know, can this country just collapse pls. Iam fed up with all these nonsense.

Gbolagade Tosin said...

Hmmm, uncle ben is anticipating more and more everyday. Read from our blog at www.GbolaMedia.com

This is actually the most enlightening piece I've read here lately. Plainly speaking, Nigeria is not in any sense a welfare state,I'm afraid it is neither really capitalist. Our welfarism starts and ends at the government circles to the detriment of the tax payers. This also is a bad distributive economy where resources do not flow or tricke down appropriately. The worst is that idea and innovation have helped many developing economies to reaching technological advancement and leading emerging market index while ironically, Nigeria remains in economic limbo still dependent on resources instead of ideas which come from robust education sector. Too bad we "major in minor and minor in major" overlooking critical sectors preferring recurrent capital expenditure even while at the throes of deteriorating economic recession. Sometime the UNESCO urged developing nations to invest double digit of their budgetary allocation to education to speed up and fast track growth yet Nigeria's appropriation bills are a far cry from that initiative. May God help us!

The Aficionado

Big brother thanks.
My grand mother use to tell me that passing sense is not passing school.
You are gradually demonstrating to us how u come about building your business empire with common sense.
There is common sense in your brain.If we as a people are not learning from you,i am learning from you
It is common sense that builds, not much money.A little can do much with common sense.
Ride on .And may God continue to bless your common sense and help to transfer this common sense to
our leaders.

stylish braid hair African said...

God bless sir, the trust must be said

I wish he would point out the failures of Governor Seriake Dickson and advice him the same way as the federal government.
We bayelsans will never take him seriously until he stops being the hypocrite that he is.
Common sense senator without common sense for his own state

If only all head of state thought like you...

It is well

Oga, you never vote for change, you vote for looters, therefor stop that you hypocrisy. We vote for change and equally knows that change does not come easy, please short your mouth

It is so sad and some foolish ones will still be shouting change.

Just common sense... Salas say so

So ben bruce is suddenly a man for the people now! Sigh!!
I recall that you were a constant parasite on the corridors of power in the 16 years blugeoned the nation to comatose. From bags & bags of federally stolen dollars, to illegally acquiring the property which ur ahmadu bello galleria now stands on v.i, even the scandalous acquisition of 1004 flats have ur dirty palmprints all over it & now that ur fellow ali baba & the remaining 39 thieves have bn kicked of of power, you found your voice....but then again, who am i to take a action?? So i say...
WELLLDONE SIR!!

I wish this man is our president and not the rigid former military dictator and a brain dead old man that doesn't know the difference between day and night!this country needs an intelligent man and not a figure head like buhari,i wish we realise ourselves, building a gatehouse for vice president that is earnings 15m,while the civil servants of 18k suffer profusely before they can receive it every month!amidst this difficult recession u are building gatehouse for already rich man that is doing nothing in the office,selfish individuals,a price of foodstuffs is skyrocketing every now and then and no one cares about the masses,rubbish government!u are talking about ghost workers and we did not see the reflection on the budget,thanks Bruce,God bless u sir.

Sir.Luwie said...

Truth....this write up is everything.

Thank you Senator. Your recommendations can only be implemented by the same people who obscure the budget by fraudulent insertions and deliberately inflated figures. Are you even sure they'll ever build any gate house at all with that 250m? Because such provisions are made yearly, sometimes under different heads in multiples! The intention is just to convert the proceeds at the end of the budget year by these sit-tight vested interests and this happens every year! This crime against Nigeria and Nigerians should normally attract the attention of the secret services, but no! And if high-profile people like Senator Ben Bruce and Dino Melaye fail to draw attention to the budget conundrum, then we are finished!

Sometimes I jt u wish u d President.... the thinking President

My heart weeps. While cincuring with this submissions, I want to say that Sen. Bruce is just a chronic complainant along side Dino Melaya. If they care about Nigerians as they claim, how then would this budget scale through in NASS under their very eyes. They should talkless and do more.that will give you guys more popularity and acceptability than all this lip service. My name is Kingsley and I just want to make common sense too.

All talks and no action,all he does is write on social media but never take steps to putting it to the house or try to make the move to put them straight,abeg all of em na same!

Sam X said...

I beg just go sit down somewhere,Ben Bruce is fake!

*DeepWords* I Never Believed in this Scam Chain Change!!! Na God Go Punish Bokohari and his Cohorts...

erica chinenye said...

The previous government was more reckless in spending than this one,you never said anything just because u are involved and the President then is from your state,Abeg,shut that your mummrish mouth,what did you do with the whole Monet that was budgeted to NTA....

kclub said...

God bless you. Let them continue. Its not their fault. We entered their trap. That one also decieved us with pastor. Its that gate that will kill all of them. The vice president better build the gate well. That is his own share when others are entering heaven you better go and enter your gate. Nonsense people. Idiots. Scammers. Its only God that will judge you all.

Linda 7up said...

Well talk, but Senator Ben Murray Bruce didn't made measure about the bogus emoluments of the upper house as part of the problem the common Nigeria is facing today,who is fooling who?

I have never posted any comment here on LIB but with this, I just have to cos he made a whole lot of sense. Let's circulate this pls. #benbruceforpresident2019

mikkycash said...

Worst change indeed #GodBlessMrCommonSence.....

#talkToMe

Lagos state government are busy collecting 'Land use charge' annually from all home owners in the state.

Well said Senator, God bless you sir, you should send this write up to the finance committee in the Senate. Hope they will listen to u. It is high time we start taking good care of our citizen.

Henry said...

So on Point

Ben murray-bruce we know ur political plan behind all ur article if u 're there u would do bad more than dis government ( pmb)

Mr Ben Bruce, why all these noise during APC GOVERNMENT, nobody knew this during PDP GOVERNMENT which u are member.
Some of Nigerian elites are deceiver like,

Gate house #250,000,000 then the whole house shud worth 1billion naira..Na wah ooo..
EFCC why arresting Andrew Yakubu now ??

I have wonder how well you advised and influence the past administration with your common sense wisdom messages to guide them from gross lootery bcs your everyday cries to the new govt is medicine after death,any nation so plundered by ur kinsmen at d helm of affairs needs more than english speaking to put back in shape.
Except you just playing lip politics of noise to stay relevant.

Rex said...

Nice one Ben.... These economic theories of his are not the ones thought in school, they are guerrilla tactics and it has worked wonders for many economies.. ....at least he is making common sense

Bros Ben Bruce for president 2019.. Thank God

This is what we are talking about.
Do nor just criticise, give suggestions that can yield better results. Kudos Mr Common sense

Goddy said...

Good advice

Ola Dee said...

Who is he complaining to? he is a senator they should do something about it, this man complain more than we that are not in the corridor of power

Finally real thought process from the senate I hope more of them see this reason sing and don't turn it to PDP versus APC

I'm for Nigeria

thank God u have all this revelation in ur domain.pls let all our so called rulers sit down and digest and atleast use one out of dis points u have laid down for them.

APC come and lie to us..Abeg come.monkey with our brain once more.u know say Nigerians.be mumu

Well said, but why not seat d VP n President down n enlighten dem on wat to do since you know wat is ryt n one of their senator, so dt we all can enjoy d dividend of democracy cos in all my life I av never experienced ds type of recession except in ds change era, is ds d change u all promised? Children can no longer go to school cos parents can't afford d sch fees.

Dolapo said...

I wonder how many people will bother to read this nugget of useful information and act on it.

zubby said...

Enter your comment...too bad! A corrupt government fighting kwaraption.

toly said...

This man has said it all,what a change I hope our leader will change for the better.

Good analysis!

Bruce lee is pained he won election at the wrong time .your salary no reach you .lol.
Keep on vomiting u won't chop money

dorcasmoyin@gmail.com said...

Power corrupts but absolute power corrupt absolutely. It is easier said that we are practicing democracy but d reverse is the case.

Peter obi and Ben Bruce should just come out as president and NO
SIgned
LibaBadBoy

Power corrupts but absolute power corrupts absolutely. It is easier said that we are practising democracy in Nigeria buy the reverse is d case.

dorcasmoyin@gmail.com said...

Power corrupts but absolute power corrupts absolutely. It is easier said that we are practising democracy in Nigeria buy the reverse is d case.

Chike Ngube said...

Haba,Senator Bruce,pls don't over hype the Anambra thing.You don't live with us here.Since Peter Obis regime till date,there is nothing like pipe borne water in Anambra State.Peter Obi particularly closed. Down the Water Board and many of the staff died and are still being owed salaries,pensions and gratuities.Public utilities in Anambra is a sham.You can imagine a state where there is no public running water for decades and you are comparing it with others who have such facilities.What it generally means is that Anambra people are one of the dirtiest or are living in filth and squalor and perhaps the people are walking corpses that do not flush toilets,do not take their baths enough,do not drink safe water,do not wash their cloths well and live in extreme poor hiegenic conditions.Why you think Anambra is working is the markets where the govt stifle the traders with multiple taxes.
If the state cannot provide clean public water to its citizens,what other things can they talk about.Clean water is all about good health.It is painful that the water works and all infrastructure for water are there in the state,eg,the Greater Onitsha Water Scheme and the state govt budgets for water supply every year but all come to nothing because it is either the budget is diverted or something else happens.Corruption.This is one of the reasons the recent petrol tanker accident in Onitsha destroyed many houses because the fire service could not source water around to fight the fire.Sadly,the area where it happened at the DMGS round about used to have fire hydrants of the water board but no more active.
Pls if Obiano is your friend,advise him to look into the Anambra Water Board case,pay the workers many years of their salaries and entitlements and restore public water supply even if it means applying for the bail out funds.may God be with us.

FRESH said...

Hypocrite! Has he asked this exact question at the floor of the Nigerian Senate? What's with all the PDP members,they have all become 'writers?'

You are saying someones mind jare...

All that amount for a gatehouse? Naija I hail thee. Have they considered that this amount can buy about 15 to 20 luxury flats in lekki or over 300 low cost housing in some parts of Lagos. By the way is the vice president planning to live in the gatehouse. Na was o. Come to think about it, was it "chain" or change they promised??

Me and mine said...

Hmmn. Nigerians are so forgetful, is this not the same ben bruce that helped milk our country dry??? Ask him, what he did with coja money? ? Theif, ole. Now he has mouth to talk abi? Rubbish man. Idiot

Me and mine said...

Hmmn. Nigerians are so forgetful, is this not the same ben bruce that helped milk our country dry??? Ask him, what he did with coja money? ? Theif, ole. Now he has mouth to talk abi? Rubbish man. Idiot

Daft people make the rulership of this country about pdp and apc, no sensible person gives a fuck, we just want the bad governance to stop and a good one to begin, it's just like saying okay why is the current administration probing only the previous one and not his also corrupt and predecessors? Please receive sense.

You are the type that is ruining this country with your refusal to get an education and stop using the word short in place of shut.

Your dame useless father is hypocrisy bliss psychopath. So he should not speak the truth because an imbecile like u will not like to hear the truth. Hypocrisy calling another hypocrisy . Dabansa

You are very foolish psychotic patient like u. U voted for a blind change as you are

Erica u no fool. So he should also keep quiet to please a born fool like u

Cypher said...

Why not first talk about ur big fat salary and allowances as a senator when the common civil servants hasn't been paid for months. Hypocrite Ben

You no fool Anon 14:08

I wonder why God allowed PMB to lead us at a time like this. In my submission, God knows best! I refused to join issues with this govt. May God save Nigeria! Businesses are crumbling. Nigerians are languishing in penury. Suffering and smiling. Which way Nigeria? Where is the soul of our dear nation?

Okowright Balaxy said...

A dull and clueless man like Buhari has nothing to offer to Nigerians. Remember he was a poor man before he became president.

Right what matters is moving this great nation forward enough has been said already

This man is my mentor

i totally agree with Ben Murray Bruce that building a gate house for the VP at the cost of N250M is a total waste of our now scarce resources, what i also feel is also a waste of scarce resource is the fact that the national assembly went ahead to purchase official vehicle for each senator at the price of over N40M

What do we expect from a president who's supporters told him to boycott d presidential debate prior to d elections.they knew he is not d smart type & had no strategy to sell or even if he had to buy a strategy he lacks d common sense to apply it. All d executive portfolios are a complete distortion of an organized body bcos round pegs don't fit in square holes. Diz iz why nothing meaningful has bin achieved by dem. Have dey ever reasoned d the type of house that a minimum wage earner of 18k would b living in. From d outset my predictions about diz govt have never failed. They are living up to d fear iv always had about dem wen de asume leadership. I told my friends dat d word "change" has a vague meaning except it is defined in concrete terms as to what change means to dose selling it & on the oda hand wat it means to those buying it......now it is clear to dem dat it is a bomb rapped in a gift pack dat was sold to them. Next time, I hope dey will be curious to knw wat d gift pack contains before accepting it.

nna ehn BTW Mr Bruce just shut up and goan hide ur head in shame as well!

May God remember and help Nigeria

Ben Bruce 4 president!

With all sense of humility in the spirit of common sense that you often advocate for,pls turn the search light into your red senate chambers also and boldly speak truth to all drug barons,419s,ex convict and numerous pdp govs enjoying constituency looting etc as you do bcs the executive you criticize today even though not perfect still run higher than ur useless senate of fraudsters,so remove the log in your own eye first bfor beam in d executives,ur senate stinks of mindless looting tru fictitious project while all your good governance wisdom didnt bear much fruit when your kinsmen from same bayelsa ruled for 6yrs looting all tru day n night.
Pls take strong note to balance your argument bcs ur senate is worse ofc than d current executive doing d cleansing your kinsmen left behind.
Pls take strong note.

i agree entirely with Ben Bruce.But Ben's condemnation of Dezianis 151m usd heist i have not read

I'm surprised at some persons'reactions to this critical thoughtful piece. Rather than base their criticisms on the matter at hand, they talk against the gentleman's sincere observation and call for decorum in wasteful public spending. A fact is a fact and has no other name. The facts are clearly x-rayed in the piece so I wonder the reasons for deviation. We're promised change from the old order therefore,we expect a better new order but the acclaimed bad order has grown worse in the hands of those who promised a better Nigeria. It's a shame that Nigeria at this critical time could only be bedevilled with clueless leaders.I can only encourage us to be hopeful even in the face of hopelessness because Abraham the father of faith hoped against hope and the result was a fruitful end. God bless my country Nigeria with men of integrity,wisdom and visions for great technological advancements and economic accomplishments

JohnBull said...

I will listen to Ben Bruce and all the other fools of the national assembly when they make public their budgets and we can scrutinize.

They ride on public ignorance to bring up stupid arguments and hide their stupidity under some annoying legislation that allows them do all the nonsense.

God will punish all of you milking the country and causing the poor folks to suffer.

http://eikins.com.ng/ said...

God help Nigeria, this is a good right up tho but I still think the so called change ends on TV......www.eikins.com.ng

The senator has spoken. He has opened our eyes to so many things we did not know. we should be great full to God that we have such a person like this.Me I believe that Nigeria is still the best country in the world. The freest country in the world. The country where God is living. Forget about the striving of the dragon, the beast and the false prophet. There days are numbered.