Muslims pray with Catholics over priest's murder | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 1 August 2016

Muslims pray with Catholics over priest's murder

Muslims attended Catholic mass in churches around France on Sunday in solidarity following the brutal murder of an 85-year-old priest, Father Jacques Hamel by 2 ISIS jihadists. More than 100 Muslims were among the 2,000 people who packed the 11th-century Gothic cathedral of Rouen, near the Normandy town where the priest's throat was slit.

"I thank you in the name of all Christians," Rouen Archbishop Dominique Lebrun told them. "In this way you are affirming that you reject death and violence in the name of God."
A few policemen and soldiers stood guard outside but did not conduct searches on the attendees. The local imam Otaman Aissaoui led a delegation of Muslims to a Catholic mass and said:
"Being united is a response to the act of horror and barbarism."
Notre Dame church in southwestern Bordeaux also welcomed a Muslim delegation, led by the city's top imam, Tareq Oubrou.
"It's an occasion to show (Muslims) that we do not confuse Islam with Islamism, Muslim with jihadist," said Reverend Jean Rouet.
Muslims were responding to a call by the French Muslim council CFCM to show "solidarity and compassion" over the priest's murder on Tuesday.

A woman wearing a beige headscarf who sat in a back pew at a church in central Paris said:
"I'm a practising Muslim and I came to share my sorrow and tell you that we are brothers and sisters." Giving her name only as Sadia, she added softly: "What happened is beyond comprehension."
At the Saint Leger church in the northern city of Lens, around 30 Muslims attended mass wearing T-shirts emblazoned with messages such as, "Terrorism has no religion or identity".

Father Hubert Renard told the congregation: "We are not alone; our Muslim brothers are here too."

Many were moved to tears during the sign of peace, a regular part of the liturgy when the faithful turn to greet each other in the pews, either shaking hands or kissing.

Muslims also attended Catholic masses in Italy, notably at Rome's Santa Maria di Trastevere church, in response to a call by the Sant'Egidio community known for its international mediation efforts.

Also on Sunday, dozens of prominent Muslims published a joint letter pledging: "We, French and Muslim, are ready to assume our responsibilities."

Source: AFP

38 comments:

May God protect the lost souls.

That's great!

We need world unity and peace...#onMYway...

Only in de western world
Wil Bokohari ever condemn terrorism act in nigeria? De answer is big NO!
Nigerians voted 4 de wrong president

Linda don't take note!

Dis shld happen more often

Abeg joo

Hmmmmm cool

May the soul of the dead priest rest in peace.

And this right here,is how things should be! But extremists won't let religion be great. Nice one!

Peace is everything... & right now the whole world is short of it! May God almighty help us all.

linda ikeji's driver. said...

Fuck u guys a million tyms, we ain't brothers n sisters, at all,u can't b killing ur brothers every time, I can't wait to see dia destruction on d day of rapture, we xtians hav what muslims do not have. We hav a father who is real,islam choose to kill,christianity teaches you to forgive n live in peace with one another, which one would u rather choose ? I curse d day Ishmael was born, he is d curse of dis blind folks, how many times have you heard xtians going to mosque to kill ? U people really fink we ar foolish ? Or dump ? No we ar not. We allow our God to fight our course, n dats wer n wot u muslims cannot do,allow ur so called allah to fight his battle. Bloody people heading for destruction.

That's sweet and thoughtful of those Muslims.... I think the problem we have is the huge number of illiterates as Muslims.
Emulate them block-heads!

Coming to worship with us to show wot?solidiarity?or consommation ? Wot is wrong with ur Finkin u all muslims ? How do u describe d word peace ? Islam is a religion of peace ? Peace my ass,peace among urselves ? Abi?bicos am so pissed about islam,n dia level of foolishness. How can people tak pleasure in killing another ? Dirty looking folks, tak my word or leav it,we ar d light, n u guys ar d darkness, kill us as u want, u can't stop d gospel, hâte d light as much as you can, u can't stop us from shining or kip us down. Fuck u if u hate ma opinion on dis blog.

Goldfish! said...

This can never happen in naija-instead,that imam that entered that church will be slaughtered in cold blood.
In fact,they might even protest this act in naija.
God help us.

I wish our presido can also do this

It nice to see Muslim associate with christian and share in their grief and loss in France

The solution to these atrocities is not in joining prayers with pretence but to tell your blood sucking demonic brothers to quit their evil deeds

Muslims and Christians let there be peace to the shame of the devil. Do not allow the devil take over the world by using you to do evil. It is so wrong

Busola said...

A major part of these muslims are hypocrites jare. They secretly enjoy the wrongs these people do.

Pls let there be peace amongst muslims and christians.

LIB PIKIN said...

Hmmmm...I no get talk. We Christians should be careful shaa...that's all.

THIS IS WHAT I CALL 'ONE LOVE'

7B9B611E said...

Wash wash. Same leaders will send their common followers to steal Christians joy. Idiot. Engr Emy

7B9B611E said...

Wash wash. Same leaders will send their common followers to steal Christians joy. Idiot. Engr Emy

What are they trying to prove? They are murderers

Hmmmmm.. Get your today's soccer prediction and weight control tips @ www.fortunatusblog.com

taaaaa publicity stunt

Two fake and fraud religion
They pray alike
I pray for the souls being deceived

Miss Freeborn!!

I dont trust muslims...

Hmmmmm are dey trying to practice chrisislam????becos I don't get dis

You think you know better than Allah.

They did well

Kitikpa na otolo gbagbuo all these alfas.

Buhari has condemned boko haram terrorism several times. You block head reasoning with your anus and pussy instead of your brain. Ewu

FRESH said...

What's the difference between Muslims & Catholics? One formed the other. Why do you guys think nearly every story in the bible is in the Quran? Except for a few changed names.Who do you guys think was the 'mystery' angel in a cave talking to Mohammed? Your secret is out. End time cometh.If you do not have Jesus as your lord & personal saviour, make haste,find him.Live a righteous life.Spread the Gospel. Hell cometh so fast for those who die inside iniquity.