Ijaw leaders warn militants not to declare a Republic of N-Delta | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 31 July 2016

Ijaw leaders warn militants not to declare a Republic of N-Delta

The leaders of Thoughts of Ijaw ethnic nationality in the Niger Delta region at a meeting in Warri, Delta State, hosted by Ijaw national leader, Chief Edwin Clark over the weekend, warned Ijaw militants against their vow to declare a Republic of Niger-Delta.

At the meeting were, Bayelsa state governor, Hon Henry Seriake Dickson, Deputy Governor of Delta state, Mr. Kingsley Otuaro, former Deputy Governor of Rivers State, Sir Gabriel Toby, former Minister of Culture, Alabo Tonye Graham-Douglas, former Minister of Police Affairs, Alaowei Brodrick Bozimo.

Also in attendance were former national chairman of the Traditional Rulers of Oil Mineral Producing Communities of Nigeria, HRM Pere Charles Ayemi-Botu, Mbene III, Ama-Okosu of Ogbe-Ijoh kingdom, Alabo Tobin-West; Chief Boma Obuoforibo, INC National Chairman, and Sir NGO Martins Martyns-Yellowe, Chairman Civil Service Commission.

The leaders all agreed that what the Ijaw nation wants is true federalism not division.

Ijaw national leader, Chief Edwin Clark  said:
“The Elders and Leaders of Thought of the Ijaw nation call for the immediate restructuring of the Nigerian nation along the lines of peaceful federalism, and noticed that this is the panacea for the sustainable development of Nigeria.”

Source: Vanguard

33 comments:

NaijaStore said...

Hmm

Dose ijaw leaders ar biased too..who are dey warning? People u don't see dere faces..Wats our president even doing self..we dnt want war in dis country..he should dialogue wit dis people to put an end to all dis bulshit..we aint moving forward dis way..for how long shall we craw?..we won't peace..we don't need disintegration but one Nigeria..

Who cares, nonsense begging them making them feel important they should go right ahead illiterates feeling important make them do when they finish killing themselves and their generation the UN will come and give them free food to live good for nothing useless goats

Niger delta republic? Ok o.

Agbaraasa arts movement said...

Season film. Eni WO tan....

They shld do wat z best for them

It is well o

Cowards...

Hmm

I believe it's the way forward for the Niger Delta region, wielding your guns/weapons is only destroying your land... your own home?! sometimes, peace is better than being right... I rest my case!

I just pray they listen to their elders

An Ijaw man was president for 5 Years from 2010 to 2015, non of call for restructuring. Most of the leaders listed here were playing godfather and uncle to President Jonathan . They were collecting money for contract and giving people access to the president. Anytime power moves from the south to the north the next thing you hear is restructuring, but when they have power all you hear is IT IS OUR TURN.

Na dem sabi biko! Linda take note!

Most of the youths there ain't educated, their thinking is limited to the ND region, they don't know how the real world works...sad!

linda ikeji's driver. said...

Well, all we need is a government dat can tak care of situations without giving excuses, just like dis administration. We hav a situation on ground in d Niger delta, n déclaration of dat won't solve it.buhari needs to listen to d militant n dey should dialogue, let him exhaust all his available options first.

Can you survive a full blown war,considering your population? Gorrila war is a different thing.

They shud declare it since buhari came to power one misfortune affecting everybody.he shud go with his hard and useless stance.

Okkk

Rep of Niger delta in dis country dey may not succeed

Genny's Blog said...

They should settle this people.

Let them try it naah!! Foolish animals, then they will see their nyash like south east and they can't even stand it, morons of highest order

MORE DRAMA IN NIGERIA

I would luv it IF they become a Republic of N' Delta so that all those Mallams will be deported back to their sh*tholes.

Issokey.

What do Nigerians want. Confederation, federalism, Republic? What do we really want. I don taya for all dis back and forth. Our main problem is all dis old men still running the country, can't this dudes just die and let the youths take over.

There was a country

Edwin Clark you are a waste.All the money you people stole during Jonathan regime is enough to build a better Niger delta.Warn those militant that Buhari is not Jonathan because of the danger of the republic...nuel

Injustice breeds all sorts of things

shedystructures said...

Oooh Nigeria......I cry for thee. peace is far from thee.

Coward. Think b4 u speak

Abeg let them declare Republic of Niger Delta joor. Afterall, the South East declared Republic of Biafra. Make everybody divide because we are tired of the killing of christians and we are tired of yoruba and hausa having oil blocks in South-South without paying homage. All they do is destroy our land and selfishly enrich themselves.

U are the who needs enlightenment small when adult talk keep you mouth stup