Drug lab uncovered in senior citizens' home in South Africa, three Nigerians arrested | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 31 July 2016

Drug lab uncovered in senior citizens' home in South Africa, three Nigerians arrested

Members of the Hawks Drug Enforcement Bureau on Tuesday, July 26, raided a historic building in Durban's South Beach and uncovered a drug laboratory. The 90-year-old Pioneer Lodge, once a popular hotel is home to mostly senior citizens
Three suspects Chimezie Godwin Agwanihu, 35, Victory Uzoamaka Nnadi, 31, and Ifani Henry Nnadi, 26 were arrested at the scene. They have been charged with drug possession.
"They were also found in possession of a machine used to manufacture the drugs, 2kg of white powder and 750g of embalming powder suspected to be the ingredients of manufacturing drugs," said Hawks spokesman Simphiwe Mhlongo.
Police also found 4000 tablets with a Mercedes emblem suspected to be ecstasy. "The equipment and ingredients were seized. The street value of the drugs seized is about R250 000. All confiscated items will be sent to the forensic laboratory to determine the type of drug."
It is believed the drug manufactured is methamphetamine commonly known as meth, crystal, chalk, or ice. It is an extremely addictive stimulant in the form of a white, odourless, bitter-tasting crystalline powder.
It was also disclosed that drug dealers and manufacturers were tenants of flats in the area, and were using three or four of them for their business. The elderly residents said they were disappointed at how their “happy home” had become a nightmare to live in and said there was no vetting process for newcomers.
"Lately, there was a funny smell in the building. I wasn’t quite sure what it was but it did smell like strong chemical. We are old people and we just want to live peacefully here. We don’t know how such people are being let into the building without being vetted properly," said 60-year-old Pinky Karstn, who has been living there for 14 years.
She said she would often see people entering the building multiple times a day, and suspected they might be drug runners.
"Our suspicions were confirmed when the police raided them this week. We fear for our lives in such an environment. The building is meant for elderly people not for criminals," said 75-year-old Patrick Simon, who has been resident for 18 years.
 The arrested Nigerian suspects appeared in the Durban Magistrate’s Court on Wednesday and were remanded in custody until August 11.
Source: Sunday Tribune

52 comments:

Ndigbo and the love of quick money, blood riches. Shortcuts. Zinalima and stern, see your comrades.

All Igbo..

Wow,sai Baba you are vindicated every day,let senator Bruce hide his face in shame.everyday Nigerians are soiling our image abroad

When wl Nigerians learn mbok?

beauty said...

Hmm,,,now u wud see dose hypocrites dat do come nd come $h*t on Lib insulting d whole of ibo pple as if it's d whole of ibo dat are bad,,I'm nt an ibo bt Y is it dat wen one does sometin bad,dey wud blame it on d entire state or country or religion of d person,,dat is aw is a person bears muslim name nd makes a mistake,dey wud blame it on d religion,insult d creator,d messenger nd d rest,wen dey dnt even know an atom of word in d Quran,Islam is perfect bt an individual is nt,if one makes a mistake,blame it dem nd nt d religion..be wise pls...

beauty said...

Hmm,,,now u wud see dose hypocrites dat do come nd come $h*t on Lib insulting d whole of ibo pple as if it's d whole of ibo dat are bad,,I'm nt an ibo bt Y is it dat wen one does sometin bad,dey wud blame it on d entire state or country or religion of d person,,dat is aw is a person bears muslim name nd makes a mistake,dey wud blame it on d religion,insult d creator,d messenger nd d rest,wen dey dnt even know an atom of word in d Quran,Islam is perfect bt an individual is nt,if one makes a mistake,blame it dem nd nt d religion..be wise pls...

Ohiren Erimiakhena said...

I thought as much.,..Nigerians must be involved,if not,the story is incomplete.

Speechless.i am weeping for the ones that they killed in Indonesia and these fools are commiting another one.hia
PLEASE IS THIS A SPELL OR WHAT? WHO DID THIS TO UNA?FREEBORN WEPT.
terrorist buhari have u see it?have u see what ur scam government has turn yoruba boys into huh?
They should release them please

Speechless.i am weeping for the ones that they killed in Indonesia and these fools are commiting another one.hia
PLEASE IS THIS A SPELL OR WHAT? WHO DID THIS TO UNA?FREEBORN WEPT.
terrorist buhari have u see it?have u see what ur scam government has turn yoruba boys into huh?
They should release them please

Freeborn come and tell us how Buhari caused this. Anuofia like you

Biafrans constantly ruining our image abroad.

Naija for life.

#Somebody must to love me tonyt!!!

Umuafor no dey hear.

Igbo Kwenu!!!

javar10 said...

We are always there when it comes to dis business. Seriously when will 9ja economy improve? Abi una they wait till dollar go reach #500 n fuel go sell @250 per liter or till bag of rice go enta 30k. Nawao

Nigerians sha they be involved in every crime?

See why u will not blame Indonesia govt. Why are igbos, my tribe ruthless and desperate. More will still go in Indonesia fires.

linda ikeji's driver. said...

Igbo kwenu ! Kwenu ! U people are just wonderful wen it comes to issues with drugs ! Habba, in south Africa again, let's just imagine dis was Indonesia ? Wot would have happened ? Kip it up guys. Stubborn flies dat refusées to listen usually end up with the corpse in d grave.

Clap for igbos. Bravo Indonesia. Don't forgive those on your death row.

NOT AGAIN!

FRESH said...

Where are those doing #nigeriansarenotcriminals?

Na Buhari cause am

Nigerians again! Linda take note!

Naija again

Not again! Why always Nigerians, why? Can't cry for anyone of them again!!! #Sic #Desperados

Chae!

They should be happy is not Indonesia or Malaysia. they would have been ghosts by now. Ibo people and drugs

When will Nigerians cease to be associated with crime

This particular tribe is too desperate for money. Shameless set of people.They have soiled the name of our country in their desperado moves to make money at all cost. I think it's the right time to let them be on their own. Enough!!!

Nigerians again!

Nigerians!

Why always igbos?!?

LORENZO DANI said...

Igbos no go kill us..the good,the bad, they be NO 1.i salute keep dis gracing this country since 1782

Atleast wen dey av Biafra all dis crimes associated wit Nigeria's name will be reduced by almost 95%

Make them free them jaree... na Pharmacists dem be. Their accusers must remember that "Where there is no demand, there is no supply." Na the bad economy and hardship for Nigeria make those guys become Pharmacists wey dem no study for school, as far as i am concerned medicine na medicine whether na hard drug or soft medicine, medicine na medicine provided say e dey bring relief at some point in time.

*Grachi Dynasty*

My Igbo brothers are at it again... Thumbs up

Igbo kwenu o

Hahaha umu drugs... Igbo brothers, hafana

JOHN MILES said...

Again? Nigerians and drugs.

B said...

Nigerians are the architects of their problems, must dey put their hands in all things illegal. Every horrible tin, we must be represented. Kai!!!!!!!

Omo ibo and drugs sha!

My lbo brothers why now

Too bad!

Please is drug stealing?..and most of u that take Tramadol what is the content if I may ask?people must take drugs even the so called people chasing after drug dealers?Why do u think Mexico cherish their drug lords?

Amaefule when ur black arse is on a death row I'll be in front row clapping silly! ,we Igbos disgracing ourselves since independence , wrong is wrong and stop spewing dust #shame on you and your ancestors .

Linda plz for the Love of God and Humanity publish ma post , I gat words for these our Igbo brothers na echu mmadu afa(disgracing us) since independence .

FRESH said...

You really are very ignorant! pls.introduce your children to drug use, if you have any.Anu ohia!

You can as well take this tramadol and go to Indonesia or Saudi Arabia.

I'm not surprised with these names in this article. I believe all these foreign countries with time would be asking any Nigerian criminal the very part of the country he/she came from.

By now, all these Oyinbos should be able to differentiate among the tribes in Nigeria

That's because the ibo's always take a jibe at the Yoruba's at every given opportunity even when it is uncalled for. Ofe nmanu, Yoruba's are razz, etc when some one does anything bad even without knowing the ethnicity of the person, an Ibo person would make a comment ascribing it to Yorubas coupled with an insult or two. Please spare me.

Freeborn born on to bondage of envying and insulting Yorubas. You must be blind as well or maybe you are still waiting for your community to sponsor you for adult education to see that it is your tribes men Ibo at what they know how to do best. How is Bihari's to be blamed even during the reign of Gen Gown they were doing this, but hey I guess you had not being born then. Anuofia. I bet you work as a houseboy somewhere, therefore Linda's blog is the o.ly place where you can feel like somebody and also have a voice. Bloody simpleton