NDLEA arrests female drug trafficker recruited via Facebook | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 31 December 2015

NDLEA arrests female drug trafficker recruited via Facebook

The National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) arrested 37-year-old Uju Gloria Ezeabata pictured left, with 1.325kg of methamphetamine at the Murtala Muhammed International Airport (MMIA) in Ikeja, Lagos. According to a report by The Nation, investigations by the anti-drug agency showed that Uju, who was recruited on facebook, was taking the drug to Malaysia. The cartel’s suspected leader, Philip Maduabuchi Akpaka, 39, was also arrested.

When interrogated, Uju who works with an accounting firm in Lagos said: “I met a man on facebook some months ago who lives in Malaysia. He told me while chatting online that he is from my state, Anambra. After some months, he proposed to marry me and I requested that he comes to Nigeria to meet my parents as our custom demands. He promised to fulfil every marriage rite. Months later, he invited me to Malaysia, promising to pay all the travel expenses. After several appeals, I decided to visit him. The day I was to travel, he told me to take along a bag of foodstuff sent by his mother from the village. I was given the bag at the airport but in the process of checking it, drug was discovered inside packs of noodles in the bag and I was arrested.”

NDLEA Lagos Airport Commander Ahmadu Garba while commenting on her arrest, said “Gloria was arrested during screening of passengers on an Ethiopian airline flight on her way to Malaysia at the departure hall. Substances that tested positive for methamphetamine weighing 1.325kg were detected in her luggage. The drug was concealed in 26 packs of Indomie noodles in a bag of foodstuff containing plantain, pepper, melon and other spices. Further investigation led to the arrest of Akpaka, who allegedly coordinated the travel arrangement for Gloria and gave her the bag containing the drugs”.

Also commenting on the arrest, NDLEA Chairman/Chief Executive Roli Bode-George urged the public to be wary of drug cartels. 

“Members of the public should be wary of these antics, ascertain a wholesome relationship and report suspicious cases to the agency. Some of the tricks to watch out for include marriage proposals to unsuspecting female victims, unsolicited generosity like cash and other gift items as well as offering all-expense paid trip to Asia, Europe, America and South Africa. The mode of recruitment is also instructive because of its mass appeal to youths. I expect lovers of social media to learn from this arrest.”she said

The cartel’s suspected leader Akpaka admitted preparing Uju's travel papers at the instance of his Malaysia-based friend.

“I am a transporter. My friend in Malaysia asked me to prepare travel documents for Ezeabata. He also asked me to give her a bag to take to Malaysia,” he said.

Further investigation into the matter is ongoing

122 comments:

See the main reason why Sophie Momodu SLAPS Davido!

Is it that it's only igbos that are into this lucrative trade?

Escape goat!

#linda give me 1bo#

Escape goat!

#linda give me 1bo#

Wonder what will appen to the lady...!

Igbo kwenu

Na wa oooo

Her own don done be dat

eya....you won't blame the lady naa..39 years old no husband.

#justbeentruthful

May God save us all

Hmmm awuff they run belle oo

Via. Facebook? She's still a leaner then.

Wild flowers!

Eya, desperation for marriage has landed her in deep soup. Ladies pls shine ur eyes

#bosslady said...

hmmmmmmm na wa o see what desperation for marriage has caused!

Mr 47 said...

I know!! Igbo as usual. I'm sure drug trafficking will be legal if Biafra comes to reality

#bosslady said...

hmmmmm see what desperation for marriage has caused !!!

#bosslady said...

hmmmmm see what desperation for marriage has caused !!!

#bosslady said...

hmmmmm see what desperation for marriage has cost her

what a pity, such a waste for a beautiful lady

Ambassadorial recruit

INNOCENT SCAPE GOAT....
issoriat...... i don learn

Hmm!

Hmm!

Hannie said...

Internet romance
My gush!!!
Pple are stupid

Watin we no go see...

odinma...facebook love***

SO SO UNFORTUNATE, SHE DON BECOME A SCAPEGOAT!!! LADIES BEWARE

Ghen ghen

#iT wiLL only gEt beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

No gain! What a pity!

sweetchyj2000 said...

Story..storyyy...storyyyyyyy if I hear!

Praise your God you were arrested in Lagos and sin no more.....all this Igbo pple are die hard sha

My Okoro brothers be representing always, but in a negative way. See their eyes even, they sure look like crooks...........#GLORY2GLORY#

Na lie hw can an educated matured woman of her age be this foolish?

Is drug trafficking only business in this country

aunty linda Enter your comment...

Teddy said...

All na hustle...#my2cents

Nawa o

Okbye.

Dan said...

Chai God help us n grace to be sensitive

money palaver.

Darrel tom said...

Innocent woman
Her face n weave thou, bet the pix was taken in the 90's.

Linda's last son

Darrel tom said...

Innocent woman
Her face n weave thou, bet the pix was taken in the 90's.igbo peeps thou, can't just stand them n their....

Linda's last son

Thank God the guy admitted to giving her the bag.

LUXURY LIFE said...

NEW MODEL SCAM

LUXURY LIFE said...

NEW MODEL SCAM

NneGal aka Linda post my Comments hahahaa said...

She's on a long thing!!!! Marriage palava!

Too bad

What a man Can do

Biz gone bad

Hmmn. 'Monkey dey work, Babbon dey chop' be this case'o. I pity this girl

Woman I guess this has taught you a great deal of lesson

CHYGURL from CHYNA said...

Negodu... All bcos of marriage. Now he has gotten an innocent lady into a big trouble. Ladies beware of social media lovers o, pls. Mk we nor kill ourselves cos we want to b Mrs. NDLEA, pls don't b too hard on d lady.

She is even lucky that she didn't reach Malaysia. Na death sentence be that.

Gobe for her head. Linda take note!

Nawa oooh people get mind oooh up till now lots of people have nit learnt their lessons!!this is bad news for her.

Na wa o. Boys are not smiling

Oloju kokoro. You won go Malaysia kwo. You don reach there abi. Husband don finish for Nigeria abi? Kirikiri straight.

Like you didn't know what was inside , once all these criminals get caught , they start playing victim ..

Fakency Alexander said...

women, may God deliver us in this country

A way of making quick money

This is serious ohh...ha!!!

~Make I go drink one bottle of beer~

The girl is an innocent pawn. As for the man he asked to give her a bag and u just picked it from thin air abi? Uju don't worry it is well

The woman is lucky she was caught here. Death sentence awaits you if she's caught in Malaysia. Shine your eyes ladies#

I pity the woman but according to the law she is the courier. May God help her out of dis mess.

olodo. person give u bag for airport u carry am. fool

HugoBoss said...

Uju that guy no mean well for u at all..

Ade Joke said...

Ladies, be wise. Greed will kill some people. How on earth would you be visiting someone you've never met in a foreign country? Who knows, she might even have resigned from her work.

Nawaoo people with drugs quick money

Hmmmmmmmmmmm

Nawa oooo, some guys wicked ooo.
But some women get mind.
How will you agree to travel to see a man you don't know or ever seen cause of marriage.
God save us in this world..
Terrible things happening.
Not minding the danger and risk involved.
She get mind.

Nawa o, people should be careful...

Why are igbos so neck deep in this drug trade?It is so distressing and alarming. I am not a racist it is just a statement of fact. Almost 80% of busted drug trade is from this group. Why?

Libreaders sef know say you can easily guess the tribe. Na today! Hmmm when are they leaving to their country sef?

How is it her fault,wicked men everywhere

Nigerians are so wicked! You seduce a vulnerable woman into taking drugs to Malaysia even though you know the penalty is death...

Hmmm...thanks Linda, i've learned from this

Eyah,she's just a victim nd has to face d law. Ladies beware o

Hmmmmmmmmn,how do u visit a guy u hav never met biko?,if he was a ritualist now okpari,abeg mk we beware o.

This was difinately not her lucky day

Sincerely_From_My_Heart said...

Good job. Bravo.

Gbeserereooooo.....bad market......

Nne sorry

wisdomer said...

U would have gone on research on ur own by opening what was given to u. Wishing you good luck nd God's intervention

She dey lucky say they catch her for lagos, if na Malaysia, na killin oooo

Obiora Jamal said...

Ignorance is not an excuse my lady.hope they let you go so you would go and sin no more

This same Malaysia that will execute them when caught...something must be hot in this Malaysia! !!!

She is very lucky,God saved her, because if she was caught in Malaysia, ghen ghen death sentence.

Why would a drug dealer ever recruit someone on FB

Yes noww! Igbos are the most scrupulous, gluttonous, selfish,perverts, tribalistic and aggressive. They sha like to indulge in all sort of shady deals, jst to go flaunt wealths nd cars in their Biafran wrecked states.

AliBaba DeKingMaker said...

1. Ata agbago these guys
2. #MYOPINION #

Ruby Owanate said...

Ladies y'all should be careful

D guy want to do smart biznss bt it was bad day for him.but d guy is realy wicked.

Eya. Ur name don turn sorry now. #IamMe

Ndi igbo, emere unu ya eme? Nzuzu unu akariala!!!!

All sorts of stupid vices. D stupid faced woman can link up with a man on face book by not able to read and learn from all d online news around drug peddling?

I can't deal with this, at this rate u will all self distruct. Drugs, domestic violence, agitation for biafra, etc. Ndi iberibe!!!

At 39, her worst problem is not no husband. It is no brain.

Now include no life and no freedom to d two above and u will get 'Uju (sorrow) instead of Uju(abundance).

Looks stupid, acted stupid, therefore is definitely stupid.

Unu na support ihe ojoor.

Not unfortunate. Na her long throat cause am. Man never meet ur parents, buys u an international ticket to come visit him and u suddenly become stupid. All ur education and experience dat should have come with age gone-with-d-wind. If she had succeeded and upon arrival he turned her into a commercial sex slave nko? Or d Malaysian government got hold of her and executed her?

All because she wants to b married????? Meanwhile married people r looking for how to run away from d marriage.

Smh... onye Ji ya wu nwata nwanyi gba aka.

Innocent??? I don't believe it.this woman is 39years old, lives and works in Lagos, not in he village.

Always remember dat in law, ignorance is no excuse.

Thank u!!!!!!!

One of d very few reasonable comments on this page.

She is daft, dat's how it's her fault.

And U sound thick.

Don't be so foolish, how can u say Igbo's re the most gluttonous and selfish ppl dt indulge in this act. I can see u hardly read blogs so keep ur mouth shut.

Mayberry said...

@darele tom,u ve a problem of reasoning. D lady is in their custody so y will dey go & get a pics of a lady woh is wit Dem. Oh pardon my manners,mayb na ur father go find d pics come..... Oloshi

She hav disgrace us Wmen and mariage all de men u ar sexin in Lagos cnt u marry one mumu Malaysian harlot u wnt t marry aa man u hav nt seen big f notin Wmen dey ar fish brain ndlae u people shuld make her wreck in prison gbo people why all dese money money

IGBO KWENU. WOW. VIA FACEBOOK AGAIN? THESE GUYS ARE VEXING OOOO. AND THE WOMAN SEF DANGEROUS.

Lol...I swear

You can say all you want, you will still fall victim oneday. So, shut your traps if you ain't got anything good to see about IGBOs.