Village at centre of Indian sisters 'sentenced to rape' denies it | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 4 September 2015

Village at centre of Indian sisters 'sentenced to rape' denies it

The village council accused of ordering the rape of two Indian sisters because their brother ran off with a higher caste woman has denied it ever ordered the sickening punishment. The news that the women were to be assaulted because of their brother's actions led to an international outcry and hundreds of thousands of people have demanded their safety.

Now, members of the village council in the Baghpat region of northern India have told Reuters they passed no such order.

Family members of the two sisters also said they are unsure if the ruling was made - while local police deny any such directive was given.

When the accusations first emerged last month, they spread like wildfire. An online petition by Amnesty International seeking justice and protection for the low-caste sisters gathered over 260,000 signatures, mostly in Britain.

But family members said it may have just been gossip.
"It is all hearsay, we don't know if this actually happened," said Dharam Pal Singh, 55, the women's father and a retired soldier.
"We heard it from other villagers."
He identified one of the villagers, a man who also said he had heard it from others.
The incendiary allegations were contained in a petition to the Supreme Court filed last month by a lawyer for the Singh family seeking protection for the sisters.

It said one of Singh's sons fell in love with a married woman of a higher caste, leading to a row between the two families.

In its most sensational claim, the court filing said Meenakshi Kumari, 23, and her 15-year-old sister fled their home after being told they would be stripped naked and paraded with their faces blackened before being raped to atone for their brother's transgression.

Kumari, the elder sister, admitted she didn't know if the council had issued a ruling but said she took the threat seriously because women are often punished in India for things they have not done.
"It is a very tough life for women," Kumari said in an interview at her lawyer's office in the relative security of the capital.
"These things can happen."
She said she had heard of the threat to rape her from her father.

Reuters interviewed more than 20 people involved in the incident in the village of Sankrod, in Baghpat district, an hour's drive away from the capital New Delhi.

Sharad Sachan, a police superintendent, concluded after interviewing council leaders and other villagers that no such order had been issued. "The Supreme Court asked us to investigate and we plan to tell them our findings later this month," Sachan said.

The Supreme Court is not due to rule on the case until later this month.Amnesty said it did not investigate the case or visit the village, and instead relied on the court submission.

38 comments:

Na dem sabi

Space booked abs

Oghene bikoo

Se how unconfirmed gist spread like fire o.

REAVEALED!!!   5 Sexual Acts That May Cause Cancer

Se how unconfirmed gist spread like fire o.

REAVEALED!!!   5 Sexual Acts That May Cause Cancer

Why wont they deny it, are they not humans...they are just being smart

Of course they'll deny it. They're only trying to cover it up, something doesn't seem right. They should be arrested already.

So many waters has passed under the bridge. It is well. Linda take note!

Ummmm good new

Aunty linda

People interest in the matter made them deny the alligation... Well i think is a gud thing though no doubt.....

Hmmmmmmm I hope it's jst ordinary rumour like dey said ooo...mstchhheeewww

...Am gettin dere...

I hope the story of ordering their tape is unfounded, because I found it disgusting.

Linda wat kind of headline is this.. Na WA o

I know they will denial it,liar's every were.

Ummmmmm seen

Aunty linda

Ummmmmm seen

Aunty linda

Ummmmmm seen

Aunty linda

Liars!!

Amnesty international trying sha..

Linda please work on your headings

They're now denying it.....

Which ppl shud be arrested I dnt get u nna

What a third world country, Indian ppl n rape hv one thing in common, why shud they be raped for what their bro did? It's wrong no wonder their population is more than a billion cos they like sex more than any other

chybaby said...

They re denying it. Very common thing in indian setting. I pity their women.

Apple Berry said...

There is an element of truth in every rumor. So there's every likelihood it may have happened and it's being heavily covered up.

Amycool cyril said...

na wah why are they denying it? they should be apprehended joor

It's well, at the end na papa God know wetin happen and they themselves.

that is their problem over there
either trus\e or false gbam!!!!!1111111

That is a relief

That is a relief, cos to think man capable of this type of cruelty is to lose faith in him!

These 2 sisters need justice

OZA SOLUTION TEMPLE;for Your Spiritual And
Physical Problems Discover The Magic Of Powerful Spell The
Real Solution May Be Easier Than You Think.Welcome To
Mystic Word Of Dr GODDEY ,you Can Make Full Use Of These
Mystic Power To Get Rid Of Your Frustrations Solve Your
Problems And Live A Rich And Successful Life By Use Our
Product Such As: JOB SPELL,PROMOTION SPELL, EXAMINATION
SPELL,ADMISSION SPELL, LOVE SPELL,SPELL TO DRAW A NEW
LOVER TO YOU,BREAKING UP SPELL, GOODLUCK SPELL,SPELL TO
OBTAIN VISA,LOW
SPERM COUNT SPELL,MIS-CARRIAGE SPELL,SPELL TO CURE
FIBROID, SPELL TO HAVE PREGNANT, SPELL TO FREE SOMEONE
FROM PRISON OR COURT CASE ,PROTECTION FROM WEAPONS , SPELL TO HAVE A GOOD HUSBAND OR WIFE,
ACCIDENT PROTECTION SPELL,SPELL TO BREAK
RELATIONSHIP WITH SPIRITUAL WIFE OR HUSBAND,SPELL TO
BOOM YOUR BUSINESS,SPELL TO BREAK A CURSE,for More
Information Or Counselling

call +2349053052105 ,
+2347018190610
Email : Goddeysolution@gmail.com

The white Man made a gun that can kill u i give a spell that will protect you who is wicked? think pls Don't Flash If You Want Your Prayer To
Be Answer, distance is Not a Barrier Our Spell Will Reach You
Anywhere You Are,it Shall Be Well With You,AMEN
We give d spell God heals

Useless people, when the international community is now involved why una no go deny am