Buhari names deputy chief of staff, media aide for Osinbajo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 3 September 2015

Buhari names deputy chief of staff, media aide for Osinbajo

Press statement from presidency

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of Mr. Rahman Adeola Ipaye as Deputy Chief of Staff and Mr. Laolu Akande as Senior Special Assistant (Media & Publicity) in the Presidency.

The two new appointees will work in the Office of the Vice President.

Mr. Ipaye is the immediate past Attorney General of Lagos State.

He studied at the University of Lagos where he graduated with B.A. (Hons) Degree (History) in 1984; LL.B. Hons (1988) and LL.M. (1991). He is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Taxation of Nigeria and the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators respectively.

Before his appointment as Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr. Ipaye was employed as a lecturer in the Department of Commercial and Industrial Law, University of Lagos (1992 to 2001); Special Assistant (Legal Matters) to the Governor of Lagos State (2001 to 2007); and Special Adviser (Taxation and Revenue) to the Governor of Lagos State and member of the State Executive Council (2007 to 2011).

Mr. Laolu Akande graduated from the University of Ibadan in 1990 with an honours degree in History and a Masters degree in Communication & Language Arts in 1992.

He became a Staff Reporter of the Guardian newspaper in 1990 while still serving under the National Youth Service Corps. He left The Guardian to join the foundation team of The News Magazine in 1993, where he became Senior Writer. In 1997, he was appointed by Nigerian Tribune as editor of the Tribune on Saturday, a position he held until he moved to the United States of America in 1998.

In the United States, he worked as a journalist with the Philadelphia Inquirer and New York Newsday. He also served at the United Nations as a Press Officer and later as an Advocacy and Communication Consultant. He was also the Bureau Chief of The Guardian in North America and the Executive Director of the Christian Association of Nigerian-Americans, CANAN.

Mr. Akande taught at the State University of New York at Stonybrook and also Suffolk County Community College in Long Island, New York between 2002 and 2015.
Ipaye and Akande have been working with Vice President Osinbajo since the inception of the present Administration.

Femi Adesina

Special Adviser to the President
(Media & Publicity)

September 3, 2015

51 comments:

Aww congratulations to him.

Wow! Congratulations 2 dem

I wish them the best in their new assignments.

***odikwa risky nd tyt***

Dogo Dan Daura,Baban Zahra Baban Halima,Gaskiya Dokin Karfe,Mai Gaskiya Mai Jama'a..Ja Muje uban Nigeria.
God bless you my president.

Can't he name his own chief of staff n media aides? Is Buhari suppose to choose for him? Osinbajo na Akpan? #Justasking #okbye

Congrats to them, make dem serve us well & God shall bless dem. Linda take note!

Hmm

Funny and insane people so its in the hand of buhari the dictator to name it,were is the clueless osibanjo.

Kachi said...

Congrats.

Amy said...

Of course he will push like terms together. Osibanjo vs Osibanjo, Buhari vs Buhari regime.

Congratulations to them

SWILL MARTIN said...

I no read am finiiish.

Omo!, see resume/credentials.

Congrats to them

READ!!!!  5 Warning Signs Of Heart Failure NO.2 and 5 WILL SHOCK YOU!

Congrats to them

READ!!!!  5 Warning Signs Of Heart Failure NO.2 and 5 WILL SHOCK YOU!

Congratulations .... Make use of ur office judiciously....
For ur affordable MTN SME DATA share, contact ME on 08066479991, BBM:563314E5.
1GB-#1,150
2GB-#2,250
3GB-#3,350...
Payment can be made via direct cash or MTN airtime. Guaranteed to work on all your devices.

David Chimaobi Ndubuisi said...

Duplication of functions. I don't like this one. Media & publicity akalia.

What ev'ssssss

Guys, Would You Do This To Impress A Girl? See Photos said...

congratulations ... Mr. Rahman Adeola Ipaye

aproko manager said...

Okkk

Seen #okBYE

#it will only get better
#it must end in praise

i am so happy for mr Akande. he is such a good man and definitely deserves it.

Plenty certificate by Mr Akande please acquire more

For window blinds, wallpaper and curtains please call 08160856785.

Una welcome... dee

nice..... congrats... am proud to be a lawyer

Yoruba man for talks as usual.next position for them is minister of communication and minister of education where all you do is to talk .the worst position is vice or deputy

Ok!

No be small thing...Ndi-Igbo where are you people? very soon Nig would turn you people to slaves....ok na.. i dey watch

Why does Osinbajo need a media aide.... why can't he just use Buhari's own

Lukman said...

Not a juicy post the South are clamouring for! What happened to Petroleum, Finance, works etc?

Ok o
Na here all our money dey go so

CUSTOMIZED T SHIRTS 4RM 2K WITH FREE DELIVERY said...

COVER UP

Hmm, I see dat sense in it all. Work with ur own, NOT ur enemies. That was Jonathan's mistake; he tried to satisfy the whole nation in his appointments and ended up appointing his enemies

Ladun Liadi said...

Approved Linda approved NOT named. There's a BIG difference.

http://phcv.me/22faa281

Congrats to them. History is not an easy course.

http://micostarmall.blogspot.com.ng/2015/09/micostarmall-deal-of-day_4.html

African mail said...

Stop misleading us.....He only approved the appointments,the two guys were chosen by Osinbanjo.....Every appointment in the presidency must be approved by the President.

ok

Good one
So Yoruba people should stop complaining
Igbo keep lamenting

Nice....also visit www.galaxygist.com

Goldengirl said...

@ freedborn U ar a cursed child. unfortunate bastard.