A new Sheriff in town - Femi Adesina writes | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 4 September 2015

A new Sheriff in town - Femi Adesina writes

Article by Special Adviser on Media and Publicity to President Buhari, Femi Adesina
Some call it the Buhari bounce. Others describe it as the Buhari effect. Yet some others say it is the Buhari aura. One thing is however crystal clear. Things have not been the same in the past 100 days in Nigeria, since Muhammadu Buhari assumed the presidency. A new sheriff has truly come to town.
Exactly 100 days ago, he climbed the podium at Eagle Square in Abuja and got inaugurated as president, 30 years after he had been toppled from power as military head of state. He promised to belong to nobody, and to belong to everybody. It is a pledge that still resonates loudly today, and will surely echo for a long time to come.

On a day like this, you would expect a presidential spokesman to chronicle the achievements of his principal in office. He has turned stone to bread, slain the dragon, and climbed Mount Olympus in ten seconds. But that is not what I want to do. There are some intangible, almost imperceptible achievements, but which run very deep, and are quite fundamental. Those are the ones I'll rather talk of, while we leave the tangibles till some other day.

Oh, he's escaping. There are no concrete achievements, some wailing wailers would cry. True? Not true. I could have decided to focus on the bloody nose being given to Boko Haram in the North-east, which would see the country rid of insurgency soon, the rallying of leaders of other neighboring countries to deploy a Joint Multinational Task Force, the openness displayed about government finances and the welfare package instituted for states that couldn't pay salaries, the Treasury Single Account, which would promote transparency and accountability in governance, the disappeared fuel queues, fast-tracking of the cleanup of Ogoni land, reduction in the cost of governance, and many others. But I will not focus on all those. The day cometh!

When a new sheriff comes into town, disorder gives way to order. Chaos flees. Impunity is swept away. Laxity gives way to diligence, and people change their old, unedifying ways. When you have a Wild, Wild West situation prevailing, the new sheriff comes, and stamps his authority. Old things then pass away, behold, everything becomes new.

Nigeria had always needed attitudinal change. That was why the Buhari regime launched War Against Indiscipline in the 1980s. And the war was succeeding, till a spanner was thrown in the works through regime change. Buhari was called all sorts of names then: despot, tyrant, iron fist ruler etc But the discerning knew. They understood that it was a change we needed. And that change was postponed for 30 years.

But what is bred in the bones never goes out through the flesh. Immediately Buhari returned on May 29, Nigerians knew that discipline was back. The bird of the homestead told the ones in the bush, and they all sat up. No unnecessary chirping. Stealing is now corruption, they whispered to themselves. God help you if you get caught.

Now, consider the situation with electricity and with our refineries. Electricity has climbed to about 5,000 Megawatts. Some refineries, which had not produced a drop of fuel for years, have cracked into life. Even the perennial queues in our petrol stations have disappeared, vanished. Is it because Buhari threw billions of dollars at the problems? No. Those things simply responded to the presence of the new sheriff in town. Those who manned those schedules could afford to be laid back in the past. But not anymore! The music has changed, and the dance steps must follow suit. And would Buhari take credit for the newfound zeal and efficiency? Not the plain and honest man from Daura. The broadcaster Omotayo Omotoso had come to the presidential villa to interview him sometime in July. And she had asked what the magic wand he waved was, that refineries, long comatose, had sprang back to life. The President responded that it would be dishonest of him to have claimed he did anything. He had not touched refineries at all. But unknown to the President, he did something. He had swept into town with his reputation for efficiency, and for achieving results. And the refineries, fuel supply, electricity supply, responded to the new sheriff. May things continue to get better till the change becomes enduring and irreversible. Amen somebody!

Another imperceptible but momentous achievement is the faith that Nigerians now have in their leader. Yes, the opposition numbers in millions, and naturally so. A political party had held power at the centre for 16 years, and its loyalists would not simply disappear, or get converted overnight. About 12 million Nigerians had voted for the presidential candidate of that party in the March 2015 general elections. Would they just cross over to the winning side? It often takes awhile. But despite all that, a great deal of Nigerians, a vast majority, believe in the new sheriff. And that is great achievement. A big deal. When the citizenry believe in their leader, and almost can swear by him, it is no mean feat. The NOI polls, in a survey in July, revealed that over 70% of Nigerians were happy with the Buhari administration. And I can bet that the percentage would rise, as the months and years roll by. Faith in leadership is something that does not come cheap.

And this one! Even our foreign reserve knows that a new sheriff is in town, and has responded appropriately. In June, just one month into office, and with the plugging of some leakages and loopholes, foreign reserve surged from $29 billion to $31.89. Holy Moses! Just in one month. Well, that is what a new sheriff can do. He brings sanity, confidence and probity to the system. And you would agree that Nigeria needs such shot in the arm, if we consider recent past experiences, when our treasury was like a bag filled with holes.

An evidence of the believability of the new sheriff, and the confidence reposed in him, is the disclosure that came this week from Ambassador Godknows Igali, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Power. He said since Buhari came to office, not a single sabotage of the power infrastructure has been recorded, and it is one of the reasons that electricity supply keeps improving. But did Buhari line up soldiers across the power infrastructure? Did he hire a combination of OPC, Egbesu, MASSOB, MEND and Arewa youths to keep vigil? No. Just believability. Those who are so angry with the country, and would go to any extent to sabotage development, have decided to give the sheriff a chance. They have heard of his reputation. A man that believes in fairness and justice. He would do right to all parts of the country.

Can you imagine the respect our sheriff commands on the international scene, and how it redounds to the glory of the average Nigerian? American President, Barack Obama said Buhari came onto his job with reputation of integrity and a clearcut agenda. Ambassador Johnny Carson, also during the U.S trip in July, said the Nigerian President was a man of honour and integrity. Everywhere he goes, the Nigerian President is lauded and garlanded for his virtues. And the image of the country is burnished and repositioned in the process. Surely, greater days are ahead.

Some people say the sheriff did not hit the ground running, as he is yet to constitute his cabinet in 100 days. And I usually ask such people: when you hit the ground, and you land in mud, how do you begin to run immediately? You can only sink deeper, if you attempt to run. The thing to do is to first clear the mud, till you get to terra firma, and then you can begin to run.

President Buhari has spent time trying to clean the Augean stable he inherited. And he is succeeding. Sheriffs can either come in with guns blazing, shooting malefactors to kingdom come, or simply stamp their authority on the situation by sheer force of personality and presence. The Nigerian sheriff seems to have opted for the second option for now. But we should never forget that sheriffs are licensed to shoot. And those shots can be lethal for lawbreakers. In a matter of months, you can ask those who had bled our treasury to the point of death. They'll have stories to tell.

Adesina is Special Adviser, Media and Publicity to President Muhammadu Buhari

79 comments:

Hmmm! Too long ehn

It's too long to read. Linda i'm about to turn up with friends. It's Friday evening.

PMB is the real deal believe it or not, may God continue to give him the wisdom $ ability to rule Nigeria.

Too long

Yeah a new sheriff in town, that's why there are lots of sacking. That's all I see, sacking and replacement of heads of different government agencies.

Rubbish and stupid write up.

An intriguing piece. Linda take note!

I hear

What nonsense....no solid achievement to show....

But I miss Reuben Abati - his articles are much more presidential - though Adesina is far far far better than Shehu Garba whose recent disjointed article is an embarrassment.

But seriously all this talk we still dont have light o...... But still sai baba.....

Applaudiseeeee to the special adviser, media and publicity! I applaud you sir! It can never be better said

Adesina is just trying to be relevant. You don't expect me to read this bull crap!

I wish for and work for a better Nigeria. PMB I wish you and your team well... Although I am and have never been an APC fan... To me, Nigeria first... party afflictions come later.

No time!

Good write up,keep it up bro.

pathetic, tell the sheriff to get ready and pack up in 2019,bcos there is no time for anybody that is practising sectionalism in Nigeria.

Femi Adesina should go suck a d!ck, Shehu Garba's d!ck. Femi Adesina is a scumbag.

No one has time for anything written by Femi Adesina. Right now, even if Buhari was committing the worst atrocities on earth, desperate fools such as Femi Adesina and Shehu Garba will still sing Buhari's prraises.

No one has time for Femi Adesina or Shehu Garba. They are garbage. They have no integrity. They would lie for Sani Abacha, Adolf Hitler, Satan, Shekau or Muhammadu Buhari.

Mr 47 said...

Still yet to see a President of a country that gives protection contract to bunch of militant and vigilantes

Overheard Naija said...

In terms of style, diction, lucidity, logic, Reuben Abati is miles ahead of Femi Adesina. I am really surprised that a former president of the gild of editors is not an accomplished writer. I really miss Reuben Abati. He had substance.

@freeborn , Hope we don't hear U commited suicide one day as U begin seeing Nigeria prospering under Buhari. Watch ur gall of hatred and bitterness towards him as it might just destroy U.

yessoo,with BUHARI we shall meet our target in 2020

Amen bro

I enjoyed this article. I love it.

sean lot said...

why are some mumus commenting senseless on this page..people like zinalima n his likes..na wa o..nigerian youths have a long way to go

Mtcheeewwww. Am I mad to read this?

The smell..uchk

rednaxela said...

Why is the ruling Government still sounding like an opposition party? Only one man can't make the difference, he can only try. My only concern with this APC LED Government is the fact that, they lied, killed and blackmailed their way to power and as such are already doomed. You can't correct the ills of the society, when you are part of the ills. Sentiments aside PMB is a good Northern Muslim Man but not a good Nigerian. I won't be surprised if he can't draw the Nigeria Map well, because he doesn't know how to.

I'm sorry to say those of you that said its too long are ignorant and dumb. For 16 years we lived very sad lives now things are getting better, and you don't care. Give him a chance and see that things would get better. Look at his recommendations from top officials and we all know how he is on corruption. So everyone going to be entitled freely. Give him time and watch as Nigeria prospers.

Boye said...

1. Nigeria only needed a leader with the right posture, and systems would align, like iron filings do when a magnet brings it's field. One would have doubted if these times could come in Nigeria, when we can hope again.
2. Reading is an intellectual exercise which many youths are failing to do; it's the reason for shallow thoughts, lack of concentration and unsustained commitment to goals. This article is only a 5minutes read.

MANY NIGERIANS ARE NOT LITERATE AT ALL. THEY DON'T HAVE ENDURANCE FOR LONG READING. THE ONLY EXCEPTION IS WHEN THERE IS A LONG CUE AND LOADS OF MONEY TO COUNT. THERE IS A SAYING THAT IF YOU REALLY TRULY WNAT TO HIDE ANYTHING FORM AFRICANS IN GENERAL PUT IT INSIDE A BOOK AND YOU WILL BE SURE TO FIND IT THERE.

I GUESS AFRICAN LEADERS NEED TO HEAVILY INVEST IN IMPECABLE AND VERY HIGH STANDARD OF EDUCATION. GOD BLESS US ALL. LINDA TAKE NOTE, WE SPOKE ABOUT SOMETHING SIMILAR IN FORM OF ELECTRICITY AND POPULARITY AT MURTALA MOHAMMED AIRPORT. GOD BLESS YOU AND KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.

But Adesins never mentioned the lopsided appointments and Buhari sectionalism.

Demmy said...

True

Demmy said...

True

What a disappointment. When will this administration give Femi something useful to write about that will leverage his skills as a seasoned journalist? He should not be asked to do tabloid material. Such a waste of talent.

Long grammar. Nothing concrete . No issues shaa. Just ask PMB to constitute his cabinet so there could be an effective economic council that can chart a clear fiscal policy thrust. This lack of one is doing serious damage to our economy.

Linda..I feel like killing something or someone for every time some Nigerians comment on a piece as 'too long'.... There goes the assertion that to hide something from Africans, put it in writing. Seriously, Literature should be made compulsory in secondary schools so as to rid us off this inexplicably laxity in reading. However bad the piece, read it & get the main thrust and point of the writer before lazily slamming it as 'too long' How did you people read at the tertiary institutions sef? Una pay person read? Good God!!!!!

GOD bless Nigeria

GOD bless Nigeria.

Ehi Frank said...

Boo i agree with you 100%

Nice write up,we pray for a better Nigeria.

ADESHINA YOU ARE A SHAMELESS HILL GOAT SERVING A WICKED DICTATOR, A RENOWNED COUP MAKER,A PARTIAL AND SECTIONAL LEADER WITH A HIDDEN AGENDA TO UNDO A SECTION OF THE COUNTRY.
BUHARI TACTICS IS WELL KNOWN TO THOSE WHO KNOWS HIM WELL. BUHARU WANTS TO SEIZE INEC BECAUSE HE KNOWS THAT IS THE NEW SOURCE OF POWER. THIS IS THE REASON BEHIND THE APPOINTMENT OF THE WIDOW WHO CALLS HIM UNCLE FOR ADVICE AND DIRECTION.
ADESINA AND HIS MASTER SHOULD KNOW THAT DEMOCRACY WILL DIE IN NIGERIA IF THIS EVIL ACT IS NOT NIP IN THE BUD NOW.
NIGERIA NEEDS AN INDEPENDENT INEC CHAIRMAN WHO HAS NO LINK WITH BUHARI,NOT SOME ONE WHO HAS BEEN CLOSE TO HIM AND HIS FAMILY WHICH YOU KEEP ON DEFENDING BLINDLY FOR SELFISH REASON.
IT IS A SHAME THAT A MAN WHO HAS EDITED A MAJOR NATIONAL NEWSPAPER IN NIGERIA HAS DECIDED TO WORK AND DEFEND A BRUTAL DICTATOR WHO CLAIMS TO HAVE REPENTED BUT THE TRUTH IS WELL KNOWN BUHARI IS JUST PRETENDING, HIS HEART REMAIN BLACK,WICKED,DECEPTIVE,OPPRESSIVE.

stanlo boranti said...

If u want to keep a secret from a blackman , put it in a book... Just a simple and dese pdp apologist in these group re saying its too long. How can d Nigerian youths progress and truly be d leader of tmmrw when to even read a less Dan 1500 worded article na government work fr them. May God help this generation

Amazing write up. ... I feel honoured and proud to be witnessing the new aura of greatness coming to Nigeria. .. Dear God... Guard and Guide PMB Amen...

Adeshina shut up u r just trying to please ur Oga, tho pmb is a good man n change is happening already

Amycool cyril said...

read and heard

Too long but all true talk. Sai baba

I believe in God and secondly, in PMB. Lets all join hands and assist him.

peace said...

Wow! Wat an interesting article! Kudos to Adesina. I have faith nd believe in Buhari, ride on my President. God bless Buhari, God bless Nigeria!

You are a fool

TheRealCrinkumCrankum

Dani said...

Good true

Dani said...

Mumu his already relevant

Wonderful right up, only those who dnt ve brain to digest dis wld say dis write up doesn't make sense. Nice one Adesina, I'm really impressed

Whew....What a piece! Another achievement you forgot to mention sir is the appointments made so far! We are beginning to see intellects returning to governance in place of those hungry but insatiable, gluttonous politicians that characterized past administrations.

High points of these articles;

"Oh, he's escaping. There are no concrete achievements, some wailing wailers would cry. True?"
"Some people say the sheriff did not hit the ground running, as he is yet to constitute his cabinet in 100 days. And I usually ask such people: when you hit the ground, and you land in mud, how do you begin to run immediately? You can only sink deeper, if you attempt to run. The thing to do is to first clear the mud, till you get to terra firma, and then you can begin to run" #EPIC You just earned my respect.......ED

mamou said...

Shut up the light is better now

Nice article,.indeed a new sheriff in town

We have heard your stories, let the work begin

Etsako Pearl said...

Well Said.
Long live pmb!
Long live federal Republic of Nigeria

Sherifu? I thought He's Buhari. Anyway e depends the town wey him dey.

Amanda Austins said...

Yes...the Sheriff is back to sanitize the country

That is what we need - Revolution!

The level of illiteracy in Nigeria is unbelievable! Whatever. We are grateful to God for the beginning of good things in our country

Nonsense when it comes to insecurity those big mouth from the west go dey blame gej when refineries start working Na buhari Na buhari magic when naria they continue dey fall Na gej oo, chibok girls still not found Na gej abi nonsense

Easy-E said...

please aways be patient to read articles.

abeg na who wan read this long story

ogidi promise said...

still wondering what the above writer meant when he said that a man as rational as PMB says he didn't in any way contribute to the positive turn in our indigenous refineries and you think otherwise.please in as much as GEJ was not the best,he was at the spine of this resuscitation and that of the power sector and as such should be commended.lets get our praise and applauds to the appropriate quarters

segun adebiyi said...

Thanks for advising him

segun adebiyi said...

Thanks anonymous for advising him

segun adebiyi said...

Better than the days of GEJ. Surely will get better in a couple of months, the faith in Sheriff has taken it this far. When work begins Nigeria will witness better things

segun adebiyi said...

It does not matter who is occupying which post, all we want is good Nigeria. PMB may choose not to have ministers, it does not matter for as long as Nigeria is running fine and we are progressing.

segun adebiyi said...

You lied

segun adebiyi said...

important questions for you anonymous - is PMB serving as a military head of state now or as elected president? What is the difference between PMB and David Mark who was senate president for 8 years.? Has PMB ceased to be a Nigerian or what are you saying.It's better you stop blind politics

segun adebiyi said...

Amen. Good prayer.

The Buhari effects...... Yes what about the the Buhari acts?

Buhari effects.......what about Buhari acts?