Nigerian conman weeps as he's jailed in the UK for fraud | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 4 September 2015

Nigerian conman weeps as he's jailed in the UK for fraud

A Nigerian conman, Godwin Nwaofor, 36, funded his expensive lifestyle by cheating pensioners out of their life savings. He kept a 'suckers list' of potential victims to send bogus letters saying they had won the Australian Lottery.

The Nigerian national received around £1million from the scam and blew the money on luxury cars, gold jewellery and expensive champagne at top nightclubs in London.

Nwaofor was a ‘willing and enthusiastic lieutenant’ to the mastermind of the con, another Nigerian, Frank Onyechonam, who was nicknamed ‘Fizzy’ for his love of vintage champagne.
Onyeachonam was jailed eight years last year, after he was exposed as the chief player in the scam.
He drove a Maserati and fired bubbly corks across exclusive private members clubs as he lived a life of fantastic luxury on his victim’s life savings.
The scam started with a bogus letter to a vulnerable pensioner telling them they had won the Australian Lottery.
The letters were sent by a ‘lottery agent’ targeting mainly American pensioners informing them they had won a life-changing prize and requesting a modest sum to release the funds.
Believing they had won, victims were hooked into paying fees to release their ‘winnings’ through an agent who would demand ‘activation fees’ to release their cash.
In some cases, dupes set up businesses in an attempt to receive their winnings and became unwitting money mules laundering cash from other victims.

Nwaofor, a father of two, regularly switched addresses to avoid being caught.
One victim, a 76-year-old woman, who believed she had won $1.85m, tried to track down Nwaofor after the FBI told her she had fallen victim to a scam.
She flew to the UK and went to the address she had for Nwaofor, but found that he had already moved on to another address.
Judge Richard Hone QC said the evidence in the case, at Central Criminal Court, against Nwaofor was ‘overwhelming’ and showed him to be a proven liar.
‘You have a tendency to be dishonest in your dealings with landlords, agencies, the police, HMRC, and car hire firms’, he said.
‘You also moved addresses regularly to ensure your whereabouts remained a mystery.’
Police identified 406 victims from two notebooks found at Onyeachonam’s Canary Wharf penthouse when he was arrested.
They seized Louis Vuitton shoes, Gucci handbags, a collection of expensive watches and dozens of designer shoes, as well as 5,000 pictures of Onyeachonam flaunting his wealth at exclusive upmarket venues including the Guvnor Bar in Docklands, east London.

Detectives fear the scale of the fraud could even mushroom to £30million if all the details discovered in notebooks and emails can be traced to victims.
Nwaofor moved to the UK in January 2006 from Nigeria and soon married a German citizen.
He has two children with her, aged six and six-months-old.  

He broke down in tears as he was jailed for 7 years yesterday morning, but the judge said he did not believe the remorse was genuine.
‘Just as a crocodile sheds its tears while devouring its prey, so the copious weeping in court is not hypocritical remorse but tears of frustration that in spite of your careful concealment, you have been well and truly rumbled’, the judge told him.
‘This Australian lottery scam has brought penury and debt to your victims who were ruthlessly milked of their hard earned savings.’
The judge said although ten victims were traced by prosecutors as having fallen for Nwaofor’s scam, but that was probably the ‘tip of the iceberg’.
‘Vast sums of cash you used to fund a luxury lifestyle, with top of the range hire cars, large watches, gold jewellery, expensive nightclubs’, said the judge.
‘It shows you made the best part of £1m yourself.’
Nwaofor, of Camberell Green, south London, was found guilty of conspiracy to defraud, converting criminal property, and acquisition of criminal property.
He will serve half his sentence in prison and the remaining part on licence and will also now face confiscation proceeds.

Source: Daily Mail 

74 comments:

See bottles... Igbooooooo i hail ona

Hehehehe busted....we gat many of their kinds here tho...you don't have to do fraud to be a big boy naa!

Eyah

SHUTUP YOU FOOL!

ummmmm nawa o

aunty linda

ummmmm nawa o

aunty linda

Na mumu him be. E no worth to call am Igbo man sef.

Hahahaha,if Biafra becomes a country ,it will be filled with fraud and drugs.

ummmmm nawa o

aunty linda

aproko manager said...

So y e come dey cry...after d enjoyment mchewwwww

ummmmm nawa o

aunty linda

ummmmm nawa o

aunty linda

ummmmm nawa o

aunty linda

ummmmm nawa o

aunty linda

Serves him right,same awaits other criminals like him.

Happy prison life babes. You didn't buy me my shoes

Yea sorry these boys have finally finish... ABBEY BANK you are next the guts to even name your self after a bank. Chaiiii naija boys una don spoil finish

see the way they all go marry white woman. Fools

Big fool!

Irresponsible fool ! I can bet a lizard's Az he goes to church with plenty offerings n tithes, n well respected for dat too! Forming smart ibo boi abi? Need smart in London? Ask d yorubas! Dem don elude London police enuf sotey London police recruitment now requires understanding n speaking yoruba as mandatory b4 dem bgin police work!
I hope dos gay guys in prison convert ur church cheating Az to full fledged gay Az, n giv u anal cancer bfr 7yrs!

mrs chukwuma said...

Speechless..............

What goes round comes around

Serves him right!

Yet, he lived in Camberwell Green. Mscheww.

What's the crying for??? He should be thankful its only jail term cos left to me na to hang am. Linda take note!

Serves him right.

Bona shut up u sound stupid with
Ur geekish attitude what do u
know nigerian blog superstar.silly runny fingers

If its not an Ibo man then its an Igbo man.....we are officially a disgrace

If its not an Ibo man then its an Igbo man.....we are officially a disgrace, why do we love crime so mucu

Ewu awusa

If its not an Ibo man then its an Igbo man.....we are officially a disgrace, why do we love crime so much

Ewu Awusa

At least we won't be killing/bombing each other like animals... Nor raping our little daughters like the rest

Foolish fool.... Jail no tym..... #NowPlaying>> wait for me: johnny drille..

These guys are lenient I swear

Fool! Why do you think "YORUBA LANGUAGE" was added to the list of languages as a criteria by the Police Force to become an officer? Huh? It's cos most of the Yorubas living in the UK are Scammers, Overstayers, thieves, crooks, drug traffickers, the list goes on and on.

Lmfaooo... anonymous u no go murda me with laugh o.

Clown! You are crying, do you know how many people have been crying because of your scam

Onitsha Brought Up said...

U people should stop calling the guy names ..some of u might be in his shoe tomorrow .trust me

Onitsha Brought Up said...

U people should stop calling the guy names ..some of u might be in his shoe tomorrow .trust me

Linda since you omitted the name of their Nigerian chairman Ese Orogun. Guys see him. http://www.bellanaija.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/DSC_9011-600x400.jpg

Ese Orogun their naija chairman sitting with Timaya here, the blacky http://www.bellanaija.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/DSC_9011-600x400.jpg.

Serves him right....

He is a fool

So how come it's only omo igbo we do read about everyday on this blog defrauding and pushing hard drug? Am sure we gonna see another post before tomorrow of omo igbo that would be nabbed for one crime or the other. You people better change your ways and stop supporting evil, just like say na curse for una tribe. Na wahhhh ooo!!! Smh!

Alex said...

Just shut up there!! Bastard ibo boy, I pray you 'll find yourself in that shoe of your brother so you can be in his present shoe. am not much surprise, because your parents even encourages you people to do it, buhari go soo jail all of una. Animals!!!

But na igbo dey news sha

Henry Eze U BE BIG FOWL.

Ashiere! Your own people nko? Them no dey abi? We all know better!

Linda why you edit their Naija chairman name Ese Orogun

Baba I feel your tears, after reasoning all the whole fun and too much rubbers of Funds to spend with bitches, anyway Jah go finally reason your matter soon as U dey collect your fuckup, more high spirit G boys.

Lol@ comments

Oh well, he had it coming...

greate

Hope he rots well in jail

Ehi Frank said...

One day is definitely for the owner of the house.

More ppl to b exposed...
As they say everyday for the thief one day for the owner
This should be a lesson to others who do this ish but yall cnt go unpunished...this one will most probably serve half of his jail term n be deported to his village

Innit?

I don talk am before say these igbo people are a misplaced tribe in naija. They should send them back to their original place which is south America so they can fit in better with their drugs and fraudulent activities gbam

Na wa o! These people are making us in general look bad at you are here arguing about yoruba and igbo. To the oyinbo man this con artist is a Nigerian he doesn't care if he is delta or bayelsan. One Nigeria Abeg, the good the bad and the ugly

BRock said...

For stealing over 300million naira, d judgement was too tame...dese guys that will be forming paparazzi wit stolen money

I would like to insult the hell out that my Igbo brothers but Yahoo is not an Igbo thing and sadly there are many young boys looking up to men like this guy and wishing they could get into the game!

NAH WAH OOOOH, WHY E NOR RUN COME NIGERIA AS E RUN THE SHIT FINISH?

bummyla said...

serves him right! giving Nigerian bad name! 7 years is small! http://www.bummyla.com

Lol 7yrs small, it shud ve been 21yrs cos dis nigga meelu alu biko

Oluwadamilola said...

Ole, barawo banza, wonbiiki wobia..

So why is Nigerian crying for him? What he did is terrible

First and foremost, he is a Nigerian n dat is Wat matters. Our image as a country

uche john said...

Ok he stole money from pensioners right? And UK government is acting as if this is the end of the world. Have they considered how many countries they're stealing from?how many people they killed just to have access to their natural resources.
I know what this guy did was wrong but both UK and America have done worse things and no body is saying anything.
UK came to Nigeria and stole what belongs to the innocent citizens, now why are they worried when they are getting what the law of compensation gives.
I see what's happening to UK and America as a supernatural force that's paying them back for what they did.
Unless they return all they stolen from Africa I'm sure the law of nature will continue to hunt them.

uche john said...

Both UK and USA are getting what they sowed. This is law of total compensation. These bastards came to Africa and took our wealth so why are they crying now?
What this dude did was wrong but remember UK have done worse things than this. I'm sure this will keep happening unless UK and USA returns all they stole from African nations. As we condemn him we should also condemn these so called world powers