Clerk who refused to grant marriage licenses to Gay couples has been jailed | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 4 September 2015

Clerk who refused to grant marriage licenses to Gay couples has been jailed

Remember the defiant county clerk Kim Davis who refused to issue marriage licenses to gay couples? Well she went to jail yesterday, Thursday, for her refusal, but five of her deputies agreed to issue the licenses themselves, potentially ending the church-state standoff in Rowan County, Kentucky.

U.S. District Judge David Bunning said he had no choice but to jail Kim Davis for contempt after she insisted that her "conscience will not allow" her to follow federal court rulings on gay marriage.
"God's moral law conflicts with my job duties," Davis told the judge before she was taken away by a U.S. marshal. "You can't be separated from something that's in your heart and in your soul."
Bunning offered to release Davis if she would promise not to interfere with her employees issuing marriage licenses on Friday morning. But Davis, through her attorneys, rejected that offer and chose to stay in jail.
Kim Davis is led away from federal court on Thursday in handcuffs, with shackles around her feet and waist
Gay and lesbian couples vowed to appear at the Rowan County clerk's office for the fifth time on Friday to see if the deputy clerks would keep their promises.
"We're going to the courthouse tomorrow to get our marriage license and we're very excited about that," said April Miller, who has been engaged to Karen Roberts for 11 years.
As word of Davis' jailing spread outside the federal courthouse, hundreds of people chanted and screamed, "Love wins! Love wins!" while Davis' supporters booed.

Davis' lawyer, Roger Gannam, said it was the first time in history an American citizen has been jailed for believing that marriage is a union between one man and one woman. He compared her willingness to accept imprisonment to what Martin Luther King Jr. did to advance civil rights.
"Kim Davis represents the best of us and everyone should lament and mourn the fact that her freedom has been taken away for what she believes," Gannam said.
Laura Landenwich, an attorney for the plaintiffs, rejected the comparison.
"Ms. Davis is in an unfortunate situation of her own creation. She is not a martyr. No one created a martyr today," Landenwich said, adding "she holds the keys to her jail cell."
Speaking earlier from the bench, Bunning said it would set up a "slippery slope" to allow an individual's ideas to supersede the courts' authority.
"Her good faith belief is simply not a viable defense," Bunning said. "I myself have genuinely held religious beliefs ... but I took an oath."
"Mrs. Davis took an oath," he added. "Oaths mean things."

Davis is represented by the Liberty Counsel, which advocates in court for religious freedom. Before she was led away, Davis said the U.S. Supreme Court ruling legalizing gay marriage nationwide conflicts with the vows she made when she became a born-again Christian.

Many supporters and even some Republican presidential candidates have rallied behind her.
"People are calling the office all the time asking to send money," she testified. "I myself have not solicited any money."
Davis said she hopes the Legislature will change Kentucky laws to find some way for her to keep her job while following her conscience. But unless the governor convenes a costly special session, they won't meet until January. "Hopefully our legislature will get something taken care of," she told the judge.
Until then, the judge said, he has no alternative but to keep her behind bars. Davis stood and thanked Bunning, pausing briefly to search the crowded courtroom for familiar faces before she was led away.

Later photos showed Davis being escorted from the courthouse in what appeared to be handcuffs with a towel draped over her hands. She was taken to the Carter County Detention Center in a white, windowless van.

It's unclear exactly how long she'll remain in jail. Davis' attorneys said the judge's order would keep her in jail indefinitely. But Bunning indicated he would revisit his decision in a week, giving the deputy clerks time to comply with his order.

"The legislative and executive branches do have the ability to make changes," Bunning said earlier in the hearing. "It's not this court's job to make changes. I don't write law."
Davis served as her mother's deputy in the clerk's office for 27 years before she was elected as a Democrat to succeed her mother in November. As an elected official, she can be removed only if the Legislature impeaches her, which is unlikely in a deeply conservative state.

104 comments:

Bt y now, she shd v resigned

She shld ve just resigned

You are an American yet you'r forming "not granting marriage rights to gay couples ". It surely can never happen. Not in America.

aproko manager said...

Na wa oooooo

Lol... it's wa!

Without reading her excuse and all, one thing is that she is a racist and a hypocrite. The type that have biracial offsprings yet still vilify.

Ms.Nicey said...

End time persecution..

That's wat happen when u disobey d supreme law of d land right

Cmon this is wrong na

ummmm i thought as much

aunty linda

ummmm i thought as much

aunty linda

Lol madam resign now

Just imagine.... she should have even quit the job since the approval of the bill....

💋Hey boo said...

Jesus reigns

She should just resign simple than going through all this...... O sorry for her though no doubt... #NowPlaying>> see yu dance: barry..

Whatever happnd 2 civil rite??
Oriegwu!

mrs chukwuma said...

Madam your faith in respect for God shall set you free
Same sex marriage
Makes me sick........mtweeeee

Lord have mercy! America is on the road to destruction!

Y jail her??? Dat is her opinion som1 elsse can issue it biko...dis is nt ffair @alll

Exactly!

Serious war is on it way to America, this how a deadly sect arises

With all this going on what will human right commission say?

Faggot oshi

Hold on to your faith, no matter the cost. A brave fight.

Paying for her stubbornness...

Exactly my thoughts but all the best to her. Linda take note!

I never thought I would ever say this to America my twin country, but on this one, I say a resounding balderdash, crazy country

May God bless America for me?this is a place were law work's fast,she would have resign than putting her self in this mess.

The most important thing is that she is doing the right thing and God will remember and reward her efforts in due season.

Bonita, exactly? Ban ga ne ba.

REAVEALED!!!   5 Sexual Acts That May Cause Cancer

Mr Dharpson said...

End time, this is part of the persecution Jesus was talking about...#Time is here

andre kelvin said...

What of her right to Religion nko? So ppl hv no right to believe in their Religion again

Ms Davis, dnt quit ur job, as u were elected by d parliament. Its ur right to practice ur religion. Thought they claim dat "America is the home of Civil rights" stick to ur believe God can set u free from that prison bars like he did to Paul and Silas

Eeyah....she ought to have resigned

BlonQo said...

She Shudda resigned or her employers shud have fired her shikena. Trust Americans to dramatize eveything.

@henry eze, u are right, I said it also before

Wow!!! Soo glad to know dat pple still read d signs. Our Lord will give us all d grace we need for this end. Amen.

People are getting it wrong.... The US is not a religious state. If you can't obey it then resign, shikena. ALl these drama because you are trying to get people's sentiments...

God bless you clerk, I know you place is eternity in heaven

Miss G said...

Rejoice in your persecution ma'am! There's a crown in heaven with your name written on it! The devil is taking over the world and the children of God are sleeping! Thank you ma for standing up and standing out in this perversed world. We don't hate gays, we hate the act! Jesus wins!

Alex said...

No be small matter.

You call someone an hyprocrite? You are the real hyprocrite, those who say gay marriage is love are simply blind and full of lust. Two men nor two women can not raise a family! The families interest should be protected at all cost, give what belongs to Ceaser to Ceaser, and what belongs to God to God, Ceaser did not invent marriage, if Ceasrr decides to put Asunder in what God has amended then he is looking for trouble. How forefather warned us of times like this, but we felt that we are wiser than those that have lived before us, and that we can change traditions, even some gay people know that gay marriage is wrong.

You call someone an hyprocrite? You are the real hyprocrite, those who say gay marriage is love are simply blind and full of lust. Two men nor two women can not raise a family! The families interest should be protected at all cost, give what belongs to Ceaser to Ceaser, and what belongs to God to God, Ceaser did not invent marriage, if Ceasrr decides to put Asunder in what God has amended then he is looking for trouble. You call someone an hyprocrite? You are the real hyprocrite, those who say gay marriage is love are simply blind and full of lust. Two men nor two women can not raise a family! The families interest should be protected at all cost, give what belongs to Ceaser to Ceaser, and what belongs to God to God, Ceaser did not invent marriage, if Ceasrr decides to put Asunder in what God has amended then he is looking for trouble. How forefather warned us of times like this, but we felt that we are wiser than those that have lived before us, and that we can change traditions, even some gay people know that gay marriage is wrong.our forefather warned us of times like this, but we felt that we are wiser than those that have lived before us, and that we can change traditions, even some gay people know that gay marriage is wrong.

They do not want to believe her own faith, yet they want her to believe a man should marry a man, not watch the lord might in battle fight for her, she has fought for God in public

She should just leave and let 'em be

This is end time what can we say them he who have ear let him hear choose who you will saver

Tosin said...

I'm not sure how right she is, though I think what she's doing is noble. She's standing for what she believes in which is worth a lot. But the bible says give to Cesar what's Cesar's and that include obeying the law. Beside God doesn't support rebellion cause it's as the sin of witchcraft. I think she should have just quit rather than refusing what is required by law. She can work to change the law but shouldn't rebel against it. Like I said I'm not sure how right she is but I wish her the best.

Persecution

it's like arresting a doctor for refusing to carryout an abortion on a viable fetus...smh

anonymous said...

Since the US wants to persecute Christians FOR THEIR Faith Because they adhere To THE Law of Christ. Let the US Supreme Court also legalize Bestiality because it is the fundamental human rights of those who practice such to enjoy with animals likewise Homosexuals enjoy with their partners without being punished. The reason for this line of thinking is that neither Homosexual acts or bestiality produce an offspring. Only a Man and a Woman can. The US has become a Living Corpse thinking they are Alive. When God has abandoned it's leaders. They rejected the foundation of their forebears and change the pledge to IN SATAN WE TRUST

You are not enlightened! Come here baby..
U see,she was elected to that post and when people get elected,they swear an oath of office. U get?
Swore to uphold their constitution and carry out her duty has stipulated by the constitution( not the bible o!)...she swore!
Now,americans pay her with their tax!
Gay people too pay tax...
Now if she feels gay marriage is a sin and her conscience disturbs her,she can resign!
She wants to get paid partially with dsame 'sinful gay money' & not deliver on licensing?
Gay marriage is legal there, it is the law....failure to grant people who are eligible by law is obstruction of justice!
It is an offence! She is the only one @ fault here!

This has nothing to do with race. Where did ethnicity even come into this story? What makes her a hypocrite. If you disagree with this woman you better justify your opinions with insults or statements that fit the predicament.

She is the only one here who has deprived people of human rights & failed to resign!
She just might be looking for cheap publicity!! U never can tell...she just might be a republican too.
U see,she was elected to that post and when people get elected,they swear an oath of office. U get?
Swore to uphold their constitution and carry out her duty has stipulated by the constitution( not the bible o!)...she swore!
Now,americans pay her with their tax!
Gay people too pay tax...
Now if she feels gay marriage is a sin and her conscience disturbs her,she can resign!
She wants to get paid partially with dsame 'sinful gay money' & not deliver on licensing?
Gay marriage is legal there, it is the law....failure to grant people who are eligible by law is obstruction of justice!
It is an offence! She is the only one @ fault here!

Heaven that men rebel against bcos of the sin nature does not accept or recognise cowards who give in easily or overtime to the devil...

Wickedness all over being permitted in different shades...did she kill or steal from anybody or use her office to issue evil advices as accomplice to any crime or what...

So to lose a job where no fault was ever found on her, all bcos she refused evil is good to you too, abi? U will all watch America pass away...

America is being used as a perfect example of scape goat for evil doers everywhere... Just watch America fall trying to play God while misleading the whole world.

Good God will bless her for standing firm on the truth, it will be like magic the way she will be released

STANSCOT said...

Listen just keep a crossed finger GOD is not sleeping........

The evil will oppress but at the end God is above millions of supreme courts put together....

Call a spade a spade....

The bible has the answer only if the gay activists can read...

Even animals don't practice gay

Now I wonder what we are... something below animal...

Lord pls vindicate her....

na wahho

She should have just resigned . Very simple. I wonder where America as a nation is heading for?

God fearing woman.i believe she will be vindicated soon.

She was just being unnecessary stubborn, they asked her deputies to issue the certificate but she ordered none of her deputies to issue it. We all know she ain't doing this for her faith but the money she is going to cash form the publicity of this whole stunt. If she is so much of a believer "she wouldn't have divorced her 1st three husbands one the ground of adultery(her adultery) ... socket us stop being hypocritical and say the simple truth for once. If she is a good Christian, she would have retired and allowed someone else do it but no, she want to earn government money and refuse to carry out her description of work. This is just hypocrisy of the highest order. She has married four times, she should give others to the chance to wed.

bryan said...

Do u know d meaning of racism cuz i dont see d link between the story and your comment.

Amycool cyril said...

God has not been dethroned, he will surely vindicate u, just stand firm..

She did the right thing. The Almighty God will make away for her. Be still and see the salvation of our God.

2015 will soon b history..few months. To round it up...2016 happy new year and gradually d world is ending...please wake up people..No one lives forever.

It's clear that you guys don't read,she was elected onto the position and can only be removed by impeachment, she cannot resign

PIE said...

her faith will save her.

BRock said...

Going to jail makes a more resounding case for highlighting how the LGBT movement is forcing itself down d throat of ordinary citizens than resigning ever cld...I applaud her resilience

Baba nla sodomite like the Americans. Linda take note, America is now known as Sodom, and the people are sodomites, no be me write the dictionary even tho I have the right to, na then write an there with their own hand. Gbam

He that overcometh shall seat at right hand of the father....

Etsako Pearl said...

Anon 9:35,
Wen r u gonna come outtta d closet?? A pieces of advice......JESUS LOVES U!! And he is at d door waiting for u....go hug him b4 dey close d door.

Etsako Pearl said...

Whatever hapnd to human ryt?? smh

America is at a cross roads with itself! They are denying a woman her rights for exercising her right! You can sign the gay rights but you can't make everybody like them!

O.N. Progeny said...

The gay guyz were granted what they believe in
but this woman is being denied what she believed, what a world.

Dear DAvis, you are surely not reading this, but if it ever gets to you, i implore u not to budge and be steadfast in your faith and beliefs. You have been treated like a criminal by the people of the world being deceived by satan but surely ur perseverance in Jesus' laws is being celebrated in heaven and christiandom. Our Lord, Jesus Christ will keep u safe, ignore the injustice being meted out to you by these humans, but be sure Jesus is your strength in this time of persecution... God bless you...

Dear DAvis, you are surely not reading this, but if it ever gets to you, i implore u not to budge and be steadfast in your faith and beliefs. You have been treated like a criminal by the people of the world being deceived by satan but surely ur perseverance in Jesus' laws is being celebrated in heaven and christiandom. Our Lord, Jesus Christ will keep u safe, ignore the injustice being meted out to you by these humans, but be sure Jesus is your strength in this time of persecution... God bless you..

Remi Abioye said...

Temporary triumph of evil (darkness) over good (light). God will see her through.

THE LORD WILL HATE YOU, BECAUSE IT FIRST HATED ME. Says the Lord.

This lady reminds me of martin luther king jnr of America and Ghandi of India.They would have resigned but they chose to stand for what they believed in despite all odds.Exactly like this lady. In America today, religious rights are disregarded so much, with the excuse of separating God from state. Forgetting that what made America what it is today was God. All the American founding fathers believed in God and his word. I respect this woman so much for her bravery in using her position of power for whats right and not wrong. I pray to almighty God who seeth and knoweth the hearts of all men,that he will give her the strength to remain strong and never waver in her love for him and his laws. Amen.

All I have to say is Psalm 125:1 Those who trust in the Lord will never be removed but abide the forever..I love her faith, D Lord is her strength

*cute bree*

But I wonder why the Federal Supreme Court would impose a law on States where majority thinks differently of the gay issue. I can liken this to imposing Sharia law on the whole country or Mosaic law on the whole country.
I think the proper think should have been to respect the wishes of the majority in the true sense of democracy.

I can best describe what is happening in America as the Tyranny of the Minority. But come to think of it, the Guy activists are standing up to what they believe in just like the jihadist in the Middle East and all other parts of the world. Where are the Zionist and the true believers in the Gospel of Jesus Christ?; they too should speak out now least it be counted for them as tacit acquiescence.

But I wonder why the Federal Supreme Court would impose a law on States where majority thinks differently of the gay issue. I can liken this to imposing Sharia law on the whole country or Mosaic law on the whole country.
I think the proper think should have been to respect the wishes of the majority in the true sense of democracy.

I can best describe what is happening in America as the Tyranny of the Minority. But come to think of it, the Guy activists are standing up to what they believe in just like the jihadist in the Middle East and all other parts of the world. Where are the Zionist and the true believers in the Gospel of Jesus Christ?; they too should speak out now least it be counted for them as tacit acquiescence.

The gays n lesbians believe dey ve a right so also does she. U cannot force ur opinion on others. If she says no den dey should go to another place and not insist or force deir stuffs on her

4 doing the ryt tin

She should have resigned!! She cant go against the law!! Those people pay tax and that tax is used for her salary!! Why is she not refusing salary from gay people... Its different if it was a church that refused!!! But she cant work under the govt and refuse to issue a marriage liscence! Its her job.. She would have resigned and not go against court rulings!!! This is her fault!! God didnt say we should be stupid!! Shes just gonna suffer in jail for nothing!! Born again that has been divorced 5times??? Is that what d bible preach?? Mscheew!! She is just very stupid for not resigning..

Exactly my thought!! U work for d govt and u cant do your job.. Its not a church for crying out loud... And u earn money from des so called gay people!! So y cant she do her job.. Instead of her to resign shes der trying to b popular after divorcing four times.. People are here chatting shit!!! God didnt say b stupid and suffer!! We are to use our head!! A true believer will resign and not be part of it at all!! U wont even work woth govt since its like gay people are paying her salary!! Make she go suffer fo jail for being stupid

These homos should stop chanting love wins, that's another way they're manipulating the people. Cos theirs isn't love bro!
Power has changed hands, usually homo tendencies got you jail time but now the reverse is the case.

Jehovah will vindicate and help her