100 Nigerians deported from Finland today | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 11 December 2014

100 Nigerians deported from Finland today

No fewer than 100 Nigerians were deported from Finland today Thursday December 11th after failing to get asylum. According to The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), the deportees included women, children and whole families. They arrived at the Cargo Terminal of the Murtala Muhammed International Airport (MMIA), Lagos, at 7a.m. aboard cargo airline - Privilege Gourment.

A deportee, Mr Isaac Ejiofor, told NAN that he had no criminal records in Finland and wondered why he was deported after spending over one year in the asylum camp. Ejiofor said he was earlier in Greece but later travelled to Finland to seek asylum in a bid to get a permit to work there.
"A policeman asked me what I want since I did not have any criminal record to warrant my deportation. I said I wanted to work and live a normal life in Finland, so he (policeman) told me to seek asylum and I did that. I was taken to the asylum camp and was there for more than a year processing my work documents. There were other African nationals there with four Nigerians. Suddenly, we, the Nigerians were brought out and deported without any reason.
"The Nigerian Embassy in Finland refused to come to my aid, even after I paid 1,500 euros to embassy officials’’, he alleged. 
Another deportee, who wanted to be identified as Jackso, alleged that officials of the Nigerian Embassy in Finland colluded with some Finnish immigration officers to extort money from asylum seekers in the camp. Jackso said that the embassy officials promised to assist them to get work permits from the Finnish authority.

A female deportee, simply called Esther, said that she and her husband had been in Finland for over 14 years and was surprised that they were deported without committing any offense. Esther said she was deported along with her husband and seven-year old daughter without any compensation. She said that other Africans in the camp were given an opportunity to stay and work in Finland, but that the Finnish authorities were hostile to Nigerians.

She appealed to the Federal Government to come to their aid, particularly Nigerians in Finland and other European countries. She said most Nigerians in asylum in Finland came from other parts of Europe like Greece, Denmark, Sweden and Norway in order to acquire work documents.

NAN reports that of the deportees, three men were arrested for violence and were taken to the MMIA Police Station. Some others were arrested on arrival by the police for travel offenses and taken by a sheriff bus to the Criminal Investigation Department, Nigerian Police Force, Alagbon Close, Ikoyi, Lagos.

Source: NAN

245 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 245 of 245

Biko wat is the essence of the assylum?

So sad

Gboye 01 said...

Too bad

Lol run away soldiers, come bk to ur country and face boko ur brotherrs

No Place as staying at home...lol. ik5_3@hotmail.com

when our country no good nko. Finland of all countries. When even some African countries can beat us hands down in infrastructure. What do we expect

Na wah oooo...tubbytracy@yahoo.com

eyenbassey said...

Home is sweet

latoyaaches said...

Chai..prettyasi@yahoo.com

Na waoooo..pple lookin for greener pasture

emmytex said...

Welcome back to naija

Nigerians and their hustle spririt

How unfortunate...sorry

King Dave Anya said...

So terrible... now wat will they tell their people

Timi Da Uyi said...

There's nothing funny about this. Countries are turning Nigeria into a laughing stock by the day and we remain clueless as to what to do still. Our great "Olympus has truly fallen" in recent years

Poor darlings! It won't be a good feeling. angelo8z8@yahoo.com

dodo said...

So bad

see gwobe?>>>>>>pedrojex@gmail.com

Welcome home. You can still make it here, even bigger.

This is sad!

Dynasty Furniture said...

WHY SHOULD FINLAND AUTHORITY DO THAT TO NIGERIANS IN THEIR COUNTRY? IT SIMPLE BCOS OUR GOVT DO NOT THINK OF US BUT ONLY THEMSELVES.... WHERE DO THEY WANT THIS DEPORTEE TO START FROM NOT EVEN IN A COUNTRY LIKE NIGERIA WHERE UNEMPLOYMENT IS NOTING TO WRITE ABOUT.... NA GOD GO SAFE US

Stewie said...

I have nothing against anyone seeking residence in another country. But if you must relocate, pls get educated. Get the right documentation. Before you move to avoid had I known situation

mykky said...

so na wetin dem want dese guys to do nw,after deportation?robbery on d increase ooooooooooooo.(mykk111@yahoo.com)

First of all, my sympathy to all involved. It is never a good thing to be in such situation.

Secondly, if you fail to respect yourself how can others then respect you? People use series of excuses to stay in the western countries. For instance, what tangible reasons can you give as a Nigerian to seek asylum in a foreign country? Poverty...is that it? MOST people think Europe don't also have its own challenges (poor countries also) well if you dont, now you know.

While some of us (Nigerians) are sitting back at home and forcing our brothers/sisters, husbands/wives, friends to travel out, we should also tell them to do it the right way (get legal documents) and stop this backward thinking of quickly labeling the whites as "Racists".

They don't just pick you on the road for nothing..if you are deported..there is always a reason. WHEN most of our people get back home, they don't tell the true story. They only tell you things that makes them seem reasonable to you (the listener).

Seen much in a short time that I've also resolved to not associate unnecessarily with Africans (mostly Nigerians) if there is no serious reason. By the way, I am a Nigerian.

You can call me racist, but it is what it is.

Is that Nigerian airport ... God help citizens of Nigeria

Kemele said...

Very sad I think the government should do something about the maltreatment of Nigerians living abroad

Wunmiomo1992@yahoo.com

Welcome home my guys. Ajo o da bíle. Come spend the Xmas and New Year with us.

I am playing Sound Sultan's Motherland for them. Welcome home

micheal pan said...

BE SMART AND BECOME RICH IN LESS THAN 3DAYS....It all depends on how fast you can be to get the new PROGRAMMED blank ATM card that is capable of hacking into any ATM machine,anywhere in the world. I got to know about this BLANK ATM CARD when I was searching for job online about a month ago..It has really changed my life for good and now I can say I'm rich and I can never be poor again. The least money I get in a day with it is about $50,000.(fifty thousand USD) Every now and then I keeping pumping money into my account. Though is illegal,there is no risk of being caught ,because it has been programmed in such a way that it is not traceable,it also has a technique that makes it impossible for the CCTVs to detect you..For details on how to get yours today, email the hackers on : (atmmachinehacker102@gmail.com). Tell your loved once too, and start to live large. That's the simple testimony of how my life changed for good...Love you all ...the email address again is ;atmmachinehacker102@gmail.com
call me for more info 08138155648

DID ANYONE NOTICE THAT THEY WERE BROUGHT IN WITH CARGO AIRLINE, PRIVILEGE GOURMET? OMG

GREEN said...

MAKE THEM COM BACK HOME AND ENJOY THERE OWN COUNTRY INSTEAD OF SUFFERING ANOTHER MAN'S LAND

nkiru4love@yahoo.com

ibrahim maryam said...

what a shame on you 'Nigerians' there
it really a shame. Your father's land remains yours so,come back.

i still dont understand why pple cant get it: theres no place like home!

get it: theres no place like home! back to square one.

Very sad. How do dey start over again. Na wao naija. Ugo-Gold!

So sad to hear...

lyzee said...

please ladies if u call your booboo wey dey Finland and he #s no go through go and check the airport o o queenbabeth@yahoo.com

Na wa o. That's very unfair o

home sweet home! lol

home sweet home!

I hate it when I see Nigerians go through stress in other countries.

Linda i think is good to make more research b4 posting any news,the 100 guys are not really based in finland,even no nigerian embassy in finland as well.i live here many years,never found any nigerian high commission for a day.i think the information been passed is quite not true.

Our diplomats in other sent to other countries are very useless. This shld not be happening at all WTF? Where's the ambassador? Where are our diplomats? This is ridiculous.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 245 of 245   Newer› Newest»