Is Etcetera a problem? - written by Onyeka Ibeanusi | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 13 December 2014

Is Etcetera a problem? - written by Onyeka Ibeanusi

Writer and social commentator, Onyeka Ibeanusi answers the question y'all are beginning to ask, is Etcetera good or bad for the entertainment industry? His article below...
Many people felt the rude awakening to the presence and existence of singer cum writer Etcetera. I got to know about Etcetera in 2008 when I was still in Uniben. I remember a guitarist friend of mine saying, "Dis guy hold guitar like who no sabi play am."
Then I heard his songs and saw his videos. The videos were nice at that time and Etcetera was on his way to becoming the male version of Asa. I watched some other videos from him years later but unfortunately, Nigerians hardly patronise his genre of music and Etcetera disappeared.
Now Etcetera is back as a writer and a columnist hitting Nigerian celebrities harder than the US is hitting ISIS and to be candid, the dude is good!

Maybe somebody should have signed Etcetera and helped him reach the height of his music career. Perhaps Dj's, Vj's and OAP's shouldn't have charged him too much and spare everyone this vocal warfare penned down in computer fonts. Now Etcetera is here to piss everybody off.

I remember when Tiwa Savage described him as 'coma' or 'full stop' and now Freeze is after him after making very creative and epic statement like, "The light skin radio presenter who does the evening show on that Cool station on the island.’
‘Honey can I turn off the AC before I freeze?"

Charles Novia was enough trouble for Nigerian entertainers and now Etcetera joins him. Having both of them around is like fielding Cristiano Ronaldo and Messi at the same time in the same team.

Maybe Etcetera should have been a rapper, because the punch lines this guy drops is just too much to ignore. Sometimes I imagine him surfing the internet and laughing hard at people's reactions and comments whenever ever he writes.

To save Nigerian celebs from the hands of this creative terrorist, I think we should call Don Jazzy to sign him with the responsibility of releasing 5 albums in 3 years, maybe we will all have peace by then but since I don't have that power or the ability to 'retract', 'debunk' or 'condemn' anyone's opinion, I will just sit back and wait for his next article.

Onyeka Kerous Ibeanusi
Musician/Writer/Social Commentator

163 comments:

Cooyutevanny@gmail.com

Seen.

Shaniquapatty@gmail.com

the guy is a critic..some of his article make sense but he write rubbish a times...

To save Nigerian celebs from the hands of this creative terrorist, I think we should call Don Jazzy to sign him with the responsibility of releasing 5 albums in 3 years, maybe we will all have peace by then but since I don't have that power or the ability to 'retract', 'debunk' or 'condemn' anyone's opinion, I will just sit back and wait for his next article:: Hahahahahaha I Love this...

.Disclaimer:: Raise your words, not your voice. It is rain that grows flowers, not thunder.

Still didn't grab a piece from this.

This guy sef

Lmao yh rgt

He isn't

Ikmoney11@gmail.com

.>>>>>Rayzur@live.com<<<<<<<<
smugs

gidis said...

Lol....finishn!!! KO

Ikmoney11@gmail.com

Well... inspiration is one thing everyone should look out for ... anything can happen at any time.

These guy said nothing auntie linda . All he said is known and called "rhetorical questions" iand after asking himself those questions still he refused to help us with the answers. «QUEENMAYA«REPORTING LIVE«

dimma said...

toniabams@gmail.com Ok oh

Even tho don jazzy signs him, he'll still look fr a way to put his words in his lyrics. So let d guy ride on

Shaniquapatty@gmail.com

Ok oh..Gud morning lindway, nd all LIB, lindway pls oh what happen last year I don't want it to happen to me again oh, I have been following ur blog for two years nd half when I was left out among them BONARIO NNAGS N0KIA 3310, NOW NOKIA LUMUIA, nd onyx Godwin, nd the rest LIB here last year LIB GIVEAWAY... Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

Etcetera is a problem. A failed artist who hardly write good article about other successful artist. He is suffering from jealousy syndrome.

***ECHOMASS***

Story for gods chigozienzeduba@gmail.com

Angela said...

Bishop Dammy,God blees you

He is d Joan Rivers (male version) of naija

Shaniquapatty@gmail.com

Loooooooooool!!!!

passing by

terrorist really? abeg e no just make sense↙ if terrorism is abt speaking the truth then we need a new dictionary .

D dude fine ooo

Shaniquapatty@gmail.com

#Ayenlo. Ikmoney11@gmail.com

http://www.earnrealpay.net/aff/go/abbie10Greatness in life can only be achieved by the best use of opportunities that comes your way,let your return what it has taken from you by clicking this link.

Just becos people dnt insults and post disgusting pictures of themselves on ur blog (onyxx) dosent min they dnt deserve d 100k. SANDRA and bishop dammy

I like the etc guy.....he knows hw to give it to them. Truth hurts u know

dropped by to read comments

Seen. Ikmoney11@gmail.com

Mcheww! amindavison@gmail.com

Lmao...this writer is so funny. So does it mean entertainers are now afraid of etcetera? That's hilarious. But I guess the guy needs attention and he's successfully getting it the best way he knows how. Though I don't think a good record deal can stop him now

Beautiful, Mr Etcetera is good no dought....

King Dave Anya said...

Lmao... He ain't no problem

www.glowyshoes.com said...

who are we to judge...atleast he airs hz mind publicly..wat of us who just say it in our minds..
abegi

visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Saidat said...

Ion lyk d guy as well, Lol. Dah guy really gave him a polite insult.

Atobatele said...

He simply said my mind

prized possession said...

I don't think he's a problem to anybody. He has opinions on things differently and I don't see that as an issue.

Scared of whom he will hit next? Ma'am it will soon reach your turn!

One and Only Ada David Omobabalanu

Owk oh... dennisjunior@gmail.com

i don't think he has a problem.

Dauda Aliu said...

Yeeeesssssssssssssss. He's a problem.
Sorry, he's not a problem but he has a problem

David (dave_gino)
commenting from my »BLACKBERRY 9900«

i dont think he has a problem.

The truth they say's better, the guy said the truth and this one should chill

sure girl u just spoke the fact, the truth bitter (ALOMO BITTER) AKA Etcetera

I have only ever enjoyed one of Etc.'s articles, the hilarious one about Lagos. That was a masterpiece. All the rest of his work is too negative. Can't deal. Linda, do you have his old music? Male Asa sounds interesting. Put the brother on, and take him out of his misery of writing these mean articles every week.

Lmaoooo.. don jazzy help pls

I can't stop laughing.Dessy004@gmail.com

Seen. Ikmoney11@gmail.com

Lol. Ikmoney11@gmail.com

Well written. Dude's write up is always entertaining

Otaru Samson said...

Am sure u will feature in his nxt article..#winks. @don_jazzy u dy hear so....?? Btw, if dem sign am no more intresting, fascinating and funny article to read again? Haab!!!

*-******TEDDYBEARHEAD*****-*

obizzle said...

I need to turn writer. ..so many ish in naija to write bout

Lol, very true but...

Austinsinach@gmail.com

creative terrorist. haha

D guy makes alot of sense

very funny

Mr. Slyle said...

Dis Onyeka guy sef ehn...... See as just finish Etcetra in a very subtle manner.... Well, i kindah like Etcetra's articles sha Oooo!

Mr. Slyle said...

I Think Etcetra should write more about the government in Nigeria... Lolz

HE SHOULD STOP FIRING SHOTS @ MUSICIANS TRYING TO DO SOMETHING WHILE HE HAS FAILED WOEFULLY ON THAT PAT.HE IS NOT AN ISSUE BUT SOMETIMES I FEEL LIKE PELTING EGGS AT HIM.AKA..........NOT BEAFING

whether he rites or not it has no impact 2 create period.

he is not in any way a problem terry4realg@gmail.com

good 4 his vocability

Abeg jor... D Etc... Guy is gud jor... I love flow...

I completely disagree with the writer, Nigerians are yet to understand the dynamism of celebrity attainment. Media scrutiny is what you have to deal with once you chose that path. I admire Ecetera writings and I think they are borne out of sheer ingenuity. He simply pens down most of the things we whisper but afraid to voice in order to be ' correct'. Irrespective of how you look at it, he is a good writer, and yes, he should continue. Such people are needed for the industry to be on their tippy toes and thrive....

Am with you oh the guy is gooodddd

He's good with the pen and writes so damn well. What can I say, the truth is always bitter. Ride on brov!

Well said ma broda de should help ease d yangman's pain biko nu!!! Lind abegsss u ooo dis black burry dnt give to pipo dat won 100k oo we no go die 4 dem ohh...no be only dem walker kom ohh!!!

Oh father Lord you said i should pray i did U also said Fasting I did hmmm Faith i gat oh Lord now is the right time for you to rocate (Locate)N bring my own young single successful beautiful Godfearing prescious wife to me oo enough of her enjoying wherever she is if na dream she dey let her see my true picture N
my pin if na church make she see for vision N if na wit another wrong guy oh lord show no mercy to her drag her with her human hair sharp sharp N bring her to me where she berong (belong) ijn Amem

imortant notice to all ladies-:if u know you are still strugglng wit your life nd not ok sorry never ping me am not for you oo God go surely give you ur own N if you are Old or chating type looking for chat mate skip me please
no offenses oo na wetin i want i talk
Naija bb chat babes kip off no time for that cos
I Am For Real
7EFB6242
Jah bless

Ecetera has a fan, he raises a valid point though. If Ecetera had being welcomed into the entertainment industry, we might have missed out on his writings! A blessing in disguise? Who knows.

U jst gav him a stylish insult..anyway we hav ryt to our opinion

He's like Joan rivers of naija;he says d truth no matter who it hurts.we need more people like that.I luv his articles joor...

I don't think He is a problem

hmmmm am short of words adaseries@gmail.com

Jay said...

He is right in all his articles,just dat he comes off as one dat has bad belle for d success of others.

hmmmm am short of words adaseries@gmail.com

Dought koor, doughnut ni...it's doubt dumbass

funny but absolutely true

labells said...

The guy na correct person.

His next article is about you - Onyeaka. Incoming...... *ducks*

Bsals said...

Just take d microphone and sing..

Uche Emma said...

Etceteraaaaaaaaaaaaa

Ur very correct, durodoluwaadeojo@yahoo.com

AQO said...

Well, I love Etcetera. D guy is always on point. Y'all know he speaks truth.

KWEEN said...

Lmao! No girl in her right senses will even be interested in someone who is publicly hunting like this. So relax, you a'int getting no pings from nobody!!

I look forward to the his articles too
Pls nobody shud sign him o
I like my coma fullstop or worefa
As a writer hehehe

D guy de talk true joor.. he's original.. nuradeeeen@gmail.com

I de feel d guy shaa.. nuradeeeen@gmail.com

This guy is pained. Chai.

Lol,,,dayo2285@gmail.com

#king said...

I think d dude is just jobless and broke..Maybe someday God will give him a good job that will keep him busy..He is angry.............................#KingOfKings #6ixGod

Birds of same feather but in Etcetera's case, he speaks the truth. If A don't work for you, choose B. Ask the Kardarshians.

HE'S a VEXED SPECIE! Omowunmisonoiki@yahoo.com

Like u had to call him dumbass to make ur point. Which makes u no better. #LilBrainedPeople.

His articles are hot fire for the fake celebs parading themselves as diva, model and all sorts of titles

Love his article jare. He says the truth, hit the nail on the head, lay down his thought with aptly creative words. I look forward to more no matter whose ox was gored!

Because all u are after is linda's money!

elovi said...

Story for the God's

elovi said...

Tor

Lolx... This dude don go look for trouble o.

Dat one nahin own palava.

U be olodo & mumu combined...ahhh...so many dumb ass peeps...mtchwwwww

And so on said...

I totally agree with etcetera's article. We the "dancing generation" turn a blind eye to all that is happening around us. Your lyrics says a lot about your ideologies and what you can do with yourself and the people around you. Make some sense people, sometimes we need to go home and reflect, Nigerian music hardly provides us with that. With the exception of 1% of total Nigerian artistes, the only genre we have is shouting......bla bla bla. It never ends.

Poor write up

I tire for linda o. How could she ignore and over look someone like Bishop Dammy. Hummm linda we anonymous commenter are watching u on 3D from AFAR.

Fancy diva! said...

Is it not beta to try and fail n try again than to sit bck n not be known for anytin

U saidit all Onyeka......this guy talks too much

Lacey Love said...

Come to think about it. Somebody need to checkmate the stupid excesses of our so called celebrities and since journalists are too weak or corrupt to do it, these guy has offered himself the job and I believe he is doing a great job only dt I don't know if he gets paid. For me, he should be writing instead of singing even though I never heard his music before.

gud

He gives really good clues you are supposed to figure it all out....

kinda make sense

Etc finish them jor! While I sip my rum and lmao!

God bless u Ijeoma... That's the precise description of his articles. And when envy serves as motivation, the result can be pretty messed up.

zizi xoxo(debbiekakah@yahoo.com) said...

He is a breath of fresh air,he only says what most of us think.jare make una free am.

Nigerians self. You need both praise me and critics. Makes for a balanced media. When you are not afraid of being critisized there is the tendency to not seek higher achievements and also a tendency to be part of a race to the bottom. Cerritos is healthy and if you can't stomach it don't be in the public eye. Et cetera to me is like the Internet Lou Dobbs, Bill O'Reilly, Rachel maddow or piers morgan. Grow Up Nigerians. It can't be Linda showcasing your jewelry and happiness alk the time. Some one needs to write provocative stuff every now and then to keep you in line.

Favour belle said...

Ok....I guess etc can read this too....he would prolly be rolling on the floor now

AGB said...

In as much as I agree that etcetera crosses boundaries sometimes, I'd also like to point out that most of us,Nigerians really hate to hear the truth. Etcetera speaks a lot of truth for the most part and then spews bullshit sometimes,no doubt....that's my opinion.

What is dis one saying?

ucee said...

He didn't make any sense to me.ucee_babby@yahoo.com

Okay,as a new year resolution...buy a jamb form for yourself. Hehe

Phew!! Lindo,can I just say thanks for removing this 'prove you are not a robot thing'. Hope it remains this way biko,was beginning to drive me gaga! Lol

...Ezinwa...

Etc is just a bitter fool

latoyaaches said...

Hmmmm...prettyasi@yahoo.com

I like Etcetera. He is not a problem.

His articles make sense.

ds guy make sense die
kehindeosilesi@yahoo.com

ds guy make sense die
kehindeosilesi@yahoo.com

I have nt read any of his article so I cnt say anyfin yet

Lmao! U got tthat right?...dis man no dey chill o...chai I tut I was d onlly one dat gt d sarcasm he used...hehehehe etcetera shld ttake a chill pill biko!

African Icon said...

He wrote the ugly truth almost everyone is afraid of talking about.

I don't like dis guy one bit....rosepowell0@gmail.com

African Icon said...

He wrote the ugly truth almost everyone is afraid of talking about.

Exactly my sister.....him own bad belle him no dey hid am sef....I too like dis Onyeka, dis him reply is so subtle in a very mean way....wat?? Its just like saying Ecetera abi na wetin be him name? We have heard ur plea and we will rally round 2 see wat we can do 2 help U..Lolzzz

speaking d truth

D guy is a good writer joor!

I Don Talk My Own said...

Out of the abundant of the heart the mouth speaks... Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but when your opinion starts to affect the thoughts of others negatively then you need Jesus.

True sha bt I fink d guy has found his talent in writing....

J Wilson said...

@ ijeoma, so true

Etc is a good writer, but he always comes across as someone that is very envious and jealous of other musicians success!!! He needs to stop being so bitter, and focus on doing good things in his life smh!!!The pen is mightier than the sword!!! Whizman

Precious said...

He is saying the truth, but his presentation is something different. nma.precious@yahoo.com

So funny

I'm still looking for the one that made sense but he's got some humor, I'll give him that ----C21

Killing ain't fair, but some1 have to do it. So it is with his article. Easetra have to do it

Temmy said...

Bros, u go tire. U go old 4 there

Everyone is entitled to their opinion jare #onelovefromSnow#

Well can't say

Is the guy marketing himself. Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

X0X0

lolzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

jeff joe said...

this is no news step up the gist abeg

jeff joe said...

this is no news step up the gist abeg

i enjoy his articles, waiting patiently 4 d next peice *armscrossed* hehehe

It isn't enough that Etcetera tells bitter truths. Good critics juxtapose their criticisms against a better reality. They inspire by showing the alternative to the situation they criticize. People who only critize are whiners. Those who formulate their ideas for an improved alternative lead and inspire. The best known critics in the US media, Bill O'Reilly, Maureen Dowd, et al don't just complain. They point out faults but suggest solutions too. Etcetera should propel himself to that level instead of submitting a bunch of gripes to Nigerians every week. Some of his insights are interesting, but we all get tired of someone who never has anything good to say.

For those of you comparing him to Joan Rivers, remember that Joan gave credit when it was due. She didn't just slam people, she praised celebrities when they got it right.

Eagle Eyes Media said...

To me, ETC has no problem, neither is he a problem to anybody. He is simply a critic and every human society should have critics. The essence of criticism is not to destroy but to build through constructive critiquing which ETC is doing at the moment. The result is to reform and draw more effort from those he criticised.

He hs a nyc voice no doubt

Das harsh!!!nt cool trust me

soladunga said...

This guy is a mugos, he doesnt knw what hs tlking. i believe he just want to be relevant in public

Olawale Oluwadahunsi said...

Have you listened to his songs...try listening to 'Accent of silence' and 'Ghost workers besides Ikoyi cemetery'. The guy is a very wonderful poetic singer!

Olawale Oluwadahunsi said...

Have you listened to 'Ring the alarm', 'Accent of silence' and 'Ghost workers besides Ikoyi cemetery'? He is a wonderful poetic singer!