Singer Simone Battle commits suicide after battling depression | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 7 September 2014

Singer Simone Battle commits suicide after battling depression

Beautiful singer Simone Battle best known as a member of girl group G.R.L has passed away. The 25 year old former X Factor contestant committed suicide in her home on Friday September 5th. Police say she was found hanging in a closet in her bedroom around 8:30am.

A family friend revealed Simone had been quietly battling depression for a while.

Simone came to prominence as a contestant on US X-Factor in 2011. She was a finalist on the show, making it to the top 17 before being eliminated by her mentor on the show, Simon Cowell. She joined G.R.L in 2012 and just recently, their single 'Ugly Heart' went platinum in Australia. Sad she didn't find reasons to continue living. See more photos of Simone after the cut...

175 comments:

why on earth will such s beautiful lady kill herself???

But y?

So sad
M" marVEE

eka said...

Depression.....A strong belief in God is d only sure way 2 overcome this. May her soul rest in peace.

Ij pretty said...

RIP pretty

Oh No! But why?

Damochedxb said...

But what could be so depressing that these presumably comfortable people kill themselves? I still don't get it.

Sad Sad...like ur self is never the way out,please don't even think of it,let alone doing it,talk to someone,please,don't keep it bottled in u.

The illness got the better of her. Very sad.

Michael said...

Omg..... This is really sad.....but suicide shouldn't be an option, may her soul rest in peace

Wen therez life, there's hope. Always kip dat @s back of ur mind.

Feel sad when I see beautiful people passed on. #####QUEENMAYA#####

Na wa oh!!!! How do people get a whole lot of courage to take their own lives?? For what reason exactly?? Depression? How? May God have Mercy on her. Smh#

suicide!!!!!!

Sad news.May her soul rest in peace

She was a stunner. RIP.

what can i say....
may her soul rest in peace

na wa ohh i think say na only fat people dey depressed

An Irreligious Introvert said...

Awwwwww OMG why now. Guess beauty and talent isn't enough

hallliday said...

Whattttttttt!!

Na way oh, this life is deep. Just when I thought my life was so bad, someone with a much better life decides to commit suicide. Hope she has found peace? @ moi moi.

Ha pretty girl why na,evn though right now my life is so messed up I can never dream of commiting suicide,any way rip.grace b

RIP to those who kill themself for some reasons I don't care to know, were u born a billionaire? God help us @ mercy

In pieces not peace o mercy

charlie said...

Chai!see beauty,depression too bad! @ just 25years old so sad,RIP simone

Josh Atuanya said...

When I c some imbeciles and blind beggars(those that supposedly have no future) on d streets,TRYING TO SURVIVE,I jst wonder y a pretty CELEBRITY like ds wld die ds way...

haters-slayer said...

lord have mercy,this same case of depression,it has claimed so many lifes,may i never expireance depression all the days of my life,Amen.RIP fine gurl.

Suicide is never the answer. RIP

Satan you wicked oh! Do you sent your demons of depression to harass this girl till she gave in. Hmmm...I rebuke you. Rest in peace beautiful one and may God have mercy on your soul.

OMENESA(Aka:Lady O) said...

It is so painful. Life is not about me. It is about how I impact YOU. My assignment is to be here for YOU! It is important we stay cognizant and aware to the private emotional needs of others. When someone cries out to you, telling them "You are such a drama queen", is giving rise to their reclusion.

ama mango said...

So sad depression is d worst of all,dats y no mater what God is ur best helper#bebo

Naija kid aint doing that shit....... RIP Cutiepie

Whatever that might be the reason,suicide is not answer.there ways to seek for help.rip

May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace.

Daily diet tv said...

Oh my! Such a cutie! R.i.p

~BADOO OF COVENTRY

Cynosure09 said...

Please can someone tell me what a lady like this is depressed about?....Really sad RIP

anonymous said...

What a waste. suicide should never be an option

Olameedey said...

Oh no! Nd she was such a cutie....only God knows why depression/suicide is so rampant abroad.

Na wa oh. R.I.P

hw can dis fine gal be depressed nawa o,hmmm life,wen u think der v it all #4real hw i wish linda ll post my comment 2day it's been ages

whitefalcon said...

Hope you have something to tell your creator for this foolish act of yours?!

So sad RIP SIMONE

Wicked gal u didn't find reasons 2 continue living ? Rest in hell witch @ 25 ? ~ice princess~

Sorry but how do dis fucking pple get depress, shu and take there lives. If u sad or wat not go on a trip fuck random mean and get it over with not taking ur life

May God forgive us and give us strength when we are weak. This girl could have been a closeted drug user. In L. A a lot of girls in the West Hollywood scene are into that dark side. It's a well kept secret. Also, she could have been disillusioned about the band because mega sales does not necessarily mean mega money for the artist in most cases. Let's just pray and stay focused and remember, death does know looks, so for all those oohing and aahing about her looks, get a life and don't curse me, otherwise it's Ricocheting back on your heads. Let someone who has such thoughts in mind remember that Suicide is not the answer.

R.I.P

Awon Stephen Oshi said...

Who?

Aww so sad..love their songs

I wonder why young people commit suicide and call it depression,what could she be dealing with? May her soul rip amen!S.imoh@yahoo.com

This is sad!! What else can I say? RIP, u were a beautiful woman, should hv given urself more chances. Ça va?

alice said...

pple have got to learn hw to fight dis depresion, any way rest in peace young lady

What a loss of such beauty!

May her soul rest in peace. *** CROWD * PULLER * PLEASER***#

Hmmm,did is bad real bad we all get depressed @ one point or d other doesn't mean d best solution is sucide....RIP

Na over feeding dey worry u.HIV nor kill u,Ebola nor kill you, hunger nor kill you,u nor die for war like syria ,Ukraine, Gaza etc.u carry urself hang say u depressed.u were too comfortable. U drive a nice car,eat good food.u were so self fish u did not consider d pain ur loves once will go tru cos of ur actions.u could not even seekhelp.stupid fellow.total waste.rest in pieces

Which one is depression again...for a pretty n rich gal...nawao...rip if na lik dis we nigerians re strong pple oo..............Rip....

so bad
so sad
RIP Girl

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

What are getting depressed about at 25?! Why is it people think suicide is such a cool thing, forgetting how cowardly and selfish it is?!! Why?!

Why? A girl as beautiful and talented as you. R.I.P.

Hanhan bt why now?....chai. Such a beautiful young lady..... Rip

Its amazin aw sum pple fink takin awai dia lives is d only solution to dia problemz...instead of confrontin them...many are sick beggin to liv...nd sum pple take dia lives koz of depressn. What dey dnt knw is dt dey dnt die alone...dey kill d spirits of others as well...family, relatives, clos friends...God help us....quinyluv21@yahoo.com

Funso Samuel said...

So sad.May her soul rest in peace

Beautiful butterfly said...

O lord what is this world turning into, Haba a beautiful girl like this could not find a reason to keep living......MAY her soul RIP

How did management noteven notice me watching their videos noticed she looked sad and like she didn't fit in !

Dis life e get as e be ooo

benniebee said...

Oh lord,omg.rest in peace dear

vera said...

Odiagwu really

What could have make her commit suicide is more than a Depression cos she is so cool looking,abi she is Ebola positive....that's y 9ja gals re funny,rather a 9ja gal go pack commot the industry go enter anoda!

Amusing fashion and amusing picture. So very nice.
Free Kohl's gift card

MICKY: I still believe there's a better way to deal with depression other than suicide.what's wrong with these people!!!! RIP girlie,

So dis beauty decided to die ? I don't bliv it, d shuld investigate more abeg, RIP beauty

Simone. Thank you for giving us a peice of you. GRL will never be the same without you. Long live this wild wild love of ours !

Fola said...

But y??????? Enough of this sucide *sad*

Depression,na wa o!wonder what is even making them depressed even with everything they have.Its a pity u had to go this way.R.I.P
=== Pearle===

So dis fyn gerl killed herself? WoW....RIP

The beautiful ones also cry...what a waste. I hope you find peace and solace wherever u r. Suicide is nevr an option.

Chai! What a loss. RIP. First to comment. Post my comment ooo

I wish beautiful people should stop committing suicide, the boko-haram men should do so to kill themselves, but not hurting anyone else. Rest in Peace

Y do dey kip doin d@,y....so sad,wat a lost.....pweety grl bt wait ooO wetin dey always depress dem sef?...

Tunie. said...

Depression is a terrible killer. RIP Simone.

Eheh beautiful girl like this....o ma ga o.

What a beauty. Rip

Too terrible for her, hell fire awaits.

Rip simone battle,the world just lost one beauty*sad*

NaNcY DreW said...

She cudnt level wit her Demons
Oga ju RIP

MissW said...

Hmmm...such a waste! Wat is it with all these oyinbos and deppression sef,this is wat happens when you isolate God and ur family from ur life. I hope in death she finds the peace that eluded her even in life. Happy Sunday ppl and remember that jesus loves you and He will never leave you without an option and suicide is never an option!

People pls be carefully Susan channel bueaty skin line is fake, it does not work rather it increases d problem u already have and creat u more sickness, d cream gives u serious ezeama while s soup gives u a serious vagina itching and d worst part is u spend more money cursing d sicknessu aacquired fen her product.... Am so angry especially with Linda for making me buy rubbish.

Na wa oooo,depression here,there,everywhere.......being depressed is the worst thing that can ever happen to someone,God help us.happy sunday linda

This girl is rily pretty,so many pple battling wit depressn...chai

Pretty girl

I hate d spirit of most of dis southerners. They most time act as if dey are possessed. Suicide has now bcm a way to ease demslvs of depression. Wat a pity

Wat a waste.

Omg...wtf?simon fought so hard for this girl during xfactor that year and I enjoyed her performances afterwards.she was even a movie.i don't get the sucide,RIP

nimi said...

hmmmm. the devil is truly a serpent. a mind destroyer. love Godin truth always ppl, and feel his peace in your heart always.

Normally I'd have shown the soft and human part of me
Buh once its about suicide,I care less
Am sure she had it better than most ppl living in same neighborhood with her
Buh outta selfishness she took her life in d name of depression,fuck that,that's not good enough reason to take ur life
Waka cum 9ja here,u go see more reasons to stay alive and do wat is there to do...#GodBlessTheDead

....SƖεεkz

Joy Monique A said...

Sad sad sad may her soul Rip

Too bad #bright bravo#

Believe Right! said...

This is so sad. Proves that on your own, you can never have it all - even if you do have it all. Completeness can only be found in Jesus.

Such a pretty girl! So sad!

Langleychic

This oyibo people sha...commit suicide in Naija...I pray o...when we all love our lives...#Tashar Smallz #

Bibby Palace said...

It only take God grace to over come depression becos wen someone is depressed evil thought are alway running tru minds but with God and people around,its settled........RIP

Elsuizzanne said...

Eeyah R.I.P

jelilat said...

So sad! Such a pretty girl but it looks like she's having a wonderful life so why suicide?

Look at this fine woman abeg.... May her soul R.I.P......

RIP...suicide ain't the best option and will never be..

Depression is a horrible defection... God plsssssssss save our soul

Na waa ooo.Dis beauty jst wasted what some guys will die for..Whoever that guy is that made her do dis must be full of shii

This is sad ooo! May God forgive her sins n grant her eternal rest.

simone why did u do it.u shouldnt have killed youself now.well rest in peace

how can som1 chose ' Battle' as a name?sometimes d names we answer affect us, its quite unfortunate.... rip pretty girl...do not answer Dat Battle in Ur next life ....

my comments are never posted on my most loved blog. I'm just wondering sha.

Aaaaw
I luv dis gurl
Wild luv by Pitbull ft GRL one song I luv

It takes bravery to battle depression or psychological cracks. Sometimes, wen one looks @ d disappointments life throw @ one, if one isn't strong emotionally enuf, d person might jst want 2 resort 2 suicide. One jst has 2b strong.

DADDYSWIFE said...

Eyah,only God knws wht she was goin tru,may her soul rest in peace in Jesus name,amen!!

She was sooo pretty and alluring....... Have never understood this thing called depressiion, if thousands of people in Borno dt hv been tru grusome pains and fears but yet they didn't resort to murder- why would a pretty American sweethrt with a blossoming career like you do???Just can't understand it!#cheEZyjayne

Irresistable!!! said...

Devil is a liar! I see bright future wt ds beautiful soul,devil lied 2ha! What a waste! Well,at d end its all vanity! May her soul rest in peace. Amen!

the reason they all commite suicide wud never be known...wateva d heat ws i dnt knw y they cant convince themselves pple r goin thru more...rip gurl i op u got wat u were lukin in death...

N she is so pretty, too bad. Almost everyone go thru some form of depression, just yesterday i also dint av a reason to leave. Am jobless, unmarried

Dear Friends, life is spiritual, choose life instead of death, dont allow the devil whisper into your ear, mess with your mind and tell you theres no reason for living. The devil didnt make life nor create you. It is God Almighty the creator of the beautiful heavens and earth, the One who made the lovely greens, alluring fountains, captivating birds and animals, that created YOU. Find your reason for living in HIM.

- oj.foryou@yahoo.com

PURPLE said...

Wow. Such beauty

ity said...

suicide is neva an option#what a waste!

AGB said...

Rest in peace.

Aww..so sad she lost the battle..depression can really kill if you are not strong enough to fight it..may her soul rest in the bossom of our lord jesus christ.....amen.. By martins noble..(Mr.imsu)

Know matter how rich they r, I don't envy them, cos they always have a very dark life behind close doors ( meemee ).

TEE said...

Cant really say RIP because you basically would realise your eternal abode by now......

Need to study what more about "DEPRESSION" cos its taking more lives than imagined...

....She couldn't find a reason to live again. Hmmm what this world turning to? RIP simone

and she no reason to battle the depression.

Beausteven said...

Thats why I say be careful what you wish for..... Some girls will wish to be in a shores cause she put on a smiling face when ever she's on the red carpet ..... But dying within .... Rip beauty #beausteven_blog

I don't feel sorry for ppl dat commit suicide, I feel dey r selfish....#mytot

Lady kim kim said...

Ehh ehhh,o ma wa ga bayii ooo.RIP

Wow!how depressed can she be?I liked her in their wild wild love video she can dance,RIP Simone

May the good Lord forgive her!! It baffles me when a 25yrs old good looking lady like her decides to take her own life saying she's got no reason to live..Suicide isn't the way out you have just dragged yourself into more darkness permanently..#RIP#..

dacduchess said...

Another talent passes...

Bianca Bruno said...

She really looks disturbed.
Pursuing the things of this world without Christ is vanity upon vanities

Yeeeeeeeeeh mogbe! See d lady I wanted 2 marry y did yu do dis to me nah, now I need 2 channel all my energy 2 Linda ikeji hopefully I will be able 2 settle down.

Lyndywayne said...

Oh what a pretty girl... Rip sweetie, but suicide shouldn't be an option for Gods sake.

It so bad that this beauty is now a past I wonder why mere depression takes the lives of ppl abroad omo here u go see person wey no get anytin but hin go still tell u say one day e go better. I wish I can meet these ppl am sure 2 stop them from taking their own life

Breezy_p loving MTN

Yinkuz B said...

Sucide is never an option.....always come out of ur shell n talk to som1.ur life means a lot to som1.

alexiss said...

So sad. She so young

Simone Battle lost the battle...Eya, RIP

Open road 2 hell. Y did u kill urself? R u Happy on oder side now?

So sad. R.I.P

C finegal y did she do dis to herslf na

So many reasons, Life aint easy, smtimes death is d easy way out.

So so sad,can't but ask y?

I know what's like to be depressed,it takes God to hold one from tipping over..May she Rest in Peace,

Woow so sad that even a beautiful and successful young lady killed herself. Depression is real.

So sad, she's such a beautiful young woman. People should always reach out for help when they're depressed, suicide is never the answer.

www.inandoutakute.com

I think depression is a scientific word to justify it to me this is demonic possession coz no reason is enough to take ur own life

Breezy_p was here 07030053326 MTN tinx

Anonymous dat is a wrong statement,taking her life is not an option no Mata what she is passing tru.Damm u

G said...

It takes God it takes God....yes, but God wont necessarily come down from heaven to stop such a will...thats y he created us in his own image to be our brother's keeper and to be there for our fellow man in need. Its only nigeria someone commits suicide and we say he shld have turned to God..then why did God make us gods on earth but to support one anoda when issues arise.

Pray that u never get depressed.. that shit is deadly

Could you please, please stop it with this excess waste of space you always leave at the end of your comments before you sign out? It's really annoying.

Chyluv! said...

Such a beauty. Who knows the inner demons she was battling with. Depression mayb from complex, abuse, drugs, hearbrk. So sad.

So why haven't u taken ur own life? Cos u can't tell me that ur own lifeis a bed of roses...

jaybeyblu said...

Rotfl

My dear, money, fame, beauty are not the defining factor of happiness. Infact those are called false success. That's y u see that it's mostly the presumed successful pple that commits suicide cos they are not truly happy and are not satisfied.
True happiness comes from doing what you love, helping others and most importantly pleasing your creator. For more on this go to the jw.org website or read the October issue of the awake mag.

So sad mennnnh

The devil is a liar.

THE SPIRIT OF HEAVINESS
Pastor T.D Jakes has a good book - "Woman Thou at Loosed". It is a very good read for people who have the blues, heaviness and gloom. Long before you can get to the point where you think there's nothing worht living for, help yourself. Open your mouth and speak to that depression, call it by its name and reject it, command it to leave and it will flee for the Lord has not given you a spirit of heaviness but a garment of praise.
Open your mouth therefore and praise! Sing praises to God. Make a joyful noise to the Lord, especially when you don't FEEL like it. Continue to sing and you will receive joy, you will receive strenght.
The joy of the Lord is my strenght!
- AE

Ehya, Satan is wicked oh

For everyone of you that has judged this girl, that has been so cruel in your comments and shown the evil in your hearts, I have one wish for you - May depression come over you like a dark cloud. I hope you don't take your life but yes, I wish you feel what it is like to feel like you are better off dead. If that is what it takes for you to be a bit more human and not be quick to judge, then so be it.

Barbara Sobel/Sobel Promotions said...

Didn't Robin Williams death teach us anything? We really need to take the stigma away from Depression and realize it is an illness.

Obara jesus!

oyinbo can mumu too much.......person go just dey, death go dey hungry am........i taya oooooooo

Love your comment. Very selfish girl.

RIP dear. by dobis112@gmail.com

Depression is a mental illness
Depression is a disorder of the brain. It changes how your brain function. You can't just snap out of it, you can't just 'be happy'. You dont feel depressed one day because your phone broke, this is serious. You can read more if you'd like http://www.allaboutdepression.com/cau_02.html

Do you actually know how stupid that comment made you look? YOU KNOW NOTHING . Get educated before you open your mouth like that.

DEBBIE said...

such a tragedy depression can bring you to your knees to live in such a terribly dark place that you feel you only exist instead of having a life worth living.at times you feel the people you love would be better off without you :( R.I.P young lady. hindsight really is such a wonderful thing too late for if onlys, my deep condolences to simones family & friends it was always out of your hands dont punish yourselves for not being able to reach into the depths of her depression it was her decision alone & maybe a cry for help that went beyond what she was tying to say, im sure simone will be received & rest in heaven her desperate cries were heard & will be understood .with much sadness i say sleep in peace beautiful lady you will be truly missed x X <3

debbie said...

such a tragedy depression can bring you to your knees to live in such a terribly dark place that you feel you only exist instead of having a life worth living.at times you feel the people you love would be better off without you :( R.I.P young lady. hindsight really is such a wonderful thing too late for if onlys, my deep condolences to simones family & friends it was always out of your hands dont punish yourselves for not being able to reach into the depths of her depression it was her decision alone & maybe a cry for help that went beyond what she was tying to say, im sure simone will be received & rest in heaven her desperate cries were heard & will be understood .with much sadness i say sleep in peace beautiful lady you will be truly missed x X <3

Bimpe said...

This girl was in the We the party' movie. This is just too sad