Update on the bus driver that was shot twice at Oba Akran today | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 4 July 2014

Update on the bus driver that was shot twice at Oba Akran today

I told y'all earlier about a bus driver that was shot twice at close range today (read here) well, I have an update on the incident.

According to an eye-witness, trouble started when a bus driver, who was trying to avoid the traffic along Oba Akran road, climbed the pavement of a bank building so he could get in front of other vehicles.

A security operative went to the driver, told him to get off the pavement and return to the road. The two men started exchanging words. One thing led to another and the bus driver got down and started struggling with the gun the security man was holding. The security man shot him twice on the leg.

The area boys along that road who saw what happened got angry and descended on the bank and destroyed a lot of cars belonging to customers of the bank. (You will find the photos after the cut). The bus driver was taken to the hospital and the police eventually came to calm things down...

97 comments:

Na wa for today oooo,how many happenings?

IBK said...

Naija for us....

Aaaaah! And he had to shoot him? Just like dat. Mba nu.....

IBK said...

Lawlessness @ its peak...too bad, the innocent bare the burden of such

hmm quite serious o.... Alakoba,just look @ how they destroyed pples cars o

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Violence is not the way out atal..

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

May God help us.

That security man is heartless, what if he has killed him?even though the driver was wrong n those area boys went too far...

Destroying cars of innocent customers??! What do the cars have to do with what happened!? What sort of normally reasoning people would even do that?

i have observed that there is a lot of anger in ordinary masses esp the ones living below poverty line ..so they always take their frustrations out on anyone who appears to be doing well in life.....and blame them for their on fate in life..we need to pray o..nigeria has a lot of deep issues caused by poverty..eg.ekiti election

WHYSHUD D DRIVER DRIVE IS CAR ON A PAVEMENT????
NIGERIANS ND THEIR WAHALA..... MSHEEEEEEWWWWWW

IMPATIENT CAUSED IT.....

What a day in Lagos today! Lawlessness everywhere you go in this country. When will all this stop?

The security guard had every right to shoot his gun! In cases like this, it's kill or be killed. I am glad he shoot to maim not kill or it would have being a different story.

This is insane. .

bankky said...

area boyz with dere wahala

Opelicious Morgann said...

Nawa ooo....i can just imagine if a parent (customer) had left their kid in one of those cars in order to quickly do something in the bank!!!

Violence is definitely not the answer.

Imagine exchanging words with an armed security officer!!!!!!!! Nigeria of today for that matter!

This bad #bright bravo#

Wonder what's going on with our law enforcement people. No self control.No atom of discipline, no sense of maturity. Now, who will pay for all the damaged properties esp those belonging to customers of the bank. Nice one Linda, u're always on spot.

Lovet said...

Anger is destructive. Beware!!!

chydominates@yahoo.com

Violent nigerians

Ore said...

See the irony of life,pple that are not faced with Boko H. Problem are just creating one for themselves.It is well.Nxt tym driver,u learn to obey traffic rules and constituted authorities.

richbeth60 said...

What has d customers cars got to do with the incident? Some People just love to take laws into their hands and act stupid.

Nawao o

Pheew! Today was all about Lagos.
Lagosians will pray never again a day like this.

Is it that there's no law in my country or people do not obey them?
it's unfortunate what happened to the driver, but in future, he should keep off private properties.. Klaar!

*My R1.50c comment*

vickyfabulous said...

Lagos is now getn disorganized

l don't know why we Nigerians are so lawless and we easyly takes laws into our hands

Hmmm! All is well..... www.fkxclusive.com

Haba this destruction is too much naaa. The stupid bus conductor got what he wanted. Oloriburuku

nella said...

Today is his lucky day, the security operative was humane enough to shoot him on the leg and not the heart. Foolish driver

kelly said...

Dz z ma 2nd tym commenting since I started readin dz blog...anywayz,dz area boyz dem eh...nawa oh.....kingsleyken@gmail.com

Ok! Press am nau.

nigerians be talking about soldiers

was it soldiers that did this?

nigerians are animals. period.

You have no damn right to shoot anyone..thats BS!

The driver is lucky to be shot on leg,1st u did a wrong driving,second ur dragging a gun of an officer which makes u a threat to both d security guy,d firm he is protecting and also people around.Area boys and there opportunity to loot that's why dey damaged peoples cars.Pity for customers cos cars are always parked at your risk

sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.

Linda ur first report was a soldier shooting a bus conductor. Well the security operative was right. Instead u will loose your gun , shoot to save ur life. If ur gun is collected from you , you are dead. If u are not shot, u will be dismissed for loosing your arm.

Hmmm a lot hpend in lag 2dai sha,1st wz dis den d soldiers den d death of d oba of ikj who nid 7 bdies 2 b buried wth,may God hlp us alll

They for break ATM.......Ala adighi mma,uru ndi nze!!!

I concur, he had a ryt to shoot.... But my qustn is, y is d so called driver dragging d gun wt him? D touts em nor try biko

Anuty, todays news, I wilda. Whts happening? Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

how will you struggle with the gun of a security man. what was the driver thinking? what will the driver do with the gun if he had succeeded?
#InnocentCostumers

bad day, i swear

Dude you must be into security or a member of the armed forces. Most Nigerians do not understand the concept of carrying guns. I praise the security guy for shooting to wound which is very rare. The security guy act is in order.

Sometimes animals ar more beta dan we nigerians.
Only animal will drive on pavement
Only animal will shot because of arguments
Only animals will damage innocent cars and properties

♈ōϋ A̶̲̥̅̊я̲̣̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ an idiot, so ♈ōϋ wnt him to wait till he collected d gun frm him A̶̲̥̅̊​и̲̮̣̥̅̊​d̶̲̥̅̊​ shoot him,blood fool

Son of Solomon

Swagg isimemen said...

Hmmm nawaooo

naija make una stop to dey use gun as if say na toy

A lot if bad tinz happened 2day! God ve mercy *Flora*

Impatience caused it. U r welcome!

Linda don't you see your sorry self , you initially said it was a solider , it is very obvious you have been paid by Fashola , don't worry when the time comes God will expose you , if you like post this if not God will judge you for lying .

Badoo of toronto, the gun wasn't there for fancy, the sob deserved to be shot, for God's sake, he wasn't killed. Why can't he wait his turn in traffic.

A hole lot happened today o.. na wa oo

Well I was in traffic at the front of union bank which is beside WEMABANK where it all happened yesterday. The crazy area boys, instead of rushing him to a clinic, were just carrying him up and down while stoning anything they see in front of the bank. I am not sure exactly what transpired but I heard the gunshot from the mopol attached to the bank.

d security man did d ryt thing. U dnt struggle for hsi gun n expect him nt to shoot. Dt serves him ryt. Next tym,d driver will behave well. Arrant nonsense!

Linda! Linda!! Linda!!! You initially reported that a soldier shot a bus driver as a continued aggression arising from the BRT reckless Driver killing a soldier, Now it turns out to be a separate incident all together. This will go a long way to suggest that Area boys did the burning Down of BRT buses, if they can damage the cars of bank customer for no reason. The Military men didn't burn down d BRT buses, the Area Boys did. And again, when did they start posting soldiers as Bank security instead of Mobile Police? Your second report didn't mention the security outfit that had the altercation with d bus driver that lead to the shooting. In your initial report, you were quick to say a soldier has just shot a Bus Driver twice. Pls clarify. Thanks, you are doing a Good job, but try as much as possible to verify some of your facts.

We should look beyond the physical. We just need God. Lack of employment is really causing trouble in the society. People are ever ready to pour out their frustrations when they have the opportunities to do so. Imagine those tauts busy with work somewhere, these bank customers wouldn't have suffered this.

Dear, where have you been?.. Z been a while I saw your comment. Hope you are good?

What made him to dragged d gun with the security man?. Bus drivers always in a hurry simply instruction they can't obey. Now he will spend thousands of naira for treatment. Sure he will be regretting his actions by now. But why would the area boys destroy customers vehicles? This country self. Chioma_kairo@yahoo.com

Naija gone loco...God help us

Dat security man is in soooooo much trouble right now.... was he told to shoot pple who climbed pavements? or guard the bank? ... and as for this danfo drivers hurrying to der deaths ( infact every one in lagos is in a hurry) if only the driver ws patience for 1min or so all dis won't have happened .

Nawa ooo.... nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Why are people turning their anger on their neighbors instead of those in government? With all these nonsense going on, a major crisis is sure going to happen soon.
God help us.

CharlesEndy a.k.a Dr. Pepper said...

That bus driver must have had a deadly combination of Alomo bitter, weed and kola nut to have had the guts to dare disarm a force man. What did he expect, a pat on the back of his neck or that the gun was willingly handed over to him? He got served. Next time he wouldn't need anyone to caution him against such act of adventure.

The diver must get juju. For driving on the pavement and attempting to disarm a security personnel. He is lucky the guy didnt shoot his stubborn head.

What the heck is happening in this country...I was actually going to blame the security operative for shooting but I have been enlightened by bloggers comments. .. these bus drivers are so unruly. ...area boys....unruly. ..so sorry to owners of damaged cars and thank God kids were not in any of the cars otherwuse it will be another story..

Nawa o!
Mamafunkky@gmail.com

If he was really dragging his gun with him(the security operative) den he had every right to shut @ him...it called self defence, gbam

Very smart comment. Smartest one so far

"Is car" yoruba girl ..They curse una with letter "h" ??

Frustrated nigerians just taking out on themselves when this energy should be directed to the government..Mschew!

Dats rubbish d customer r nt involve,y distroying their cars.anyways dats thugs 4 u,they r animals. I don't blame the security man he's doing is work and has every right 2 do such thing,and he wouldn't shoot him if the driver had not struggle with him.those bus drivers sha,u being a bus driver doesn't make u crazy.dats d way they all behave they turn themselve into thugs.and if den go talk now den go say na niger.

PRETTY GIRL said...

WTF is wrong with Nigerians#This whole story is pretty much annoying, Gosh!

hope for a speedy recovery. but God help those in the Bank and vicinity who had ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do with the incident, yet had their property vandalized.

"life in Nigeria can sometimes be described as nasty brutish and short"

Even in the US u can get shot by trying to disarm a uniform man. He is lucky he got shot in the leg. But wentin concern poor customers 4 the bank??? Tushizzy4real@gmail.com.

Na wa o..

C.E.O

As creepy as this sounds, this shit still happens in naija. Why won't they bury his with his kids?

Son of Solomon...you are suppose to be sensible but it's a pity that u are the most stupid senseless human being. Maybe you AG's change your magneto Son of Akpos..... son of a bitch

Justin said...

i wonder why people are blaming the security operative. Why should anybody in his right mind drag a gun with a security operative. No crime was commited by the soldier and the conductor should be questioned on his motive for dragging the gun. The soldier shot to maim and not to kill.

Shirley said...

The driver shld thk his God that he was nt shoot dead. hw can he has done sometin wrong n still hv d guts to come down n struggle gun wit a security man. Bus drivers are always in a hurry, so other road users waiting patiently in the traffic are not humans or dnt hv places to go? i only fed for d customers whose cars were damaged.

leadership by example... we have seen the way army, police drive on the highway, so reckless and rough. What right do they have to correct a bus driver (which led to the argument)Well the security operative did well by not killing the bus driver.
The AREA BOYS in Lagos are just frustrated coz of poverty. I avoid them like plague when driving coz of harassment and what not.
Ola

one day, the poor will have nothing to eat but the rich, because they will have nothing to lose

give urselves brain said...

recklessness of the highest order...d country is disorganised...

Uhm

D drive is lucky and d policeman is kind in allowing d man to live to feel d pain, dare it wit military men.

I tire for Nigeria. Will NEVER be able to live in that country again. TOO MUCH STRESS.

Lmao

The mob mentality in Nigeria needs to be dealt with. I hope a bank of this caliber has CCTV cameras. They should be able to retrieve pictures of the perpetrators and have them arrested and prosecuted. If people start going to jail for such offenses, others will think twice before damaging public property and putting pepper in women's privates.

anonymous said...

Hi Vicky, this is not about Naija, this happens all over the world okay.

anonymous said...

O see!

anonymous said...

That is never a good thing to do anyway. Robbery can happen in a bank. It's safer to lock up.