Starving to be sexy... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 17 July 2011

Starving to be sexy...

It can't be easy being in the public eye, but who's pressurizing them? The women described as the sexiest in the world are curvy women with meat on their body like Beyonce, Kim K, Jennifer Lopez, Nicki Minaj etc ...so where's the pressure from?

14 comments:

WHO CARES, it comes from their own sick deluded minds.

Dee dee said...

The pressure is from the modelling world with their size zero couture dresses.

No one is pressing these women- the standard of beauty for white women is preferably a thin body weight- contrast to some Nigerian cultures where is there is prefer for big hips and bum among the southern tribes

FAT in any shape, size or form is NOT healthy!

sakara said...

being skinny and almost gone like a wind is not healthy as well...kai bonga fish united

kate looks so thin. i love her but pls she shud stop whatever it is. maybe she's stressed. i dont think she'll genuinely be on a diet.probably she's worrying so much and being in the public eye isnt easy.pls girl, meat up o.i love u.xoxo

Peter said...

Labecquee pointed that out as well...
@Anon 2:23 you're right, to even go further, some of our african cultures are now buying these standards. Just take a look at some comments on the recent Serena Williams post here.
Nigerian modeling standards in 2002 are completely different from the current ones.

Speaking of it, Linda what's your take on it? :)

Oge (NR) said...

Personally I think it's about the individual for instance some people look great big. They are actually healthy and if they loose any weight they would look... awkward.
And some of us, me in particular, can loose weight everywhere except at the hips and I just give up before I start to look like God knows what

Allegra said...

Women have always been their own worst enemies. Whilst being over-weight is not healthy, being pencil thin too, is unhealthy. There has to be a balance in everything. People must recognise that two people cannot be of the same dress size especially, when you factor, height, body type etc and those girls or women all expecting to be the same size are just putting themselves at risk.

BONES in any shape or form isn't sexy

*ajalahtravel*

wivesroundtable said...

Whatever pressure they feel is in their minds abeg.They have no reason whatsoever to look like 'okporokos'!!! ah ah, what is all this?IMO, spotting just skin covered bones does not depict sexiness, will any guy feel like going down on u when he thinks u'll snap in two beneath his weight?(guys abeg make una answer me)sheeeessh!

justSayin said...

Linda, the girls you are referring to are pleasing the urban market (big front and back).

Kate Middleton and co are influenced by the size 0 model mentality. You wouldnt see Kate Middleton shaking her yansh in a rap video but rather strut her stuff in a dress designed by Valentino and co.

When i'm working hard to get bigger?I cant stop laughing.....

I am Nigerian and i am size 0.... I love it. Curvy is sexy but i love my 0.....