Singer Nikki Laoye gets engaged | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 19 July 2011

Singer Nikki Laoye gets engaged

Gospel music sensation, Nikki Laoye is engaged. She got engaged to her man of many months Odi Alexander a few weeks ago and friends say the singer is over the moon.

Nikki’s fiancé, Alex who is from Abia State, is quite the romantic. Here's how he proposed. While the two were out having lunch at an eatery, he told Nikki he had read something about her on a website, and asked her to go to check it out, which she did, unaware it was a proposal letter from her man.

By the time she got to the last line which read: ‘Nikki Laoye, Will You Marry Me?’,  Alex was already on his knees in the public glare of the ever busy Chicken Republic in Ikoyi. An overwhelmed Nikki says it was the best day of her life.

Read the proposal letter here

36 comments:

SOLA said...

**sob sob** so sweet...
Wish you well

awww, so cute, i could cry! read up some romantic meetings at http://www.wivesroundtable.net/topic15-romantic-husband-meets-wife-stories.aspx

Mena UkodoisReady said...

Mmmmm I feel a freddie jackson love song coming up!http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SKaNwo4R3cA love the whole romance bit of it all.

Mena

p.s: any opinionated, no holds barred thoughts needed here ;) http://efemenaoreoluwa.blogspot.com/2011/07/disclaimer-very-controversial-sex.html

Agbaje Adeyeye Oladipo said...

y'all need to read that.....me likey! Met this guy early in the year in Enugu, he was at my office to put our staff thru GIS....he is a cool guy, good at what he does and his bills does not come cheap....wish them luck, may they remain happy after....looking forward to my proposal,i'm still rocking strong after a few heart breaks.......i can't wait!

MsAnonymous said...

Awwwh shmucks! Now I've spoilt M̶̲̥̅γ̲̣̣̥ make-up with tears. Darn it!

Kemi said...

awwww sweet! Happy for them. I like Nikki and pray it all works out well. Congratulations!

Lmmmaaaoooooooooo..... Eatery, chicken republic ring on d middle finger.... * dead*

Wow. Just Wow! Chicken Republic? Lol

Why do most 9ja girls put an engagement ring on the middle finger? Its suppose to go on the RING finger!

the white enchantress said...

awwwww how romantic.....my brother is getting married soon to nikky...congrats to u both.

congrats to her.....just a question is it just a naija thing.....why do ppl wear engagement rings on thier middle finger...curious

Lucky her! dts one single lady set free.....The rest of us,hmmm!

Congrats gurl.

Chicken republic proposal? Seriously. Seriously. and i hope that is not the ring she is wearing on that finger. If we are gonna copy the white man, please wear the ring on the correct finger.

chi chi said...

awww. nice. wishin'em good luck. we dey wait 4 aso-ebi abeg.

sister nikky, we at hotr are ready for your joining oo congrats

so luvly, he can surely go down on his woman. lol

myHairmyBeauty said...

This definately what I like to READ!

CONGRATS on the Couple

myHairmyBeauty.wordpress.com

You can literally see the sincerity in his words... Its isn't just flowery words. Please does he have other brothers, I have sisters too. Congrats to them.

who are all these singers I've never heard of...congrats to her.

CCL said...

very cute! nice to see that men are still being romantic out there because at one point if it was looking bleak. if that is the ring, abeg somebody should tell her to move it to the right finger, i don't know who started that idea of putting the engagement on the middle finger. the only time that serves a purpose is if dude acts up, a girl can flip him the finger, say F_ _k you and walk out, outside of that it is just weird!

ponle hollowa said...

Awwwwh, dis is so cool! Why r ppl loling @ chicken republic, I tink d more public d place, d better! It goes to show spontaneity, cos no one wld expect it! Abeg Nikki wear ya ring joor any finger! You run ur world!

"go down on his woman" LMAO

LINDA,

WILL YOU MARRY ME?

AM ON MY KNEELS, BABY..

THIS BLOG IS BIGGER THAN ANY CHICKEN EATING PLACE.

LINDA, WILL YOU MARRY ME...

I AM UR, K1-BARRY

Wow, just wow:

"AM ON MY KNEELS, BABY.."

If Linda says yes to this, she needs to have her head examined...

nella said...

This is so sweet. I wish naija guys are bold to enuf to propose more in public. lol

@ K1 Barry,

Linda'll marry you when you learn to spell knees correctly.

Chinwelicious

will proposing at Oriental hotel make her know he loves her more?

Gbile said...

Even if na market! The public(er) the better!

why are people loling abt chicken republic?na wa sha.i'm sure its ladies that are hating.anyway i love the proposal letter esp 'you have stolen my heart and i don't want it back' drools

Hehehe...am nikki's friend..she was jst changing the ring from finger to finger that day joor. so it depends on which pic u catch.check her facebook pics too LOL! No be her ring!

and hey, sorry ass dudes..where u don propose ur own oh? make we hear word oh. nothing do chicken republic.
She loves dia pizza and he took her dia on the pretence of getting her one...hehe!
their food is great and always full of people. haha! jst want he wanted.

am still teary eyed gal. luv ya plenty, u and alex are such a great team. am jealous oooo

nigerians are pretentious abeg. the people saying chicken republic is this and that are the ones that sleep with men for cab fare and fake weave. awon alai ni nnkan se omo. go and find ur own

Dlapikin said...

It is not a Nigerian thing. It is the norm to wear the engagement ring on the middle finger. it is an American thing to wear it on the wedding finger.In the french culture it is on the middle finger.

NA WA O. HOPE IT LASTS SHA. ALL THESE OYIBO ROMANTIC NONSENSE USUALLLY END UP LIKE THE EDOHOS

ChiChiLuv said...

Dlapikin - thanks for the information. It's great to learn something new. I'm going to look it up. We are more closely associated with the British and American culture than we are with the French but hey, to each his own. The fourth finger has the vein closest linked to the heart which is why people wear the ring on the fourth finger and that is why the wedding back is placed first then the engagement after the wedding.

Haba! Wat has a man proposing to the woman he wants to marry got to do with the Edohos? Are u saying that wife beating is an Oyibo thing? If u go to villages dat have never seen oyibo things, u will find men maltreating their wives! Don't hate on someone cos he shows his woman love!