Photo: Lightning reportedly kills 2 women during prayer session in church in Imo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 17 April 2016

Photo: Lightning reportedly kills 2 women during prayer session in church in Imo

25-year-old Chioma Jonathan, a native of Obiangwu in Ngor Okpala Local Government Area and 26 year old Chinonye Anyanwu, from Ahiazu Mbaise LGA, both in Imo State, reportedly died when they were struck by lightning during a regular Holy Ghost Hour prayer session at their church, the Heavenly Sure Charismatic Church, a Pentecostal church, at Emekuku in Owerri North LGA, Imo State.

According to Sunday Sun, the lightning strike also affected the 54-year-old General Overseer of the church, Pastor Luke Nwokocha, who led the short-lived prayer session.

Narrating what happened, Pastor Luke said

“We always have fellowship every Tuesday. On the fateful day, we had our ‘Holy Ghost Hour’. We were five members in the church.

The two deceased sisters, including the sister that swept the church premises, Evangelist Solomon and myself were arranging the benches. Around 4.30pm heavy rain started falling. I started praying for the programme. Then there was a sudden lightning flash followed by the deafening sound of thunder".

The deceased women who were in the direct path of the electric field created by the lightning flash died instantly while the pastor who was off the direct path of the streak received a much lower jolt of electricity, which, however, was strong enough to throw him across the room, cause temporary loss of consciousness and physical injuries on his leg and hands.

"My wife, Pastor Eucharia Nwokocha and the other church member rushed me to the hospital for medical treatment. I have been in this ministry for 26 years. I have never experienced anything like this. I was called into ministry in 1990. Until that time, I was a policeman and served in the Imo State Police Command and retired at Akwa Ibom Police Command in July 2007. Following my retirement, I decided to focus on my ministry fulltime. I do not under­stand how it happened, its only God who understands and knows all”he said

Following the incident, the elder brother of one of the deceased, Chioma Jonathan, reported the case to the Owerri North Divisional Police Station, from where the case was transferred to the homicide department at the headquarters of the Imo State Police Command, Owerri, the state capital.

Confirming the incident, the state Commissioner of Police, Taiwo Lakanu said Pastor Luke is presently undergoing interrogation at the State Criminal Investigation Department while the corpses of the dead women had been deposited at the mortuary of the Holy Rosary Hospital, Emekuku.

60 comments:

Unclad Woman Seen Jumping And Dancing On Cars In Public

End time things

Heartbroken Man Cries Out, They Slept With My Wife Before Given Me the Job

Chei,tragedy! May their souls rip

Sextape of Cheating Lagos Housewife With a Man Leaks

Lord av mercy..
R.I.P to dem.

Makjesty said...

God, please save us.
RIP, sisters.

Long live the Queen...
(Linda Ikeji)...

The God of Thunder is actually reacting to something. Maybe something ain't right at that location. Strange news but true. Rip to the dead🙏..

Dis is terrible. Rip to dem

End time signs and wonders.
There hands are not clean so they should pay for it,this kind of thing don't happen like that.
All this yoruba witches God is angry oo.

What a tragedy. God knows the best.

Kidda funny,,RIP to them

Oh oh!!!!

Strange

Scholastica Ogbunambala said...

NATURAL DISASTER! WHAT A GREAT LOSS.

Nna Na wa o! Linda take note!

Strange things happen

hmmmm ... my enemies portion

Na waoh...

Freeborn, Whilhemina & Stern i hope you have something good to say about your religion oooooo. JOBLESS PEOPLE

Not his fault now,God knows best

Nawa ooh lord have mercy

cutestlove said...

This is a bad news and that church will lose a lot of members...really only God knows best.

PrettyChi said...

Rest in peace to them

Ewo!

Sad!

Strange

Unfortunate,,R.I.P

Na waoo! Ife na eme. RIP

It is well

Chieeemo End Time is Near !!!

Damolia.DEW

I call dis spiritual attack frm d enemies.

Oh my God.
May your soul rest in peace.
What a world.

Pearlie said...

Na wa oo
RIP to them

Freeburn nah igbo ogbanje catch am abi idiot

People with superstitious beliefs will start posting nonsense about the thunder on this comment section.

chommy said...

Nawa o, devil at work, may der souls rest in peace. Linda observe!

jennykurt said...

Hmmm na wa oo

Bitter soul! You're definitely a retard Muslim.... you'all burn in hell idiot

Unbelievable, end time stori

esthy baby said...

It's we may soul rest in peace

danm!!! wht ar the chances of lightning striking somebody!?!
horrible way to go. maybe they ran out of goodluck. rip the dead

Vickyfabulous adeleyevictor17@gmail.com said...

Quoting Mr. Omar "Tragic Tragic!

Electrical fault, pls built with original stuff plus expert builder, pls naija.

May God help ur dumb soul...u wil stil get tired with this ya primary one student engish comments

The evil tha men do bounce back

U sound so unintelligent. There was a simple scientific explanation for it. Smh. U cannot think outside the box

Real end time news!

Mr man said...

@freeborn bamislam suani zinalima you're a disgrace to Nigeria and a beans weevil.. I guess u can't differentiate between Yoruba surnames and other tribe's surnames.

RIP people, I hope the police unravels the behind the scene and let us know too

Quit your endulgence in sex tapes fool. You are ruining your life by going to those websites. Soon you become a child molester. Save your helpless spirit from destruction. You moroon.

Thank u dear @ anon, freeborn is a tout

Freeborn aluu

I know dis dude 2 his root,if u guys keep worrying ur brains about him then better stop now.cus der isn't anything worthy 2 take home about him...he has lost it all(family,friends,relationship) all zero...I'm his cousin,but I detest him alot!!!

NnekaOchu Blog said...

from policeman to a pastor,ur bribes re coming steps by steps.this one na holy ghost lightin

I don't understand the part of the police treating a thunder strike as a homicide, and interrogating the pastor. who's the defendant here? mother-nature?

I dnt know why Thunder keep striking people in Owerri North especially....Could remember back in those days, it struck two students in FUTO...There is always scientific proof of it and I keep asking...''Is it only in Owerri it happens'' God save us all from such dangers...IJN. Amen!