Over 300 young boys in early puberty undergo mass circumcision at school in Phillipines | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 22 April 2016

Over 300 young boys in early puberty undergo mass circumcision at school in Phillipines

Circumcision or 'tuli' as it is known in the Philippines is common in the country with 93% of males circumcised. It is tradition for boys about to enter puberty. Uncircumcised boys are often teased by peers so the boys endure the pain in order to be accepted socially.

According to the World Health Organisation, 30 to 33 percent of men aged 15 or over are circumcised worldwide but the figure is much higher in Philippines at 93% where the majority of the population is Roman Catholic.

The Filipino government funds the annual tradition to ensure that operations are conducted hygienically.

In Marikana city which lies east of the capital, Manila, 300 boys took part in the tradition this week at a local school.

They are encouraged to wear loose, shirt-like clothing after the procedure.
Five years ago 1,500 boys were circumcised on the same day in Marikina City but the Guinness Book of Records rejected an application 'due to hygiene considerations and risks'.

More photos...

36 comments:

Awshh I felt the pain even when I am a guy..... But why waiting till that age.... The ealier the better

............... Liber maniac.........

Circumcision at this age will be very painful

Why can't you guys do it when the boys were born nah.

I cant imagine the pains,something their parents would have done for them when they were still kids.Na waoh!

This is pure wickedness, what stops them from circumcising them when they were babies???

The look on the faces of the boys in the 2nd to the last pix is out of dis world. Linda take note!

WTF?!!

STILL SCROLLING :D

U BETTER STOP :D

SCARFACE

WTH! Seems we've left alotta people in the stone age and they are desperately trying to drag us back to it in the name of tradition

Yuck! This must be terribly painful... Why aren't they circumcised as babies?

This is barbaric and out-dated considering the pain the boys go through.They should stop it immediately

The pains this thing brings to these boys are unimaginable... Why can't they do it to them when they were tender and thus haven't known the feeling of pain.. Nawa oh..

Long Live LIb!!!

Seriously? even in a place like Philippine? This is so mean a culture. What stops them from circumcising them as babies?

HMMMM

This is Archaic! I can imagine the pains the must be going through.

This is highly barbaric.

Okk

Awww! Could imagine the pain they are subjected to.

Lord av mercy. I ain't gonna try dat

Monemi said...

Kai! Better do this while still a baby

It's normal. But christians do that when they are still infants.

*Christians I know anyways.

Damn Daniel!!
I can imagine the pain

Damn Daniel!!
I can imagine the pain

Gosh!!!Not me ooooo,Ogini di ifve aa?

Candybecs said...

I can imagine the pains.

Twingle Tangle said...

If it was men circumcising women now everybody will be shouting sexism. Wicked people.

Ok ooo

why them no circumcise them when them young. rubbish

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Why now? Better done when they're kids.

Why must they wait till they are this big before circumsizing them

At puberty stage??? Wot a painful experience. Y didnt thy carry out d operation whn thy were stil infants.....

Scarface u must b vry stupid for dis nonsense y dlong spacin..

The best time for circumcision is within 10days of birth then their no veins. In Canada, circumcision is considered cosmetics so parents can either do it or not.

Filipinoguy12345 said...

You idiots you dont care about are tradition you stupid people every country has own religion and tradition your maybe jealous beacause your still uncircumscissed, we also go on laser circumscising and baby circumscicis stupid people

Filipinoguy12345 said...

You idiots you dont care about are tradition you stupid people every country has own religion and tradition your maybe jealous beacause your still uncircumscissed, we also go on laser circumscising and baby circumscicis stupid people