Ekiti Attoney-General expresses concern over anti-media bill, says “APC Govt bringing back Buhari’s Decree 4 of 1984” | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 6 December 2015

Ekiti Attoney-General expresses concern over anti-media bill, says “APC Govt bringing back Buhari’s Decree 4 of 1984”

Read the press statement below...
Ekiti State Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr Owoseni Ajayi has expressed concern over the Anti-Media Bill proposed by All Progressives Congress (APC) Senator, Bala Ibn Na'allah, saying; the National Assembly must not allow itself to be used to bring back Decree 4 that was used against the press between 1984 and 1985 that President Buhari was military Head of State and the Sedition Law that the British Colonial Masters used against our fathers, who fought for the independence of Nigeria.
The Attorney-General, who declared that holders of public offices must be answerable to the people at all times, added that; “those of us holding public offices must be mindful of the temptation of seeing ourselves as being above the people. We are not God that cannot be questioned. In fact, nothing should be private about us that the public must not know.”

In a statement issued in Ado-Ekiti on Sunday, Owoseni Ajayi, who said the Ekiti State government was against the bill in its entirety, noted that; “that bill proposed by Senator Bala Ibn Na'allah is not different from Buhari’s Protection Against False Accusations Decree 4 of 1984, which was considered as the most repressive press law ever enacted in Nigeria.” He said

Nigerians were not unmindful of the fact that the APC rode to power on the back of free press and credible electoral process that was allowed by the Peoples Democratic Government of Dr Goodluck Jonathan, adding that; “the APC as a party must be ready to accommodate even more than the media attacks it gave PDP when it was in the opposition.”

The Commissioner for Justice said; “Isn’t it funny that the same media, especially the social media that the APC used against the PDP has now become an enemy that the APC led federal government is desperate to suppress? What are they afraid of? “It is painful that anyone could bring such bill to the Senate, and even more painful that the bill was allowed to pass through the first reading.

“However, let those seeing the bill as a means of protecting themselves realise that they won’t be in power forever. They should therefore refrain themselves from acts capable of taking Nigeria back to those years of dictatorship that journalists were jailed indiscriminately and media houses shut for years. They should remember Tunde Thompson and Nduka Irabor of The Guardian newspapers.

“Most importantly, the Senate should be mindful of the fact that the offences the proposed bill seeks to criminalise already exist under Nigerian laws, including those on treason, defamation and libel. “Lastly, let those supporting the obnoxious bill know that under a democratic government, there cannot be criminal libel or defamation.

There can also not be a return of Decree 4 of 1984 and the Sedition Law of the Colonial days.”

73 comments:

Everybody condemns the act yet their stupidity won't allow them to reason properly. Linda take note!

Centre for Nigeria Progress said...

Here, here

By now, dey shld know dat passing dat bill is insensitivity

Gbam! Gbamer! Gbamest!
And senseless Dino melaye want that in this country, we say "NO"

Nice one. Thumb up for you

GBAM

This matter don tire me abeg....

It will fall back on them.

sky said...

Change is here! #2019onmymind

OJ said...

APC used social media against GEJ to win election. Now karma come calling. I just dey laugh.

Thank u Sir and may God bless u and urs.amen

Pls tell them.na small small it take to start before u know dis buhari nd his men will give us sharia law

Apc for change, just wait, very soon we are going to trek from one community to another,

AGB said...

Enough with all these crappy protests! The media is not being trampled on. Every journalist/blogger is just being regulated to be accountable for whatever they write or post by not posting false 'news' and slandering innocent people all in the name of selling your business or driving traffic to your site. I support that bill.
God Bless Nigeria.

aproko manager said...

End time ekiti

Darrel tom said...

Linda Linda, Dem Don stir u up abit, u go show them sometin. Hehe. Is like trying to kill a snake, u can only imagine how the snake will be if he survive the attack. Linlin i understand, them wan try with ur source of 200k pair shoe cash.

Note:for healthy living today, drink 8 glasses of water and mind your business on lib

Linda's last son

This getting serious

Princess Chinasa Ukaegbu said...

Linda ikeji going on and on about anti social media law. When they were arresting your brothers at airports for having more than 4000dollars with them you were busy blogging about kim kardasian and others. Its now that they same idiots are after your source of income that you're making noise. Stop being selfish my dear and defend the defenseless and downtrodden that's why God gave you this wonderful tool you're using today.

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Hmmmmmmmmm

True talk for dis write. Up sum everytin up and no wonder PMB want d red chamber under his control.

Wht a shame dat PDP senators r playing alonng abi they collected fat bribe bcos dis can only b wht could silent them.

Nke ahu gbasara ha

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

Mr 47 said...

Won't waste my time to this crap. Mr Attorney General, u do know the House consist of PDP Senators too and they are all in support of the bill too???

emy said...

This is not an APC bill. The sponsors of this bill are ex PDP men like Saraki, Dino and Na Abba. He is also the one Saraki made deputy whip against his parties decision.

Hana said...

Is lyk diz Ekiti is d only yoruba state with sense
Thank d Lord!!!!!
My dear Attorney General pls tell dem...wat happened to writing bills 4 d so-called leaders dat dnt fulfill der campaign promises
Wat happened to creatn bills to sanction diz leaders dat loot d economy n dry d county
Anti-media bill my ass.....after all sed n done it seems dat social media is Nigerias' problem

Ps....m auurrahere

Gbam,attitude is like pregnancy it unfold with time.

That is it, the sensible Yorubas has from origin seen that something won't be right but the foolish ones are still dancing the dance of deceit.

Because Fayose will break that gag law. So, we many. Na so e easy to turn criminal?

This is the change Nigerians seek, that is the change they will get

Because Fayose will break that gag law. So, we many. Na so e easy to turn criminal?

Don't mind the jokers.
This is democracy!

Na only APC dey Senate? Make sense please.

firstfolder@yahoo.com

We all know buhari is a dictator and a profound human rights violator. If you don't know yet please ask people who witnessed 1984. This is just the beginning, people will be locked up against court orders and nothing gonna happen.

seeker! said...

Well said!

I support this man. Nd he said it all.

Hmmmm, Buhahaha and lie lie mohammed, are you guys afraid of sahara reporter...... Ewebedi ihe ifulu, nkea ka bu mbido, ndi ara.

I am sure when they are done. The court will deem it null and void. Only idiots would bet a dollar on this bill. In summary it is unconstitutional.

For window blinds, wallpaper and curtain please call 08160856785.

Sensitive /insensitive imature self absorbed people in the senate and house. The country is going from being an example of democracy to being a dictatorship

I haff tire for this thing sha
But me I can insult oh I don't know how to stop it

God bless you sir!!! I didn't not vote for any APC member because they seem too good to be true at first. Let them not forget that " The voice of people is People is the the Voice of God! Nothing last forever! Our cry will definitely be heard by God!!! He is watching

Get a court injunction

Well spoken! That bill shouldn't pass the second reading biko...

Respect sir!!!

shescute said...

Another fail promise by the APC govt..remember PMB promised he won't hurt any press person now what are we seeing? Another failed promise #smh#

He couldn't have said it better.

Abeg your taking this matter too far let peace reign since they denied it. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

We need our freedom of speech !

Order for your 3D beddings @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available Nationwide .

Lets be realistic here, we have pdp senators supporting this bill. So why is everyone blaming PMB! Or is PMB now a senator!? If no pdp senator is saying nay to da bill then I guess its unfair to blame it on PMB as usual!

Karma is a bitch we r watching

Thank you AGB.

Well said👍@ Attorney-general of Ekiti.. A word is enough for the wise...#We're waiting for the senseless bill.

Exactly.....

The reason pdp guys are supporting this bill is that we're it in place, a lot of lies peddled by apc won't have come to the forefront. The apc guys now know the power of social media and having used it to their benefits, they are scared same will be used against them

True talk!

Surely they wil b put to shame bcos they wil amounts to nothing and b put to shame bcos we hav seen their true colours.

No one PMB want to pocket d red/green chamber's and I hope PDP senator's hav not b compromise.

And ur point...?

That is already happening now... Ppl are already being locked up.

Nigerians

hate ma country....ndi isi ojii...blacks

Dear Linda,
I decided to call you chief bcos u speak my mind exactly as my anger burns with rage. I read the article on this social media bill being supported by the ass wipes we have in the NASS called senators. And I was very disgusted. I have been following this issue with great interest since the proposal came to the lime a few weeks ago.
I would like you to send a message to other social speaker to agitate for the bill on "death penalty for corrupt Govt officials". We need to be mean and aggressive on this issue. I think its time for us to begin our own campaign on how to change things in this country. We did it during the last election and we succeeded. Now its time for us to use the same power(SM) to put pressure on these fools. If we don't start now, they'll win.
They have better issues to handle, yet they have decided to handle frivolous and trivial issues.
Let us move and start printing T-shirts, face caps, using all our social mediums to fight these morons.
On these t shirts we should have inscriptions like "death penalty for corrupt leaders...no turning back". They can't think they can push us and not get a reaction. We need to do these for weeks. Pls, Linda use your medium to pass this info to other bloggers, let's get people talking not just on the social media bill, but strongly on death penalty bill for corruption in this country. They have pushed us and must feel the brunt of our anger. I think its time we begin to make things happen for us youths in this country and very fast and aggressive too.
Thanks and cheers.
Charles

Oh! No "Wonder" I meant not "One".

TOUCH OF RAY said...

Soon many of you will see the wisdom in the Biafrians trying to break out of this Country. The can of worms is already full, we are all waiting for it to pour out. While you all are playing a safe game, soonest there will be nothing for you to hold onto. Watin concern me, i don talk my own

anonymous said...

You are too much. Let them destroy our social media. We will destroy them by our collective action. They can't ride on our backs to get into power and dump us in just six months. The real enemy of nigeria is not the national assembly members but the one who is the chief sponsor of the bill. He is sitting on the throne in Aso Rock. Since this bill came to limelight, he has been silent just as he has been silent on virtually every issue bothering the people. How I wish we have a leader like IBB? IBB will not sell nigeria cheap to the international community Like he is doing any time he embarks on his luxurious foreign trips. He castigates the country as so corrupt and useless. If that is your belief, why run for the Presidency? How do you expect foreign investors to do business with us when the president is always casting aspersions on the country? Shame to the man in Aso Rock, you only have 3 and a half years left for Nigerians to kick you out of office.

Be saying end time Ekiti, u coward.

Hasmoh said...

The comment of the AG of Ekiti is disappointing. As a Lawyer he is expected to uphold the Rule of Law. He is to ensure that everybody gets justice. People should get their facts before blowing the whistle. This bill is a Landmark. Posterity will remember this senate as the best ever

They are now related to PDP abi?Saraki is no more APC member? I don't understand how you people reasons, just like rat

olythopia said...

Go and sleep. Ur talking crap. Who made up apc?

olythopia said...

AGB I read all the comments and realise ur actually the one talking crap here.
When Apc was using media to scandalise the outgoing government they didn't see nothing wrong with it! U are just an hypocrite for writing this rubbish.

I hate this

Good morning Linda pls I would like to talk to you privately about something that is if you don't mind. My email address ezezhb08@gmail.com