Buried in the huge spending bill signed into law last Friday are provisions that would give each of the 53 hostages or their estates up to $4.4 million.
Victims of other state-sponsored terrorist attacks such as the 1998 American Embassy bombings in East Africa would also be eligible for benefits under the law.
“I had to pull over to the side of the road, and I basically cried,” said Rodney V. Sickmann, who was a Marine sergeant working as a security guard at the embassy in Tehran when he was seized along with the other Americans by an angry mob that overran the compound on Nov. 4, 1979. “It has been 36 years, one month, 14 days, obviously, until President Obama signed the actual bill, until Iran was held accountable,” he said.
Rodney V. Sickmann |
David M. Roeder |
Some of the hostages were subject to physical and psychological torture during their long ordeal.
It is not clear, however, whether all the former hostages or their families will receive full payments. In large measure that is because the $4.4 million total authorized by Congress depends on the outcome of efforts to collect on judgments won in earlier court rulings involving victims of terrorist attacks, as well as on the number of victims who file claims.
The law authorizes payments of up to $10,000 per day of captivity for each of the 53 hostages, 37 of whom are still alive. Fifty-two hostages were released on Jan. 20, 1981; a 53rd hostage had been released earlier because of illness.
Spouses and children are authorized to receive a lump payment of as much as $600,000.
93 comments:
Wow, good tin he got this while still alive. Kinda fulfilling, lucky him thou.
Linda's last son
Wow, good tin he got this while still alive. Kinda fulfilling, lucky him thou.
Linda's last son
Hmmmmmmm are you serus!!!!
...CHRIST IS THE REASON FOR THIS SEASON....
Americans held hostage in Iran win compensation, 36 years later LETS BLAME JONATHANS ADMINISTRATION
Whooping sum of money
Eyahhhhh
freedom at last....go and celebrate man. #kpomkwem #
Let dem pay him
GOOD NEWS FOR HIS PEEPS
Should I say congrats to dem
#sugarLove
Freedom is sweet
Na wa oo...36yrs
Good thing
Good thing
Good for them..*i smell xmas chicken*
After how many years?
Okbye.
Dis useless Iran dat included Nigeria as a Muslim country. God forbid Nigeria will never never be a shrine called Muslim country never
What am I supposed to do with this information now,Linda?? Seen!!
anaekwe.ucheslimj@gmail.com
Are you kidding me?
ThankGod fort him
Justice must prevail
LindaAssistantBF
What a great relief. Operation "Bulldog" was a disaster. Americans learnt from it.. Thanks to the new NAVY SEALs now. Any hostage situation now can be handled properly
No amount of cash can measure up....!
1. Justice will always prevail
2. #MYOPINION#
36 yearrs after ,,,just passing
Wow! Dats a long time yo
Can LIBers see me at all? Am I invisible?
Thank God he z still alive
After so many years.. Habba! Freedom at last.
I saw a movie about this incident once.. Ben Affleck or so
Wow 36 years ain't no joke o
When will I be first self, hww all dis Ppl take dey b first self
Where is PRINCE CHARMING..linda take note
He should be happy
36yrs. They must av made him a king in prison over other prisoners. Asap
ohhh linda my comment has never been visible maka why pls approve oooo
Linda its Xmas oo
And yet u still keep us newsy
I wonder, how u keep up with all did.
Thanks though.
Merry Christmas Linda***** good news for them
like i see it coming...
Now we have don jazzy's driver
Mahn de husstle is real
Plz hold it there ooo. Must u comment under my Comment? Wats Don jazzy's driver? If i don't speak up now, very soon u will start commentin trash n Linda will notice u, before u know, it's December again n she will dash 100k to u, forgetin peeps like me who ve been commenting since here. Plz just Park one side Don jazzy's driver or watever. Y do i ve this feelings that this is davido driver coming back this year agn to get something here? Anyways nbdy will ever dares me next year sha. But plz do ur hustle in somebody else's comment, Don't try it on my comments, last warning. Now crawl back.
Linda's last son
Enter your comment...congrats to them
Things well soon be ok.
Great
GOD knows best
short of words.
Thay say time flies,but mine is 1st class.....munachiphilips@gmail.com
Na wah... So many years in captivity. Thank God he was compensated
Hmmmmm God has actually written it down that it's gonna be so #DESTINY
Make una dey there dey hussle 100k while Linda is busy making money on each comment u post from Google!
Linda am not a robot
It is well o! After so many years??? Linda take note!
Wow...36 years is really a lot of time in a man's life....they should settle them well
Also Check Vabadon's Blog
And what kind of name is "Sickmann"....these white people sha
Becky you really looking good.
36yrs after na wah, freedom is good
Abiooo my brother, let that old sick bastard called lie mohammed come on blame it on Jonathan again
Where is that old sick bastard called lie lie mohammed, maybe we should blame Jonathan for this too.
Good relief for them
Wow! D money plenty oo*Merry Chritmas Linda
Nothing like the fresh breath of freedom
long walk to justice.
Omo $million dis Xmas. Choi amadioha abeg I need to be held hostage. End time Americans
Lol una dey make me laff...don jazzy's driver see name lol...tom u too got no chill lol...@now crawl back lol...u don make me laff soteyyy I vomit my beer..
~make I go take one bottle of star beer~
http://freequotes4llc.com/auth/view/document/
Thank God for em
Congrat to them
Thank God 4his life.
Really nice
Thank God
I love Linda LANRECHUKS@YAHOO.com
Thank God for him....
My goodness!...
"NeVeR SaY NeVeR"
Lolz funny dudes everywhere..watz let's blame jonathans administration..u be APC?
What a great relief
Since hw many yrs.....eseokodugha75@yahoo.com
Linda I've always admire your hardwork and deligence!
It will be a honour to work with you someday...
I might sound moronic but I see that day coming,by then I will remember you of this comment..Merry Christmas to You and Libers! Cheers!
Like seriously.36years na here? But at last he they smiled...
MZ EUEU
Like seriously.36years na here? But at last he they smiled...
MZ EUEU
Great to know they kept hope alive till date of divine compensation. Nor be beans.
Wonderful
Chai,no be small mata
Thank God......
Thank God
🎄🎈🎄🎄🎄🎈🎄🎄🎄
🎈
😃 😃 🎄
😃 😀 😀 😃 🎄
😍 😀 😀 😍 🎄
😍 😍 😃 🎈
😍 😍 🎄
🎄
😃😃😃😀😀😃😊 🎄
☺ 🎄
😀 🎄
😉😃😃😀😍😀😍 🎈
😀 🎄
😃 🎄
😉😊😛😘😍😄😃 🎄
🎄
😄😃😀😊😍 🎄
😍 😉 🎄
😊 😀 🎄
😘😃😀 😍😊 🎄
😄 😊 🎄
😍 😍 🎈
😀 😍 🎄
🎊
😄😃😀😊😍 🎄
😍 😉 🎄
😊 😀 🎄
😘😃😀 😍😊 🎄
😄 😊 🎄
😍 😍 🎈
😀 😍 🎄
🎊
😃 😍 🎉
😍 ☺ 🎄
😃 😄 🎄
😊 😍 🎄
😘 🎄
😍 🎄
😘 🎄
😍 🎈
🎊
🎉
💝
🎅🏼
😍 😍 🎄
😃 😀 🎄
😀 😃 🎄
😄 😍 🎄
😘 😉 🎄
😄 😃 🎈
😍 😍 🎊
🎉
🎅🏼
😃 😃 🎄
😃 😀 😀 😃 🎄
😍 😀 😀 😍 🎄
😍 😍 😃 🎈
😍 😍 🎄
🎊
😍 🎉
😃 😀 🎄
😉 😘 🎄
😄😃😍😘😍 🎄
😍 😍 🎄
😉 😘 🎄
🎊
🎈
😍☺😊 🎁
😊 😃 🎄
😘 🎄
😃😍😀 🎄
😘 🎄
😉 🎄
😍 😍 🎄
😀😃😄 🎄
🎄
🎄🎄
🎄🎄🎄
🎄🎄🎄🎄
🎄🎄🎄🎄🎄
🎄🎄🎄🎄🎄🎄
🎊🎉🎊🎉🎈🎊🎉
🎅🏼
🎁
Merry Xmas 😀
I mean OK!
Nwunye Bonario
That's good to know, their laws are working.Enter your comment...
America cares for their own.
Ds is an entitlement prayers answered, it's a pity some of them are no more. #Linda'spal
Justice at its peak at last.
Thank God compensation is here now...I am one of their children o...when are they paying pls Linda...there was a country
Wow! From prison to millionaire. May that not be my case sha