Femi Falana calls for prosecution of Buratai, others over Army/Shiite attack | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 24 December 2015

Femi Falana calls for prosecution of Buratai, others over Army/Shiite attack

Human rights lawyer, Femi Falana has called on President Buhari to prosecute the Chief of Army staff Lt. Gen Tukur Buratai and the soldiers that partook in the shooting of Shiite members during a clash with the Islamic group in Zaria, Kaduna state on Saturday December 12th. 

In a statement released yesterday December 23rd, Falana said the Nigerian military has refused the injured Shiite members access to their personal physicians and family members...

"Assuming that the Shi’ite members actually blocked the road, why was the nuisance not reported to the police? Are the authorities of the Nigerian Army above the law of the land? The army authorities have refused to release the bodies of those who were massacred to their families for burial while the personal physicians of the injured ones and their family members have been denied access to them. The suspects were refused bail by the Magistrate who ordered that they be remanded in prison custody. Although Sheik El-Zakzaky is reported to have been transferred from a military custody to a police station, he has been denied access to his personal physicians and lawyers". 

Falana stressed that  "In Chief Gani Fawehinmi v. General Sani Abacha (1996) 5 NWLR (PT 447) 198 at 202, the Court of Appeal ordered the Attorney-General of Federation, Inspector-General of Police and the operatives of the State Security Services to allow the wife and personal physicians of the appellant, a political detainee, to have access to him in prison custody ‘at all reasonable times.’ In requesting the Inspector-General of Police to allow access to the detainees his attention ought to be drawn to Section 14(2) of the Administration of Criminal Justice Act which provides as follows: A person who has the custody of an arrested suspect shall give the suspect reasonable facilities for obtaining legal advice, access to communication for taking steps to furnish bail, and otherwise making arrangements for his defence or release.'”

He called on the Inspector General of Police Solomon Arase to allow the Shiite leader, his wife and members of his group, access to their families, personal physicians, and legal practitioners as empowered by the Law.
“Having undertaken to end impunity in the country, President Buhari should ensure that the Chief of Army Staff and all the soldiers who took part in the violent attack and arson in Zaria are brought to book without any further delay.”

73 comments:

Chris J said...

Seen!

Entertain naija recently posted... What Tuface Idibia Was Spotted Doing During Calabar Carnival

Justice must prevail...munachiphilips@gmail.com

We want peace in Nigeria #LIBBOO

That's after proper investigation though....

tosisochukwu said...

Ok seen

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

Ruphina said...

Supported. linda do something

Justice should be served sha....
#sips orijin#

Techpill said...

Yes! we are human being not animal! why buy data with huge money, when you can browse unlimited on MTN free with just N100 go to TechPill! click here

Enter your comment...big drama in d hand of big men! Let's see how it goes. Its guiness malt all d way

AliBaba DeKingMaker said...

1. Buratai and cohorts are breeding another clan of BH.
2. If not so why kill ppl on such a large scale in such a shady circumstance?
3. #myopinion#

Why not give them fair hearing first, abeg go and sit joor

fresh presh said...

hmmmm...their palaver

Hmmmmmm. They fit do this one?

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

Prosecute him for what reason....when he self defended himself

Hmmmmmm...
Can LIBers see me at all? Am I invisible?

I AM SELFMADE said...

ok oooo

#I don get alert, na Godwin and Lindiway o!# Lindiway Darling, I truly appreciate the 100k you gave to me. May the Good Lord replenish your resources 10thousands folds. Your going out and coming in is blessed, Favour shall become the order of your day. Man and Woman would honor you and call you blessed cos the Lord has lifted you higher above all your peers. You shall not die but would live to declare the Glory of God Almighty. Henceforth, you shall begin to flourish like the plant dat is planted by the river bank. It is well with you and your household. God bless you abundantly. Thank YOU! Linda take note!

Cookie'sFan said...

So many pple were killed in Kaduna DAT day. God help us

Supported.... Femi Falana on point.

Hey! Hoolop! hoolop! Hoolop! Men! Don't even say anything abt this Shitte terrorist people Mr Femi Falana, becos there are some issues u can raise alarm but not for this terrorist Shitte. Becos we Nigerians are not fools!

Let's giv peace a chance.

My beloved Juliet pls my own share.

From the way the Nigerian army acted, it's as if they've been looking for a reason to attack them all this while. There should be a panel of inquiry into the remote cause of that.
$
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

And what about the innocent people being killed for the peaceful Biafran protest by the Military.

What about Nnamdi Kalu who is detained for no reason.

Who will speak for the Igbo's.

I am not igbo but the in-justice the people face is not fair.

People need to speak up for the truth stop supporting terrorism...

Political correctness is the down fall.

The chief of army staff really needs to be questioned and prosecuted. I believe that nomatter what they did, there should have been a more subtle way of handling things apart from killing them.
You just massacre humans like that.
They're not chickens.

God Punish u Falana. Na so una been de pampa n Canvas for Boko Haram. N now it has grown out of hand. I can see u trying same now

Victor Emeka Isaac said...

This man should chill first... Investigation is still on

Also Check Vabadon's Blog

Congrats juliet.

Congrats Juliet, even though you support Buhari stupidly sometimes. Thanks to Linda for putting smile on the faces of some LIBer's, I wish the APC government will learn from you. Anyway, if Buhari was sensible enough, the Chief of Army staff should have been sacked by now, how can you kill innocent people when Boko Haram members are there for you to kill. I guess Buhari hate the Shitte Muslims because they are not Sunni and as troublesome as his Boko Haram colleagues. May the blood of all the innocent people Buhari's has sponsored to be killed swallow him up before next year. What a wicked man without conscience. Free the Shitte leader! They are not part of the Islamic sect know for wickedness. They are peaceful Muslims and Buhari don't like that. Stop the witch hunt Pa Buhari the Devil.

Badru Olalekan said...

Good talk Mr Falana, Nigerian army behaved like madness, this is unacceptable, rubbish.

mimz said...

Bullshit! Those people have a track record, the investigation will show it if done transparently.

Juliet u be mugu . Send me airtel card

shescute said...

All of you shouting yes...I wish u people where there when it happned you will know that the chief had patience.this people I have lived with all my life,i know them and how they think.come to 44 hospital and see the number of soldiers thy stabbed... where the soldiers suppose to beg them? This people will block a federal road from kano to kaduna and you dare not say a word they will go violent so now that they got what they ask for they are shouting smh

The Brutal Buratai MUST be prosecuted

I agrree wth him
we are not in Military Regime

LindaAssistantBF

Brutai-brutality

Sir benkord said...

Am sure there's more to this case than we thought.........Buratai took his command from someone b4 he carry out that event that took more than 300lives.........soldiers are not permitted to shoot @ sight if an event like that occur.....justice must prevail.

Femi Falana should investigate thoroughly a matter before spewing shit out in the name of human right activism. Does he know those shiite mobs were first accosted and pleaded to by the police, who they defied? The army were the last to meet the mobbing crowd. In as much as no one is licensed for impunity, the citizenry must also be law abiding as it is an act of militancy to blockage an army motocade in a region where the army is fighting against insurgency. Democracy is not a license for lawlessness.

@Anonymous 12:32PM if you watched the video of how the shite attacked the military and the military had to act by self defence, you wont comment stupidly here.

The military acted on self defence. Ewu

mr falana if u are among them let us know,becos if u watch d video u will neva make that statement,how can u b constituting nuisance all in the name of religion.

Falana where were you when this group held people to ransom in zaria, kaduna and so on for years, don't those people have rights too? Na so una go dey aproko work without reason, just because there's international allies involve, you want make noise to gain cheap publicity

Who undertook to end impunity? Buhari? He's impunity himself. He's is a walking impunity raised to the power 10. He is impunity in all its glory. Simply put, he's impunity personified. Now tell me how he's going to end himself?

Chyke
City: Unknown

I FEEL LIKE THIS WHOLE SHIITE ISH IS BORN OUT OF PERSONAL HATE BETWEEN BURATAI AND ZAKZAKY. ABUSE OF POWER IS JUST A RHETORIC

Shut up abeg

The only good thing I've ever heard from this tribalistic bigot

learned guru.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Never seen a dafter dodo-brain than the LIB urchin called Irabo Bobby Fera Favor!!!

I read her rank idiocy as not only borne out of congenital imbecility but also mental inertia governed by her willful refusal to know and understand what is happening in the world around her!!

So much for the idiot!

I must say without equivocation that the attack on the Shiites in Zaria, Kaduna is not just cold, calculated or deliberate, it actually bears the imprimatur of the brutal dictator Buhari himself acting on the behest of a clear northern Sunni-Muslim agenda to extirpate the growing Shiites population and influence in Nigeria....

Always bear this in mind: Nigeria is a Sunni-Muslim country...debate it all you want, Nigeria is a Muslim country, which is why Saudi Arabia by a sleight-of-hand listed it among a 36-member Sunni-Muslim nations, whose grand purpose (contrary to their vaunted, so-called war against terrorism) is nothing but to rein in the Shiites, lead by Iran, an arch-enemy of Saudi Arabia!!!!

Much of what you read today as the bloody conflicts in the Muslim world (save the jihadists ferments of the likes of Boko Hrama, ISIS, etc) are nothing other than the war of attrition between Sunnis and Shiites....

The other day, just following the inauguration of Buhari as president, one Abdusamad Umar, a lecturer in "Mechatronics" at Bayero University, Kano, wrote, urging Buhari, as his first agenda of action, to note the danger posed by the growing Shiites population in Nigeria, adding he must act quickly to stamp them out!!!

The point is that the Sunnis and the Shiites do not see eye to eye...and the Shiites are often seen as a clear and present danger because they often brim with a revolutionary fervor (even when apparently smoldered) to overthrow any Sunni citadel of power, as in what is currently happening in Yemen and what happened in Iraq and Iran, where in the '70s the Shiites staged a revolution that sacked the Iranian Sunni monarchy in a so-called Islamic Revolution...

Be it also known to you that what is happening in Syria today harbors the Sunni-Shiites rift. There in Syria, the Sunni anti-Al Assad rebels are working in cahoots with Sunni Saudi Arabia and Turkey, backed by a Sunni American President Barrack Hussein Obama to upstage or sack the Alawite (or Shiites) regime of President Asaad...

The point is, the Sunni majority in Nigeria are afraid of what a formidable Shiism would mean to their hold on power in Nigeria!!!!

So, they must be crushed....

Buhari is thus busy crushing all oppositions (including potential opposition from Shiism) from all fronts...

As he is crushing the PDP, doing his best to perplex and asphyxiate it, so he is crushing Shiism, Biafra, and Southern Nigeria (barring Yoruba SW), etc!

Buhari is a brutal and wicked despot, who does not believe in fundamental human rights...

Each day we hear and see how orders of courts are treated with scarce regard under his government; and his fish-brained supporters can hardly see anything untoward in his satanic style!

They are even his enablers!

By the time Buhari is done with Nigeria!!!!!

anonymous said...

What we read in the news about the Shia killings is a replica of the genocide committed against the Odi people by the obasanjo led administration. In a democracy, the army should not be allowed to kill at will because they have superior weaponry. If Buhari fails to prosecute all those soldiers involved in the extra judicial killings, then he is not worthy to be president

Kurdor Peter said...

I support u but we must thread carefully

Oga falana truth be told the chief of army staff couldn't have ordered the massacre of the shitte's without clearance from above 'pmb' Mr president must be prosecuted if found wanting as no one is above the law

Let them investigate thoroughly first

I agree there should be an investigation on the raid of the shite temple,not the road block.The army may have doctored the video to show the world it acted on justifiable ground,but raiding the shite temple was in no way protecting the COAS,but a clear act of genocide.

Hmmmmm,Dn't rily know wah d truth/lie z anymore...... **just watching quietly **
Nuella saiz**

For defending himself? Comon wake up! Anon1:10pm

@Osibo, so democracy has become a license for indiscipline? Wake up before U learn the hard way.

@Benkord are U a soldier? No right thinking civilian would go blockading an army who are in a period of executing war against a guerilla militia group (BH), who are capable of masking with civilians. What if the blockade was an orchestration of BH? Who could ascertain at that time that BH militants were not part of that crowd? Not Falana and not even U. Please let's be realistic for once, U refer to matchet, swords, clubs, bow and arrow weilding mob as unarmed? This is ridiculous. So the police could have waited and used tear gas on such a crowd? Common be real! If the COAS was killed in that blockade simply because they underestimated the mob, or not realizing it was a set up by the insurgents or their sponsors, what would be ur comment in that regard? I guess U and Falana would say it serves the army right, as if they worked to protect only their lives and not the lives of every Nigerian. Nigerians are taking the democracy thing far beyond its realistic meaning. I repeat, democracy is not a license for lawlessness, and if U think otherwise, wait until U learn the hard way.

@ mr Cock, ur comment is actually cocky. Concocted conspiracy theory wrapped with needed complications. Gerrarahere cock sucker!

@Anon4:45, No right thinking civilian would go blockading an army who are in a period of executing war against a guerilla militia group (BH), who are capable of masking with civilians. What if the blockade was an orchestration of BH? Who could ascertain at that time that BH militants were not part of that crowd? Not Falana and not even U. Please let's be realistic for once, U refer to matchet, swords, clubs, bow and arrow weilding mob as unarmed? This is ridiculous. So the police could have waited and used tear gas on such a crowd? Common be real! If the COAS was killed in that blockade simply because they underestimated the mob, or not realizing it was a set up by the insurgents or their sponsors, what would be ur comment in that regard? I guess U and Falana would say it serves the army right, as if they worked to protect only their lives and not the lives of every Nigerian. Nigerians are taking the democracy thing far beyond its realistic meaning. I repeat, democracy is not a license for lawlessness, and if U think otherwise, wait until U learn the hard way.

@Mohamed, blockading an army convoy in a region where the army is executing war on insurgency ,is like standing on a highway an expect not to be hurt by any vehicle. The army will not only dislodge such blockade but move to further smoke out culprits with such suspicious guts to carry out such blockade.

anonymous said...

God bless you for telling Nigerians the truth

We need more men like falana

SIMPLYCOCK said...

You are a hexed coward and a FOOL Mr. Anonymous December 24, 2015 at 8:32 PM!

SONOFABITCH!!!

What has conspiracy theory got to do with the fact that I assert that the Army hardly acts independently but under the direction of the President and commander-in-chief of the armed forces; which office in our context is currently being occupied by Muhammadu Buhari....

Does it not unsettle you that despite the bloodiness and horrific tenor of the Zaria incident, Buhari has yet to deem it fit to comment on the development....

Does it not bother you that in a DEMOCRACY, rather than the army stopping short at clearing or moving the civilian blockade by reasonable force, they would return to the same area after the initial killings several hours later to continue the killing, maiming and levying of outright mass slaughter of an entire religious community!!!!

Does it not bother you that Shiites, who hardly are known to constitute themselves into ambitious brutal terror groups, are the ones the Nigerian army feel must be visited with such horrific assault...

Granted Hezbollah, for example, is Shiite and a terror organization, yet its aspirations are hardly global but local and primarily directed at Israel...

Even Sufism, which some regard a variant of Shiism is hardly ever seen mobilizing its adherents for brutal terrorist campaigns....

The real, execrable terror groups are constituted by no other but Sunni Muslims: from Al Qaeda to Al Shabab to Boko Haram to ISIS, etc...

And maybe you do not know, the ideological and organizing principle of all the major terror groups in the world is Wahhabi/Salafist, which not only is Saudi Arabian in origin, but currently, also, is the philosophy of action (Praxis) of the Saudi Arabian Monarchy and government, and indeed the ideological instrument by which the House of Saud rose to power in Arabia in the 19th Century....

The point I am making is that global terrorism is ideologically Wahhabi or Salafist and is driven under Saudi Arabia's patronage...

This is not a conspiracy theory; it is a fact which political correctness shies away from admitting!!!!

So it is totally disingenuous and inconceivable for Saudi Arabia to be talking of organizing a 36-member Arab (Muslim) nations to fight terrorism when indeed the key sponsor of terrorism in the world is Saudi Arabia!!!!

I ask: did you find any Shiite nation among Saudi's group of 36? Of course not..

Saudi Arabia has no other mortal enemy than Iran, a Shiite nation..

In fact it has been reasoned that Iranian nuclear power aspiration is ultimately directed against Saudi Arabia, not even or exactly Israel...

Yemen, for example has become the unfortunate play ground of the Superpowers of the Islamic world: while Iran is backing the Houthis (Shiites) of northern Yemen; Saudi is fighting a proxy war for the Sunnis in Southern Yemen...

In Syria, too, while Saudi Arabia is sponsoring ISIS and the rebels (since they are Sunni) with the aim of ousting President Bashar Al Assad; Iran is solidly behind Al Assad for being Alawite (i.e Shiites), with the backing of Russia...

Conspiracy theory has nothing to do with these facts....

The point is: Islam contains in itself the seeds of its own destruction....

Saudi Arabia is the unashamed sponsor of global terrorism with the sole aim of establishing Sunni Islam as global suzerain, thereby consolidating on its own power-base; while Shiism, lead by Iran, is focused not on global aspirations to dominate, but the defeat of Sunni Islam accomplish-able by crushing its mother, harbinger or patron-state, Saudi Arabia...

Sunni Islam is such an insecure system, affrighted by the fact that its destruction lies not in the hands of the Russians or French or Americans but the Shiites!!!

Hence the Shiites must be crushed even also in Sunni-dominated Nigeria!!!!!!

This is change u all voted for so live with it and stop complaining, especially falana

why should they block the road; a federal government road at that. this is a case of a goat challenging a lion

Alana is talking nonsense in the name of human rights
Those people may be testing waters to start another Boko Hara. F alana, haba. Mfeb

Alana is talking nonsense in the name of human rights
Those people may be testing waters to start another Boko Hara. F alana, haba. Mfeb

@Akinbile, We Need them to do wat? To be hypocritical like Falana aii? This same Falana, if d military did not carryout that action he wud have said D military is weak, that de are allowing such and in no time de will be as strong as Boko haram.. N i am very sure if Falana says dat u will still write we nee more men like Falana.. Dumb ass

blacksrule said...

Papa falz

Sir Vin said...

I agree with him, he should be tried for crime against humanity...GEJ was a president when they arranged their people to stone him...he didn't not react...even when he has power to finish the whole town for that...o! i forgot...it can only happen in...there was a country