Many feared dead as Gas Depot explodes in Nnewi, Anambra state | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 24 December 2015

Many feared dead as Gas Depot explodes in Nnewi, Anambra state

Over 20 people are feared dead after a Gas Depot owned by Chicason Group and located along traffic light at Nnewi-Okigwe road behind Innoson Motor Manufacturing industry in Nnewi, Anambra state exploded this afternoon. 

The fire destroyed the Depot and its surroundings including some buildings and cars around it. Workers, customers and motorcyclists are among those feared dead. The cause of the fire which started this afternoon is yet to be ascertained. See horrific photos from the incident after the cut... *viewer discretion advised*

175 comments:

Wat a waste.... Gosh

Jesuuuuuuuuuuu what d heck!!!!!
Omg this is really bad..

~make I go take one bottle of star beer~

Zeesat said...

Oh My God...Just few hours to christmas.
May their soul rest in peace

Mufliat said...

Subhanallah
May there soul rest in peace.

#Hajia Mufliat

Mo said...

So sad. Jst a day to Christmas. Rip to the victims.

All these ritualists have started looking for sacrifice to enter new year. Just look at this

Too graphic. Rip

Latest bride said...

Jesus!!!!! just few days to the new year, this is heart wrenching

calabar babe said...

Iyami,lord have mercy.rip to the dead.

Jess!!!!!
..this is not good...

Many had gone!!! Who knows what could be the cause. Tomorrow is Christmas and owner of these ones should be happy celebrating it?. It's painful

i was dia oooo, u nid 2 go dia or nauth nd c 4 ursef, dis one na small oooo

veni vidi vici said...

its a pity... fire fighters are at the scene but cant go into d plant and stop the fire coz of fear or they are been scared... dont just knw. makes me wonder wat actually they are fighting

Jesus wetin dey happen for this 2015. Na wa o

NEMA will be forming busy in Abuja and NE only, how about the rest of the country.

Be warning to States, get fire service in good shape.

Oh no, this is sad. May their souls find peace, Amen.

This is so sad. May their souls rest in perfect peace. Amen. And for those who sustain injuries, I wish them quick recovery.

Chisos!! Xo tragic... My gudness,..
Nuella saiz**

Oh my God what is this. Ah Rip

Sparkle said...

Chai this is terrible,may their souls RIP

My God so sad and tragic

My view not urs!!!!

Oh no Father have mercy on us Nigerians..may their soul rest in peace.

Jez!!! this too horrible

PRAY 4 NIGERIA

What a sad end. RIP

Ouch! See burns! God, pls keep us safe
Can LIBers see me at all? Am I invisible?

So sad! May the souls of the departed rest in peace. Linda take note!

Seu said...

So very sad!

Look at how close the new year is and the poor victims missed the opportunity to see the day!

What is the government doing about Gas retailers? Most of them who sell gas in cylinders have no fire extinguishers or access to water! Is that the proper way?

May God protect us from untimely death

OMGGG!!!!!!

WTF! Shit! May their soul rest in peace. What a tragedy accident.

Chai! I heard the news earlier...its a pity!what a horrible way to die.

Adeola Abolade said...

What a Gory site.....God pls save us from evil

markJ said...

Ohhhhhh Lord, what kind if bad news is this, what is the fate of their families and besides why should they go to work, to is supposed to b public holiday na... what a bad news #sosad#

They started the year together with others and even plan for Christmas 🎄 but..... May their their souls RIP. ......@securityman

Olunne the village girl said...

Na wa oh!!! God help us oh #gratitude#

ogbonna chukwuebuka said...

so pathetic....God have mercy on us

Okogba said...

na wa o. God please order the steps of your children

Jeezzzzzz...
Lord have mercy!

This is very sad. What a tragedy

Golda Awosika said...

Jesus Christ of Nazareth, wow just a day to xmas, may dia souls rest in peace

God save us.....rip....chaiiiii

... There should be a law pass on this issue, minister in charge, take note

LindaAssistantBF

Heart breaking

Uzosafetyblog said...

Blood of God. #IRepLIB

...rip to d dead ones, so unfortunate

LindaAssistantBF

God of mercy not again.... R.I.P to them

The Nigerian situation.... May their souls rest in peace

Cookie'sFan said...

Obara Jesuu. Seriously. Chai. RIP to d dead

Oh dear!!! This is bad. This is really really baD.

AZEEZ RIZQAH said...

OMG!!! Where are d fire fighter ? Diz is bad.

Victor Emeka Isaac said...

Chai God....... Just few days left to new year and people are still going

Also Check Vabadon's Blog

Aproko Queen said...

Rip to them

Angela Oluchi said...

OMG.... Chai

AliBaba DeKingMaker said...

1. Sorry guys and RIP to the dead
2. #myopinion#

Blood of jesus! Wht is dis!

Victor Spane5 said...

Yesterday, it was fire in UNN, 2day, it's fire in Nnnewi, well the thing is that the harmattan is performing and we must be at alert. Let's not just act like it's still the rainy season when things were less volatile. RIP

So sad RIP to all d souls , what a sad tragedy

God hav mercy! God hav mercy!!

Oh LORD GOD! What is it naaaaaaaaa? Jesus!

RIP..... May the souls of all the faithful departed through the mercies of God rest in peace... Amen

Oh! such a tragedy

Hmmmmm. So sad

Eya. May dia soul R.I.P IJN amen. End time gas

Ade Joke said...

God! This is heart-rending.

Hmmmmmm. So sad

God have mercy on us. Rip to de dead

This is so depressing...please God save your creations...

Oh my God what a pity. RIP chicaly49@gmail.com

Oh God... May there souls rest in peace

Is indeed an eye sore

So sad, may their souls rip

OMG

So shocking that people can actually die on 24th....Oh God have mercy

franca said...

God!have mercy on your children.

Oh LORD hv mercy on ur children nd grant theses ones peace in ur bosssom..this is so painful nd heartbreaking..chaii jus few day to xmas nd new year!!

Amazing Prechy said...

God accept their souls

O God...this is painful...may their soul rest in perfect peace

This should be knockout related

June said...

That's my home town. So sad about this Occurrence . May the souls of the dead REST IN PEACE

Crystal clear said...

Oh my goodness, this is really pathetic this festive period. May their souls rest in peace.....#just be just#

eunymz said...

Chai...what a loss...RIP

MZ EUEU

A day to Christmas! My God!

Omg!!! This is so sad😭

This is so sad,may the souls of departed rip.

nta said...

O! My God!

Chinyere Ok said...

Enter your comment...Lord have mercy on your people. Rip to the dead.

adabekee1 said...

Wat a lost,eternal rest.

Jesus Christ! Just a day before Christmas.. Chai! Am soo sad, this Life is nothing! Mtcheew

Linda I hv arrived..

May their souls rest in peace.

And ow can u conclude that it's the work of Ritualists? U Don do am b4??,

Linda I hv arrived..

Gusshhhhhh. Lord have mercy. What a painful death. May their soul rest in peace. Amen.

kudos said...

OMG....Believe

May their sole Rest In Peace.

Inna lillahi wa'ina ilaihi raji'un, Allah ya jikan magabata,amin

May deir souls rest in Peace.... so sad

Truly tragic events,RIP to d lost souls..

anaekwe.ucheslimj@gmail.com

Enternal rest grant unto dem oh lord and let ur perpetual light shine upon their souls***This is so so pathetic***May they rest in peace

disastrous.

Jeeeessssssuuss Ooooooo! What kind of tragedy is this? God. What a bad end. My condolence to their families ooo. Chai! Crying already.......mchwwwwww.

RIP.

# JJC

May they rest in peace

Model said...

Eyah R.I.P to the dead may their souls rest in peace. Eyah Chicason is a very good man with so many companies who helps people alot he employs people very well without minding who or what you are, and this befell on him. Well guess gas depot didn't favour him coz it's one of his last companies. Innoson will contact Gabros to treat the families of the diseased well despite a generous Chicason will do all.
#I'm someone from the inner cacus#

#Linda's Bestie #

My sister escaped it

So sard

Linda z over 100 dat wz "feared dead".. jux a black Thursday...

San sucre said...

RIP to the victims of this tragedy.
Lord keep all LIB readers safe this season and beyond. My heart is heavy right now.
To their respective families, please take heart.

LIB Celebrity

God have mercy

Lykech...

Sisi De'nim said...

Jesus ooooo, what a sight! What a way to go! Just some days to the new year? Kai! May their rest in perfect peace.
Where was NEMA and fire fighters?

Oh my God, pls help us.

My town,,,i cry.

Let us learn from this incident
We treat safety with a lot of levity
Siting such platforms within residential areas are disasters-in-waiting

Life in christ is d best#RIP 2 dead

Sandragee said...

This is terrible. God have mercy

May GOD grants dem peaceful rest...wat a sad way 2 die...

#Anutylindaweymimoni#

Wow really sad

Bummyla said...

GOD Please Continue To Protect Your Children! http://www.bummyla.com

My God. My home town. So sad

CUTE ONYII said...

MAY GOD CONSOLE THEIR LOVED ONE's, MAY THEIR SOUL REST IN PEACE.

GRATEFUL HEART.

preshgold said...

JESUS, eeeehn dis xmas. God pls kepp us away from danger. Its less Dan 7 daz to the new year, chineke biko

BOXY (A.K.A) common sense said...

Jesus have mercy may there soul RIP

Oh MY WORLD!
To think this people hoped to celebrate Christmas!

Oh lord have mercy.

Starshine

I can imagine the pains they went tru before giving up. May all souls involved rest in Peace

U re a stupid man.how sure re u
Keep living in d dark and im assumption.pessimistic human being
if it happens to ur bro company u tag it ritualist
Bad belle Nigerians
so daft nd naive

I can imagine the pains they went tru before giving up. May all souls involved rest in Peace

Very sad news. May their soul rest in perfect peace

Many had gone!!! Who knows what could be the cause. Tomorrow is Christmas and owner of these ones should be happy celebrating it?. It's painful! Rip to the dead.

all those ritualists,last year xmas was about one woman and rice at his brother's company

Heaven said...

Rip to the dead... Linda don't forget to write graphic pictures in the heading next time. I don't like seeing people this way it's disturbing #linda's smile 😋

WOW. LORD HAVE MERCY

God ooo..RIP 2 d dead...my villa oo

Lindaz in-law(my brother's wife)

Oh Lord please console the families of the dead. This Chicason, na my friend be the account officer for her bank o, see gbese. Insurance companies I hope you guys are ready with compensation for both life and property. Pity!

Mr Dave Dave said...

RIP to the Dead

Christmas eve? Rip

la choice said...

Chaii wot a painful death, may there soul rest In peace

The last 7months of this present government has really been a terrible one truly in terms of killings,maiming,natural disasters and occurrences and so on...Nigeria needs alot of prayers...

Thank-God said...

rip

My heart bleeds

na wa ooo may God spear our livs n dat of our families.amen

blessed said...

Marketers have no business with pub holidays. I really wish this never happened. My heart really goes out for dat little boy.

May their souls rest in peace amen

I honestly don't understand why u have to call him 'stupid', I mean it's his opinion.

Nigeria bothers me. Smh

Dennis Prosper Chijioke said...

This is a national tragedy

God!!! Christmas is just few our away...not families gona bee receiving badt news....

God.nah human being body bhi daht???

Rip

Rip

Very sad

Very bad

God am speechless..rip In the lord...chai wat a waste.this life I just all bullshit

OMG! This is quite unfortunate that people who were meant to live and witness the fun of this season lost their lives unexpectedly over ghastly gas station fire outbreak for no just cause... Dear Government, If really you people know what you're doing then i need a quick response on why you should allow filling stations be built near houses in the neighborhood having known the kind of damage that can be caused by fire.... IT'S UNFAIR O.... GOD IS WATCHING O.... May the Soul Of The Victimized Rest in Peace, Amen!

Lord have mercy on us! May their souls rest in peace....

Oh my God,my heart bleeds for the lost lives.RIP to the dead.

Pearlie said...

wish the injured ones speedy recovery...RIP to the dead

Aww..God keep us safe. Remember before you step out always commit your going out and coming into the blood of Jesus..its sad though. @Alertlady

Oh my God,my heart bleeds for the lost lives.RIP to the dead.

I was really shocked when i heard dis yesterday. Oh! What a sad xmass for the families. May their souls rest in perfect peace Amen

So sad may their souls R.I.P

God have mercy Rip

Dr. Kennison said...

Oh my God this is an open HELL ,people just like that,God please help us. May thier soul rest in peace.

Zeesat said...

Am even surprise he didn't blame it on PMB

Zeesat said...

Am even surprise he didn't blame it on PMB...He has serious problem.

chinny said...

Enter your comment...lord hv mercy

God.. What a terrible way to die..... It can never be our portion, Amen

chidimmaokpala72@gmail.com said...

God save us.

Really sad...

8 died and not 100

I am a family member of Chicason Group and have first hand knowledge of the events that took place.

The customers and staff rand for their safety when the fire broke out but onlookers and passersby were caught in the explosions.

May the souls of the dead rest in peace.

Echezona David Okafor
The African Store Ltd

8 people died with 6 injured and not 100 deaths.

The customers and staff ran while onlookers and passersby were caught by the explosions that followed.

sassymama said...

David okafor pls stop lying thay only.eight pple died. I work at teaching hospital nnewi and the casualties were countless. Stop covering up anything because the pple that lost their lives has family members too.