Why are Batch B Corp Members in Kogi State being forced to partake in the upcoming election? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 16 November 2015

Why are Batch B Corp Members in Kogi State being forced to partake in the upcoming election?

Batch B Corp members are supposed to leave orientation camp tomorrow - 16th of November. In Kogi camp however, the new corp members are being made to stay in camp compulsorily for an extra week, in order for them to be used as electoral officers for the upcoming Kogi State elections.

This was just revealed to them on Saturday. A day to the end of camp.

Deployment letters to their place of primary assignment would also be withheld until the week is over. There will be lectures anchored by INEC on how to go about the elections. Then Corp members will be sent to various polling booths in different local government areas during the election period.

Can NYSC actually force corpers to participate during the elections? Is something like this supposed to be happening? Is the DG aware? Questions that need prompt answers.

40 comments:

Beht why

#It WiLL oNly gEt beTTer
#It MuSt eNd In Praise

Hmmmmmmmm let them come and answ oooo

Mtchewwwww that's Nigeria for u, they want to use them as cheap labour

I don't think it's cruel...the purpose of NYSC is to serve your fatherland for a year...but they should provide incentives to make it worth their while

Human Being said...

Federal Government pays them and can assign them to do something for the govt. Remember they are serving the Government. I see nothing wrong with it. Unless you want INEC to request for Billions to run the election.

Human Being No BE God

Human Being said...

Federal Government pays them and can assign them to do something for the govt. Remember they are serving the Government. I see nothing wrong with it. Unless you want INEC to request for Billions to run the election.

Human Being No BE God

Paul Ofou said...

Welcome to the era of dictatorship nick named changed where your right means jack to the Aboki above.

They just feel dey can use corp members anyow dey want...most of dis officials barely have good degrees..so dey don't know wat de r doin..@ the end de wud still gain from the money kogi state govt wud issue...n issue out Lil money 4 d stress....imagine a school here in ondo paying corp members #1000naira n still owe corp members for months...n most times won't even pay...thank God I wud soon round up from dis so called National. Youth Suffer commission.....#changeeraisee....

If the order is from the NYSC authorities, then they have no option.
Once you signed up for the NYSC program, you have signed up to do what they want you to, that is why it is viewed as a paramilitary service.

This is so annoying. How can they want to keep them for elections knowing how volatile the environment is already . And the funniest thing is that they can't allow their own children to do it. It's just a pity the way our leader don't have respect or regard for pples life .

Now dey are looking 4 a way to kill corpers shey.. god will punish dem stupid mofos

Lol, that was where I served and we were forced to participate in the last presidential election. And by force lectures too with attendance taken down. They should get used to it because they will see more of something like this as long as they sre serving in kogi state.

Hahahahahahahahahahaaa, linda na so we too hear ooooooooooo........

Hmm!

Hmm!

Just like that.... This is nothing but wickedness though no lie.....

Tefe said...

it can happen in cases of emergency and this sort of qualifies as an emergency, also they are being paid by the FG so if the FG wants them to serve they have to serve,they will be given their time off after the election and also collect extra money for it.

Is their security guarranteed?
How much are they going to be paid?
More questions that need prompt answers.

Participation should be a free will thing and not forced.

All na service to their Father's Land. Linda take note!

Nysc is all about serving our fatherland and i see nufin wrong to sacrifice a week to partake in lectures and conduct election. Nysc is not a bed of rose,wat kind of sacrifice cn we offer to our fatherland if we can not conduct election?

No they cant unless they make sure they pay each and every one the inec alawi. That was the same thing they did in ekiti last year .

They better have an arrangement to Pay them for the extra one week and also for partaking in the election. Also adequate protection must be provided for them. -Ryan

That's not so fair to dem that does not want to partake in d upcoming election.

Dis our leader sef

That is not my concern! My concern is You want to send corp members to a place they do no know to conduct an election that maybe violent, if they need to run, they do not know the terrain. It's like taken a blind man out of his how without his stick, only God can decide the fates of the corp members.. And do not say they are serving their father land oh and not pay them their allowance.;

This is wrong.

I dislike that Nysc woman. She likes to make her own rules. Smh

I can understand how they feel about staying an extra week but then they are giving them opportunity to make money and then are doing one thing one thing

Yes for sure if there is need to! Is a one year service and the corps has the right to use your services the best way they think while providing you your basic needs and welfare

Idiot😐 when you are not there why won't you call it service, come and take my place nw 😠 so I can go home to my family.

the lord is my shepherd.....

Waiting for answers too

lol sister dey there sef...nawa o...it shuld be a voluntary thing....not forceful....ppl shud choose if they want to or not...this is one issue we hav...everytin force force force

hmmm...I just hope they would be well compensated. I would rather differ my NYSC to another year than risk my life though.

damola said...

Linda pls help us oo..am also serving in kogi state and they are not releasing us oo.and is not DAT they want to pay extra ooo...no goid food self and u need to see the environment, it terrible..

babat said...

Whoever published this story is simply full of mischief. Why is the writer making it look like its the first time youth corpers are being used as electoral officers?
As far back as 1990 I participated as electoral officers under Babangida's SDP & NRC elections. There has been several participations of corpers ever since. So what makes this one look any unusual? The politicians are already preparing their excuses in case they lose the election on Saturday. Senseless mischief !

kings11ng said...

I pity those wey dem go post go okene hehehehe... Ebiraland na the last place u wanna be during election.. Enough gunshot that year when we served there that we ended up being indoors @ the corpers lodge for 3days. There is a popular saying that any day you don't hear gunshot in okene, then something is definitely wrong