Fuel scarcity may continue in December- Marketers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 15 November 2015

Fuel scarcity may continue in December- Marketers

The current petrol scarcity facing the nation due to delay in subsidy claim payment and Petroleum products, marketers said the fuel scarcity could continue up until December.
They said with the approval of the N413bn subsidy arrears by the Federal Government still awaiting clearance at the National Assembly, there were other issues that involves some paper work and getting the forex equivalent of the N413bn payment.

The process, they said, could take a number of weeks to complete.
A marketer from Apapa, Lagos said:
“For the fact we have (marketers) stopped importation of product for some time now, there is obviously a huge gap in the supply. This gap must be closed for us to have normalcy in the supply chain. Truly, I don’t see this normalcy returning by December given the current happenings,” the marketer said.
The Chairman, Nigeria Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers, Lagos Zone, Alhaji Tokunbo Korodo, said the supply situation was unlikely to see much improvement as marketers’ confidence in the government had seriously eroded.
According to him:
“Although approval had been made, the actual payment of the subsidy arrears is a different ball game. With the way things are at the moment, it will take between three and four weeks for us to have a normalised market.
“As we speak, some marketers are still cautious when it comes to importing product under the subsidy scheme. Government needs to build the confidence of marketers so that they can fully go back into the business. Otherwise, the scarcity situation might soon become unbearable.”
One of the marketers, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said:
“In recent times, we have been having issues with getting enough forex for our deals. Nothing has changed in the regard. Now, we have a huge sum of N413bn entering the system. Loans will be paid in forex as well as payments for products from international suppliers.
“The Central Bank of Nigeria is not giving us a clear directive in this regard. We will need forex, but we do not know where to get it in this quantum. Right now, the truth is that marketers don’t know how to source forex with the recent CBN provision.”

Punch

46 comments:

Again?

#iT wiLL OnLy gEt BeTTer
#IT MuSt EnD iN prAise

This is bad news.Not with the festive season graciously tip toeing to our doorsteps.Something must be done asap.I wonder what these lawmakers are doing.They can delay things for africa

Na wa o! Only God can help dis our obodo Nigeria. Linda take note!

obiora said...

Which way Nigeria?

Not again abeg!
December is wrong timing.

Na wah, so these people will continue holding AGP to ransome? So Nigeria cannot find alternative to them? This is why some people will work day and night to sabotage all efforts to over haul our refineries . The God that answereth by fire must answer us in this country, enough is enough- Holy Ghost arise and fight our battles in this nation. How can a few individuals be holding us to ransome? Nobody is talking about the past excess claims but all that matters is for them to continue claiming more.

Buhari has turned Nigeria into wilderness

Which way, naija?

Chenji------ these are things that were history during Jonathan's tenure. Now we will celebrate Christmas with fuel scarcity #i hate buhari

Ofilispeaks.com said...

I am so confused. I thought the refineries were producing? Why do we still have fuel scarcity?

GOD FORBID

AUNTY LINDA....

Assholes.
Pathetic.

Every ember period

Why won't it continue, y'all like to wicked yourselves. It is the common man that will still suffer it. WICKED SOULS.

Aj Gabriel T said...

The Body language seems not to be working any more,clueless govt that was built on lies and deceit.

I wish d president will also be affected too.

See ur rotten mouth! Even with ur imbecile papa PMB u re saying na wa oo. U ain't see nuffin. Until u will sit n not get money to buy data Dats wen u will know d change u ranted n supported.

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Forward ever backward never...
Dis is surely d oly option we hav as Nigerians if we r to mak progress.

edDREAMZ said...

God! I hate my country with passion abeg.

JFK famously said... Ask not what your country can do for you but ask what you can do for your country" in naija, everyone just wants to secure their share of national cake and keep the flow going. See these true marketers, no interest in looking for how to make things easy for the masses, na money for hand, back for ground. On the other hand, Oga Buhari, now you understand what subsidy is I hope, please expedite things so the common man will not siluffer this Christmas abeg.

If what happened in Paris had happened in naija, blog commenters will be like Buhari is clueless, APC is behind it, PDP holds the present administration responsible, Buhari has failed us, he lied to us, Buhari is just as clueless as GEJ, it is Yoruba people, no it is Hausa or Muslim, God punish them blah blah blah...

Na wa oooo

I thought they said the refinery was working and that fuel scarcity was now a thing of the past, how come we still depend of those marketers can't we produce what we need again?. Oga minister of petroleum in the name of the president what is happening? Not until sabotage we never experience such during Oga jona...

Mofokosobonla said...

Chai

It's now lawmakers ba?

Before, it was GEJ.
Now it can't be PMB.
It's lawmakers
Hahahahhhahaahaahahahah

During xmas everything goes up high but in salah and co all remain at still nigeria i hail theee

xmas time everytin goes up high but in salah time everytin stand still nawa

Naijaserver said...

Good Take Control ooo we dey beg

Change tins ! Must be part of that body langugage ve been reading about

Remove subsidy and free Nigerians from this salavery.buhari have nothing to loose .

That cant be possible. Am travelling foe Christmas ooooooo.

#CHANGE.... APC , ndi wayo.
Bia Linda publish e this comment ooo, kedu ife na eme gi?

Change is here👍... Am happy we're all seeing the change together. PMB is going to be worst than GEJ, mark my word..

Abi ooo no be GEJ now na Lawmakers!!call PMB nay....ode

Stupid idiotic Bonita (B)Islam! Now it's the law makers! No longer GEJ and of course how can it be your Fulani Daura Dullar! Pathological hypocrites! Stupid mofos! Government formed on the basis of propaganda, deceit and lies! What will you expect! Government whose main aim hitherto was to wrest power out! Now it's been done they're absolutely clueless on how to serve! All they know is to steal! 5.8 billion has been expended already on Jets within 6 months as against the previous administrations 1.4 billon for the whole year! Remi Tinubu and Ahmed are already stealing 60 billion monthly from TSA for simply doing nothing! And fools like Bonita and Aboki the stupid mofo will be yarning dust! Stupid fools!

merish said...

whose report will we believe? i believe that God has promised to take me to a land where i will sow and reap and enjoy good life.. Nigeria is the place and it shall be well with our present and future circumstances,,, i command the forces that brings about good governance to begin to move from north,south,east,west of this country and make change begin to manifest quickly in the name of Yahshua. Amen

This are the things we've being saying,Buhari has brain wash this gullible Nigerians now you have to suffer for fuel this December,I thought they said some refineries in Nigeria are working or what. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

U are all a dump ass fool for these comments

All I c is CHANGE from abundance to nothingness! #change in deed#

From body language to body handicap

linda print my comment pls

I ordered on Jumia. They r yet to deliver.

You seem to understand what's playing out, it's a case of a few holding the rest of the nation to ransom. I can say authoritatively that most cases of fuel scarcity (if not all) that we experience in Nigeria is artificial. The adminstration of GEJ was seriously undermined and sabotaged in this regard. Just to give you an insight, marketers have not been importing products for the last four months, what they have been doing is that they've been distributing PPMC imported or refinery produced petroleum products. The systemic scarcity they create is via distribution. Because of their chain of retail outlets (popularly called fuel stations), they are given products by PPMC to distribute. They then hoard the products, divert some and hold us all to ransom. In my humble opinion, PMB should scrap subsidy already...then and only then will all this nonsense stop

Hmm.