What inspired I'd Rather Be Self Made...the day I was picked up by Special Fraud Unit...:-) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 3 September 2015

What inspired I'd Rather Be Self Made...the day I was picked up by Special Fraud Unit...:-)

I'm going to be MIA for a few hours. I'm on my way to the US with my parents. They made them Chief and Lolo in our village and I wanted to take them abroad to spoil them a little...:-) (My dad's first time). Anyway, while I'm flying, I wanted to share a story that I've been meaning to share here for a while now...about why I decided to help some young ladies with start up capital for their small scale businesses. Please continue to read! (It's quite long o, so...-))

Before I became the popular blogger that I am today, I was a struggling entrepreneur. I started my modeling career in 1998 before I turned 18 and started my company Blackdove Communications in 2004 when I was just 23+. Blackdove was a modeling agency/events company and I operated from a 2-room office in Jibowu, Yaba for almost three years.

In 2006, I decided to try something that I'd always wanted to do - become a magazine publisher. My dream growing up was to be a journalist. These days many people argue whether I am a journalist or not. I don't consider myself one. I'm a blogger, though being a journalist was my dream. In fact, I wanted to study Mass Communications in the university but I unfortunately didn't get it. I got English instead. But I've always had a love for writing, putting stuff together, informing people about what's going on etc.

In in 2006, I mustered the courage and saved enough money to publish my own magazine. It was called FM&B (Fashion, Modeling and Beauty) magazine because that was my industry at the time.

For my first edition, I used my photo (duh...lol) left. It took me months to put this together and I used money I made from my business to print the magazine. I did a grand launch and really hoped for the best. After it was released, I didn't recoup the money I'd spent on it but I knew I couldn't become a successful magazine publisher over night. I knew the road was long and hard and I had to keep at it, I knew I had to print more editions before people and sponsors could take me serious.

Anyway, I printed my second edition (right) and didn't recoup either. The vendors will take the magazine and not pay you. Some would claim they didn't sell...some, you would chase for your money for so long you'd get tired of chasing them and then you leave them alone. And it was especially hard to get adverts for a new magazine. I would go to companies and sit in their offices for hours, hoping they would buy advertising space in the magazine, but for where? Lol. I remember I offered a telecoms company my back page and inner pages for N100k but they were not interested ...lol. (now, na them they chase me with adverts...lol).

But I managed to get a few companies to advertise (I talked about it here in 2008 and later in 2009) - it took months of being on the road - going from one company to the other, convincing them to support the effort - still it wasn't enough to print the next edition so I had to once again use my own money to print the magazine. It was tough but I didn't want to give up. I wanted to succeed by all means and I knew consistency was the key. I figured by the time I was on my fifth edition, some companies would take me seriously and start to advertise and by the time I was on my 10th edition, I would be a well known magazine publisher like my mentor back then, Mrs Betty Irabor of Genevieve magazine. So 10 editions of the magazine was my goal - but I didn't go past the 4th edition - though I paid part payment for the 5th edition but it never came out.

Something happened with my 4th and last edition (right) that almost broke me...and that inspired 'I'd Rather Be Selfmade.'

You see, right from when I was young, sleeping with men for money/come up was never an option for me. In fact, I found girls who engaged in such back then, disgusting. Now that I am more mature, I kinda understand it, I don't condone it but I understand it and I am not so quick to judge these girls. That's why I'm trying to help girls with dreams instead of condemning girls who find different ways to survive. It's tough out there, guys!

Anyway, for my 4th edition, I didn't have enough money to print it...and I was so sad about it. The magazine was ready but no money to print. It was going to cost me N500k back in 2008 to print 2,000 copies and all I had with me was N150k. I needed N350k and I was determined to print this magazine. I wanted it to succeed by all means so I decided to do something I'd never done before. I went to the bank to get a loan.

There was a neighbor of mine back then who I found out was the chairman of a community bank on Ogunlana Drive Surulere (all community banks have since shut down). So I approached him for a loan ...N350k, the exact extra amount I needed to print the magazine. I promised that I would pay back once the magazine was published and I was able to get ad money out. This was in 2008. After weeks of going back and forth and the bank staff coming to my office in Surulere then to see where I was operating from, I was given a loan of N350k. They actually made out the cheque to the printing press so the money didn't come directly to me. It was a short loan - just three months - and I was supposed to pay back with interest and I was so sure that I would pay back - I had three months and I was a hard working girl, I believed I could do it. But you see, sometimes, life does what life is supposed to do - it happens! With no questions...life just happens.

For some weird reason, I was only able to pay back N100k after the three months deadline. By now I was owing close to N400k including interest. I asked them for more time, and they gave me time ..and I managed to pay another N150k or so after a few months. After then, I became stuck.

My business wasn't going well...and for months I was struggling. The guys from the bank came to my office and told me I had a month to pay up or they would have to do what they usually do get their debtors to pay, that the reason they hadn't done it up until then was because of my neighbour relationship with their chairman. I promised I was going to pay and a week or so later, I was able to pay another N30k.

And then very early one Monday morning, sometime in 2009, my younger sister, who used to work with me at Blackdove, Sandra, quietly entered my room and told me that some men were looking for me, that they were at the door and that she'd seen them talking with the bank chairman. She said she suspected that they were police men.

If I tried to describe to you how I felt at that moment, I wouldn't be able. I stopped breathing for at least 3 seconds. I told her not to let my parents or any other member of our family know the men were outside (Only she knew about the loan and actually went with me to get it). I found something to wear and went to meet the men outside. To be honest, I was hoping they were from the bank and not police men but when they introduced themselves to me (three of them) I froze. They said they were men from the Special Fraud Unit, Ikoyi, and they had been sent to bring me to their office to answer for a loan I took from a community bank and refused to pay back. I was going to ride in their marked anti-fraud unit car - sandwiched between two men.

I didn't want my parents to know what was going on (it would have killed my mum) so I quickly went back in, put on more appropriate clothes, told Sandra to follow their car in my car so she would go with me to their office. I remember sitting in that vehicle as they took me to their office in Ikoyi, and wondering how I got to that point. It was like a nightmare. I couldn't believe it was happening. I got to their office and they made me sit down in front an officer who was handling the case. (Sandra was allowed in but she was sitting in another area.).

The officer brought out my case file, and said I was owing the bank N190k for almost a year and I wasn't going to leave their custody until the money was made available. You know, I've had bad days in my life...I mean, who hasn't? But up until that point, I'd never felt worse in my life. Nothing I'd ever experienced up until that day, sitting in front of this man, and beside other offenders/debtors, was anything close to this. Nothing! Even now, I can't even express how I felt that day, what was going through my mind. I felt like a failure. I remember my eyes welled up, because I knew I didn't have N190k and I didn't know anyone who could loan me. I started to explain to the officer, then I began to beg...and I talked and talked and then I began to cry. I couldn't believe the situation I was in. I knew it would break my parents hearts if they found out where I was.

I remember Sandra just sitting there and looking at me...and trying to be strong. She was broken to see me so broken but she kept it together. She started calling people, asking for a loan, I heard her from where I was sitting, calling friends and asking if they could loan her money. No luck. We were there for hours, eventually the officer came to me and said they'd decided to be lenient, that they would give me a month to pay the N190k back to the bank and failure to do so would be automatic arrest and I would not be released until the money was paid. They gave me a form to sign but said I needed a surety and without a surety I would not be released that day. I called a friend who came and signed for me. The officers told him they were releasing me to him and would also pick him up if I failed to pay up. Fortunately he agreed and that was how I was released. I was there from morning till evening and those hours were some of the worst hours of my life. Thankfully, other members of my family didn't immediately know this happened to me. (They found out months later).

But fortunately I recovered quickly. I knew there was no time to mourn. I had just one month to raise N190k or myself and my surety would be picked up and locked up.

Today, I have shoes that cost more than N190k, but back then, that was a lot of money to me...and I didn't have it. So for the next two weeks, I put myself on the road. I started chasing all the agencies owing me money. I ran up, down, to a hole, up a ladder and every where in between and finally raised the money which I paid back to the bank. It was an ordeal but it was finally over!

Months later, I raised some more money to print my 5th edition (above). The content was finished but once again, I didn't have enough money to print it. I had only N200k and I needed N500k. I wasn't ready to give up on this dream. No way! But of course I wasn't going to go to a bank again..lesson learned there...lol. So instead I turned to the printers. I told them I had only N200k and would pay them the balance of N300k when the magazine was out. One printer agreed, took my money and half way into the job told me he couldn't go further without any more money. He basically held me to ransom. I pleaded and threatened for months and they wouldn't budge, wouldn't print without more money and one day I was like, 'you know what?' I give up! I'm done!' I told them to keep the money and the magazine, that I was done. I was just tired of it all. And that was the end of that dream.

Then I decided to face another business idea. I wanted to start a fashion, modeling and beauty school. This time I went to real banks (not community banks..lol). None, not even one looked at my business proposal. I was hoping to get N1million to start this business, but no bank was even willing to talk to me. After months of chasing this idea, looking for money etc, I also gave up on it and moved to the next thing!

A few months later, I shut down my office (after my landlady increased my rent - I could not afford to pay it). I gave out some of my office equipment, sold some and packed the rest of my things and went home. I was going to continue operating my business from home.

This was in 2010. I turned 30 that year and I remember having the worst day of my life - so far - on my 30th birthday. I'd lost my office, I'd given up on my magazine dream. My other businesses weren't doing well. I'd been hustling since I was 17 and I thought that by now I would have made it, but here I was at 30, losing it all (or so I thought) and starting all over again.

But you see, in all of it, no matter how bad a day I had, no matter how tough it was, no matter the other dreams I gave up on, there was something I never stopped doing, I never stopped blogging. I would cry, wipe my tears, pick up my laptop and blog. If I didn't have internet at home, I would go to a cybercafe, pay for time and blog there. This work/passion ultimately changed my life.

Sometime in 2012, when I'd started making money from blogging, a young lady talked to me about her struggles. She needed just N85k to start a nail and eye lash studio. She had someone who was willing to give her space to operate from, but she needed money for other equipment needed for the business. She told me that N85k would change her life and that of her family. She wasn't even asking me for the money, she was just talking about her struggles and how hard it's been for her to raise capital. She mentioned she'd approached a bank for a loan and no bank was willing to give her. She said she didn't know how else she'd get the money but sugar daddy wasn't an option. I remember smiling and I made the decision right there and then to give her the money for her business.

I remembered my life as a struggling entrepreneur, getting picked up by the Anti-Fraud Unit over N190k. I remembered how much help I needed and how little I got. How nobody could really help because they had their own issues and struggles. I remembered my dark days. I remembered all the people I begged to help me, to believe in me, to believe in my dreams. I remembered all the doors that were shut in my face. All the office receptions I sat in for hours. All the Nos I heard. All those who turned their backs. And how sometimes, I just wanted to give up. And I knew there were plenty girls like me out there, with ambition, with dreams, with fire burning in their soul...but who can't get far because they have no one to help, not just with money but also with words. And I made up my mind that day, that whenever I get to a position where I could help other young ladies with dreams and aspirations, I would help. Because I've been through it myself, I know how difficult it is to start or run a business in this country. That's why I want to focus on young ladies with dreams and good business ideas.

So far, I've touched 15 lives (see here)...I hope in my lifetime, that I am able to touch thousands more. God willing. This is the project I've decided to take up. For as long as I remember my over 8-hour ordeal at the Special Fraud unit in Ikoyi, I will always be here to help a female entrepreneur - if not with money, then with advice and guidance.

I struggled o. I used to do an annual fashion show called Style Night. I did it from 2004 to 2010. (see some pics here, and here here). I also tried to do a reality show called Nigeria's top model search with Linda Ikeji...no sponsor. I give up...lol. Catwalk with Linda TV show..no sponsor, I give up! Lol

In 2010, I wrote an inspirational book titled 'It Takes You' to encourage people not to give up on their dreams. I spent a lot of money to get this published because being an author was one of my dreams and I was determined to realize that dream. I made it come through!...:-)

I was still working on my dreams when companies started asking me for advert rates for my blog. I created my ad rate in early 2011 and my life hasn't been the same since. I left everything else and concentrated on this. Sandra is now the CEO of Blackdove...:-)

Sandra and I pictured above (She worked with me at Blackdove from 2004 when I started until 2011 when she took over the company. She was my rock for years! I doubt I love anyone more. She's older than my other sister you all know, Laura. )

Anyway, I plan to do all I can to help as many young women as I can. I'm using my money for now but I would eventually talk to rich people and corporate bodies to get involved and raise as much as it's possible as start-up capital for young female entrepreneurs. Too many unemployed individuals in this country. Let's start creating jobs instead of always looking for one. Plus I don't want anti-fraud people coming to knock on your door...lol.. or you turning to men. I hope all your dreams come true...and I hope no matter how tough it gets, you never give up.

I will catch you guys later. For now, let me take this new Chief and his Lolo to America to spoil them a little. Lol. Kisses. Catch you soon!

1,959 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   401 – 600 of 1959   Newer›   Newest»

Linda Ikeji, you are a black girl that rock. Keep up the good work. You are very inspiring and you inspires me.

Awww...dis got me in tears esp whr u had to cry and sandra was strong for u making calls...i actually got in a heat with sum1 today who tried condemning ur blog and I talked d heck to his brain...lol...bt i love love ur blog and who u are...u inspire me and someday i hope to be an entrepreneur too bt for now lazy me will stick to my office work...and keep getting bashing of my life from bosses...hehehe...just kidding #ilovemybosses#

Lord i thank u for the Life of this young lady Linda ikeji..i wish u and your parents a trip and i pray that the good Lord continues to bless u so u can be blessing to nation Amen...Nothing Last For Ever And They Is A God.

zaraah said...

wow... very inspirational.Thanks for sharing

ooh what an inspirational and touching story. for this initiative God will continue to bless you.

Rubys' Random said...

Great read!!!

And, Yes, I will rather be self made. No, thank you. This story has given me some more courage needed to just continue to fight because one day, no matter how long, one will hit the Gold mine.

No, thank you. I will rather be self made.

Babylawyer. said...

To say I was moved to tears will be an understatement.
I'm truelly inspired Miss.

Pple go tru a lot of struggle everyday especially wen u hav no one to turn to....dis story really really inspired me I pray God makes u bigger...

Wow....Linda you've inspired me. You've just given me a new hope.

Pple go tru a lot of struggle everyday especially wen u hav no one to turn to....dis story really really inspired me I pray God makes u bigger...

Life!!!

Tuitiontinz said...

And let me hear anybody insult you again, i'll personally fight them. Anti-fraud unit at Ikoyi is a nightmare, I've been there. They threaten you with all sorts, that makes you so scared that you can even confess to a crime that you did not commit.
Linda, you are one heck of inspiration. God bless you mightily for your good works. And your sister that has being your rock too (she looks reserved ooo).

edna said...

I am so touched. I read every word and it felt like I was there all through. I am so inspired. I hope to be a politician one day. To change The health care system in Nigeria especially in nursing because that is my profession. God bless you more.

God bless you Linda for your encouragement amd support to young women starting up their own businesses. You will never lack In Jesus' name! Amen!

Hard work pays..God bless you and your family

Oh wow! That's quite interesting and refreshing. So may are at the brink of giving up but I believe this story and our Almighty God uplift us through all the struggles of life.

Woww Linda, amazing!!! God bless u 4 reaching out & sharing. I'm inspired.

#DivaCathy.

Teejoy said...

This is a very inspiring blog. May the Lord continue to enrich you and empower you in this great cause.

I'm Inspired! You rock Linda

Femiluv said...

Inspiring story, Linda!

Very long @lindaikeji but it's such a handful, good for the "I wanna start big" attitude of today's youths and a lesson to take home by the lazy ladies out there. For those willing to take this linda's true life experience as a guide to start up life, it sure gonna help you, point is, your pain will certainly be your joy when you make it afterwards and also let you appreciate life better. I know many who don't believe in the "suffer now and then live flamboyantly later", this true life story, should say it all. Once again Linda, God bless you more for this than even the "I'd Rather Be Self Made" project. Keep it up! (Unaegbu Victor) VeeQue Nation, twitter:@VijuVic143, IG:@veek_tour

Linda u actually made me shed tears reading dis. God continue to bless u n give u ur own happy home.lots of love

Mo'dele said...

Well done Linda. Looking at your life now, it's so easy for those of us on the outside to gloss over your struggles and focus on your success and think it happened overnight. Your parents must be so proud of you. Without my saying it, God will bless and replenish you in multiple folds - it's just a basic principle. As long as the earth remains seedtime and harvest will never cease. All the very best in your future endeavours

Ezigbo nwa....jisike.....golibe

BurberryBold said...

God bless u Linda Ikeji and continue to increase you on every side. I also pray that as many people that have a giving/ helping heart, that God should give them ideas and resources to help others. Enjoy yourself in the US. Your parents prayers alone is enough to sustain you. God bless you richly

Linda baby, you see you and kim kardashian, I admire you guys alot. you people are inspirational

encouraging

Bea said...

God bless you Linda xx

Ahhhh!!! Sobing..., Ms lindaa, u are ' a majic'. tnk you so muchhh for this.. what a life & a dream!
U inspired me.

God bless you linda, just finished praying (@3:40am) when I saw this, I read thru with tears in my eyes...trust me ur story mirrors me and more, (a story for another day)above all I ALSO WILL NOT GIVE UP.

Inspirational...well done

God bless you linda, just finished praying (@3:40am) when I saw this, I read thru with tears in my eyes...trust me ur story mirrors me and more, (a story for another day)above all I ALSO WILL NOT GIVE UP.

Congrats to the New chief and his lolo.

What can I say? You are one inspiring young lady. Keep on going!

Lindaikeji all I can say is God bless u more and more

What a motivational piece. Nice one Linda! May the Lord continue blessing and keeping you.

How do you spoil them in America?

rotimi said...

Awwwww...in tears right now..!! In all, never give up.

somaya10 said...

Linda ur story was so touching n also encouraging,I appreciated it much cos I know is going to strengthen lots of us today...God is the greatest n remain blessed linda.........!

dammy said...

Inspiring. ☺☺☺

May God continue to bless you

God bless you and your family. Very touching piece.

DG NECTAR said...

Good job linda

GagaPress said...

Awesome!!!! Contact us.

I know there must be something about this message that made me read the whole lengthy write up, Thank you for being an inspiration. May God continue to bless you. One day i am also going to share my struggles and achievements. Have fun with your parents dear.

Awesome. GOD Bless you.

I have never cried so much,it takes a lot to get to where we want to be,but people sometimes are not patient and striving,but you linda are a dream come true, I commend your strength for never giving up,this is a story for all,no gender separation here,am currently going through a crisis of my own,but I believe one day just like you ,my life will change for the better, thank you linda ,for all your words,all your repetitive trials and your strong confidence to never give up...thank you

Tears drop....u just inspired me Linda ....I'm a guy though .....m.lewis0281@outlook.com

Linda, for the first time I read a long story on your blog and never got tired of reading it.i believe this will inspire a lot of people with dreams never to give up...One day I'll share my story but for now still not giving up.ABEG ENJOY....you deserve it.

Pius Aboyi EA said...

Now I understand Linda and my first comment on her blog. Officially on your side now. Greater you I pray

This is both scary and interesting I think I would rather read Losing my virginity by Sir Richard branson

Waoh... Linda ur story is inspiring

So Sandra is older than Laura...?

peggylicious said...

Keep it up....D Lord will continue to strengthen u in all.....cheers

Yearn2 be free. said...

Amazing. I'm do inspired about how life really turned out for you. Im not as quite as brave as you are. If i share the gory details of my life with men. You see after the devil. They are the worst thing in life.God bless you, Linda.

I just woke up now to read such an inspirational story about yourself. I hope we all accomplish our goal someday

WELL DONE! 'no pain no gain so they say..u ve gone through pain now u re gaining.. I'm close to that police stage now, I seriously pray it doesn't happen. Pls remember boys too oo biko.. may God continue to expand ur fortune. I hope other pple in ur capacity can emulate you because, hmm.. youths de suffer for this country oo

Linda I love you more ur an inspiration to a lot of us out there thru your struggles you didn't give up God will continue to bless your hustle have a safe flight with your folks they get better pikin

I used to think you were just lucky....you still are...but....man...have you paid your dues!!! All we see is the end result, noone sees the struggle. And sadly we judge based on what we see.Your family must be so proud!!!! Thank you for sharing and inspiring!!!

Nice piece.GoD bless u ril gud..rich pple neva help d poor in dere myopic minds dey tink d poor wld now b richer dan dem..who will call dem oga n madam..plss kip it up.more effort to ur elbows

And now all is past. Well done Linda. I still wish you the very best in life. God bless u. #i'dratherbeselfmade

So inspiring ...

Touching...Laura's own is to be forming Nigerian khole K up and down, Thumbs up to you Linda

bokime udoaka said...

Very inspiring. Nice one dear. Safe trip

May's Desserts said...

I literally had tears in my eyes after reading this, hardwork and perseverance surely does pay off in the end.

Joyce Exploit said...

hunmm!! nice one there. its romantic though...

Truthurts said...

Linda Linda Ur story ova long. Enjoy urself. Tales by moonlight ur own na tales by daylight

Oluwadare said...

Happy for you linda ..The key to winning is never giving up,your story is better...i was homeless at 20 , dropped out of school due to lack of money and it seems my life was crashing .Today i own a house at 26 , been to south Africa and 2 other countries . I went from begging to someone people look up to ... The model of the story is this, its not always easy ... Just keep believing and never quit no matter what happens .... Just trying to inspire you guys by adding to wetin linda talk .... Nothing is impossible

Hi Linda, what a touching story. Am so happy for you that you made it and also welling to help others. Am in newyork (Brooklyn) if you come to newyork kindly let us know so we can also take Lolo and Chief out. All the best

Elyzybeth .I. said...

Wow!

The love I have got for you Linda....I swear e pass "jangilova", thank you for this long and inspiring piece.
You have given me reason to believe again in my self and my entrepreneurship skill.
God bless you much sis.

All I have to say, is God bless you!

joy said...

O my....! Linda you are such an inspiration! I'm so touched by your story! I so connect and relate with you cos that's similar to my story, the difference is that i'm in the Music Industry and yet to achieve that mark. I still believe that consistency coupled with trusting God pays off at last; will keep keeping on till I get there. You are one Boss Lady whose success has greatly inspired me! So proud of you! God Bless you for the #SelfMade Initiative! I used to run an NGO whose aim was to help people but took a break as there was no fund to continue. I know someday i'd be able to kickstart it again to to help more people reach their goals like you are doing cos the world could be a better place if we all start looking out for each other! May God reward your kindness and grant you your heart desires!

So tearful. God will bless you in abundance. You can't go missing in action, Linda. Cause your blog is part of my daily activities

I honestly appreciate how you motivate and encourage every youth to grow. This your story just put a smile on my face and encouraged me to worker harder.
Thank you very much.

Hummm it what you work for enjoy it...
For ur affordable MTN SME DATA share, contact ME on 08066479991, BBM:563314E5.
1GB-#1,150
2GB-#2,250
3GB-#3,350...
Payment can be made via direct cash or MTN airtime. Guaranteed to work on all your devices.

Tough Chikito. That's all I can say 4 now.
I'm Bookmarking this stuff, honey.

You always write about how you didn't sleep with men for money, how you went through hard times and how you want to help young women out there.
However u post certain things on ur blog and allow comments that ridicule,shame and bring down some women.for instace what u once wrote about flavours baby mama trying to hook him into marriage with pregnancy and other stories about other women where u allowed shameful and insulting comments which could easily break them or ruin their lives.
I don't know nor have ever met any of these women but really feel bad for them whenever such happens because anybody can make mistakes.
What u are doing is commendable and alot of ur fans will heap praises on u for that but it's difficult to warm up to u knowing the damages you might have caused to ur fellow woman.
Doing charity may make u feel better about ur self and get u praises and recognition but know that u have broken a lot of women with ur blog.
U can decide not to post this if u like, at least I'm sure you've read it.

Nice one. Thank God for u. Will miss u

You always write about how you didn't sleep with men for money, how you went through hard times and how you want to help young women out there.
However u post certain things on ur blog and allow comments that ridicule,shame and bring down some women.for instace what u once wrote about flavours baby mama trying to hook him into marriage with pregnancy and other stories about other women where u allowed shameful and insulting comments which could easily break them or ruin their lives.
I don't know nor have ever met any of these women but really feel bad for them whenever such happens because anybody can make mistakes.
What u are doing is commendable and alot of ur fans will heap praises on u for that but it's difficult to warm up to u knowing the damages you might have caused to ur fellow woman.
Doing charity may make u feel better about ur self and get u praises and recognition but know that u have broken a lot of women with ur blog.
U can decide not to post this if u like, at least I'm sure you've read it.

Saint Omo said...

Log of tears streaming down my eyes right now after reading this motivational and life changing bios about yourself. Indeed, it has never been easy for any in this 'I don't care country' called Nigeria. But you made it look so easy for this young ladies after what you went through to get here. Not everyone will do what you are doing right now. So impressed, encouraged to work harder, motivated to work 24 hours until my dream of having one of the biggest B2B portal e-commerce site out of Africa come to lime light in few months time. My startup has been very rough too...your journey is the same way related to my. From blogging to owning a magazine never went down well even after a lunch/concert of it. It has never been easy. But hopefully I know what my company is about to lunch in few months time will change my life, my generation and those around me too. Hopefully in years to come I will be the one telling you and the world my little startup/beginning. God bless you for this motivational write-up.

God is always faithful.

MisterPamper said...

very impressive. Clear example of how tenacity and hardwork eventually pays off... reward might not come at the time you want it, but if you keep at it, your reward will eventuallly come. Kudos Linda. Some people (myself inclusive) have always thought you just got lucky, but reading your story, you've been through shit* and definitely deserve the heights you are at now. Well done. Will like to work with you soon with regards helping people to realise their own dreams. #thenewnigerian.com

teasan said...

May the good God bless u

teasan said...

U are indeed a life saver, may the good God bless u

Linda you may not post this.. but please get over yourself.. it will help you

Timmy said...

Thanks Ms Linda Ikeji for this story, you have inspired me this morning...when you feel like a failure just keep on going..You might hit a goldmine..I'd rather be God (self) made!!!!!Proud of you!

That is nice ,though I couldn't read all.I love strong and independent women like myself and the fact that you are helping others is a big achievement.Your parents must be very proud of you ,May their prayers and love over you never cease.Well done

Madam no vex I no fit, haba which kind long story be that BTW congrats to ur parents

It's well! In Jesus Mighty name. Amen!

What an inspiring story ur own kids will take care of you, mean while happy to see ur mom for me it's d first time you taking about her do u have brother? Enjoy ur trip

oiza said...

Ok good

Interviewdisplay said...

Cool... Some of what most people have been waiting for.

Awwwn Linda *Tight hug* dis got me teary eyes

It was really tough n rough but i salute ur courage & determination. all in all, i thank God on ur bhalf #Iwillratherbeselfmade

Linda Ikeji! So inspired, and I feel bad for giving up on my bean flour business. I'll take it up again.

Awwww

You inspire me Linda, tears rolling down my cheeks when I read this. Just to say. I have a project. And I want you involved. I want to start it before involving you. Am sure you would love the idea.. #selfmade. Godbless you.

saritha said...

I'm inspired.

Waoh!am moved with this Linda,may God bless you for inspiring us,you are the best

t said...

Linda, this was a wonderful story.

The bank and anti-fraud people harassed you. I'm sure there is a law against that.
My bank has had my money for 1 year now. There was a fraudulent withdrawal (the alert said it happened in CHINA) from my account, and they have been telling me sorry. Sorry? You will pay my money nah. Round and round, then I finally reported to Central Bank (Consumer Protection). I'm still waiting.

The fact is MONEY ISN'T EVERYTHING. Part of why development is so important is that when we have developed as a continent/country, money will not be an issue. In Yankee, nobody stresses you when you want to borrow money. They beg you to borrow money, at far lower interest rates. In most of the developed world, if you have ideas, funding will find you; if you have talent, a job will cover your needs.

Unfortunately, POVERTY has made us here really enthrone money, whereas money is nothing but a bloody servant. I pray more people will commit to building these structures that will make our lives heaven on earth. That is my dream. Not money, robust wealth for all. All Africans, everybody. And that is why my bank must pay, because systems must change, money must be insured, fraudsters must be jailed, harassment must stop.

#bless

Wow. Linda m proud of you as I can relate with you. May God continue 2rain blessings on you. Amen. This is really inspiring 😍

God bless your soul Linda!

God bless you Linda. I am truly proud of you. Can we meet up in the States. Are you coming to DC , MD, VA pls.

Waoh Linda! Here, I am, reading your blog at 5:30am lol. I'm inspired by your story. Really, really, just proud of you. Reminds me of my younger self. So fired up, so much passion to be self made. Unfortunately for me, quite a number of my dreams did not come to fruitition. So sad. Thanks for lending a hand to others. You Rock!

Linda I'm so proud of u, more grace to ur elbow.

Chudi said...

Very inspiring story. It would make a good Bollywood blockbuster.

Omalicha thank you for sharing. Thank you for encouraging others. Thank you for the selflessness....It is inspiring.Congrats to your family especially Chief and Lolo. Enjoy the trip.

wow!!!!!!! i admire u dear......what a story.....d good lord will continue 2 see u through....have fun dear cos u deserve it.God bless you

A.C said...

Dear Linda, I don't comment so much on your blog, but I am sure an addict reader..lol This right up literally made me tear up. I feel so inspired because I am at that point you were few years ago, Its a tough world out there, I'm just 21 but I've got big dreams. I put most of them into action but sometimes the disappointments could be heart-wrenching, never the less, I'm gonna keep at it. Take it one step at a time, God bless you Linda, thanks so much for the inspiration. #selfmade

bulky1 said...

hi linda ikeji, i am an incurably addicted reader of ur blog, and i am inspired by ur story.
i remember sendin u a mail, requesting to help post a poem i wrote for Nigeria, durin the wee hours of GEJs govt, u sent the rates but i couldnt afford them...pleaded but u didnt buldge....
that not witstanding, i dare say u have come a long way, and history will be kind to u.
u r an epithome of feminine strenght and succint success.
go girl! the world is not enough..(in JBs voice)

Olaitan Adewunmi said...

Linda, You are an inspiration to many. Keep up the good work dear. Doc Laitan

This brought tears to my eyes n reassurance to my heart😢

I always get inspired when ever I read ur story, iv hustled as hard as u hav bae and I belive I wud hit my spot soon. I love u loads

Linda e no good ooo, only girls ? We guys dey hustle too na. At least dem allow you change cloth b4 u folo go station.....we na for belt nd boxers kpelu slaps na im we dey recieve ooo. Anyways what u doing is sweet. God bless ur effort as u help our sisters out there.

chinextro2003 said...

With tears dripping from my eyes linda, u are truly an inspiration for ladies out there! I really thought u were "one of those ladies" in quote but really with how u made it up there, I wouldn't mind nrominating you for "Made of Black" award. So everyone out there, call Guinness table of men which starts by 8pm on cool fm & nominate linda lol. But really Linda my prayer for you is that Baba God will continue to take you higher. Cheers! My regards to Chief & his Lolo.

Congrats dear, please how do we drop our proposals

David Chimaobi Ndubuisi said...

Inspired!

Evangelist M O Ajakaiye said...

Really inspiring God will continue to strength you

Ik Okereke said...

Though I've questioned your morals a lot (due to what you post in your blog, which could be a great tool indeed for the propagation of Gods Word), I'M CONVINCED YOU ARE A VERY KIND HEART. GOD BLESS YOU.

Wow Linda. Thanks a million for this. This brought tears to my eyes. I won't give up despite d challenges I'm facing now. And I promise to give back when I make it too. So help me God.

You inspire Linda. Tears rolling thru my cheeks after reading this. Am grateful for your influence in Nigeria. God bless you. #selfmade

God bless your hustle Linda. Its your time and you won't run dry in Jesus name. God bless. #selfmade

Leave ir

Neymar said...

I love u linda. God knows I do.

God will continue to bless you

Awwww Linda am speechless,May God continue to bless u and may he giv u d strength to move on, I love d fact dat u love ad u re taking care of ur parents ad siblings,may God Bless u,hav always knew dat der was something about dis ur profile pics Dats y u hav nt change it, it reminds u of so many tins I guess? ur true life story hav tot me a lot of tins dat I will put into action Now, will neva give up! Thanks dear and enjoy ur stay, pls send us pics lara

God bless ur hustle. #selfmade

Very motivating. I love your courage and stubbornness Linda. Congratulations to your Mum and dad. Please try to always post this story yearly to motivate others.

Linda ikeji ur story and my are allmost d same all I need is a support for my life to change but no one is helping I belive if u can make it I will ur are a real doguest figther like to talk to. U again here is my email mobileplanet41@gmail.com hop to recive ur email stve trip to us

Ebiere said...

Oh Linda you have just melted my heart! I love you. What a strong woman you are, you never gave up. You are officially my role model.

How cn one apply

Tears rolling on my cheeks. You are a inspiration. God bless your hustle. #selfmade

How one apply

Self made

Amy Amy said...

Safe trip chief nd lolo.nice one nd God bless u Linda

Linda u are a doggest figther ur story is like my all need to made in life is support and iam nt geting from no one I will like to talk to u again here is my email mobileplanet41@gmail.com hop to here from u

Foyeh health and beauty store said...

So I read this from the beginning to the end and have made up my mind to never give up! I'lld rather be self Made! Thank you so so much for sharing...you just ignited my fire all over again. God bless you and grant you long life in sound health and abundance. Love you

Angela Judy said...

Good initiative, God bless you Linda.

Why am sooo emotional?!
Small stories like this get me wet.
Hey! I mean tears.

Oden'Igbo said...

Arụ!!!
Linda Nne gị ọ wụ na ọ maghị na nwanuị anaghị eyi ishi agụ n'ala Igbo?

Very inspiring story Linda. Bless you. x

You have tried and have really been an inspiration to young ladies, may God continue to bless you.

WOW.

This is quite huge and i must confess i take big courage from this piece of yours.
I also in that bracket of young guys with big dreams but no capital to start.
After reading all this your experience i feel encouraged never to give up.
I WILL WISH YOU MORE GREATER ACHIEVEMENTS IN LIFE.

MODUPE said...

And i shed a tear. Thank you for this. You made my day already. God bless you tremendously!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Segun said...

Amazing story Linda. These are the kind of posts that stand you out. Really you never know men (or women...lol) until you have heard their stories.

Linda I cried after reading this.... I promise to follow ur footsteps helping young ladies out there wen that time comes( although in my little way during my undergraduate days with Enactus Uniport we indeed touched lives of youths and women.) God bless u, and bless u real good! My respect for u 2dy has increased . Thelma is my name

DADDYSWIFE said...

Its all God's doing.may he continue to surprise u with his blessings in Jesus name.amen!
#nothankyoui'llratherbeselfmade

aproko manager said...

Awwwwwwww lindaaaa u b angel

cazonzy said...

You inspire me linda, I know that life could be so unfair, but i'm not giving up, God is in control *tears*

Arike said...

What a touchy story, and thank God for the achievement. Abeg y u dy fall my hand like dis u no dy show Sandra instead na Laura wey dy advertise bleaching cream instead of promoting ur biz or get something beta to do.

You have really come a long way and God blessed your hustle.Have fun in the U.S with your parents...

God bless your for sharing your heart warming story

annastacia pius said...

Linda your story about your life is touching, one of my lecturer at RSUST used you as a successful blogger to illustrate during one of his teaching, you are blessed lindaikeji, God will forever bless you as you wipe away tears from others eyes,grow with strength

WOW!!! ......#Inspiring

annastacia pius said...

Linda your story about your life is touching, one of my lecturer at RSUST used you as a successful blogger to illustrate during one of his teaching, you are blessed lindaikeji, God will forever bless you as you wipe away tears from others eyes,grow with strength

Inspiring write up... I'm very regular on your blog; a silent observer, but I couldn't keep mute after reading this. Linda you are made of steel. Keep going girl !!!! I just left paid employment to start my own thing and I'm encouraged by your confession

annastacia pius said...

Really touching and inspiring..
Much respect girl!

Ure my role model, tank u for sharing ur story. Am also not a believer in sleeping wit men for moni buh it culd be so hard atimes to stick to u beliefs. Buh reading ur story today shows dat hard work really pays. Thanks for beeing a good role model especially to ladies out there.

You are bleesed

Inspirational piece Linda. It's good to let your readers know some of your story and the reason behind some of your actions. Keep up the good work!!!

dapgbemis said...

Lind this is so inspiring n spirit lifting. More grace

...and safe trip to you all.

Wow....Safe trip dear. .....God will continue to bless you in all ramifications of life....
your children will take care of you too...
I pray God give you inner peace and lasting joy. ...Amen

A new appointment from God through Buhari is on the way

Hello Linda. Thanks a lot for this piece.. it came right on time. I'm inspired! I thank God so much for His grace upon your life.

pearl_bunnie said...

God will continue to bless linda

Congrats Linda, and to your parents too, enjoy your trip. Your story was quite touching, and i feel inspired. May God continue to bless and enlarge your coast as you help our aspiring young ladies. Remain blessed.

RabiCoveredGirl said...

Oh linda! You just know how to get my eyes wet. God bless you. I hope i'm able to also start up my business some day so I can help people as well. God bless you real good linda. I pray you find a man you love some day, so you can bring beautiful kids into this world. Bye for now.

Dolapo(mystudionews.com said...

Linda, I've been an admirer from afar from afar for some years now. You have inspired a lot of young women, including me to pick ourselves up and move. Today, I have a news website and a food blog. I've not started making money yet, but I am following my passion and I derive joy from it. Thank you and God bless you real good for your inspiration. Your best is yet to come.

angelite said...

Wow.......nice touching story. God bless u 4 blessin others.

CoperateStreetBoy said...

And I am like "it is well" *struggles of a hustler*. This piece inspires and scares me. That's what it did. I dey fear loans I wan take. But I dey imagine when I finally blow!

Inspiring!

Adetunji Henry said...

Wow....i'm so humbled by this story of yours Linda....All i can heartily say is that The Lord that has brought you this far will not leave you here 'cuz there 're still more generations to affect. Well done sis Α̲̅πϑ thank God for blessing you with Ūя̲̅ sweet sisters....All the best dear!

Well done dear.

joy Egbunu said...

U are truly an inspiration. God bless u!

#LordSandra said...

God bless you Aunt Linda
I'm never giving up on my dreamd

So touching linda....u such an inspiration......

Hi.. Pls do not post this: I just want you to know that there are people who love and are praying for you back stage. We'll definitely meet someday! GOD BLESS YOU

debra said...

Oh Linda,u don't know how I read every single line of this writeup with a lining of tears in my eyes..u really inspire me. I ve alws been reading from this blog buh commenting on the Internet is not really my thing,buh I had to break out of that shell today.yur life is a testimony and it strengthens me and make me sit up in times of trials..thank u for sharing this..i just wish I could get to talk to u someday..i love u ma

hmmmmmmmmmmmmm, very very touching and inspiring. I love you Linda!

wish i can benefit frm this initiative. i hunger to be self-made

Welcome ma ,May God Continue to bless ur hustle amen. Three gboosa for Linda *dancing*

Thank you for sharing this inspiring story. No age limit to sucess, never too late to succed and never give up on your dreams. Enjoy your holiday!

Wow!! Wow!!! If I say this didn't touch me then I am lying. Honestly speaking it's very consoling to hear people like you tel their stories to encourage others. Honestly, being self made is the best(though not easy) Bcos trust me so many ppl r working but no satisfaction, no happiness, no development, no enthusiasm! Most of these companies just want to sap u dry even to ur blood. You work ur ass out and they pay u mere stipends, some don't even get to review salaries for years and they expect you to be all rosy rosy. Infact if every individual can decide to be "Self Made" I will see how most of these companies will get people to work under them! God has just started with you Linda, he will shock you beyond your knowledge!!

ghost writer said...

Linda ur story is quite touchy but belive me people outdere aspire 4 d@ kinda of ambition u had back den...ehm,my mata or stuff wey I don see 4 life I no dey fit yarn again cos my own case don pass empty treasury wey buhari see..well d@ one dey,all am sayin is wen help got to ur door it didn't just cum tru a particular gender..#No gender inequality..all gender read ur blog..try get platform 4 guys with ambitions.congrats on ur fams coronation

Austin said...

Just walk a mile in her shoes ....... This is the advice that envious people need to hear.
Such tenacity of purpose. Enough Respect.

See as you resemble ya papa. Lol.

I noticed u don't post about certain issues which nigerians are facing because you collect ad money from these companies .eg, the rip off from dstv, the mtn wahala and the rivers state scholarship saga.

Stella dimoko may have a bad mouth but at least she highlights these issues when people send in complaints she is making more impact with her blog.
Linda It's not only about sharing money try and highlight these issues as well because these organisations sometimes take action when they read stuffs like that about them

Tomi said...

Wow.....so inspiring
This is definitely encouraging for me especially at this time of my life. God bless you more

Awwwww.... well done Linda. A few drops of tears fell from my eyes/face while reading this .... God bless u and d works of ur hands for d good work ur doing in the lives of these young girls

miss Sparxz said...

Wow linda... right now i'm tearing up as this was sooo inspirational. I really thank hod u finally made it and hope to tap into ur blessings. Kudos hun and may God continually bless u for all u do and d lives u touch and try to reach... more blessings.

Inspirational!

miss Sparxz said...

Wow linda... right now i'm tearing up as this was sooo inspirational. I really thank hod u finally made it and hope to tap into ur blessings. Kudos hun and may God continually bless u for all u do and d lives u touch and try to reach... more blessings.

wow! Linda you just strengthened my resolve to succeed.

Inspiring,really inspiring Linda!Well done.

Adex said...

Inspiring, a big lesson learnt. I will succeed and i will not give up.

This is so inspiring. God bless you real good. 'No,thanks,I'd rather be self made!'
Latest Chief and Lolo have fun....

Wow what an inspiration,cngrats to ur parents

«Oldest ‹Older   401 – 600 of 1959   Newer› Newest»