Strange case of how 2 unrelated men with same name & identical looks sparked the need for fingerprinting in the US | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 29 April 2015

Strange case of how 2 unrelated men with same name & identical looks sparked the need for fingerprinting in the US

The man on the left was called Will West, while the one on the right was called William West, and they were both sentenced to jail at Leavenworth Penitentiary in Kansas over 100 years ago.

Will West arrived at the same prison in 1903, two years after William West was imprisoned. His arrival caused the records clerk at the prison considerable confusion, because he was convinced he’d processed him two years previously.

The clerk, M.W. McClaughry, asked Will West if he’d ever been to the prison before. West said he hadn’t.

McClaughry then set about taking his Bertillon measurements – named after the French policeman Alphonse Bertillon – which was the usual method of identifying people and involved recording the dimensions of key physical features.

McClaughry, still convinced the man before him had already been to the prison, looked up his name in his filing system and found one William West – who looked identical to Will West in the photographs in every respect.

They even shared the same Bertillon measurements.

But Will West insisted to McClaughry that it was not him: ‘That’s my picture, but I don’t know where you got it, for I know I have never been here before.’

To McClaughry’s shock, he was absolutely right, too. William West was a different person altogether and in fact had been admitted to the prison two years previously for murder.
The case highlighted the flaws in the Bertillon method and it wasn’t long before the U.S authorities turned to fingerprinting.

Its pioneer was Scotland Yard’s Sgt. John K. Ferrier, who met McClaughry at the St Louis World Fair in 1904 while he was guarding the Crown Jewels, which were on tour.
He told the U.S prison officer how Scotland Yard had been using fingerprinting for the past three years and evangelised its accuracy.

McClaughry was sold, and after being instructed on the technique he introduced it to Leavenworth Prison. America’s first national fingerprint repository was established shortly afterwards.

Culled from BT.

77 comments:

I think eventually everyone has identical look alike some where on earth,chai d day I see mine na to pill out o.

Strange indeed.

Seriously

Wooooow thought this only existed in movies

If I'm not mistaken I read this story some time back here.Insightful.

ANYA IKENGA said...

Yes. We have Evan Enwerem and Evans Enwerem. Bola Ammed Tinubu and Bola Tinubu, Alaji KasHamu and Buruji Kashamu. All different people too but look alike.

Misery....am shocked!

Away match dey involve

They could pass for identical twins lol

Na wa o! God is awesome. Linda take note!

treasures ( new dawn����) said...

So?wetin the story come teach us o

lami said...

Hmmm amazing story.

Wow, incredible......

Wow....this is amazing.
No difference at all.

If it were in Naija, they pummel the guy until he will agree that he had been to that Penitentiary before even though its a lie. Nice invention (finger printing).

Wow! This is serious oo

Come see sumtin

Necessity is the mother of invention but in my country necessity na mother of wayo.

Wow!

tayo said...

i av a feeling the first guy might av paid for a CRIME he did not commit.

Wait linda r u advertising???

Yh. We all ve our look-alikes somewhere in d world

Kpakpandu said...

I also gat a frnd whose name is Mercy John buh she luks xo much like Mercy Jonson... Did I just comment ???

Marshall Matters said...

I was shocked when first read about this!! Amazing things really do happen.

Everyone has a look alike i believe. But same name? That's rare!

Ryan said...

Saw my doppelganger some years back...it was really scary tho

Hmmm God is a wonderful God, look @ his hand work it is so nice and wonderful

So what happened at last?

David E said...

i mailed u this article months ago but u ignored it just to do same now shey?
#Davidking

woow,interesting...

Muhammed Buhari and Muhammadu Buhari.... different people

God's hand work is marvellous oooooo...nnna only God really tell oooo

Lol so funny

Doubleganger things*

One of the wonders of the world

He was simply a time traveler. Thank me later. hmxxx4@gmail.com

Cool story

Please I need to meet my own look alike.. Ah go just pass out.

From the story so far...it's just a Nigro who made a fool out a white folk...

God is gr8 o, so we all v our look alike smwhr? Hmmmmmm, ise oluwa, awa ma ri bottom

Boma..your misery is mysteriously shocking.

Look let me tell you. They are one and the same. I am not buying it.

With same cloths too or are they also putting on prison uniforms?

Sally says:
Ohjay you're so cute.....

Goaldyn Boy said...

Interesting! People have accosted me severally to say I look like someone they knew or attended their school! But I have never actually met anybody that looks like me!

we ve APC nd PDP,All look alike

Invention ( finger print)

Mufliat said...

I have seen pple who looks alike but with same name thats rare. I am a twin(identical) but theres this particular around my place shes so much like us pple who dont knw her call her our Idowu,bt we dnt v one. Allah does wonders.

#Hajia Mufliat#

Mufliat said...

I have seen pple who looks alike but with same name thats rare. I am a twin(identical) but theres this particular girl around my place shes so much like us pple who dont knw her call her our Idowu,bt we dnt v one. Allah does wonders.

#Hajia Mufliat#

Yea. Could be he was arrested for the second convict's crimes. They could even be twins separated at birth.

Lol!

Nobody looks like me in this world.

Have u seen the Bentley inside water? Check out www.naijacarlovers.blogspot.com

#splitpersonality. Spotted d difference tho.

If it were today, they would have gone further to see if they were somehow related and perhaps seperated at birth.

WOW. QITE A STORY. ITS SO SO SO STRANGE. IMAGINE, IF ONE HAD HAD TO SERVE TIME FOR THE OTHER MISTAKENLY, AND ANYONE CONVICTING THE PERSON WOULD BE JUSTIFIED.
LINDA NA THIS KIND STORY U SUPPOSE DEY SHARE

Wow....Very amazing.

America’s first national fingerprint repository discovered due to two look alike men. #New tittle

Nwayie said...

David Iyke said...

1000 years later, Naija still does not know the importance of finger print record! Always going back ward while others are moving forward!

I get the feeling they are identical twins separated at birth!!

I get the feeling they are identical twins separated at birth. U_otoh@yahoo.com

A portal to the alternate universe opened and the Will West crossed over......

This is scary abeg

geedup said...

why two of them wear d same outfit for the pix.....abeg na d same person joor

spooky and freeky

Same identity nd close names wit bad including same bad records...they look alike in al ways indeed!

I know someone (not one or two) that look like me are out there. When shall we meet?

Nah wah o, they look so alike

Long lost sins

So wettin come happen at last?

God is the ultimate, he dose what pleases Him

God be praise

Nimelda said so..........

They have to be identical twins. I'm sure they just didn't know it and assumed they just resembled each other.

WHO'S TALKING SHIT!!! WE ALREADY DO FINGERPRINTING IN AMERICA FOR A LONG TIME NOW, REASONS WHY When some sorry ass fugitives claim it's not them we say the US know what they are talking about.

I'm sure they are twins. They need to find out