Entertainment Industry unite for Kefee; form committee for her burial | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 24 June 2014

Entertainment Industry unite for Kefee; form committee for her burial

Over 100 members of the Nigerian entertainment industry gathered on Monday in Lagos to strategise on ways and means of giving late singer, Kefee, a befitting burial.

Some of the notable faces at the meeting were, Nikki Laoye, Tosin Martins, Emem Ema, Tee-Y Mix, DJ Gosporella, Wamilele, Princess, , Perry Martins, Praise Machine, Mudi, Righteousman, Nene Soul Diva, Victor Gospogroove, Gordons and representatives from Kefee’s family. Continue...

Sammie noted that the death of Kefee has affected the Nigerian entertainment industry and the world over and not just the Gospel music community in Nigeria.
"Kefee was a major contributor to the development of entertainment in Nigeria and the industry will be there for her even in death. We are going to bury her as a queen and it would be nice for us to work together to make her burial a grand affair. It would also be nice to use this opportunity to get our acts together as Gospel artists and entertainers in general because that is what Kefee would love,’’ he said.
Also speaking, Tosin Martins, suggested that activities in honour of Kefee should extend beyond the immediate burial plans to include a more robust an annual memorial symposium and other events which promote the interests and passion of Kefee for posterity’s sake. 

A committee called the ‘Kefee Memorial Committee’ (KMC) was thus constituted to plan the various events which would hold in Lagos and Sapele, the hometown of the late singer.

The members of the committee are: Sammie Okposo, Nikki Laoye, Commorade Rex Anighoro, Momodu Inu Noah, Tosin Martins, Anny Ibrahim, Joan Paul, Aity Dennis-Inyang, Emem Ema, Gbenga Akintokun, Tee-Y Mix, Tim Tehilla, DJ Gosporella, Praise Machine, Victor Gospogroove, Princess, Perry Martins, DJ Direal and journalist, Chilee Agunanna, who was Kefee’s publicist
The committee would plan towards befitting burial events in Lagos and Sapele and some of the proposed activities were a symposium and Service of Songs tagged ‘An Evening With Kefee’ in Lagos.

There would also be a documentary of the singer’s life and times; performances of her songs by other artists; Kefee memorial merchandise and a tribute concert in Sapele.
Kefee’s husband, Teddy Don-Momoh, monitored the proceedings of the meeting from the U.S. where he is preparing to fly home the body of his wife.

He once again pleaded for the privacy of the family to be respected in these trying times.
He observed that some of the stories written about Kefee since her death were mostly untrue and cited the reports of a pregnancy which didn’t exist and the story that her body had been flown home as very insensitive and mischievous.

He also stressed that some reports that claimed that he was stranded in the U.S. and soliciting for financial help through a bank account were lies.

Teddy said that, customarily, he would have to return home to Nigeria first, to be on ground to receive the body of his wife which would then follow afterwards.

He said he was finalising the required paperwork before Kefee’s body could be flown from the U.S. to Nigeria and once those were done, more details of the burial plans would be released.
Teddy said that Kefee’s family had requested that she be buried in their hometown, Okpara-Inland, Ethiope East local government, with a celebratory service in Sapele afterwards and that he was comfortable with that.

Those, according to him, were the only definite arrangements for his wife’s burial so far.
Kefee whose real name was Irikefe Don-Momoh (nee Obareki) was a well-liked Pop-Gospel artist who had been active in the entertainment industry for the past ten years. She was born on Feb. 5, 1980 in Sapele, Delta State and was known as the Branama Queen, in reference to her debut hit track and album, ‘Branama’. She also scored a hit with the track, ‘Kokoroko’, featuring Timaya and had four albums to her credit— ‘Branama’ (2003), ‘Branama 2’ (2005), ‘A Piece of Me’ (2009) and ‘Chorus Leader’ in 2013. 

A Condolence Register has been opened for the singer at her restaurant, Branama Kitchen, at 11 Ajose Str., Mende, Maryland, Lagos.

Signed,
Chilee Agunanna (chileik@yahoo.com)
Publicist. 

60 comments:

Xtinexxx said...

May her soul RIP

It is well....

Princess R said...

Im really gonna miss this babe. Continue to rest in peace dear where the Angels are guiding.

Rest in perfect peace Kefee

May her soul rest in peace #bright bravo#

Eyaaaa

Its unbelieveable that kefee is gone with her sweet voice. RIP Branama QUEEN

my soul still weeps for this lady.....R.I.P keefee....post my comment linda i use ur papa juju take beg you#corleone

www.glowyshoes.com said...

A rare gem is gone....rest in peace kefee...u in a better place evn tho it came sudden...

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

my soul weeps for this lady....R.I.P keefee....linda post my comment o...i take una village juju take beg you#corleone

Angie Cape said...

Why weren't there committee praying for her whilst she was in coma??.. Anything to show off....PFFTT!!
Kefee dear, sleep on; you are in a better place than this wicked world.

*My R1.50c comment*

Diva chilee said...

Such a pretty lady with a golden n angelic voice.....may her soul rest in peace.
Diva chilee

Diva chilee said...

Such a pretty lady with a golden n angelic voice.....may her soul rest in peace.
Diva chilee

May her soul continue to rest in peace.

Ehya... Thank dem all for thr suport. Am sure she'd be grtful herslf wen she looks bak at her legacy and d love shown by d ppl she left. Good deeds pay. Cntnue to rest in peace Kefee

RIP kefee

Really she deserves a befitting burial. Sleep on my dear shining star

Kefee may ur gentle soul rest in perfect peace in the bossom of the Lord...my Branama queen. Sapele/Warri go always miss u dear.

May her soul rest in peace. Amen

May her soul RIP, Amen

So sad but what i dont understand is why demand for privacy when a committee consisting of several musicians who are loud and would do anything to remain in news,the briefing and state of burial.They should celebrate her life while putting into consideration the parents feeling.As for the husband, be strong because you owe no one any explanation for any thing

TayO said...

Anytime I read abt her death.I jst bcome sad.I really wish she's still alive.#Khona Kefee(wish dis khona word works)RIP

Adieu Kefee !!

A part of me died with Kefees demise.She inspired me with her songs.Keep resting on kefee

RIP my lady

Lady kim kim said...

Sad

Rest on Keffe

Still hard to believe she's gone.
RIP my dear.
God loves you more.....

May yur soul RIP Keefee amen..........xoxo

RIP dear

Why do we lose d good ones,while the thieves r getting old n still vry much alive!!! IBB n co...
RIP Kefee

I don't know any of the above mentioned names, where's tiwa, waje, dbanj, timaya etc

Rip...kefee

I miss u see that Delta baby Rest In Peace @kefee

Irikefe u will always be remembered in naija nd in d hearts of ur love ones adieu branama princess

R I P Kefee

temmy cash said...

So painful, may her soul rest in perfect peace...

Ɠогƍеους Ɖίνα said...

May your beautiful soul be granted eternal rest Amen!

its well with you my darling...... See you in heaven on the last day. Amen

Julie Mama said...

And she's just 34 haba! Too young, RIP Branama Q. My heart is heavy, may God continue to consol ur family.

CONTINUE TO REST IN PEACE KEFEE........ .....

PELELE CITY ALREADY MISSES YAH..........

May her soul rest in the bosom of the lord, rest in peace keefee.

CONTINUE TO REST IN PEACE KEFEE..

PELELE CITY MISSES YAH.....

for the first time since i became a reader of this blog in 2012, i am commenting. Linda u are really doing a wonderful job here. I av heard of artists dying bt believe me, non has ever touched me the way this one does. U are such a wonderful singer Kefee, may ur soul continue to rest in the bosom of the Lord. He (God) alone knws the best.

It is well. ... may her soul rest in peace

May her soul find rest!

May her soul rest in the bosom of the lord. We miss you keefee

Rest in peace keefee

Sophisticated! said...

RIP beautiful woman!!!

@Angie Cape: Shut your mouth, do you know whether some were by her bedside? Ignoramus

R.I.P

Great, Great, Great Loss, Goose pimples wenever a read about u Kefee.
Keep resting in d bossom of d most high. You will be greatly missed.
Dis is really gone too soon!!!!

This life Enhh u shaaa have to die first or maybe sometin terible happens first b4 people will either go out of their way.some people will only day Good abt u when u die.#ripkeefee#

Kefee butu why ?? Why did you have to leave so soon?? You break many hearts when you departed. Please wake up, we still need you here. Just look back then you will see how heart broken your husband is, your relatives and fans ! They all loved you so much.come back Kefee, just come back. How the earth is Loosing its salt...heavy heart !!!

PrettyB said...

So sad, Rest in peace Kefee

Had to believe she's gone. Will miss her beautiful voice.
RIP a rare gem!!! We luv u but God loves u most

Bbg Eze said...

Stl trying to get a grip of ur demise.....continue to rest in peace Kefee

There's no way we can have another you,I love u girl R I P sweetheart

stephanie said...

Rip

Oyindamola Tella said...

R.I.P Kefee.Rest on