Lagos explosion caused by fuel-laden tanker, not bomb - Police | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 26 June 2014

Lagos explosion caused by fuel-laden tanker, not bomb - Police

The Lagos State Police command has refuted claims that the explosion that happened last night at Creek road in Apapa Lagos was caused by a bomb saying it was caused by a tanker carrying petrol

Force Public Relations officer, Ngozi Braide explains
“There is nothing whatsoever suggesting that it was a bomb explosion. It was a tanker loaded with fuel that burst into flames. Policemen are on ground there now and we cannot yet ascertain the casualty figures. But everything is under control,” she said.
In a contradictory statement, Ibrahim Farinloye, the Spokesperson for the National Emergency Management Agency, NEMA South-West said the cause of the fire was as a result of a gas cylinder explosion. See more photos from the incident after the cut...

"People were reported to be filling gas into the cylinder before it exploded. The incident happened within Folawiyo Energy Premises but they did not allow fire men into their premises at all” Mr. Farinloye said in a text message to Premiumtimes.

47 comments:

Thank God it was not a terrorists attack

Thank God it was not a terrorist attack

Speechless

People don't slack. The top people may be removing their children from Lagos to abroad then they will now announce that boko haram is in lagos.

PLS WAKE UP AND STOP THEM !!!

People don't slack. The top people may be removing their children from Lagos to abroad then they will now announce that boko haram is in lagos.

Pheeew! *heaves a sigh of relief*
Thank God it wasn't Boko

Still some people left their homes and never returned. God have mercy.

CoolDiva speaks!

wetin e for b?

C.E.O

Even Pastor Adeboye said he won’t be around Nigeria that much again at June HGS.

Check the video on youtube

**thåt OAU Bøy**

wow people should be more careful

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Tank God.. lagosians can sha fear lol...jst hpe no one went to scoop fuel ooo

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Thank God this is not bomb

Check my blog post My Boobs are for my Fans, I Expose it for them- Yetunde Agboola. Click to Read

Tragic!!!

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Ok better oo. I was praying it shouldn't escalate to the east.

chiveleen said...

I am waiting for Soul E to say he he prophecied the lagos explosion.

Hmmmmm

Is okay, i am relieved small now. Because I don prepare to leave lag and go back to my village by nest weekend. Lolz ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

I am hoping it is just a tanker explosion, cos it is a scary thought thinking that this bombing is spreading beyond the North. If that changes, then we are in trouble, because then it can't be contained.

Dear Linda, be not deceived by all this nonsense Police report. It was a clear and orchestrated bomb blast which was intended for a ripple effect especially with all the tankers parked on Creek Road, Apapa.
We were still in the office when this happened.

Shola Lad said...

Only a big fool wil believe dis fabricated news....I was dere live dis mornin and wit wat I saw it was a confirmd bomb blast!!! Access bank dat was 300mtrs away frm d blast even got all its windows shatterd. Our security chiefs wil only tel u wat dey want u2 hear. Lagosians wakeup and report any suspicious movement asap

Jst hope lagosians don't invite this people with false alarm...cos we bcome wht we think..

I stay in apapa,n I he d explosion yesterday night,it was just a tanker not bomb

Ok thank God o

GOOD TO KNOW IT WAS NOT BOKO HARAM

Jetli007 said...

Look @ this;
In a football match you are not attacking nor defending BUT your Opponent is attacking you left, right and center and yet you aren't doing anything.
From the deepest part of me I will say I am not happy with whoever is in the helms of affairs in our dear country Nigeria.
Bokoharam is attacking our people and our nation managers are not doing anything.
What awaits you by God my mouth can't say it

Ada Mazi said...

Is this report really true or is it a lie aimed at reducing tension and panic in people?

Nigerians are so gullible. There are too many indicators pointing to the fact that this was a bomb attack. 1.why did it coincidentally happen same day as the abuja one 2.the tanker looks too intact for the explosion to have come from inside it but the car next to it,different story 3.BH just threatened last week or week before that it would start using tankers and alas 4.why weren't other officials allowed into the scene 5.why are the stories not tallying. Some day gas some say tanker 6.there were multiple explosions in different locations. What are the chances that two tankers or two gas cylinders will go off off in different places almost simultaneously. And finally if there's no threat why are officials searching trucks in the same area today. Nigerians think. They're trying to kill it cos they know once it gets out there will be pandemonium. Truth is there already is. Be vigilant guys. They're here!

Ezenwa Eze said...

It was a bomb why is there a car parked beside it.

Faith Ogaga said...

Thank heavens ...pls ooo help me find my "small Hummer"---army green golf 3 LSR 916 CG...ajuwon/akute/agbado / Sango..tx ..

Guys, they;re just saying this to cover the real story up. They don't want Lagos to 'feel' like the North where the bombings are going on. They want to give the illusion of safety

Tank god

Don't be deceived by the stupid report from those wicked and good for nothing agents.where they there? This government derive pleasure in deceiving people.U can imagine that Fashola uptill now did not visit the scene of the incident .Am ashamed of that police spokes person and her counterpart .Linda the truth is that there was a multiple explosion in Apapa creek road.Thank God for quick intervention of folawiyo safety personnel.The LPG tanker u saw in ur pix was a target tool.The sienna was parked beside the tank b4 the bus exploded.i think tere intention was to set the tanker ablaze and the whole of Apapa will be razed , fortunately the tank is bullet and fire proof.tere was no tank explosion.i was tere and people am very familiar wit lost tere lives.

NOTED!

Tank u. Doz security pple shud shut dir mouth nd say d trut, dey r jus der decivin pple wen it was crystal clear dat its bomb, nd it dint evn hapn anywer near folawiyo tank farm. Lets jus pray dat der wont b a reoccurence again.

Derez God Oooooo

Linda...dat thin na bomb....ar yu a learner

Guys check all the pictures about this incident and you will observe that none had a burnt up petrol tanker.Just the car the was a wreck. Guys check pictures on Vanguard news and you will be convinced it was a bomb!

No b ani f*cking trailerrrr oooo...na apapa gan gan I dey stay...na car bomb wey suppose make tanker explode therby causing all tankers in that side to blow oo...I no dey feel safe again...army plus police sef don full apapa..hold up come stand gidigbam....na bomb oo...no mke dem decieve us

It was a car bomb. female suicide bomber

It was a BOMB blast!! The car used was parked behind d tanker and even a hole was created!Seeing is believing cuz my office is soo near 2d scene of incident.Even a blind man's instinct cld tell it was a BOMB.The police and d Security Agencies had to cover up as NOT to cause panic to Lagosians.Abt five buildings' windows/glasses were shattered wt Heritage bank d most affected,blood stains and abt four pple confirmd dead.We need prayers for divine protection everyday cuz our Security Agencies have been doing NOTHING!!

It was clearin a bomb like odas ,I wrk @ d apapa terminal...d car explode next 2 a gas tanker d cylinder 1 it was nt a petrol tanker n was imported,fire proof tanker dat was y it didn't explode toooo....LinÐa don't bliv dis motherfucker polÍce pple assumin d tanker also exploded..hmmmm apapa wld be nothin by n lots of lifes wld be lost..boko haram in LAgos!!!!!!!!!!! Let's start chasin dem aboki back 2 wher dey belong!!! B4 dey kill us all..heard dey targetin 3rd mainland bridge!!! God save us

If truly this was a bomb blast then this country is no longer safe.Who know's their next move what if God forbid they have planted people in all the. 36 states and then they are waiting for instructions b4 they carry out their attack..Boko haram are busy strategising on how to destroy Nigeria and our so called politicians are busy campaning and sharing rice and umbrella and all the oda rubbbish they give out to lure people to vote for them instead of channelin that money to send our police abroad for trainning and getting cctv camera's and equipments to help our police.if u. See. The kind of machine guns that those police officers carry that guide our presidents and governors meanwhile an odinary policeman on the road still uses Ak47..Its time for our police to learn how to make Their own bombs and all this billionaire's account. Should be monitored. Cause a poor man can not sponsor boko haram

chinero said...

Clearly a bomb attack..and it's real..thete were to separate bombing,a suicide bomber a female detonated the one at folawiyo entrance..a saloon car was also laced with a bomb..the govt is trying so had to cover it up.my friend works at folawiyo, and gave me his account,all indicators show it was a bomb,i wonder why our govt is living in self denial...lagos inns should beware and stay alert..Bh treat is real and it's here...avoid crowded places as much as possible..the Intel of 3weeks ago saying tankers are a target is real..i hope people saw the pic of the saloon car,how damaged it was...human parts littered folawiyo depot, afta d woman detonated hers,i had pics on my pone as at yesterday..a safety officer of d coy was also injured he is at lagoon hospital..had surgery yesterday..

Lagos wake up!!! It was a bomb blast!! Which stupid tanker?? See the pics sef, how stupid do you think we are and why is the government trying to hide this from us??? Eye reports and videos and even the security men have confirmed that it was a female suicide bomber!! Don't lie to us! Tell us so we can be better prepared and know what to expect and as for boko haram may Almighty God put you all to shame and cause confusion in your midst and may you bomb yourselves

Why would Folawiyo Energy not allow firemen into their premises if there was a visible need? That is just so above the law!