Sting says his six children will not inherit his $300m fortune | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 27 June 2014

Sting says his six children will not inherit his $300m fortune

Legendary singer and one of Britain's wealthiest musicians Sting has revealed that his 6 children will not inherit his $300million fortune. His reason? "His wealth will be albatrosses round their necks".

Sting, in a recent interview said he'd told his children not to expect to inherit a dime of his money because he doesn't believe in trust funds, and has advised them to go make their own money.
"I told them there won't be much money left because we are spending it. We have a lot of commitments. What comes in we spend. I certainly don't want to leave them trust funds that are albatrosses round their necks. They have to work. All my kids know that and they rarely ask me for anything, which I really respect and appreciate."
Sting, 62, has 6 children – Joseph, 37, Kate, 32, Brigitte Michael, 30, Jake, 28, Eliot Pauline, 23, and Giacomo Luke, 18...from two marriages. Who agrees with his decision?

72 comments:

D DECISION HAS BN MADE....... ND AM SURE D CHILDREN UNDERSTANDS...

BUT AM SURE DIS CANT HAPPEN IN NAIJA, FIRST SON WILL BE WAITING SO PATIENTLY FOR OLD MAN TO KICK BUCKET..

I don't.

Ds dude has read John Grishams "the tastament" n he wants to apply it to real life... he's crazy!!

KASS said...

Tah!!!! He doesn't want to die b4 his time... That's why he's saying dat... Its like he's seeing traces like his children are hopeful to inherit and dat cud be his life on the line 4 it. That's why he wants to camouflage dem jare.

Well his making a point he doesn't want them to be lazy #bright bravo#

tank God my dear nairaland is back,no more kissing linda's butt to post my comment

yaxx said...

stingy man, if u dont give such huge amount to ur children, who will u give it to? get away u

Most Nigerians or Africans will certainly not agree with him because:
Most people do not know what a trust fund is.
Most people live off their parents or grand parents wealth.

I believe with him...wen u gv ur kid d notion to inherit ur wealth, some will be lazy to work..sting is only trying to train his children in an industrious way, which is better..maybe later he might still leave something for them which will be a surprise to them.

Check my blog post

Wow!! Kim Kardashian Flaunts her Sexy Curves in Body Hug Dress(photos)Click here

Nope I don't agree with them not at least have a dime of his fortune, if not all but part of it, but I agree with them working, even God also worked, we were told by the bible that God planted a garden, that's work

Petite Diva said...

I do. It makes them independent and have a zeal to be successful since they know that there is no daddy's money for them to spend.

For hair tips, inspiration and adventure stories check out www.journalofapetitediva.blogspot.com

Yes I seriously support his reason bcos it will make his children 2 b more serious and focus

Dere is nofin 2 agree with it's his money and he can do wateva d hell he darn well feels like with it#iceprincess

How does that concern Linda Ikeji?

I sincerely support his decision. The reason we should train our children to be independent , and make a life of their own. A child that put his mind on his parents inheritance will be poor forever. MM

It's a good thing. Better being d "olowo" than d "omo Baba olowo".

elusive chanteuse said...

I love that

na dat wan dey call na only u waka come oooo.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY#

3race said...

you are as stingy as ur name implies. wonder whether you are taking the money to your grave.

Its just a way to make dem work harder......

Hismajesty said...

Honestly ... That's is problem whatever he decides to do with is money.. But seriously its a lot of money ..i see no reason why he wouldn't let his children inherit it.. But like said its his money..

he's a bastard!!!!! but hey?? its none of my business tho! they had better start siphoning d money now

What a decision.....lols

If six of them will not inherit that cash.. What about me nau?

I support he didnt inherited from anybody, if he did not say that his children will get their hopes up, and become lazy, probably end up fighting themselves over his fortune. I believe at the end of the day they will still get sumtin out of his health, if not all

comfort said...

Yes I support him don't depend on ur parents, u have 2 work hard 2 even have more dan what ur parents have cos dey work hard dat's why they ve got lot of things.

He's a fool

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Naah i dnt agree wit dat...evn if its small,hz gat to leave smefn for dem...

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Good. So let them work hard. I like that.

I support he didnt inherited from anybody, if he did not say that his children will get their hopes up, and become lazy, probably end up fighting themselves over his fortune. I believe at the end of the day they will still get sumtin out of his health, if not all

I support he didnt inherited from anybody, if he did not say that his children will get their hopes up, and become lazy, probably end up fighting themselves over his fortune. I believe at the end of the day they will still get sumtin out of his wealth, if not all

Caroline Aule said...

Health? Wealth rather my dear.

It's his money, so who are we to tell him how he spends it? More and more rich men are denying their kids a share of their amassed fortune. Jackie Chan has also stated that all his wealth will go to a charity when he dies and his son will inherit nothing! His son FYI is a failure.

Smiley face:-) said...

My dear Linda, I completely agree. How I wish Africans can learn from this, especially those so called rich/thieves in Nigeria. The best legacy one can give to ones children is "proper" education and good values. How can someone work so hard and give the wealth to his/her daughter when the child does not have any form of disability? The child will never learn what hard work is. What will such a child teach his/her own children?

The guy nah winch.

He is giving it to charity, to the people who never had te education or opportunites his children already have

prefect decision
go make your own money...
i which 9ja leader can learn from this, cos even if they keep it for their children... we are the one that will take it from them. Gbam

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

I AM LIBER,SDKER,AND AMDER. said...

Is high on something? He is talking crap,absolute trash,Lindodo I get berra info for you,Correct scoop/exclusives full angel maryjane david blog,go cull am come here make we comment.

I don't expect u to dear, u too like money.

Papa, u say wetin?

Its a good decision, most children with trust fund dont end up well, and the money isnt really their right, he worked for it not them..he is teaching them to be successful without him

stupid decision...over kaku

Y r u guys insulting d dude? Akata mentality no b like our own. But seriously, I agree with him, the best thing we owe our kids na education not properties. Imagine leaving 6 kids behind with all that money n they won't end up killing each other or b a lifetime enemies? Seriously guys, there r other values n norms apart from naija's o! Biko no dey narrow minded abeg. ...with love xxxx

Swerve said...

Exactly and I have a feeling he will def give each of them sth eventually. He's only encouraging them not to depend on him and that's a wow.

Lol! Imagine if O.B.O.'S dad does what sting is doing? After all the boasting in his songs! The guy will just kill himself.

He has a point, just dat d point is so unreasonable

TUNEin said...

Do u know if he did oyibo man ritual? Something serious must av made him to take d decition. *IAMHERE2SPY*

D guy no wan die bfr em tym jare..... Bfr em children go kill am fr nofin

~@iamJbankz Olamide's PA~

Kayode said...

I fully support his action. I believe children of the rich should learn their own money.

I know a over 70 years old couple, living in Nigerian, that till now still pays school fees of their grand children in America.

They had 4 children and all of them are not used to fending for themselves.

wottttever

Just add y to his name at the end n see d reason for his words. Muguyos.

so he would rather will his fortune to someone/project than his children, I think that's wicked. CHARITY BEGINS AT HOME

Ocult finz!

hrm paul ojeih said...

thunder fire this man which kind wicked father be dis at least all he has got to do is buy dem houses get them good auto mobiles and a little trust fund to tidy dem over he owes them that then he can leave the remaining for charity but at least he should be generous to his kids except he does not love dem

Ocult finz!

Charles said...

Given he didn't inherit his wealth from anyone, but methink he should have at least bequeathed part of it to his children and reserved the other half for his intended projects.

Charles said...

Given he didn't inherit his wealth from anyone, but methink he should have at least bequeathed part of it to his children and reserved the other half for his intended projects.

G said...

please peope receive Jesus, the Devil makes ppl do stupid things. If the holyspirit of God is not in u, another spirit will take over. #Jesus saves #seek Jehovah God.

A father is rich does not equal a lazy child. There some children that would even reject their father's wealth. Am sure if he was poor he would wish he could provider nice moneycanbuythinz for his children. he must think money is everthing. smh

Why bring six children into the world then?...he likes to fuck but doesn't want to be resposible for the life he created (sic)...when ur kids are grown doesn't mean u shouldn't still protect their future especially when u hv the means to, IGNORANT FOOL!!!

TRUE TALK!!!!

U r ill-exposed and ur mind is shallow. He brought them into this world, they didn't ask to be born. Give them them good education and values, but still protect their future. Dats why its called a will! U can put conditions and clauses in it fool!!!

Yea bcos the dad is a failure as a father, dummy....fuckin stop making excuses for something u know is morally wrong. Its ur fuckin child, protect his future regardless of what the circumstances are. Put a claus in the Will

Yep, a fool's fool!!!

Regardless of what has happened in the family, how the children turned out or whatever, u still owe the almighty to protect their future. Afterall u fucked to have those kids and when u nutted, u enjoyed it so what da fuck???????!!!!!!!!!!

So what if he was impotent? Will he be saying all this rubbish??? Everybody dat agrees with him on this blog is senseless, no disrespect #justsaying

The decision seems selfish to me.

Ivan B said...

I know a lot of Nigerians will go against this! But I seem to like his idea! If our politicians think like this, there wont be corruption. The money they steal are usually kept for there unborn children but if they think like this, they won't steal more than they do now because they certainly won't take the money to the grave. Go ahead and abuse me, but I have the right to make my view and I shouldn't be abused cos of that! Its my view, make yours too.

Lagos Lawyer said...

@ Anonymous 7:11: u have just written what shd qualify as the most stupid statement this year. What is the correlation btw impotence and not wanting to leave money to let your children inherit your money? So it's a must that parents shd leave inheritance for children even if those children behave like Eli's children ba? And u av d audacity to say pple with opinion contrary to yours are senseless? An opinion that is totally senseless! Get over yourself and go acquire some more wisdom. Didinrin

Pele o lagos lawyer...I guess the shoe fits

The Bible says, the blessings of the Lord maketh rich and addeth no sorrow with it. It also says, a good man leaveth wealth for his children's children. Do you know if the Illuminati gave him the money? definitely they will take it back

U neva cn tell,he mite av a will dat names all d children but he jes wnt 'em 2 be responsible 1st instead of relying on his property....sum kids r like dat

Its a stupid decision. Who best to enjoy directly, the fruit of my labor if not my kids...... I don't agree with his decision