Obinna Okpokiri, another corps member who was killed in the post election violence in Bauchi | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 23 April 2011

Obinna Okpokiri, another corps member who was killed in the post election violence in Bauchi

Obinna Okpokiri
Obinna like Ukeoma was dragged out of his corpers lodge, beaten, butchered and set on fire on Sunday April 17th by those bastards CPC fanatics in Bauchi State. Can you wish this kind of death on your worst enemy? Can you even begin to imagine the terror these corpers would have faced minutes before their brutal murders? To think Obinna left London to do his NYSC in Nigeria.

These young men can't die in vain. Their killers must be brought to book. Knowing the way our government operate in matters like this, their deaths will probably be swept under the carpet...just like others in the past...so how do we ensure that this doesn't happen this time?

This is not enough but there is a petition for the immediate withdrawal of Youth Corps members from trouble-prone states. Find it here
What else can we do as youths of this country?

61 comments:

ooh my God why is this happening.`am tired and sick of this country so called Nigeria,am short of words.this is what we are all saying we didn`t ve good leaders in this very nation.y the killing of the youth, i think this is the right time we need to voice out we the youth! if they should kill all the youth in this country who is going to fight for the nation or who is going to be tomorrow leaders.am feed up i just feel like rapture should take place. Infarct!! weeping over and over for Nigeria,honestly speaking the fear of God is not reigning in this country.they will all pay4 this. Am telling you>in time to come!!! THANK U LINDA MORE STRENGTH TO YOUR EFFORT,VE A ASTONISHED BLESSED WEEKEND!

steezz.com said...

Totally short of words. Sad beyond words.

Chilling said...

Jesus wept and we also wept. May he RIP and may his soul haunt his barbaric killers.

This is Toooo bad. I feel for the family of this Guy!

Left UK...to die like this because of what?

I have always been in support of the idea that NYSC should be Scraped!

It is just one of those ways Nigeria waste its hard earned money.

And again ...I really wish sometime that The Northern Nigeria Should go and form there own country.

Yeah.....They want to lead by all means ....but they don't have anything to show for the years they have been in power.

Plus they don;t have ANYTHING to offer this country ..

Yeah..

I strongly believe that if this CRUDE OIL were to be in the north, we all in the west and south..

would either agree to be their slaves forever or driven away to form our own country.

If you are from the north, no hard feelings , just saying my mind.

For example: when Niger Delta Militants were fighting, they weren't killing anybody!

Were they?

Guys , me think you all should move to NIGER or CHAD !

I honestly think Hausa people (Moslems by extension) are very violent and have no regard for human life. I laugh inside me when I hear some people refer to Islam as a religion of peace. Imagine people who think that they will go to heaven by killing “infidels” (other people who have been made by the same God they claim to worship and are fighting for). Very funny isn’t it.

Sometimes I sincerely wonder what the colonial British Empire were thinking when they brought together people who are obviously very different. Then again I remember that it was for their benefit and selfish gains.

I schooled in one of the Federal schools in the old Sokoto state and made a vow not to go beyond Abuja ever again. I saw first hand what happens when for any reason our Hausa brothers get angry. As such I feel that southerners and in particular my Igbo kinsmen have borne the brunt of this “being Together” for long enough. What with the nonstop loss and waste of live and property. I then wonder if there will ever be an end to this recurrent lash out.

How can the families of these Corpers ever be comforted? This man was safe far away from home in England only to be killed by his own country men in a very brutal way. Therefore I ask again when or if this onslaught will ever stop or end. Is it possible for Hausa people who live in safety in Southern Nigeria allow others to live with them in Northern Nigerian without fear? Something really needs to be done about this problem and I think fast. Enough is enough!!!

Hi Linda, I tried to sign the petition on the NVS website but it kept blocking me. (I know you aren't the owner of the site but I really want to sign it but it's not letting me. Help!)

Mamuje said...

Oh dear! What has befallen our country?

This is very brutal...I agree the youth corpers should be withdrawn these states...such a painful way to die.may his soul rest in peace...

Surprise said...

"O Nigeria, Nigeria the nation that kills the youth and stones youth corpers!" Matthew 23:37.

RIP Obinna. May your death not be in vain IJN.

naso said...

for the people behind this may dey rot in jail/and may the burn in the hottests spot in hell

simple...nysc must go!!!!!!!!

we re tired .nysc must be scrapped

"Petition to withdraw youth corps members from trouble-prone states?" As in, they are still waiting for a stupid approval before they come home or refuse to be sent to any of those cursed Godforsaken places?
Any corps member that is sent to any of those ass pimples on the face of the earth should refuse, period. Life aint got no duplicate, when it's gone it's gone. Look at the virile young souls in the prime of their youths, ready to begin their lives, butchered by those bloody organisms not even fit to be called animals because even animals cannot do that to themselves.
Can you even begin to fathom the sheer terror these souls experienced or the pains, so far away from loved ones, as they were being sliced and hacked apart by those bands of demons?
My prayer is that God will repay all of those aberrations of nature a thousandfold, may they all die a gruesome and violent death. Even as they have murdered sleep, may it forever elude them and their generations to come, AMEN.

Those Hausa extremists are making me to think that the islam we are practising in South West is quite different from the Islam the Notherners are engaging in whereby life of mankinds are nothing to them, any opportunity like this, they would start slaughtering people like a livestock whereas Islamic religion doesn't preach violence but people like to hide under the umbrella of religion once they had perpetrated their evil deeds.
It is a pity to see someone using his/her youthful age to acquire something Good in life and when it comes to some certain time to reap all they had laboured for, some Almajaris would just claim the life of those people, i blamed nobody but Nigerian Government with the way they are handling the security issue in Nigeria in which the life of citizens are nothing to them which makes Nigeria to be a nation where u can do anything you like and go scot free.
May Almighty God saves youths like these from the eyes of the evil doers

oh my God,may God give their family fortitude to bear this great lost,

It hurts my feelings to say the least. Lots have died, lots have shed their blood fighting for the liberty of our dear nation.
But what i don't understand is why people don't actually see what is going on. We tend to look at the surface and gear towards distractive and divisive mechanisms.As Nigerians, we look at problems on the "short cut" approach of things. When we can't solve our societal problems; We tend to look for the blame within tribe, religion and sometimes gender. Our number one problem is we keep straying away from the facts and evidence. We nigerians tend to focus our energy more on distractions rather than solutions, speech rather action, blame rather than comprehend. I call it the vicious circle. Blaming and chanting has never worked and it never will in the future.We need to face the fundamental problems in this nation as it is our responsibilty. As youths we need to stray away from those divisive tendencies (in as much as it could be so tempting) and stand tall , stand as one and act accordingly.

The era of the blame game is over, the question is what is the way forward and how would we make sure this never occurs anymore. We need solutions. I don't have all the answers but we need less talk and do more. Linda, you have started with a great initiative by making people aware. What have we all done as youths asides from commenting on the post, let's change our self, help and educate the next person and build a better nigeria.
I hope president Goodluck is watching as the nation is in his hands. If he chooses not to perform ,well 2015 is just right around the corner .
May the gentle souls of this youth corpers rest in peace.

T.A.

It is not enough I agree but it is a start.

Linda, thank you so much for putting up the petition. It is not enough, but it is a start. Thank you. Please spread it to everyone you know people. This mess must stop!!

kipkip said...

its high time people are held responsible for their actions in this country...those behind these heinous crime should be found out and made to face to the music.so so sad...

Adebola said...

I am disgusted!!! RIP another young soul gone!! I signed the Petition. :(

kai .. fine boy!!! God will punish those responsible!

I honestly think Hausa people (Moslems by extension) are very violent and have no regard for human life. I laugh inside me when I hear some people refer to Islam as a religion of peace. Imagine people who think that they will go to heaven by killing “infidels” (other people who have been made by the same God they claim to worship and are fighting for). Very funny isn’t it.

Sometimes I sincerely wonder what the colonial British Empire were thinking when they brought together people who are obviously very different. Then again I remember that it was for their benefit and selfish gains.

I schooled in one of the Federal schools in the old Sokoto state and made a vow not to go beyond Abuja ever again. I saw first hand what happens when for any reason our Hausa brothers get angry. As such I feel that southerners and in particular my Igbo kinsmen have borne the brunt of this “being Together” for long enough. What with the nonstop loss and waste of live and property. I then wonder if there will ever be an end to this recurrent lash out.

How can the families of these Corpers ever be comforted? This man was safe far away from home in England only to be killed by his own country men in a very brutal way. Therefore I ask again when or if this onslaught will ever stop or end. Is it possible for Hausa people who live in safety in Southern Nigeria allow others to live with them in Northern Nigerian without fear? Something really needs to be done about this problem and I think fast. Enough is enough!!!

NYSC MY ASS TO LOSE LOVED ONE. SUCKS

Uncle B said...

Don't let Ukeoma Ikechukwu, Obinna Okpokiri and their NYSC mates die in vain!!

I've actually started a FB group to help get justice for Ukeoma and his mates. The group's name is: justice for Ukeoma Ikechukwu, Obinna Okpokiri et al

Link-http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=group_179579825426318. There is also a twitter trend- #justiceforUkeomaetal-where you can make a comment. Please join and spread the word!

The man died who keeps silent in the face of tyranny-Wole Soyinka

nysc has outlived it's glory & relevance, it should be abolished.
May the souls of the corpers lost their lives RIP

don't ever, ever in your lives..and i am refering to everyone, judge those who refuse to return to this country damn forsaken country. This is why. Obinna may still be alive if he stayed put in Jand. i give up on that country

Teefah said...

This mess that is NYSC has got to stop.
No one is benefitting from it apart from the contractors who make uniforms and those ill fitting boots.
Why should young people be sacrificed for these ignorant assholes!
All corpers in the North should pack their belongings and head back home. I'm sorry to say but Northerners are so quick to act violently.
When I lived in Nigeria, any small beef in Idi Araba...and they are sharpening their matchetes and slaughtering people.
I am a Muslim, and this is very unislamic behaviour. Why are they so barbaric?

Shakara said...

Anon April 23, 2011 5:00 PM; so true. When my parents tell me to come home, i turn a deaf ear.

May Obinna's soul rest in perfect peace.

As for Buhari and his almajaris, hell awaits them.

Scrap the NYSC ASAP. Too sad!

For anyone who is having trouble signing the petition can you please try again, but please note the following:

Technical petition update: The automatic update system was messing up, so now it has been changed to a manual system. Meaning somebody has to download all the names that are entered before it shows up on the petition. This means when when you sign your name, it will not show up immediately, but it will show up. I am told that the list will be updated every hour. So please, sign it. Your name WILL appear.

FYI, that petition website/url has a very nasty virus abi malware lurking on it so please open the link with care! I'm still trying to get the malware off my system (writing from another PC)...

that iam nigerian does not make us at par said...

It is not enough to state that NYSC must go. Infact it does not solve anything. Obviously it is not just the leadership of this country that is a problem but also the followership especially in Northern Nigeria. Something is really wrong in a place like Bauchi... and they expect us to forget and sweep this under? I am not going to end this by saying enough is enough... Actions speak louder than words

Please disregard the anon with the malware comment. Trying hard to create some fear. Nothing wrong with the site - I have been there all day. Go ahead and sign freely!!

The religion of peace and love has s struck again. I'm sure these killers were told by some wild-eyed imam with a first grade education, that killing Igbos is written in the koran and they all ran with it because none of them can actually read.

Igbos, in dealing with the muslim northerners, we need to adopt the same attitude as the Jews in defending themselves against muslim attacks: "for every Jew a .22!"

We need to defend ourselves and communities against violent attacks.

We all need to stand up so that we can Scrap NYSC we really need to scrap that fucking program

@ Contra

I applaud your effort please do not give up even if you don't get the 1000 signatures needed before Tuesday election. We can still demand for the names of the dead and a memoriam in their honor. They died as heroes while serving their father's land and the government has a duty to recognize this and compensate the family accordingly.

@Contra: What possible reason would I have to just be generating fear needlessly? I'm not trying to discourage people from signing the petition.I support it every bit as much as you do. All I said is that people should be careful when opening the link, i.e. - make sure they have a reputable anti-virus/anti-malware program running in the background. The minute I opened the link I got a very nasty malware called "Windows Recovery" that I am trying to get off as I write. Just because it did not happen to you doesn't mean the malware isn't lurking around. SMH! We are really living in times of mistrust and suspicion.

Anyhow, forget you.
R.I.P. Obinna and people, please sign the petition!

jusSayin said...

May his soul rest in perfect peace.
This really needs to stop.

Please sign the petition, it only takes a second x

Get Nigeria Jobs said...

May the soul of our innocent Corpers never rest until everybody involved in this barbaric acts are killed. This is wickedness of the highest order. God help Nigeria

@ Anony

Like contra said, I have been on that site numerous times and did not see any thing like malaware.

Please people it takes less than a minute. Please keep signing.

am heavily pregnant and i just cant stop imaginig waat these youth corpers parent has gone through,God what will happen to his mother,thinking of what she has gone through to get him to that stage,heyyyyyyyyyyyyy God this is cruel,i was a banker @ Bauchi some years back and it was just God that saved my life at the last moment,we've left the banks guest house b4 they broke inn....i remember again today and i praise God,God please comfort his mum...that place is a no going zone,and perhaps wats the meaning of this nysc.....Nigerian leaders never change or think...since i was born in nigeria av never gained or benefit anything from my country....God bless united kingdom

r4biz said...

May his soul rest in peace.

Obinna, I weep for you tonight even though I didn't have the pleasure of meeting you.My heart is saddened because of your very unfortunate and untimely death. I dare not even think of what you and the other poor souls went through before your unfortunate demise. How, I wish you would have run into a bush or something. But I'm sure you did what you could to stay alive but the beast was just too much. You know, even though you left early, do not hurt or regret anything cos He knew abt it. At least you won't have to deal with frustrations and disappointments that the living go through. Rest in peace Obinna and Aik and all the other coppers that left us all too soon--rest in peace!

Am a muslim who wonders where in the Quran is it written that you'll go to heaven when you kill.the nigerian northerners should learn to respect "life" *clicking* there is judgement day and people will be judged individually.in one way or the other they will also go through the same pain the victims and families went thro'.the govt shouldnt let any stone unturned.may their souls RIP

Jennifer said...

this is really really sad. His killers will DEFINATELY reap the reward of their wickedness
May his soul rest in peace.

Olaadara said...

What is the essence of serving in a community that is never welcoming?
This things happens consecutively and we all are aware.
After much struggle in gaining a degree in a higher institution, we the youths unconsciously sign a death warrant all in the name of been a "patriotic citizen of Nigeria" in a region where they barely care about our well-being.
In my opinion, i think it is better everyone stay in their states or better still they scrap the so called "Youth Service" because it has no major significance. My life, the job, the future nothing appeared secured about it.

Imagine, someone suggesting it should be a 2-year plan, when he and his family at large can easily be placed in a "friend's office", that's if they will even consider serving at all. We know how it is done in this country of ours.

Linda, this thing is in their (northerners)blood and i do not perceive a change in their violent nature. Lives in Jos, Kaduna,Kastina, Bauchi, Kano everywhere in the north is at high risk and this it things literally occur in the north alone.

Have you heard of anyone been prosecuted at anytime this things occur? NO!

It is better to advocate for a situation where a corp serve in other states while the northerner serve in their region or scrap the NYSC. It is causing more harm than good to the youth. It is just a waste of our time. If i desire to serve my country, then i believe it should be done in my accord not under duress because that is what it appears like.

Chilling said...

Page 2 in Today's Punch; Post-election killings. NASS to review NYSC scheme.

In summary, the outgoing NASS may review the NYSC with a view to scrapping it or getting corpers to serve in their geo-political zones of origin (the Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu.)

They have to be dead serious about this! The scheme is now redundant.

JUST HEARD IN D NEWS NOW THAT COPERS IN TROUBLED STATE
SHD GO BACK HOME.........HUNNNNNN WHAT ABOUT D DEAD............WHAT BROUGHT ABOUT THE DECISION TO
USE COPERS IN D FIRST PLACE.......MY HEART GOES TO THEM ALL,,,,IT WAS A SAD WAY TO END ONES LIFE.WHAT ABOUT THEIR PARENTS AND FAMILIES....IM SO SICK AND TIRED OF THIS BARBARIC ACT......LET COPERS SERVE IN THEIR STATES PERIOD............RIP OBINNA AND OTHERS.......U A LOVED,,,,MM

This is sooooooooooooooooooo saaaaaaaaaaad!!!!!!!!

that is soo sad. i will never do my youth service in the north. abuja is as far as i will eva go. these ppl (muslims)shud get their own country since they can't live with other ppl.

kinns said...

TO OBINNA AND CO.:SLEEP IN PEACE DEAR ONES.
OBINNA WAS MY SCHOOL MATE @BISHOP NWEDO MEMORIAL BOYS' HIGH SCH. ABT 12 years ago & I can remember him as a tall, dark &handsome guy with impeccable manners.Back then his spoken English language was so impressive u'll be delighted to listen to argue with a rare form of superior intellectual prowess.A young man who loved life. To think that he left under such brute circumstance,in one of numerous cases of 'animals' inhumanity to man in northern nIGERIA I fear for the generation yet unborn.

MY condolence to his parents,loved ones and the remaining human family who share in this grief.

GOODNIGHT
ADIEU
SLEEP IN PEACE
GA NKE Ã’MA, OBINNA ET AL AS WE SORT OUT THIS PSYCHOTIC CONTRAPTION CALLED nIGERIA(whatever it means)!

ENOUGH MUST BE ENOUGH!

this is really sad. and the thought that he left london to come home and serve his country only to be killed even makes it more heart breaking. may his soul rest in peace. i hope these cpc extremists are brought to justice.

Udegbunam Chukwudi said...

Sad stuff no be small. I wonder why he chose to do his NYSC in the North considering the fact that Foreign trained students are allowed to choose where they want to serve in the country.

I personally chose Sokoto because I did my housejob there and it was relatively peaceful.

May his soul rest in peace. AMEN!

Honestly, am surprised that the President including the INEC chairman are doing nothing to these ciaos,is it a crime to serve your father land?Pls President take these matter serious and stop giving us your lacadestical attitude.

In Nigeria, it is now National youth service CORPSES. It is a sad day when the fools and uneducated are murdering the future of the nation. These young and brave men sacrificed their lives for Nigeria when the old get fat in the high offices. These young ones are heroes and they should be remembered as such. Unknown to them, they would be making such a great sacrifice for a nation that has not nurtured them. Adieu.

The big question we should be asking is: what will GEJ do about it?
Even Buhari called his bluff and told him to arrest him if dared. Imagine someone telling that to a ruling head of states. Seriously, i dont see our noise going nowhere. At the end of the day, these corpers death will be in vain. Buhari and Bakare, and even the people who are most complicit in this crime: the inciteful hausa local leaders will all get ministerial nomination from GEJ and become part of GEJ government like Atiku and IBB are now. Nigerians should poise to reap more whirlwind from this pussy they help elect. This is the worst we can all do: type online and shake our heads. How pathetic.

I was driven by the ineptitude of GEJ to support Buhari.
You can imagine my pain at this present time.Buhari confirm the fears of some Nigerians that he is barbaric and anti-human.
What has GEJ done besides instituting the usual silly committees to look into this killings?
The nation has been on fire,one bomb after another yet this clueless president and his band of court jesters are making incoherent speeches across town.
We need a real revolution in this country and gather all these clowns masquerading as leaders and throw them all into the lagoon (including Buhari).
By the way, i will only sign a petition to scrap NYSC.
None of my people will serve outside they states of residence.I will bribe they option through.
That is legitimate corruption.
That scheme has long outlived its usefulness.Scrap the damn thing.
But of course, someone is making money out of the blood of young Nigerians in the name of national integration.
Screw this damn nation and the thieves masquerading as leaders.
GEJ you have the mandate, put your hand out of your damn ass and do something.
We need strong leadership, stop playing politics with our lives and my future.

Udegbunam Chukwudi said...

I must say I was quite surprised to see corpers in today's elections in Northern states. Wetin N7,000 dey cause. I guess they weren't part of those who experienced the last riot live and direct.

i wonder why Buhari is not crying and shedding his crocodile tears now
i pray GOD will comfort obinna's family in JESUS name

Ban NYSC or revamp the youth service program. The sad deaths of youth corpers lynched during the recent elections should be the final nail on the coffin of this monolithic program. NYSC does have some merits though but it should be about security of life first. During service, I saw some of the worst examples of corruption, ‘tribalism’ and nepotism in our dear nation.

First of all, the leader of our platoon misappropriated the bulk of platoon money in his care on beer and cigarettes at Mammy Market. Then just before the bonfire night, the Yoruba and Ibo girls in another platoon fought about who should cook the rice given by the Commandant and Zonal Inspector to each platoon to celebrate the bonfire night. The Ibo girls spitefully said that they do not want ‘ofe mmanu’ (oil stew), as a racial slur towards the Yoruba girls. The Yoruba girls retorted that the Ibo girls would cook mass-production ‘rice pottage’, as Ibos normally do. The boys in the platoon intervened, and so all the girls decided to prepare the meal together. I am sure you have heard the saying that too many cooks spoil the broth – these ones murdered it. The outcome was mass production rice pottage floating in a sea of oil. Corpers still chopped it sha.

In its place, a program should be created where youths who graduate have the option of working on huge Federal funded modernized plantations and dairy farms growing food and cash crops. Here, we can solve the unemployment and food problem in one fell swoop.

www.woahnigeria.wordpress.com

@April 23, 2011 5:59 PM you are right about idiaraba the Hausa were animals once a little spark like this they start sharpening their knives and go on a slaughter hunt it is really sad.

Imagine this young man coming from London to go and die in 9ja. I am now glad that i did not leave London as well to do my NYSC in 9ja it probably could have been me. GEJ I HOPE YOU ARE LISTENING PUT PRESSURE FOR THIS NYSC TO BE SCRAPPED. Remember GEJ it could have been your family member that this could have happened to enough said!!!

The worst thing we can do to ourselves as a nation is to move on with our lives as if these murders never happened.The western world often declares an official day of mourning in such cases.The reason they do this is to make a statement, expressing the value they place on a life.And we in turn value the Europeans because of this.Who will value us as Africans if we fail to value ourselves.We ought to declare a public holiday as a day of mourning and build a memorial in honor of the dead and their families.That will send a message to the world that we do value our existence and a message to the instigators that we know the gravity of what they have done and that possibility of a trial.