The Nigerian woman who stole identities in £1.3m fraud | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 14 April 2011

The Nigerian woman who stole identities in £1.3m fraud

Olajumoke Ademuyiwa
A woman who helped to steal hundreds of identities and fraudulently claimed over £1.3m of tax credits has been jailed for four years.

Olajumoke Ademuyiwa, 42, from Canning Town, a former Jobcentre Plus employee, was part of a Nigerian-led gang, a court heard. She was arrested in July 2008.

And a search of her home in Tarling Road uncovered evidence of the fraud taking place, including the details of at least 40 bank accounts held in the gang’s names and aliases.

There was also documentation which held hundreds of innocent people’s identities.
Revenue and Customs investigators also seized £25,000, which are believed to be proceeds of the crimes and will be subject to confiscation proceedings, to be calculated at a later stage.

Ademuyiwa was found guilty of fraudulently obtaining payments of tax credits, by using the names and home addresses of unsuspecting individuals without their consent and acquiring criminal property.

When sentencing, His Honour Judge Simon Davis told her: “You demonstrated blatant disregard for the truth, not only in the witness box where you lied and lied and lied, but also with documentation used in the fraud.
“With your role in attacking the revenue, you lied and turned things upside down which the jury saw through
“You played an essential role as a helper beyond the scope of just opening bank accounts in the fraud.”

Her accomplice, Olaide (John) Taiwo, 35, a security guard from Camberwell, south-east London was jailed for eight and a half years for his part in the scam at Inner London Crown Court.

Richard Young, acting Assistant Director for HM Revenue & Customs said:
“The lengthy jail sentences given to this pair will act as a deterrent to anyone considering committing this type of crime.
“Over a four year period, they deliberately attacked and abused a system designed to provide financial help to the most vulnerable people in our society, by submitting over 300 fraudulent tax credit claims.”

Anyone with information about Tax Credits fraud, is urged to call the National Benefit Fraud Hotline on 0800 854 440.

News source

24 comments:

bimbo said...

these pple jus make me sick!!

Surprise said...

The face of a thief. It is even boldly written all over her face. You can vividly see determination to defraud in her frowned face.

9jaFOODie said...

Like we need more pple tarnishing our image...grrrrr

I think she attends one of the redemeed churches (RCCG) here in London. If I am correct, she dresses flashy. Na wah oh...

Chilling said...

No wonder those of us trying to eke a decent living are "somewhat tainted" by activities of morons like these. We shall prevail.

ChiChiLuv said...

Na wa o! People don't have conscience, now she is going to leave her family and go to jail, and for what?

how come the guy got a higher jail term than her?

cece said...

What has RCCG got to do with her crime,Mr Anonymous?

MOGBO MO BRANCH said...

at the end of the day this useless people all they use the money for is to buy expensive lace, gold, drive a car and show off....you see them a lot in U.S also, they should have given her 20yrs in jail, because when she come out most likely she will go back doing it....that fraud thing is a spirit.

Upon all dey money whey she teaf she no fit upgrade her weave-on?! Chai, wor-worness to d max...ole buruku

there are people doing crimes all the time everywhere, so why is it that when its a Nigerian, its always turned into a bigger deal. all this "tainting/tarnishing our image" thing. why is it that these few people always get their stories blown up, and then other will start screaming about tainted images. is it only Nigerians that do this? come on. what she did was bad, but people like to blow things up anytime its a Nigerian.

james said...

such a good looking lady. well, i pray for her forgiveness of sin and also for the holy spirit to touch her life for better repentance and to be committed totally to christ in jesus name. Amen.

remember we all are sinners in one way or another.

This is ridiculous- what does the fact that she is Nigeria have to do with her stealing? That said, she is a complete disgrace to women!

oh my God!this is another Ruth Aki nz

And she couldn't buy beta hair? Swagless woman!

I know some people will attack and accuse me of creating a tribal war...But this is to show all those short minded commenters that were writing trash about igbo tribe and crime with regards to the Nigerian man that is awaiting death sentence in Vietnam....I guess this Nigerian woman is Igbo too...and this makes my point that crime is crime and it has nothing to do with where the criminal is from....

eyah see this poor yoruba thief o,the first ever abi?where are those fast fingers and brainless morons who are quick to conclude that the ibo man is so so evil.wa wo ooo,shebi this is one of ur people.all humans are capable of crimes,no matter how small...tellings smalls lies is also considered a crime!

Royal connections RCCG to be precise.She was a 2nd wife .Not that flashy cos she drove a honda HRV but the jewelry spoke.The 1st ex-wife got an acquittal.The hubby siddon for Ib city dey live large.Let's hope he waits for her

Smh. Na wah for Yoruba people. They can't even do a small "job" without getting caught. Amateurs. Smh.

with all that money..na wor wor wig she dey buy so

IJEOMA said...

@surprise.

How the hell does that statement make sense.. And if it does, then i can vividly see the mark of stupidity written all over your post.

Nigerians need to do better!

@CeCe, u don hear am?

@Anon 1:51AM, thank God for your life; for telling the truth and nothing but the whole truth. God shall continuously bless the work of your hands in Jesus mighty name Amen.

Ole buru ku royal connections.... :)

na dis one una go see wat of our so called leaders obj and others . fuck fuck you nigeria

Surprise said...

@IJEOMA..

Stop nagging. Lol