He captioned the photo: “So proud of my Ivy League daughter… brains and beauty channelling her Edie Sedgwick.”
In reply to the photo, one Twitter user wrote: "Yep, she’s gorgeous, however, most fathers don’t share lingerie pics of their daughters on social media Mr Creepypants.”
Following the backlash, Michael Cohen targeted one of the critics and called her "jealous" and a "hater" for criticising the photo. He went on to add that the photo is a remake from an old Edie Sedgwick photo.
He wrote: "Beauty and brains you a**hole! It’s a modelling shot remake from an old Edie Sedgwick photo #hater"
Samantha, who is studying at the University of Pennsylvania, shared the same photo on her own Instagram and captioned it:
“Edie Sedgwick vibes. You can find me in the factory.”
In spite of Cohen's explanation, negative replies still followed his post.
Mischa Henckel tweeted: “Don’t put your half naked child on Twitter!!! What kind of parent does that?”
“She’s lovely. But seriously dude, no cap & gown pics available? Think before you post. If she has got brains, she didn’t get them from you,” another wrote.
Samantha has defended her father's post and said there was nothing inappropriate about it.
“My father, who has always been supportive of my endeavours, was merely expressing his pride. There is nothing inappropriate in the picture and those who seek to make it something it is not are merely Trump haters who are using this as an opportunity to stir up drama," she wrote.

15 comments:
BAD ROLE MODEL
Their wahala ooooo... dee
There's nothing wrong with this picture.. i mean she's not naked.. maybe she's a model who knows. Why can't people just mind their own biz
Oh well
All I see is a really pretty girl and a loving proud dad ...awwwww
There is nothing wrong here. These days people re just too sensitive on social media.
Linda, is it okay for you to post transgender pictures?
If he's in support of wat she's doin den i c nuffn wrong
Beautiful
Jamb just released 57000 results of candidates that wrote on Saturday..
Jamb 2017 result is out - see how to check it
Aunty Linda,is it that you don't have stories to post again that you have resorted to such meaningless post to Nogerians. People email you much interesting stories and you ignore them only to bore us with this rubbish. Please desist from such worthless post to Nigerians.
Where is the underwear pic??? I see absolutely nothing untoward here. Just a pic of a pretty young woman, shared by an adoring father.
people can sabi buy trouble where there isn't any!
She is really beautiful
People must always give necessary comments even when not necessary. What is wrong with this pix 4 crying out loud? Bad belle pple.
Pretty girl