The detail was given in court papers filed by Union of Niger Delta Youth Organisation for Equity, Justice and Good Governance on behalf of the former First Lady, against the Socio-Economic Rights and Accountability Project (SERAP) .
The suit with number FHC/L/CS/1349/2016 before a Federal High Court in Lagos, accuses SERAP of using online, print and electronic media to publish to the public unfounded and malicious allegations that she stole $15m (US), urging for her prosecution.
"The funds in question were legitimate gifts from her friends and well-wishers over the last 15 years which she had been saving in order to utilize to upgrade family businesses and concerns which had been somewhat dormant by reason of the long period of her husband service as a public officer in Nigeria.
"The gifts were given in small contributions by several persons some of whom she cannot even now recall over this period of 15 years sometimes in as small a gift as N250,000 Naira. In order to preserve the value of these funds which she did not require for any purpose at the time she changed them into foreign exchange and kept them as cash for a long period in her home safe in Port Harcourt and Abuja.
"It was when the family home in Otuoke was burnt down by hoodlums under the instigation of political adversaries in 2010 that she began to think about banking these gifts which had now grown to large sums in United States Dollars. In 2010 she therefore summoned one of her husband’s domestic aides, Waripamo-Owei Emmanuel Dudafa to assist her in opening bank accounts into which the funds could be deposited
"Unknown to her the said Dudafa in a bid to be discreet about the owner of the funds decided to bank the funds in the names of companies owned by him. When she discovered this she was constrained to continue with the names of the companies when she was advised that it did not make any difference as to the ownership of the funds since the director of the company would appoint her as sole signatory to the accounts in question
"When in 2016 Dudafa was arrested and detained she had no fear for the funds as she realized that the funds could not be attributable to him once it was discovered that she was the sole signatory to the said accounts. It was therefore a rude shock to her when she discovered that a no transaction order had been placed on the accounts by the EFCC in the belief that the funds belonged to Dudafa.
"She instructed her solicitors to further write to the EFCC to inform them that the funds belong to her and that they formed a part of her legitimate earnings over the last 15 years. It was this letter that was leaked by the EFCC to the media that became sensationalised and led to the plaintiff’s vilification and attack by ignorant persons who had no information about the matter
"SERAP is playing to the public gallery in order to gain the notoriety it has achieved over the past years. SERAP has done this mostly by intervening in high profile issues without regard to the rights of persons it claims to protect. SERAP jumped into the fray of ignorant accusations being made against Mrs Dame Patience Jonathan in the public media and has begun a campaign of calumny against her using online, print and electronic media to publish to the public unfounded and malicious allegations that she stole the funds in question and ought to be prosecuted.".
91 comments:
Jesu!
Cheeeiii mama pee pee pee u can lie o o..dis lies u're sharing deres God o o
They give you gifts because you dun turn Charity
Cheeeiii mama pee pee pee u can lie o o..dis lies u're sharing deres God o o
Issokey, mama peace we hear u.
It's well
She can say anything? Can she name the people who have her the gifts?
Hmmmm deris God oo
Friends and well-wishers indeed, lmfao, there is God o... Double your hustle
Blatant liar! Linda take note!
Please my friends I need ur help, am just a struggling lady trying to make ends meet, have manage to rent a one room apartment but can't park in ever since because have not gotten the fund for it to hire a vehicle to park in. Please I need financial help. In anyway any of you can support me with anything I will so appreciate it.
Patience Really???? Ok ohh.
Apply for the latest nursery jobs in lagos Now!!!
www.childminder.ng/nursery-staff-recruitment
NOT FOR HER MAMA ANYMORE?
This shameless woman is still embarrassing her Husband upandan.
U can take it 2 the Bank that Jonathan is a Sad Man, a development solely caused by his greedy wife.
What the hell is this please? Why is this woman even still free? She previously said the money was from the companies, now they are gifts. Who the hell has friends that gives them so much? I swear if Nigeria accept this stupid excuse, then Nigeria is really a hell hole that would see no light of day. I am so so angry that people think they can play the system like this. The effrontery!
Ps. Remember this is the woman that was caught at the airport with thousands of dollar while her husband was still governor... Yet no case was filed against her.
I am so so angry! 😠😠😠ðŸ˜
Well said and articulate.Most Nigerians are just in the dark.Very Nice.
Deal with it folks, Santa came earlier! #ThereisGodOh
OK they should leave this woman jor after all Aisha is there spending and wasting our money on wears and bags so what is the difference?
Tell this story to kindergarten children, pls
Linda let her know there is something called "SELF-RESPECT" biko
Omg... smh. Playing games with the law. As dis excuse will give dem reasonable doubt
GOOD TO SEE
So friends and well wishers gives u 1m dollar per year for the 15years in office to Marge the exact 15m dollars ... Na wao...
Aisha Buhari from the other Room has made more Money from FOREX Deals alone than Patience Jonathan
Story for the gods,does some of these lawyers fear god or even go to any church at all.just to be told how sinful lie is,
Why can't this imbecilic illiterate woman keep shut. Look at her mouth like an idiot.
OMG! See how dis story was well constructed, n it's totly difrent from wat dat guy dat came on channels to say. N bsides y didn't she say all dis b4. Who d hell go give u gift? 250k haba ma da lie no enter naaaaw, ur English nno good, ur lie too con terible mtheeeew
bloody liar. Hit cool cash dis weekend! Get your stunning soccer prediction tips for Saturday, 22nd October 2016 @ www.fortunatusblog.com
Thief! Clueless woman
You people don't even know how to lie. This woman should be behind bars already
Make una leav mama p alone
Fifteen million dollars! Gifts from friends & well wishers? This woman is more dumb than I thought.Oya Igbo youths & Niger Delta youths begin to clap for yourselves. This woman & her advisers have clearly not read public service rules.In fact,she just dug a BIG HOLE for herself.Hehehehehe! I am laughing in Efik.
Cook up story!
Is this so called "Niger Delta Youth" are now Mrs. Jonathan's lawyer?
Let madam go with prove that this money belongs to her rather than organising some ignorant youth to start dancing shamelessly on the street.
These people must be so dumb.It beggars belief..
Please how many lies have we heard about this over the past few weeks? I thought Linda posted a man from one fraudulent human right organisation who came on Channels Tv to declare that the money was her mother's who was into petty trading? And when they asked him how he knew this he said Patience told him. Oya, which one we wan believe now?? Awon ole BUURUUKUU with no shame!!
Dis is very stupid nd childish. R we fools?
Cooked soup, d story too get wings
Slam them Mama Patience. They think they can write anything and go Scott free. Slam, Slam , slam them again. As long as you have the evidence to back it up, am solidly behind you.
This time, they messed with the wrong person. Show them. They thought is Oga jona who overlooks every thing they write. Mama P, fire on.
How lucky? What will Mrs Obama say? So $15m were gifts hmmmmmmm Coward.
Patience Jonathan you are a shameless thief! God would embarrass and punish her for stealing money and leaving millions of Nigerian hungry.
Now d third (3rd) lie,sebi?! Patience Jonathan is so dumb and such a pathetic liar and thief! Definitely, her people and her unintelligent "mumu" supporters will hail her again..
Only God can fight for ordinary man. The way govt thieves lie as if we are babies. Even a toddler can tell this is a cheap lie. Baba God help us
That's a muthafuckin lie (in Nelly's voice)
HOW MANY LIES WILL THEY TELL US... FROM YOUR MEDICAL MONEY TO YOUR MOTHERS MONEY NOW IT IS FRIENDS AND WELL WISHERS .... YOU JUST WANT TO DRAG THE NAME OF YOUR HUSBAND INTO THE MUD.... MUMU WOMAN.... NA ONLY YOU WAKA COME FOR THIS ONE O....
Akiko
Bloody liar. So d moni is no longer business moni but gifts from friends over d years na. Wa o. dis woman can lie ooo
ole..no be only gift...bribe money that caused u and your husband 2015 election..
BEFORE IT WAS FOR MEDICAL ISSUES, NOW ITS GIFTS FROM WELL WISHERS...HA!! MAMA PEACE E DON DO!
The story stinks, can you just shut up already and stop insulting our collective intelligence.
Ole! Ajibole!!
What shitfuck is this!? Are we this low in this country? Was this why Patience was wailing that Buhari will jail them when he gets elected? I will advice Patience to cook up another another story in the next two weeks. If that too doesn't jell cook up some more. We will never tire to hear you out. We are patient to Patience's stories.
Nigerians are not stupid, keep deceiving yourself your cup will soon full...shameless looter!
this criminal/ looter is very silly. so madam, u saved 15 million USA DOLLARS right? as dangote wey u be?
it's not only gift from well wishers...
Aishia is getting dollar 197 and selling for 400 and buying bag of 26 million and no body is talking... We dey watch
So , They are all giving u gift in dollars abi , Your MUMUNISM no be here o. Your big mouth is finally catching up with you.
Lol...eyahhh, they should leave her alone jor
THIS IS AN INSULT TO THE WAILING WAILERS (FREEBORN&CO), IT SHOWS THEY ARE NOT INTELLIGENT TO KEEP PRAISING JONATHAN AND HER WIFE.HER LEVEL OF REASONING BAFFLES ME, IS SHE NOT A FORMER GOVERNOR AND PRESIDENTS WIFE? SHE STOLE MORE THAN CAN CHEW THIS TIME!GAME UP, ARREST HER, FREEBORN CAN GO HELP CARRY HER PURSE IN JAIL.
You know dear ur comment has nothing related with the post...take it or leave it...dat woman was more of the president than her husband. ..jail her already
it is only God that can save this country from all these thieves call Nigeria, mama de lier u too know say na lie u they lie, may God punish you all that put this country in this mess, God will judge u all
Kai, una no sabi lie. All efcc has to do is pull out your bank statement. I'm sure the statement will say a different thing, like, 15m was deposited between Dec 2014 and April 2015!
Just look at this shameless pathological liar. Gifts indeed
Ask mama peace to help u
Of course Nigeria are not stupid to believe in ur dead Govt and old kitchen brain president....how do u question someone over her said savings for 15years? Is that timing too short for ur foolish self to concur or what? How much is $15m which I bet you Aisha buhari,Amaechi,wife of several governors can cough out in their sleep?leave the Jonathan family alone...don't provoke d people further against this foolish Govt...chasing shadow..occupy Pa Buhari's brain...he has lost touch with the generation...mama peace just served them right..nice response
Your friends gave you 15 million dollars? So You have 6 billion naira from gifts of well wishers? That lie is lame Dame.
Buhari, leave this woman alone and face your work!!!
Abacha,'s loots are still hanging up and down 10yrs after his death. So make I hear word, abeg!!!
OMG! Really!!madam patient has turned into a charity case.U re a greedy woman. You were the same woman that introduced the slogan "theres God"have u forgotten already or u think the God is dead? Swine!!!
DIS MARKET WOMAN DON CHANGE HER STORY THREE TIMES.
DIS THIEF NO CARE, SHE DON DEY DO AM FOR LONG TIME.
SHE NEEDS TO GO TO PRISON.
Hello Jane give me your number.
Or better still call me on 08022874103
See as she open mouth like frog. Thief!
This hipopotamus woman should keep deceiving herself. She thinks she can deceive Nigerians. Let her mention the names of her friends that gave her the money and let those friends be probed. Shameless woman!
Madam Patience, first you said the money is for your medical bills, later you said it is for your mother, now you are saying it is gifts from friends and well wishers. Do you think you are talking to primary school children? Do you think Nigerians are as dumb as you? Keep deceiving yourself and embarrassing your husband. Shameless rogue!
This woman's lies can wake up a dead man from the grave. Chai
There is a proverb that says; "A liar has no memory". This woman has forgotten that she told us that the money is her hard earned sweat that was meant for her medical bills. Now, the money is from friends and well wishers. Na so the friends love you reach for inside this economic recession? Can you please mention the names of those friends? And can those friends be probed?
Only in Nigeria will they catch a thief and the known thief will organise youths to protest and threaten federal government no to arrest the thief. Kai Nigeria don suffer. I dey shame for my country!
@Segun Braimoh you are a fool. Is Aisha's business a legitimate private business or not? Does she have the licence to operate the business or not? How can you compare stolen government money to a private legitimate business? Why are you supporting Patience Jonathan's corrupt act? Why are you supporting corruption? Even if Aisha is making money, does that make it right for Patience to loot government money and put Nigeria in recession? It is because of people like you that Nigeria is not progressing. Idiot!
First condemn Patience's corrupt act before pointing accusing finger at others
If Aisha Buhari is making money as you claim, does it justify Patience Jonathan's stealing and looting? Please comment sensibly!
At least she is doing private Business. She is not stealing government money like patience
Everybody can do dollar business. Even me, i do dollar business to survive. So, it is no big deal to do dollar business. But Patience stole government money and she cannot account for the money but Aisha can account for the private business she is doing. So dont compare the two. There is no comparism at all.
I bought dollar at 168 when dollar was good far back and kept it and i am selling now at N450. So what's the big deal in doing dollar business? Abegi discuss the issue on ground and stop distracting and digressing from the stealing of Patience
She came to change it at your bureau de change'? You personally changed the money for her? Some of you should just go & put your mouth by a pit toilet.That's where it belongs.
shameless looters. African leaders are the underdevelopers of Africa.