Read the press statement below...
Rivers State Government will immortalise Mr Samuel Okonta, the Corps Member who lost his life during the rerun legislative elections in the State, Governor Nyesom Ezenwo Wike has announced. He also declared that the State Government will provide all necessary assistance for the police to investigate the killing of the corps member, with a view to identifying those responsible and prosecuting them.
Speaking at the Rivers
State National Youth Service Corps, NYSC, Headquarters in Port
Harcourt on Wednesday, Governor Wike also announced an increment
in the montly allowance of corps members serving outside Port
Harcourt from N10, 000 to N15000. He also increased the state monthly
allowance of corps members serving in Port Harcourt from N5000 to
N10000.
He expressed sadness
that the corps member died serving the nation. He said that the Rivers
State Government will take care of the family of the late corps
member.
Governor Wike noted that the death is
even more painful because the corps member was an orphan who suffered
through schooling and was on the verge of being of help to his
immediate family.
He said: "The death of this
corps member is unfortunate and condemnable. I urge the Police to
thoroughly investigate the crime. The outcome of the investigation
should be made public so that those involved are prosecuted. The
killing of this corps member must not be swept under the carpet.
"I
call for post mortem on the corpse of the corps member so that we can
ascertain the type of bullet and type of gun that killed him. The
post mortem will also determine who bears that type of gun that killed
the corps member ".
The governor said his
administration will also take measures to improve security in the
state. He said that steps will be taken to ensure that the incident
does not reoccur.
He also commiserated with the Department of State Services , over the death of their
State
Coordinator of the NYSC, Mrs Ngozi Nwatarali commended the governor
for commiserating with the NYSC at its moment of grief. She appealed
for greater protection for corps members during elections.
Responding
on behalf of the family, Alex Edeabeatu thanked the Governor for
his gesture. He said that the late corps member was a shining
light.
Simeon Nwakaudu,
Special Assistant to the Rivers State Governor, Electronic Media.
23rd March, 2016.
42 comments:
R.I.P to the corper.
Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?
That's Whatsup. PDP fast thinkers not like the apc dull old fools. Engr Emy
Good! May his soul continue to rest in peace
That's Whatsup. PDP fast thinkers not like the apc dull old fools. Engr Emy
My governor my governor i hear u sir.
Who else if not mallam amech thugs but God will expose all of them.
May God console the family of the young guy.
Say no to a..p...c and say no to there thugs.
Now all corp members will work their transfer to Rivers state . Lolzz
Damolia.DEW
We are waiting to see if all this will be done,😕😕,,all na word of the mouth🙅🙅..rubbish people😠😠
Good job tho|like I always say,if a container is change without the content been change all reamine the same!
Nice..
May his soul Rip
He do well.
Rip sad story
May his soul rest in peace
The type of bullet will not tell who shot the youth corp member. Most of your thugs in Rivers state have similar guns to that of the armed forces. Let the police do the investigations the best way they can and we are waiting to see who the culprits are.
Tussle for power and insecurity caused this,immortalization will not bring dem back too life!do your job and stop using petty means for pacification
they should stop using corps members for election to avoid things like this.
Abeg make una help us pay up all the backlog amechi owed..it's not fair that children left their homes to come serve 'fatherland ' in rivers state n went back empty handed till date..
So you say. mtchewww.
Immortality in Celine Dion's voice......may his soul rest in peace.......ProudlyDeltan
Jesus Christ
An orphan. What a world.
Why the sudden death of an innocent man?
May his blood hurt those that killed him.
What a wicked world
4get that nonsense investigation
Bullshit talk political pussey talk howin d hell aredey gonna immortalize him.Abeg leave gossip for market women person way don die don die.Aluu 4 till date nothing
I have a mixed feeling, but nice move but must blood be spillled before positive decisions that would affect the downtrodden are made? must BLOOD always be the ultimate price for basic needs to be met?
Nice1 by Mr governor but my question is must some1 always die for change to happen?
This is image-saving! They are not going to hunt no jack!!! deception everywhere.... May the souls of the departed rest in peace.
Dey had to wait for the innocent people to die first. Useless people! Linda take note!
I like that aspect of the monthly increment of allowance.thank you Mr Samuel Okonta you will always be remembered that it was because of. Your death that rivers state monthly allowance was Increase.may your soul rest in peace.
What will that do for them
Nice one....just hope u go on with the prosecution if it turns out to be your thugs that murdered him
Will the so called immortalization bring that young man back to life? In pursuit of power, innocent blood are being shielded. God will help u people.
Rivers state full of gutter people, murderers, killers, cultists and touts. Useless state. Killer tout as governor. Backward bunch of people.
Pretentious gov'nor.Always forming holy.
Good one Dike! Commendable
No be only immortalize rubbish,increasin d monthly allowance wont clean d slate,datz to show u dat all diz politicianz dey r juz too evil...Our problem diz dayz r nt juz d hand work satan but d evil thought of men...juz sayin
Good gesture, RIP
Is good wat the govt want to do partening to increment of state allowance. But let them look in to the matter of the backlog the state is owing. This corp members served and work deli gently and the state is owing them.and the state coordinator is not doing anything. Linda ikeji pls help publish this. Is not good for people to work and not get paid.
Shut up Bitch
Empty promises.......currently servin in rivers state n even the 5k hasnt bin paid talkless of the increment......lets wait n c naw😪😪😪😪
The same man who asked those coming to conduct elections in Rivers State,to write their wills & say their last prayers?
Oops! I served in Rivers state, finished serving since Oct 10th 2013. Am yet to get my state allowance, and d governor is talking about increment # story for d gods#