Rivers State Government to immortalise slain corps member - Wike | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 24 March 2016

Rivers State Government to immortalise slain corps member - Wike

Read the press statement below...
Rivers State Government will immortalise Mr Samuel Okonta,  the Corps Member who lost his life during the  rerun  legislative  elections  in  the State,  Governor Nyesom Ezenwo Wike  has  announced. He  also declared  that  the  State Government  will provide  all necessary  assistance  for the police to investigate  the killing of the corps member, with a view to  identifying those responsible  and prosecuting  them.

Speaking  at  the  Rivers State National Youth Service Corps, NYSC,  Headquarters  in  Port Harcourt  on  Wednesday,  Governor  Wike  also announced  an increment  in the  montly allowance  of  corps members  serving  outside  Port Harcourt  from N10, 000 to N15000. He also increased the state monthly allowance of  corps members  serving  in  Port Harcourt  from N5000  to N10000. 

He expressed sadness  that the corps member  died serving the nation. He said that the Rivers  State Government will take care of the family of the late corps member.

Governor Wike  noted that  the death is even more painful  because  the corps member was an orphan who suffered through schooling  and was on the verge of being of help to his immediate  family. 

He said: "The death of this corps member  is unfortunate  and condemnable.  I urge the Police to thoroughly  investigate the crime. The outcome  of  the  investigation  should  be made public so that those involved  are prosecuted. The killing  of  this corps member  must not be  swept under the carpet. 

"I call for post mortem on the corpse of the corps member  so that we can  ascertain  the  type of bullet and type of  gun that killed him. The post mortem will also determine who bears that type of gun that  killed  the corps  member ".

The governor  said  his administration  will also take measures  to improve  security  in the state. He said  that  steps will be taken to ensure  that  the incident  does not reoccur. 

He also commiserated with the Department  of  State Services , over the death of their 

State Coordinator of the NYSC, Mrs Ngozi Nwatarali commended the  governor  for commiserating with the NYSC  at its moment  of grief. She appealed  for greater protection  for corps members  during  elections. 

Responding  on behalf  of  the  family,  Alex Edeabeatu  thanked the Governor  for his gesture.  He said  that  the  late corps member was a shining  light.

Simeon Nwakaudu, 
Special Assistant to the Rivers State Governor, Electronic Media. 

23rd March,  2016.

42 comments:

Kayode Odusanya said...

R.I.P to the corper.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

7F098C19 said...

That's Whatsup. PDP fast thinkers not like the apc dull old fools. Engr Emy

Good! May his soul continue to rest in peace

7F098C19 said...

That's Whatsup. PDP fast thinkers not like the apc dull old fools. Engr Emy

My governor my governor i hear u sir.
Who else if not mallam amech thugs but God will expose all of them.
May God console the family of the young guy.
Say no to a..p...c and say no to there thugs.

Now all corp members will work their transfer to Rivers state . Lolzz

Damolia.DEW

We are waiting to see if all this will be done,😕😕,,all na word of the mouth🙅🙅..rubbish people😠😠

oben said...

Good job tho|like I always say,if a container is change without the content been change all reamine the same!

Nice..

May his soul Rip

He do well.

Emilia said...

Rip sad story

PrettyChi said...

May his soul rest in peace

The type of bullet will not tell who shot the youth corp member. Most of your thugs in Rivers state have similar guns to that of the armed forces. Let the police do the investigations the best way they can and we are waiting to see who the culprits are.

Tussle for power and insecurity caused this,immortalization will not bring dem back too life!do your job and stop using petty means for pacification

they should stop using corps members for election to avoid things like this.

Debutante aka who anonymous don help said...

Abeg make una help us pay up all the backlog amechi owed..it's not fair that children left their homes to come serve 'fatherland ' in rivers state n went back empty handed till date..

So you say. mtchewww.

ProudlyDeltan15 said...

Immortality in Celine Dion's voice......may his soul rest in peace.......ProudlyDeltan

Jesus Christ
An orphan. What a world.
Why the sudden death of an innocent man?
May his blood hurt those that killed him.
What a wicked world

chyyy said...

4get that nonsense investigation

hrm paul ojeih said...

Bullshit talk political pussey talk howin d hell aredey gonna immortalize him.Abeg leave gossip for market women person way don die don die.Aluu 4 till date nothing

I have a mixed feeling, but nice move but must blood be spillled before positive decisions that would affect the downtrodden are made? must BLOOD always be the ultimate price for basic needs to be met?

likedemslim said...

Nice1 by Mr governor but my question is must some1 always die for change to happen?

This is image-saving! They are not going to hunt no jack!!! deception everywhere.... May the souls of the departed rest in peace.

Dey had to wait for the innocent people to die first. Useless people! Linda take note!

cutestlove said...

I like that aspect of the monthly increment of allowance.thank you Mr Samuel Okonta you will always be remembered that it was because of. Your death that rivers state monthly allowance was Increase.may your soul rest in peace.

uju juliet said...

What will that do for them

Nice one....just hope u go on with the prosecution if it turns out to be your thugs that murdered him

Will the so called immortalization bring that young man back to life? In pursuit of power, innocent blood are being shielded. God will help u people.

Rivers state full of gutter people, murderers, killers, cultists and touts. Useless state. Killer tout as governor. Backward bunch of people.

FRESH said...

Pretentious gov'nor.Always forming holy.

Jude Akinwole said...

Good one Dike! Commendable

MaestroRex said...

No be only immortalize rubbish,increasin d monthly allowance wont clean d slate,datz to show u dat all diz politicianz dey r juz too evil...Our problem diz dayz r nt juz d hand work satan but d evil thought of men...juz sayin

Good gesture, RIP

Is good wat the govt want to do partening to increment of state allowance. But let them look in to the matter of the backlog the state is owing. This corp members served and work deli gently and the state is owing them.and the state coordinator is not doing anything. Linda ikeji pls help publish this. Is not good for people to work and not get paid.

Shut up Bitch

choqlatelymart said...

Empty promises.......currently servin in rivers state n even the 5k hasnt bin paid talkless of the increment......lets wait n c naw😪😪😪😪

FRESH said...

The same man who asked those coming to conduct elections in Rivers State,to write their wills & say their last prayers?

Blizzy said...

Oops! I served in Rivers state, finished serving since Oct 10th 2013. Am yet to get my state allowance, and d governor is talking about increment # story for d gods#