Lol. See the nonsense UberFacts wrote about electricity in Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 30 April 2015

Lol. See the nonsense UberFacts wrote about electricity in Nigeria

Nigeria's electricity problem might be bad but it has not reached this level na. Choi!

138 comments:

Real nonsense

Hmmmmmm ok

See exaggeration

Let them instal sense

funny but so true

6 Exercise Mistake Click Here To Avoid these common Mistake and burn fat twice as fast

its something else

6 Exercise Mistake Click Here To Avoid these common Mistake and burn fat twice as fast

It's not nonsense linda it's d truth

Hahahahahhaaaa. I agree with this Linda.
We barely see light during the day. Mostly gen

hotgirl said...

Very true!
Linda be truth ful.

It not their fault naw.

I'm not surprised and I can't really blame them.

We don't need toasters, toast bread does not go well with akara...too dry!

Bomb dey d guy head. Mtcheewww. I stil love my country for its unique nature of always taking light. Lol

ebony said...

They even hyped it sef. My light just came on an off after only one min for d whole of today.nonsence!!!!

they r crazy...

Una papa😡

E don reach pass self lol.

Nonsense indeed. Inshort it should be changed to Ubanonsense cos I see no fact in the tweet.

Hehehe Uber where's thy chill?
Phew! Can you imagine.

obietrezy said...

Nice fact jare. Ms linda they're very correct.

It has reach this level o maybe Linda Becos you use generator or invert er, u dnt knw what the average nigerians face. Am very sure if some nigerians no see food chop, and light dey, dey might not fill hungry...y are my using the world "they" abeg let me use "we"including me.

We deserve every joke we get

WTF???? Really??? We don see something 4 dis country!!!

Zamani said...

That's not true

Rellaidiovo.blogspot.com

Linda, really!! Pls try & broaden your knowledge outside dis blog of yours

Uberfacts is a comedian.

-PHILEO

AQO said...

If I slap the taste out of their mouths!!

Obioha Nnamdi said...

C'mon Linda!!!... They are soooo CORRECT. I am ashamed to be called a Nigerian wen citizens of other countries are mentioned in this particular regard!... Shame on the Federal Republic of Nigerian Government.

Hahaha, but it true tho. it's that bad!

www.KoboUp.com said...

What a big insult indeed....www.KoboUp.com

Hahahha
If it pains dem, dey should improve
Simple

That Function Gurl said...

No be their fault na!! Imagine

SWILL MARTIN said...

C liiie ooo#fada!

Janco said...

Its almost true

edose Osime said...

Dem dae crase

eka said...

that`s a big fallacy; which reflects poor journalism
some companies especially private -owned businesses run on PHCN most times.... ...(depending on the states they reside)
Am happy Linda is bringing to our notice these wrong facts about Nigeria
"l was so shocked 2 my bones after arguing with friends about the origin of AIDS & upon goggling it; it showed West Africa".........(Big lie)

Linda you should no better than this. What is the measure of power we generate, then Google power needed to power 44 toasters. They are not exaggerating. Information and knowledge is power. Your country is doing badly with power generation. In 2015, you shouldn't be using inverters and generators so much that you have no clue what the true power situation is

A toaster can easily drain 1000W of power, and 180m people (Nigeria's population) in 44 places is less than 4m. (Btw million = MEGA.) Therefore 4m x 1000W is 4000MW. The estimation is accurate.

Linda, you're not very bright... Pun intended haha

Its d plain truth. Nig wen will dis no light end. Never I guess. No fuel no light no money. Na wa o

tinashee_ said...

Sorry, but I don`t agree with you Linda. I have`nt seen NEPA for the past 3 weeks and whenever it comes, it comes very dim. Back In Zim, there is NEPA everyday. No one owns a generator there. #SickOfNepa

Happy new month Linda and God bless all ur readers. Richlyblessed007

Buzor said...

Electricity in nigeria should be attended to, now we are having scarcity of fuel to power our generators. Naija pls wake up thy offsprings are suffering

Hian! But it true nao, atyms I dey wonder Wetin them dey carry the light do.

*Lucy's Comment Space*

Its not nonsense he maybe right.

Its not really nonsense,we haven't had light for over 3 months,we buy fuel and diesel almost everyday,its just so sad

Linda a very ardent reader and commenter on ur blog is late,she died yesterday.she was a young vibrant and beautiful lady with a very good heart,her name is KELLY OBELE I am sure most of u know her,its so heartbreaking,I thought u all should know

Where do they even get this their facts from? Yeye people

Linda, leave math for the math-inclined. 1 toaster for every 44 people in a population of over 180 million is a lot of energy. And might do more than power toasters for a small country

The day you start making sense that's the day we willsstart having regular power supply

I love you already, marry me?

That's not nonsense, and I'm glad they're puting it out there for the world to see what a shame the Nigwrian government is.

I think it's becoming clear that you don't comprehend proper grammar, Linda.

This is accurate. It means if everyone in Nigeria wanted toast, at the same time, only 2.5% ≠ of the population would have their bread toasted before the national grid fails.

It sounds sensational, but it is just a play on words. Please try and comprehend something before running your mouth.

Your Igbo is showing, put it away, it's embarrassing.

Lol. Oya sorry na

seriously, I laughed really hard on this one, damn! that was deep

Mr 47 said...

Lol your so adorable. U must be a very meek n easy going lady. Love ur comment :)

THIS IS A FACT. THE POWER SITUATION OF NIGERIA IS AN ACCURATE DEMONSTRATION OF THE NIGERIAN CONDITION.

INEFFICIENT TO THE CORE

Linda act like u educated. Do ur math considering the largest black population in the world.. MESSAGE

Maybe it has not reached this level where you live especially since your generator lessens the pain on you. Your experience is not that of others.

Mr 47 said...

Very true Linda cos for more than 2weeks. Nothing like power over here, been running of Fuel in fact I'm in darkness right now due to fuel scarcity...

Hahahaha,choi!them don finish naija wit this their mumu fact...

But Linda how can you call that post non sense this is a known fact sincerely it is that bad....

Total rubish

It would be really stupid to defend the state of power supply in Nigeria, I think it could be even worse. And the fact that it's still a lingering problem in this modern era is enough for people not to even try to defend this appalling shame.

They're very accurate, the power situation in Nigeria is a huge shame n is one of the reasons we voted GEJ out. We need a total revamp of that sector n all d power Ministers investigated and punished for all d damage they've caused. I pray with d incoming Govt we can get to overcome this tragedy of grossly inadequate power supply.

Better English next time dear, no make Naija enemy of Britian.

Abdul Adepetu said...

200 million people divided by 44 people. Hmmmmm they are not even near correct. I think it's worst! Well as a foreign company they should not make such comment though! But Electricity supply must genuinely improve. #kilode

Ode ni e, check ur calculation again. How can 1000W for 44 poeple be 4000MW? U be d King of ODE.

Better English next time dear, no make Naija enemy of Britian.

Abdul Adepetu said...

Hehehehe hahaha Nice one.

Linda! you be olodo.

Why don't you divide what we generate by our population yourself to see what one person is entitled to.

Then also go find out what it takes to power a toaster.

Yes! it is that bad

Linda, I am truly surprised at your response to this globally known fact. Why can't we be true to ourselves.

The light situation needs a state of emergency to be declared for it, I live in Magodo Isheri estate, we enjoy about 4hrs of light every WEEK.. In my offiice in V,I,, we are constantly on the gen.

We are expecting a CHANGE IN POWER SUPPLY COME THE AGENTS OF CHANGE .

chux said...

We haven't had light in uniport ph for almost three month now and before then it was lyk once in two weeks very pathetic...

Linda shame on u. U can do simply maths b4 disputing. did u divide 4 thousand megawatts by 183 million nigerians?
Nigeria is so backward, but i pass my neigbour and china phones will not allow people to think before posting.
U cant back a point statisticaly, dont argue.

Though over stretched, it is that far off the mark.

Not true jare. Wia am staying we have light 24/7

I smell APC in propaganda action. ... just saying

Linda Abeg na true we no see fuel I have to go d bar every night now to charge my fone

Cos I no fit afford black market

Its tru jare ...wer I am, no lit no water no fuel ! Mtcht

If u don't have light for 3day move out of that area, in my house in abuja I see light at list 20hours a day

Very true. Nt had lite for 8 weeks in ketu

Nneka said...

Very correct. Especially in satellite town Lagos

It is true. There are almost 170 million Nigerians and only enough electricity for 3 million.

I live around uniport we have not had light for four months so it's not nonsense at all it's the fact.

Favour belle said...

......and that's a big shame on us

Hmmmmmn Linda it has gotten to dat more than two weeks no light in my area o and Nepa keeps bringing bill..

Rightly said! That's the bitter truth. Linda take note!

Stop being condescending, are u saying, when Nepa brings light, it can only power your toaster??? Think before you talk joor! Yes they may 'take light' and shed power, but it is not that bad!

@AnonymousMay 1, 2015 at 12:00 AM; You are right on point. You hit the nail right on the head. Immediately I saw that I mentally did a similar calculation and arrived at the same conclusion. It's this bad that Nigerians have degraded to the level that they can't do a simple calculation. Uber is very correct.

They only try to show how stupid and myopic your countrymen are

1 MW (megawatt) = 1,000,000 watts, so what are you calculating Mr. Bright (pun intended)

Funny but true. I just hope those concern will do sometin about it cos this insult is getting much.

It's very true linda... is it that u r not in touch with reality in Nigeria or Lagos. There's no light!

They are correct biko. I haven't seen light in two weeks. At the end of the month I will get 10k electricity bill. Apparently in Nigeria u pay for the light u don't use. Rubbish.

Engineer said...

But it is true....
Nigeria has a population of 180 million people, the average toaster is 1kW;
Doing the calculation, as Uber facts said will result in about 4000MW which equals to about the peak supply we have in Nigeria, so Uber wasn't lying
:)

When did it become nonsense to tell the truth? Magistrates' Quarters in Choba, Port-Harcourt has not had light for 2 years. How worse do we want this electricity problem to get.

Ugo said...

1 toaster for every 44 people in Nigeria will translate to a total of 4 million toasters for a population of 180 million people. A toaster utilizes about 1000watts of electricity to run. So 4 million toasters will utilize 4000MW which is approximately what Nigeria currently generates. Linda and a lot of folks here are not very smart from your comments 😊

Ugo said...

1 toaster for every 44 people in Nigeria will translate to a total of 4 million toasters for a population of 180 million people. A toaster utilizes about 1000watts of electricity to run. So 4 million toasters will utilize 4000MW which is approximately what Nigeria currently generates. Linda and a lot of folks here are not very smart from your comments 😊

Ugo said...

jennykurt said...

Is so true in Portharcourt

Fact

Exaggeration you say?, we've only had electricity for less than 5hrs since the presidential elections in ijebu-igbo, Ogun State. The Governor should help us out, tis is a student town

anonymous said...

They might actually be right.... electric toasters consume a lot of power and if you multiply that by 44 they may be close......what they did not say is the duration...is it 1 week, 1 month or 1 year?

As fine as you are?
SMH
You need Queen premier

Guy that did the calculation-thank you for your rational reasoning! Nigerians can so like to hide their heads in the sand and pretend all is fine, na real suffering and smiling. ..

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Only a mumu would think it's nonsense Cus it's insulting. The truth is bitter lol! Never any light in lekki. And they probably regulate it as well. I believe it. 1 in every 44

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Lmfaoooooo be greatful you witnessed a minute you know. Some of us don't jam it for daya

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Lmfaoooooo

Whts nonsense here? True talk #putyourhouseinother

lami said...

Lol , they are on point though a bit exaggerated.

I believe them oh,I spent close to 10,000 naira on fuel every month,makurdi is the worst place to stay in Nigeria.

Over-exaggeration

Thank you!!! This is how people fail exams and do not think critically and make statements out of sentiment. Simple calculations!

U r Right Bae.
Been powerin my crib with Gens as long as i can remember despite livin in an area with a so called name "Millionaire Quarters" and u hardly get up to 13 hours of electricity supply a week.
UberFacts is freakin right.
PATHETIC!!!!

it has reached that level abeg, I get crazy bills for at most 3hrs a day and that is if they give u any at all

It's very accurate, I haven't seen light in my area in sch for close to 3 weeks, always running generators, diesel nd fuel daily! God help us!!!

Linda its worse than this! I live on Randle Avenue surulere and since I moved here in 2011 my total fuel budget for my generators (note the plural) would have bought the house from my landlord if put together. It is evil!!!

They are absolutely correct, do the maths.
Nigeria's power generation divided by 160m users should about power a toaster.
Do the maths Linda

Jackson Wealth said...

Been a failure from birth

I stay in lekki,nd wev nt had light in God knws hw long...electricity in nigeria is actually very very very poor jeez!!

Luv me some Brainy folks.

shut up bernard. everyone pays taxes. light shld reach everyone equally.
how many nigerians can afford the rent in your part of abuja. so ppl shld move to abuja from lagos abi fool

baba said...

In the north no light generator na ar best friend those dat leave in the south are lucky de worst part is wen they bring nepa bill and there is , no light

W.G. said...

Someone of y'all don't read shit well including Linda... It says for every 44 people... We are a shit load based on population so I'm inclined to believe. We in the city are complaining of electricity problem all the time, what y'all think people in the villages go through...??

Absolute rubbish.

nawahooooo God will help us

AbiolaVJ said...

Looooooooool

Ugo said...

Olaleye and anonymous.. U're the dumb ones here. It's 1000W each for 4 million toasters working at the same time giving a total consumption of 4000MW if 180 million Nigerians are in groups of 44 people per toaster.

Ugo said...

Olaleye and anonymous.. U're the dumb ones here. It's 1000W each for 4 million toasters working at the same time giving a total consumption of 4000MW if 180 million Nigerians are in groups of 44 people per toaster.

Ugo said...

Ugo said...

Ouch..

For one thing, there's no such thing as NEPA again in nigera, so maybe that's why u haven't been seeing them :)

Rather than people looking at the "Uber Fact" from a sentimental point of view, why don't you look at it from an analytical point of view. Its basically statistics and averaging things out and it makes sense. It may not be completely accurate but from analysis it does make sense.

Get the figures for the power capacity provided in the country
Get the value of the population
Calculate the probability of providing light simultaneously to everyone in the country (which is rare)

I am sure you all will arrive to something similar if not the same.

I think sometimes people need to think of what they have read before actually commenting.

Just plain ol' statistical analysis

9ja Parrot said...

Linda!!! It is not nonsense. It is the truth said in a funny way. Absolute Truth!!!

It's been over a week now in sabo, LIGHT no blink...truth is better...it's true

i agree...its a big shame on Nigeria