Photos from the opening ceremony of the 2014 World cup in Brazil | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 12 June 2014

Photos from the opening ceremony of the 2014 World cup in Brazil

The 2014 World cup began this evening June 12th with a colorful opening ceremony at the Arena de Sao Paulo in Brazil that reportedly cost around $4.5million to put together. International music stars, Jennifer Lopez and Pitbull were joined on stage by Brazilian pop-star Claudia Leitte to perform the official World Cup song 'We Are One (Ola Ola)'.

The ceremony was followed by the opening match of the tournament - hosts Brazil vs Croatia. The match ended 3-1 in favour of Brazil. And what a match it was!

I wasn't going to post this before but some of you were complaining that I didn't post anything about the world cup opening ceremony/match...(Like y'all didn't watch it live...*hiss*). Lol. Anyway, that's why it's coming late...:-).. See plenty more photos after the cut...

Popstar Jennifer Lopez and rapper Pitbull performed to thousands of people at the Arena de Sao Paulo in Brazil this evening as the opening ceremony of the World Cup got underway
Singer Jennifer Lopez, rapper Pitbull and Brazilian popstar Claudia Leitte bounced around the giant stage as they sang the official World Cup song 'We Are One (Ola Ola)' during the opening ceremony

Superstar Jennifer Lopez sizzled in a sparkly green number as she performed to thousands of people at the official World Cup opening ceremony
Jennifer Lopez performed with rapper Pitbull ahead of the group A match between Brazil and Croatia, which is the opening game of the 2014 tournament
Joining her on stage: Brazilian pop singer Cláudia Leitte also gave J-Lo a run for her money in the booty-shakin' department as they danced together throughout the performanceNo holding her back: There had been initial reports that Jennifer was due to drop out, but by the looks of her energetic performance there was nothing that could have kept her away from the stage
Jennifer Lopez wore a sparkling leotard as she sang the official FIFA World Cup song 'We Are One (Ole Ola)' alongside Pitbull and Claudia LeitteJ-Lo wows as she performs during the opening ceremony of the 2014 World Cup prior to the Group A match between Brazil and Croatia
The home fans - all in good spirits - cheered alongside small pockets of Croatians, who wore their team's red and white jersey, as the high-profile trio sang the official World Cup song 'We Are One (Ole Ola)'

After the energetic performance, the singers walked around the stadium and appeared to be touched by the response from the cheering crowd

A globe in the centre of the stadium displayed all of the flags of the countries taking part in the 2014 World Cup and resembled the Brazuca - the official ball of the competition

93 comments:

Perfect for Brazil. So collourful and entertain. jlo I see ur things. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

uju-nkem said...

Beautiful jenny lopez. As young as ever

ThatBluntGuy said...

Is today Valentine's day?

BUDICKSON said...

Isi gi der!!

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Take it or leave it. Jlo is still smoking hot.. Even at her age. Love u gal.

It is better late than never.

you can view more here

Kester Eke said...

Good people ,good culture

WWW.9istnaija.com

yemi said...

What a colourful event !

Tiwa bad pikin learn ooo u see superstar jlo dats more sexy n clean wore horse. Jlo my diva u r stunning

See braziller hair

Omo e make sense ooo(xsexie blingx)

U did well at Linda... thanx

This J.Lo never gets old even at her age she still looks young and vibrant and fabulous. Luv u and ur voice J

tanx 4d update .....

wemimo said...

Choi I dey miss oh

Hmmmmmmmmmmm linda nice pictures .CHI.

Nice pictures. I missed Jlo's opening ceremony performance. I hope Nigeria will get to a reasonable stage.

SouthEastern said...

awesome and incredible opening ceremony it was! The penalty call was a wrong one from that referee though and Croatia could have carried the night but alas it was not meant to be!

#God answers all prayers#
Happy moments - Praise God, Difficult moments-Seek God,
Quiet moments -Worship God, Painful moments-Trust God,
Every moment - Thank God.

I really missed dis...

were is our own omo london pix na e never reach international? jst asking.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY#

Emi Nelson said...

Looool..... love d last post

Ese said...

Obviously Linda,you don't take advise.stop making excuses.
Do you know how many things we watch live and on other blogs but still come here to make sure we patronize you?
And not everyone has cable tv or are you so rich now that you have forgotten your very humble beginnings.
Even if there's cable tv,not everyone can afford a generating set or fuel to power it.
And while I thank God that I have all of the above,some of us,me inclusive need to get up early for work and get my kids ready for school so watching the opening live isn't paramount.

OBINNA JAMES said...

Nice pics, but am not a football fan.

Joy Monique A said...

Lindodo most of your readers don't have electricity to watch it oooooo, so abeg make you no hiss for us with your big grammer that like we all did not watch it. Remenber its Nepa time to do shakara winks#

These pix r so kool! They wow me. Creativity in action. Ruth

How do I get to Brazil from oshodi? Description please.

DOBY DOBY said...

D last pix tho.. very funny

Idaresit Idu said...

I love those working Trees, there are beautiful

Linda's Elder Sister. said...

Creativity in action

I love jlo's energy.her focus.
She just doesn't give up.and while in a relationship,she focuses on that relationship.nothing deters her from her goal.

Lolz... You dis lady sef, u ar too funy. Its good to knw dat u listen to d demands and wishes of ur readers

QUEEN said...

Jennifer lopez gave her all. Linda follow on twitter @ZorahJay for more US gist

Linda,point os correction,d fact dt uve light in ur area doesn't mean there's light everywhere 2 watch d brazil opening ceremony..*fashionista LeonorA*

It was indeed a colorful celebration, but I suspect this tourney maybe fraught with problems, given that most brazilians don't want it.

Yeah it was amazingly beautiful.I was Just glued to the tv.

Dee Tee said...

...Welldone Linda. Tnx for sharing. Go! go! go! Super eagles...

first to Comment

Bring d cup and d ball home.

So rich with colours.

Linda you've Just cracked me up. The opening ceremony ψås indeed colourful! Show casing what the samba nation truly represent. Let's go brazil! My boy Oscar made me smile.. And it feels so good to welcome Fabregas to the Chelsea team.

Beautiful and colorful. Jaylo get power sha. Strong and energetic.

CoolDiva speaks!

Lopez looked stunning in dat atire

Colourful...... nice costumes

Linda tnz for d pictures cos i didnt watch d openining.nice atire jlo

Funny pics... And now that world cup has started.. Some guys wldnt create time for their girlfriends oooo! Above all good luck to the eagles!

The opening ceremony was was nice

The opening ceremony was for nice

WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Jade said...

Why do women feel the need to act slutty. I mean that lady in blue, really?

Jennifer Lopez must have found the fountain of youth... She's 44 and looking hotter than these 20s girls... Diva!

IS JLO EVEN REAL? DAMN, SHE IS TOO HOT FOR A 44 YEARS OLD HUMAN

so lovely.World cup 2014 here we go!!!.

AND JLO WILL BE 45 ON THE 24TH OF JULY... THIS IS NOT FAIR, WHY AM I LOOKING LIKE THIS AT 24?

ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THE CEREMONY WAS JLOs BODY... SHE IS HOTTER THAN THE SUN AT 45

JLO STOLE THE SHOW FROM PITBULL... WELL, THATS WHAT U GET WHEN YOU COLLABO WITH A GLOBAL SUPERSSTAR....

The AUDIO WAS HORRIBLE BUT STARRING AT JLO'S BODY MADE UP FOR IT... SHE IS BEAUTIFUL, BEYONCE WHO???

brazil there special talk canival and some other stuf like this

OPENING CEREMONY = JLO

hadewumi said...

nice 1

Jennifer Lopez was the only life in that opening ceremony, she is fucking beautiful

i like..

C.E.O

see as pitbull de smile bcuz his account has been credited :D

(twitter-instagram)

Didn't watch it. Sad. $£.

Goodluck Nigeria.

sharon said...

WONDERFUL PEOPLE
FIRST TO COMMENT.

sharon said...

CARRY GO BRAZIL

A whooping $4.5million dollars, just for the opening ceremony??? You can imagine what they must have spent put together. Who then is complaining that the less privilege are protesting? I wonder where they got the money from while the masses have been suffering all the while.

It was a colorful opening ceremony!

2010 openning ceremony in SA was the bomb,more beautiful n entertaining,shakira also did better dan JLo n pitbul. very creative though,but borring.

Oh God I wanna be like j-lo wen I get to her age,stil pretty and sexy

Wonderful scene ola ola

choi i missed oh, i tink i need to get a TV for my room, yesterday night i was angry so i went straight to my room as i came back from work and never showed up to the sitting room throughout the night.#frownface#

via official intercom

dhobiz said...

Brazilians always turn every celebration into a festival

I really enjoyed the whole act been displayed yesterday, as if the whole thing should not stop.....

When is Nigeria going to host the world cup too naa??

Linda oyi yeye.¤ na now be d openin ceremony abi...kelvincares

The opening ceremony was a blast, coupled with J Lo n the Brazilian girl, I wasn't hearing the lyrics of the songs but I enjoyed the dancing. Jlo's body will make a straight girl turn to a lesbian... wow

U de mind tiwa wit her crawcraw black yansh.....she no de see wetin others de wear go up stage! Lokito..... Go j lo! Luv u

Take a bus to your moher's womb, wait for 3 hrs then you will vanish right on time to appear in a Brazilian woman's womb who just got fucked.

Enter moluwa! 4rm oju elegba 2 onipan or pamgroov den enta taxi $ stp at sao paolo bustop! Ishi gi dia

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Stay there and be beefing someone that has surname more than you.. Better embrace success my dear.

very colorful event, Brazil never disappoints.

Nice.

Ammyjenny said...

Linda,I missed the opening cos my bro wasn't aroud to on the gen buh didn't miss the match! Oscar n Neymar did real good

Braziller??ok o.dereisgodo!!

Dorothy said...

Lovely pictures, very clear and captures the right angles. Well done Linda!!!

David (dave_gino) said...

DoroLinda, have always known you don't do sport. The only time you like sport is during the Olympics, that's where you see men who wear skinny suits, with their dicks hanging up or sideways. Yes! I know that interest you. Watched all the actions of this last night, so, I'm gonna reserve my comment...

winniekoko said...

I prefer that of south Africa 2010......

Shanding2k2... said...

So beautiful and so amazing!go go go Brazil...

fifa world cup said...

still this ceremony was incomplete without shakira