Kanye defends bringing Jesus lookalike on stage | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 22 October 2013

Kanye defends bringing Jesus lookalike on stage

Kanye offended quite a number of people when he brought a Jesus lookalike on stage during the first stop of his Yeezy tour in Seattle on Saturday. Kanye now explains the method to his madness...

Kanye tells Wild 94.9 in San Fransico
"I had a friend of mine that is a pastor and we were discussing how we were going to deliver it. My girl even asked afterwards “isn’t that weird if Jesus comes on stage or something like that?” No we do plays all the time where people play Jesus. What’s awesome about Christianity is that we are allowed to portray God. We'e allowed to draw an image of Him. We’re allowed to make movies about Him. Other religions you can’t do that. Michelangelo did it…It’s a painting, it’s a sculpture, it’s a moving opera, it's a play, it’s a message. I’m not even going to do any comparisons with that. God knows where my heart is at."

205 comments:

1 – 200 of 205   Newer›   Newest»

He should be very afraid

There's nothing to defend.... Its pure BLASPHEMY

Kanye, your irreverence for christianity is appalling! Your songs have nothing associated with Christ so you need not make it sound better than it is, blasphemy!

Yeah........HE knws where U̶̲̥̅̊я heart ȋ̝̊̅§ nd knws U̶̲̥̅̊я true thoughts abt dis

lol noW he knowz God Buhahahaaaa.... Am dancing skelewu 4 uR soul oooo

Victor said...

Impressive!

All dis things kanye is saying,dey r all transh

The beauty of Christianity is Jesus is strong enough and well able to defend Himself,He doesn't need sinners like us to defend Him so let Kanye be,you aren't better than him. There s a reward for everything you sow under the sun.

Na so
*the cook*

Kanye waste is such A beach. How der she insulted christianity anyhows.

loooolz @God knows where my heart is at.
Am not surprised coz even Satan quoted the scripture to Jesus.

The beauty of Christianity is Jesus is strong enough and well able to defend Himself,He doesn't need sinners like us to defend Him so let Kanye be,you aren't better than him. There s a reward for everything you sow under the sun.

Understandably understandable.

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Aphrodite said...

Oh Dude pls Shut Da Fack up! Are u a gospel singer dt u feel u av to Bring a Fool to play "JESUS' Dude be warned, dahs lyk mocking God, pple dt did it in d past are no more today! Egocentric fool!

Rosyy said...

hmmmm na him sabi.....

Haha na him p o no be mine and maybe he knows not wetin him go do
Campus girl doing bad things to herself video leaks online

Rubbish

hmmmmm, hope dats nt a caricature' kanye jst b guided.

Hey Linda

Well said Kanye! Tell the shallow minded pple.

I pity u Kanye...you're just confused! And most christains support this madness...try this with Islam & they'll use him 4 suya.

He is mad

awww!!! KANYE. only God knows the truth!!

Linda where all d comments wen I de send 2 ds blog since morning? Ehnnn, e be lik say u wan make I send Bonario to com use his vaseline on u! Pls vomit all my comments. Back 2 d matter, Kanye God knows ur heart right? Let him b d judge, u can deceive man with ur words n action, but u can neva deceive God. Y know y??? Cos he is ALMIGHTY.

Dis guy is jst crazily crazy.

Kenya,doesn't kn wat he's doin#mtchwww#

Kanye West definitely needs to get his head checked out. D guy's going nuts n doesn't even know it.

Kanye kanye kanye, you can't be a child of God and hang out with d devil.
You want us to see it as a play so that we won't take it seriously? No! Since you say God knows where you heart is, I leave u to Him

Kanye kanye kanye, you can't be a child of God and hang out with d devil.
You want us to see it as a play so that we won't take it seriously? No! But Since you say God knows where you heart is, I leave u to Him

I dislike this guy and everyone and everything involved with him. Such low-life waste of space.

That's your fucking biz Kanye. Don't bring such again into one of ur play,Jesus's image is not what you play with

so Kanye West is a Christian who has respect for Christ Jesus; then why are people insinuating that he is an illuminati.

Rough Diamond said...

Hmmm.........thinking..............
Kanye might be right after all!
We all worship God in our own way, na only God know those wey dey truly worship him!

DO NOT JUDGE!!!

Lolz Kanye don dey fear now now alldsame is gud tho ...I gat ur back bro .

Kenya shut up and stop doing unnecessary comparism

Hmmm nawa ooo kanye God knws ur adress ooo dis is serz +first to comment

Xamira said...

Good answer kanye... I dnt see why pple re mking a big deal abt it,we've watched several movies abuh jesus,even in most churches de act drama dat sm1 portrays jesus,so every1 shud let dis guy b,no 1 is perfect...... HABA!!!..

Na God go judge u na!

ebimor said...

Plsssss his explaination is wacked jooor.

Kanye n drama!! Ok! *ONYX GODWIN*

I understand U̶̲̥̅̊ kanye. Dnt mind dem jare

Kanye shut dat ur mouth up! Hw does portrayin Jesus got 2do wit d use of vulgar?Dumb ass lik u

God knows and sees 4rm d heart....guess kanye's got notin awful in mind tho.@rexo6

DR KHENINE said...

God knows ur heart with the devil

Sounds ryt tho

Smyl said...

Kanye is SICK

if u say so

wemimo said...

This is aint an explanation

You Re a fool kanye Ur end is near!

diamond said...

Gbam! He alone knows ur intent n I tell u wat dats wat He will use 2judge u.

OK! He's said it! The lord knows where his heart is.

I like that.

Case closed!

Like u said God knows ur heart let him judge u

Anti anti-christ said...

EXactly God knows your heart belongs to the Devil..na u and Abacha go stay de same room for hell fire

Yh ryt!!!
If u no put " My girl" 4d story, e no go complete...

Eeya sorry kanye we tot u are illuminati ni...and we tot u belong to devil church. Now u are free from my hand ni o. I dnt know for odas o

Mich said...

If you have been a fan of Kanye from his debut album,you would agree with me that he has always exhibited reverence for Christianity.
"Jesus Walks" was a song that not only glorified Jesus but also asked a rhetorical question "If I rap about God,my records won't get played?".
I couldn't get my head around why people were so butt hurt cos Kanye decided to bring a "Jesus lool-alike" on stage,its art...Period!
Soon as Jesus got on stage,Kanye goes "Is that you Jesus,shit!" meaning he shouldn't be doing what he's doing. He decides to cancel the song he was gonna perform and then made a beautiful rendition of his most religious song "Jesus Walks".
At the end of the song,he then bowed to "Jesus look-alike" to show reverence. But a whole lot of people were either too shallow to appreciate his performance as a pure art form or they were being typical religious bigots and calling him names as though it has been proven that that's exactly what Jesus looks like.
Like he said "God knows where my heart is",you should shut your eyes and cover your ears if you can't connect with art in its most extreme form...God isn't impressed by your fanaticism and desire to defend Him in judgemental tones,He deals with each man differently.
Let off some steam,fellas...its not always that deep,you know!

Yes the beauty of Christianity is that it doesn't shackle you, it's free, it's isn't too rigid. But maybe that flexibility is what has made people like Kanye abuse that freedom. Yes Kanye, people are allowed to portray Christ/God but not when it is to make mockery of it.

Wat eva

bendek said...

gosh!!!!! hw cn u do such a fin?am bored abt dat.....

Wat eva

@Anon 8:36pm: u just spoke my mind... We no go hear word again '' my girl dis, my girl dat...mshewwwww!!!

Lydia Valch said...

Greatest judge is God.

Don Peror Francis said...

Anty linda,I don't care wat these guys does bcos he is doing the work of his father

LMAO. U just cracked me up

Well said Mich

OMG!WOMAN said...

Well spoken Mich, sometimes I wonder what's up with ppl, they all yelled illumati, now it seems this guy follows God

He said it clear and loud for all you religious bigots

"The Lord knows where my heart is"

And the whole god thing in rap.. its bin the popping thing since way back..

Jesse Jagz, Lil Wayne, Pusha T and a whole host of other rappers call themselves gods of rap, rap Jesus etc..

So please take a chill pill

Illuminati Grand master

Kanye is such a brilliant man,so full of ideas,"God knows where my heart is" I like dat simple fact,carry on bro ur gud

Illuminati Grand master , your end is so near . shebi you said you sold your sol to the devil. you will soon go and meet your master

For the third time on dis blog I'm seconding a comment. @Mich...well said dear...well said.

wemimo said...

Mich I love uuuuuuuu...well said..

omah said...

I love this

Shut ur mouth.

U are so right man, thanks for saying mia mind people are happy when they use naked girls on stage!! I love him for doing this. I don't jugde peple is God's job to do that am not perfectso I don't and will never jugde but he did something that worth doing*

hmmmm.....kanye tho..

God bless u mich,noticed a lot of linda's folks are pretty ignorant on almost every thing they comment on

The truth is that,this kind of person end up makiing it to heaven and those who send him to hell on earth end up in hell.

I agree mich

God bless u mich,noticed a lot of linda's folks are pretty ignorant on almost every thing they comment on

Mich......I love u, well said. Jst on point.

He who is without sin, cast the first stone.

@mich may God bless ur heart

Hmmm God knows your heart indeed

Mich may the oracle in village score u below F9 for the rubbish essay u just wrote. Na shit I go take stone u if I see u. Ewu

@mich u are on point and I real like wat u said becos no one of our generation knws wat Jesus looks like and fanaticism isn't practical christianity ! He {kanye}alone and God knws his heart ! Pls it will be hypocritical to judge him due to such performance ! Aft all diff pple hav acted the role of Jesus ! Some to make money and some to pass a message across !*Gbam*

Gbam

Ajiifixing said...

Let him bring Mohammed too.
He wan die?

Best comment ever! Kudos!!

Ajiifixing said...

Let him bring Mohammed too.
He wan die?

@ Mich, u have earned my respect. Well said. He reverenced God in that rendition. Y'all shd listen to the song 'Jesus walks with me' before u cast ur stones. Well done Kanye now I believe u know Jesus is lord. He is d beginning nd end. Kanye, never forget that.
Lizzy

@mich 1000likes 4that comment.Nigerians can be so gullible when it comes to religion.

Jesus' looklike or not,d motive behind it is what matters,dnt try judging any one cos evn d devil is better than some so called christains

UC said...

@ all @ Mich!! U are very intelligent!! @ a point I was angry intially when I first saw it!! But I started thinking about d play,I read all he said and d lyric of d song!! People shuld learn hw to think deep and see pple in a brighter light!!! Who knows if d guy has even given is life to christ! And u all are judging him!! God knows his hrt he said

Quintessence said...

Don't insult me oh. But I am okay with his religion and his stage performance with Jesus look alike and his explanation as far as it isn't an insult.

Hey mich... God bless u !!!

Intense Realism #Kanye #Great #message #Jesus #Walks

@Mich u r very smart!!!

@mich u r very smart!!!

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

Tella' tellem'

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

Which room you go stay?

Bizzzy01 said...

Gbam, Ur head is dere

Oh shut up already....ur dusty yarns r endless...mtcheww

Thrash.....u were fooled too??? sorry!!!!

U can't judge him too Mr man so spare us dat defence @Mich

According to what I read what he said to "Jesus" didn't sound very respectful so if he's using the whole portraying Jesus thing he would have been more reverent. I don't understand his explanation but two things remain true.
1. He is right. God knows where his hear is and we do not.
2. Kanye West is a crass idiot whose extremely glorified perception of his greatness defies common sense and reality

Kanye is in loooooooovvvveeee !! Stop hating

You guys are just too funny. Who told u thats how Jesus looks? I don't blame any1 though. Its just a misconception. Jesus doesn't look that way.

Welcome Kanye never knew you visit our own linda's blog woopwoop

Well said mich.people are so shallow

LooL..i swear down

Mich said it all.

Shut up...when you immotalize him,pictures of him in moving trailers.all the funny stickers Igbo business people make of him for money....this is no exception.

Mich said it all.

Who the F are yall to judge?? Are Yall God abi na una holy pass ni... Only God knw the hearts of men He alone can judge... Nija mentality

Time for ur cult members to kill u for mentioning jesus

*lip sealed*

gretel said...

Mich. You've made me comment today. You're the most sensible person here and I love you. Amy.

gretel said...

Mich. You've made me comment today. You're the most sensible person here and I love you. Amy.

Smh!!! end tym is soooo soooo near dat most people dnt smell it. Lord all we ask fr is for ur fgvness.

Chiisunshine(carolips) said...

U can never tell. Am sure a certain spirit was in dat Jesus lookalike. And he worshiped him. Either from God or satan.

I just love you. Well said. You spoke my mind.

I can see that u always express urself with insults n u better watch it. Despite d fact that I appreciate what u jus said, it is good 2 note that everyone is entitled his or her own opinion. U call someone a bigot n de will throw back d word FOOL @u. Btw I respect ur analysis, true talk.

Dezzy said...

Wish there was a love button would have used it for Mich's comment.Peolple so love being shallow,I see no kind of disrespect to Jesus in that performance.He performed jesus walks(God show me the cos d devil is trying to break me down)and still showed reverence by bowing to the Jesus lookalike.Perfect people of world please quit judging us less perfect

Mich, ur a very good guy. May God bless you for kind heartness, tolerance and understanding. You hit the nail on the head! Its time we stop feeding into unnecessary propaganda and unfounded truths. Whatever we don't see with our eyes and don't know personally shouldn't be spread maliciously.

lady dondada said...

U said it all mich! 1000 kisses nd smooches 4 u!

Like d angle from where u came frm, u sound so much like some1 hu is grounded in d arts(Theatre), 9ice 1. Even tho I c kanye differentlyI look bck @ where I'm comin frm, all I'v bin tru, I look @ frnds hu sim 2 b ahead of me, I feel bad, but again I look @ doz mate look up 2 me n I smile n say 2 mysef, I must not let diz pipo down, OSE, I tank u 4 all u'v blessed me wit

@mich best comment eva...pple jst lyk 2 judge + linda is alwaz biased wen it cums 2 kimye

Hayjaybawa said...

What he said is exact what I was telling people vexing about him bringing Jesus lookalike .... Haven't you guyz seen many movies of Jesus.... To me what he did aint no offence ... Like he said "God knows where his heart is" ....,

I agree with you! I just feel that in every generation ,there is always a myth or story thst is meant to make the majority of people not dream of being rich ,thereby keeping the wealth in the realm of a few while they give freebies to the rest of men,.in this generation,it is the illuminati story.

Let God be the Judge

Serious like button for your comment...
Scintillation

s said...

Nice comments Mich.

felly411 said...

Mr Mich u most b part of d illiminati people, open ur eye n u will see mumu

nella said...

All the scribes and pharisees who are screaming judgement and hell, please where are your own hearts. Like Mich rightly said, your Jesus fanatism will not save you on that day!!! People who will make heaven don't judge and condemn..God knows where each man's heart is.

Interesting! Tot dis dude belongs to d illuminati. Am happy u even av an idea who Jesus is. I thank God for u. Let's free him. Just hs he earlier said. God knows where his heart is. Ciara

Well said,couldnt av sed anytin better Dan dat...kanye. let God judge u,i love u anyways

Mich, you're highly intelligent and I love you for that.

hahahahahahakikikiki

OMG i could like this a trillion times!!!!! Well said

emlsuites.com said...

People sef. Nothing when person no go see for this world.

Crap!dts wt uve jez said.Jesus shldnt b usd 4 such entertainment.A true christain shld noe dt.xo lng as m concernd,its a mockery of Christianity

Wonda y ppl kip judging ppl.......lik he said God knws hs heart so let's leave d judgmnt for him alone

First comment on this blog nd this is the best comment ever!!! U took the words out of my mouth.

emenex said...

Nice show K west

Lamborghini said...

Mr. Mich go back n listen to 'Jesus walks'; its basically a song abt a drug dealer praying for The Lord's protection as he peddles his drugs and Kanye braggin his ego off as a rapper who can say Jesus in a secular song n still gets played in d club n on radio.. D SONG IS NOT ABOUT GLORIFYING JESUS, ITS ABOUT KANYE'S EGO

jennietobbie said...

thank you very much. I almost never listen to Kanye but that performance was amazing. I was impressed. He didn't disrespect Jesus.

God bless u mich....u said it all

I actually agree with you 100% all d way. Its hypocricy standing in judgement of him but its so difficult to see past the artistic llicense of Kanye. Its too crazy

And with that I have some respect for him, I was going to judge him as with the norm but asides from the fact its unChristian like, this statement especially his last words, God knows where my heart is, ends it all. I am actually touched.

U don't knw hw. Jesus looks like so dats not jesus

Abeg dnt use ur grammar n scatter our brains

Which one of u actually knows what Jesus looks like? U people just paint one image and start glorying it.let's not forget that one of the commandment says we shouldn't bow to graven images.@mich,u made sence but kanye only referenced an artwork not d image of Jesus,Xtains,pls stop being dramatic,stop looking a God u can see.

We all have to be careful and. open our eyes to see wat lies behind da facade of lies.@mich I understand n appreciate da fresh prespective you brought to da matter,however man cannot serve God and marmon.

Leave him 2 God,u ppl sayin he is a sinner are u beta dan him.Judge someone is lyk ofendin God.

God knows where my hearts is at,,
I love such words so much,,
he was born on june 8,,and I never can see any one born on such date betraying my Christ jesus on this ,mother earth,,God bless you kanye ,enemies of the true kingdom of Christ jesus at works,,,from swiss

I always luk forward to ur comments Mich cos u r so intelligent, smart n unique... U write so well n very reasonable/meaningful bt it's sad dt u don't comment everyday cos i ve noticed dt... Anyways, just want to let u know dt am falling inluv wit u, lol

Kanye will die like a vulture in the desert and all that support messing with Christ. How dare u mock God boy?

Lol.it aint only kanye waste,its kanye trash....nd u aint a (beach) bitch,u d son of a bitch. Mutherfucking grammar murderer (gbagaunator).

Medals

Ur english is frightening_but I'll excuse u cos of Asuu...smh rotflmao!

I think it's important that before you all open your mouths to condemn him, you guys should watch the gaddem video to know what exactly the Jesus actor was doing on Kanye's stage.

#word#

Kai ds ur english got me laughin I wonder if it was d strike dt caused ds or its jst u ursef.lmao

ThankGod he called it madness...and I sure know Kim did not say itz weird...his days are numbered God is watching all of us sha in big plasma TV,in d world ppl can be above the law but nobody is in the after life #didi

Of what?

Bla bla bla to u and Kanye..If he's so taken by Jesus he shd live it

Cool down! Wetin! Who be she, and who be Kanye waste? Dummy!

Why are you harassing the guy, he is just doing what xtians do, play with their god, and like he says accepted by the xtian world. He is an American, so it's a free world.

Please let's talk about this, because they are getting us confused!

Choi.."kanye waste is a beach"..pls u can do better..lol

Tha DJ likes this comment

Kanye is a pathetic waste of precious skin*hiss*

Is Jesus a god? Lmao hw can he be humiliated dis way he shud shw how powerful he is :p

Na hell fire sure pass oooo...kanye very soon u go meet your colleague 4 there

Trash u mean

Hephzibah Frances said...

God knows where ur hrt is at? And dats a defense to depicting Jesus in such a manner?
God help us all.

http://imperfectlyperfect92.wordpress.com

Mich, you have said it all. Thanks.

Before judging kanye have you judged yourself? People face your life and get a life.

Anonymous 7:44pm...I don't need to read any further cause you just hit the point. NICE ONE!!!

Maybe people need to know the truth here. This man Kanye is a frontal for the very terrible occult group. They are those who satan is using to bring all what the bible has foretold about escatology (end times). Do not be decieved, he did a song with Jay Z called 'No Church in the Wild' and 'Yezuz' another way of calling Jesus and bringing His name to disrepute by bringing a replica of Him in his performance. If you sign up with these people and approve of their music, ure simply crossing over from God's side to the other side. It is Blasphemy, it is anti-Christ and much more be vigilant and read your bible yourself. Read more the sayings of Jesus Himself in the New Testament. Be Pro-Jesus.

D niga z dere makn moni, getn fame..... U all here judging him. Az per say na pope una b nah.. Y' all kip on d gud work

phayero$$ said...

Devil incanate in makin

phayero$$ said...

Devil incanate in makin

Barry9ice said...

am not in the position to comment, cos if i comment i will judge, so i rather keep mute tan to alter a word of passing judgement. jst watch it Kanye may God deliver u and me that is typing dis msg soon.

Benjamin said...

Linda, who told you how Jesus looks and with which camera did they snapped Him with?

As in #word. But it still doesn't change the fact that we should not push our luck

My tots exactly, he needs to be very afraid!

He's been poking @ the God head for a while, I wonder if dey decide to poke back..hehehehe, he'd be south south then

laudy said...

It is well. The end is near Jesus Christ so coming soon to reward everyone's deed on earth.

DRIZZLE said...

I dont know why people are getting offended as anyone ever seen what Jesus looks like?

didnt see anyting wrong with wht he did though. we do use Jesus luk alike in plays and films. so free him plz atleast he bowed to Him in respect

please no 1 should judge for him allow him to judge because judging for him make u all be the same not better than kanye either

Chineke!! u suppose chop slap.. no be only kanye waste..na by force to comment?

#word#

Dnt judge,xo dat u wont be judged.

my jaw actually dropped. Fear God He is all you have really. yes movies are made about Jesus, but you don't dress some white retard up put a mic in his hand and put him on stage. thats just rude.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 205   Newer› Newest»