The Parkers/Moesha actress Yvette Wilson dies at 48 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 15 June 2012

The Parkers/Moesha actress Yvette Wilson dies at 48

If you watched Brandy's sitcom Moesha, or Mo Nique's sitcom The Parkers, then you definitely know Yvetter Wilson. She was Mo'Nique's best friend in The Parkers. The actress and comedian died yesterday Thursday June 14th after losing her battle with Stage 4 Cervical Cancer. She was 48 years old.

She was one of my favorite female comedians. So sad! May her soul rest in peace...amen

58 comments:

OMG! I pray this isnt true. Been watching Re-runs all last week. Andell is gone....May Her soul rest in Peace.

Awwww.. Loved her so much

NUBIAN QUEEN™ said...

awww takes me back to teenagehood i loved her as Andell in Moesha..so sad may her soul rest in peace...ladies get your pap smears done on the regular lets fight cervical cancer

LALICIOUS said...

I luv dis woman,RIP,,,OMG,cervical cancer Ȋ̝̊̅§ so deadly plz ladies go nd immunize urselves,no matter d cost

Dr. Johnson said...

I advice you women to go for Pap Tests yearly especially the sexually active ones. Cancer isn't something to joke about and early detection helps a good deal.

Omfg, am just watching her on the Parker show right now...men this is just too sad can't believe it..* tears*

Tobenna said...

Wow the beautiful ones are going one by one :-( May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace - Amen

May her soul RIP...this cervical cancer got me thinking...Ladies shld pls go for check ups cos they r worse things than AIDS...May God help us all.

Galore said...

RIP........*so sad*

May her gentle soul rest in Perfect peace..........Amen

Catch the latest news as they unfolds here

www.naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

OMG!she was one of my favourites †☺☺.RIP ma'am u'll truly be missed.Then pls somone shd enlighten ♏ε on how often is one supposed to get herself examined n at what age is one prone to have this disease

Awwwww! Its a pity. Chai!!!

May ur soul rest in peace.. Amen

wow linda thats really sad.funny enough i just had my cervical screening test done today after procastinating for so long. thankGod am negative. i hear everywoman that is sexually active needs to go for a screening had mine done i surulere at the Healing Stripes Cancer Screening and Diagnostic centre. at 14, alhaji masha.

there are also vasines now for prevention. we need to take our health serious it ca happen to anyone.

Omg. Is she really gone.had a crush on her @ a time. Seems this cervical cancer thing is on the rise. Think ppl who know more bout it should enlighten us. What dyu think?
Roll$$

May her beautiful soul rest in peace..... Amen

It is spelt VACCINES. Thanx for d info anyway

MAXIMUS™ said...

R.I.P Yvette :(

scorpion said...

Sup Lin, u see dear this is the reason we your 'dear readers'(yimu) ask you to upload comments as they come and not all at once because we read, attack and learn from each other. Now doctors in the house can go ahead and educate those that have asked questions about this cervical cancer issue.
May her soul RIP.

ONOME says.......
Cervical cancer is real and it KILLS.This is not Fireman play.We all need to take our health seriously.GET SCREENED TODAY.There are also vaccines available.Same applies for breast cancer.

You harsh o. Lwkmdooooo

HRHTega1 said...

May her soul rest in perfect peace. I loved her in The Parkers. She was always refreshingly funny. This is sad.

I took d HPV vaccine about a yr ago n I asked my doctor d samethn he said once a girl reaches puberty. Go 2 ur gyny 4 a pap smear test. I'm sure d doctors on d house will provide more info

Frenchie said...

So sad may she rest in peace!

cynosure faces. said...

Its so so sad!! I watched her sitcoms while growing up and still do!! Dis is so sad :( may Her soul RIP

Oh am so sad about this news. I liked her alot she seemed like good people.

I read the story on Media Take Out a few weeks ago where Squirrel looking Fred (owner of MTO) and his foolish crew were making fun of her situation saying the curse of "Moesha" saying she was sick and will not get well and will die like the rest of other 2 moesha cast who died.

MTO hope you are happy now - she is gone now. Hope you are happy - bunch of idiots.

To all the bloggers (you know yourself) who make fun of peoples situation (AND FAMILIES) know that you are cursed 10 times over.

REST IN PEACE Yvette. Am so sorry. I wonder if she has young kids and if she did i hope Lord comforts them.

So sad please Linda since we are all asking for more info do this for ur girl friends now instead of the normal gift of fake local male muscles we get every now and then pls we need info on cervical and breast cancer more awareness will go a long way to prevent loosing one of us o

iamfascinating said...

so sad. RIP.

Olay Regenerist, Likas soap and Diana Stalder Papaya soap now available at www.thestunninglady.blogspot.com

ade said...

cervical cancer is NOT the no1 killer BECAUSE it can be detected EARLY so pls WOMEN... get your PAPS SMEAR done. Its only bi-annual. Nothing big...

Cervical cancer screening(pap smear) should be done yearly from the age of 21 or 3 years after 1st sexual intercourse (whichever comes 1st)using a pap smear.
For people who are noticed to have atypical changes in the cervix, they will require further testing (culposcopy) and more frequent cervical screening thereafter.When i worked in LUTH,i know women were required to have a pap smear after the 6 week postnatal visit.

keke said...

cervical cancer is horrible...HPV is the main cause...every sexually active woman must check herself..if you smoke, and have had many partners,or sleep with a man who has had many sexual partners, a weak immune system, the susceptibility is higher...

Mumu LiB readers wey N̴̩☺̴̩̩̥̩̩̩ even knw her go comment,†ђξ other one say make dem go immunize,Cancer ₪ǻ polio,any way,I didn't really knw †ђξ actress but she look's kool ɑ̤̥̈̊nd all that...Victor says s̴̩☺̴̩̩̥̩̩̩ from GH

Please how much is the test?

long time no see macauley i got it from a mate so this is there link
filling address , there there most competitive in the game , mention micky heemson give you there number

DrJay said...

Ladies, a Pap smear is easy, recommended annually if you are sexually active or over 18, whichever comes first.
A speculum is put inside and cells are taken from your cervix and analyzed to spot any abnormal cells. If abnormal, they'll just advice to return for followup in 6-12 mths, if its still abnormal, you'll need to do a colposcopy (which lets you really examine the cervix in detail with a special camera) and probably also check for Human papilloma Virus (it can speed up the transformation of cervical cells to cancerous ones). If Cervical Intraepithelial Neoplasia (CIN) is detected, which basically shows you that the abnormal cells could potentially turn into Cervical Cancer down the road, then next step is surgery, like conization, to take it out. There are diff options for surgery. It all depends on the stage it is at. Things such as smoking, and too many sex partners can increase one's chances of CIN. It can still take a while for it to transform from CIN to cervical cancer, like years, and not all of them do. Yvette probably has had hers developing since her 30s, and never ever got a Pap smear done, till she started experiencing vaginal bleeding, by then it was too late and was already cervical cancer.

Thats the protocol in the US, not sure how much different it is in Nigeria. I know some countries recommend screening once in 3 years instead.

It is sad that her co-actor could not pay for her medical bills, selfishness is everywhere sha. http://www.nydailynews.com/entertainment/yvette-wilson-dead-48-moesha-actress-loses-battle-cervical-cancer-article-1.1096440

women care said...

Niche and i like this blog

bloggersting said...

niche share and beautiful girls

bloggersting said...

niche share and beautiful girls

TRU TALK said...

its done here in the UK for all over 25's every 3 years free of charge you will get a reminder in the post and a phone call, I had one in 2009 and am due another on Monday..I am sure it can be done in any private or teaching hospital in Nigeria for a meager fee its worth the check.

Awwwwwww....its so sad! She was so so funnny! i was a fan of The Parkers, and she cracked me up real good. RIP Yvette.

she was really funny. Its now a was not is. So sad

The cervix is the opening into the womb and lately there has been an increase in cancers of that region in thr country/worldwide. A certain sexually transmitted infection called human pappiloma virus infection has been implicated in causing these cancers. It causes changes to the cervix which can after some leads become cancerous. The pap smear test detects these changes before it becomes cancerous and so every woman who has had sex should be tested. It is once evry 3yrs for women who still have periods and yearly for menopausal women. There is also a vaccine however ideally it should be given before one even becomes sexually active. But can still be taken at anytime in life but d pap smears wld be more ideal. Just a swab taken from d cervix and sent to the lab to look out for any changes that can be managed before it becomes cancer

Shut up!

helloooo

deekay said...

I tire for this issue.! I have complained and tired of complaining. Dunno why ahw has refused to see the advantage of letting comments go live as they are made, or at least approving comments asap. Maybe she needs an assistant.

jblin ;kkn

May her soul rest in perfect peace.

Moshdeesown said...

Hey Girlies go get your smear test done! If you are sexually active you need to get it done every three years. Ths disease s nt. respecter of age or persons. Xoxo.

Tezy said...

Aww just learnt this in Pharmacy school this semester.. Yes there is a vaccine now for it but you have to get the vaccine from the age of 12 and the latest age you can get it is at age 26.. So if you are Older than 26 there is really nothing to do for prevention but to do pap smears yearly and that is encouraged for women that are sexually active...

Mr annonymos,ur blog is an exact copy of lib.u hv no name except blogger,no one can comment cos u'll b asked to type in a silly code to mk sure u aint a robot,wat rubbish.stop advertisin ur blog if u aint ready to be in the biznes!princessifoo (btw linda post comments eeeh!dats wat mks ur blog interesting.dnt get lazy now.)

Culled from Pub Med
Cervical cancer

Cancer - cervix

Cervical cancer is cancer that starts in the cervix, the lower part of the uterus (womb) that opens at the top of the vagina.

Cervical cancers start in the cells on the surface of the cervix. There are two types of cells on the cervix's surface: squamous and columnar. Most cervical cancers are from squamous cells.

Cervical cancer usually develops very slowly. It starts as a precancerous condition called dysplasia. This precancerous condition can be detected by a Pap smear and is 100% treatable. It can take years for precancerous changes to turn into cervical cancer. Most women who are diagnosed with cervical cancer today have not had regular Pap smears or they have not followed up on abnormal Pap smear results.

Almost all cervical cancers are caused by HPV (human papilloma virus). HPV is a common virus that is spread through sexual intercourse. There are many different types of HPV. Some strains lead to cervical cancer. (Other strains may cause genital warts, while others do not cause any problems at all.)

Risk factors for cervical cancer include:

Not getting the HPV vaccine

Poor economic status

Women whose mothers took the drug DES (diethylstilbestrol) during pregnancy in the early 1960s to prevent miscarriage

Weakened immune system

Symptoms

Most of the time, early cervical cancer has no symptoms. Symptoms that may occur can include:

Abnormal vaginal bleeding between periods, after intercourse, or after menopause

Continuous vaginal discharge, which may be pale, watery, pink, brown, bloody, or foul-smelling

Periods become heavier and last longer than usual

Cervical cancer may spread to the bladder, intestines, lungs, and liver. Patients with cervical cancer do not usually have problems until the cancer is advanced and has spread. Symptoms of advanced cervical cancer may include:

Back pain

Bone pain or fractures

Fatigue

Leaking of urine or feces from the vagina

Leg pain

Loss of appetite

Pelvic pain

Single swollen leg

Weight loss

Signs and tests

Precancerous changes of the cervix and cervical cancer cannot be seen with the naked eye. Special tests and tools are needed to spot such conditions.

Pap smears screen for precancers and cancer, but do not make a final diagnosis.

If abnormal changes are found, the cervix is usually examined under magnification. This is called colposcopy. Pieces of tissue are surgically removed (biopsied) during this procedure and sent to a laboratory for examination.

Cone biopsy may also be done.

If the woman is diagnosed with cervical cancer, the health care provider will order more tests to determine how far the cancer has spread. This is called staging. Tests may include:

Chest x-ray

CT scan of the pelvis

Cystoscopy

Intravenous pyelogram (IVP)

MRI of the pelvis

Treatment

Treatment of cervical cancer depends on:

The stage of the cancer

The size and shape of the tumor

The woman's age and general health

Her desire to have children in the future

Early cervical cancer can be cured by removing or destroying the precancerous or cancerous tissue. There are various surgical ways to do this without removing the uterus or damaging the cervix, so that a woman can still have children in the future.

Types of surgery for early cervical cancer include:

Loop electrosurgical excision procedure (LEEP) -- uses electricity to remove abnormal tissue

Cryotherapy -- freezes abnormal cells

Laser therapy -- uses light to burn abnormal tissue

A hysterectomy (removal of the uterus but not the ovaries) is not often performed for cervical cancer that has not spread. It may be done in women who have repeated LEEP procedures.

If you smoke, quit. Cigarette smoking is associated with an increased risk of cervical cancer.

KEKE said...

CERVICAL CANCER IS DANGEROUS....CAUSED MOSTLY BY THE HPV VIRUS, AND BY TOO MANY SEXUAL PARTNERS OR SLEEPING WITH A MAN WITH TOO MANY PARTNERS,SMOKING...REGULAR PAP SMEARS ARE CRITICAL..IF YOU ARE SEXUALLY ACTIVE

May her soul rest in peace *sad face*

May her soul RIP

Yes, cervical cancer (squamous cell type- which is the commonest type)is exclusively a sexually transmitted disease that is caused by the human papillomavirus(HPV).

HPV is very common in Africa and around the world. And if you have ever had sex, you may have contracted the virus without any symptoms.

Over 50% of people who have ever had sex have been infected at some point in their lives. 90% of infections may clear within 2years, but persistent infections can lead to cancer of the cervix, penis, anus or oral/throat/head and neck cancers(especially for those who practice oral sex)

Many are walking around and spreading the infection to unsuspecting sexual partners especially because you cannot tell who has got the infection.

Cervical cancer is preventable and it is sad that Ms. Wilson died from this, even in a country with better preventive services like the US. How much more wary should we then be in Nigeria, with our appalling healthcare?

Remember, condoms are not 100% protective, since HPV can be spread by contact and not necessarily via bodily secretions(semen,vaginal secretion, blood, sweat, saliva).

Screening tests for males are not readily available, but every sexually active female should have regularly scheduled pap tests(It is a cheap, simple, painless test your doctor or Ob/gyn can do in the office)

Early detection is key to saving lives. Please take charge of your health. Abstain from sexual activity until you are in a life-long monogamous relationship with an uninfected partner. It is worth it!

Give us a break ' she seemed like a good people'