Copyright Society of Nigeria slams Billion Naira suit on Wazobia FM | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 15 June 2012

Copyright Society of Nigeria slams Billion Naira suit on Wazobia FM

Copyright Society of Nigeria (COSON), the nation’s sole government approved collective management organization for musical works and sound recordings has filed a landmark copyright infringement action against Globe Broadcasting & Communications Ltd, owners of the well known radio stations, WAZOBIA FM in Lagos, Abuja, Kano and Port Harcourt and the stations’ CEO, Mr. Amin Moussalli. 

In suit No. FHC/L/C69S/598/12 filed at the Federal High Court, Lagos on 5TH June 2012, COSON is asking for the award of more than one billion naira in unpaid royalties and damages against Wazobia FM and its owners for the unauthorized copying, broadcast and infringement of the copyright in the musical works and sound recordings belonging to COSON members, affiliates and assignors. 

In the writ endorsed by Lagos IP lawyer, Mr. Justin Ige of Creative Legal, Seun Omotoba & Co, COSON has also asked the court for exemplary damages in the sum of Five Hundred Million Naira and aggravated damages in the sum of Two Hundred and Fifty Million Naira. 

In the momentous action, supported by a 38 paragraph Statement of Claim and 50 exhibits, COSON is requesting for a perpetual injunction restraining the Defendants, their agents, privies or servants from further or other unauthorized copying, broadcast and/or infringement of the copyright in the musical works or sound recordings belonging to its members, affiliates and assignors and a perpetual injunction restraining the Defendants whether by themselves, agents, privies, servants or however so called from evading or attempting to evade the payment of royalties for musical works and sound recordings broadcast.

30 comments:

Lilspicer said...

Who go gree pay na rite from time dis people luv money dey once said artiste must pay 600k bfore any album release..mtcheww..NAIJA WE HAIL THEE(OMO-IWO)SAY SO ...VIA BLACKBERRYBOLD.5

this amount is too much, they should sit on the round table and find ways of solving the matter amicably outside court..........habbba

Grab all the latest gist here

www.naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

Galore said...

Thief,,,copy right....Una wan reap where Una No sow.......Ee no go work @ all.........

Post comments now. wat kind of stupid girl are u sef

Ol boooy

AlterEGO said...

This is what I call KOGBAWOLE paroles :|

D whole dosent make sense at all. I pray they settle amicably.

Noncense! 1billion naira for all these rubish music, way we they hear!

MAXIMUS™ said...

*confused face*

I've read it twice and still,this story makes absolutely no sense to me

*not interested* (˘̯˘ )

IAmhairs said...

aint dis d normal tins dat happen?.....dis z naija 4 u..(dnt missundastand me o)....no real fact was even stated here.......all they said was ....'their member'...z it nt reasonable 2 mention d who's work was stolen or something..

Cloyd N.D.U said...

*eyes rolling* abeg which copyright them dey talk about??? Who b d COSON members??? Which song ar they talking about???
Abeg mak them copy my own too join.
http://www.mp3naija.com/music/mp3/2235

looooooooolz Naija my fada land, wait I was waiting to see artists like psquare,Dbanj,wizkid,flavour etc on dat table.but ironically all i can see is old frustrated and desperate individuals,laying unreasonable claims,nothing wey we no go see for dis country,plz Lindiway help me ask dem which songs and what year.ok us dat onyeka onwenu,she's everywhere,musician,evangelist,politician,lecturer,copyright,copyleft. No be only one billion,soon Don moen will charge naija churches for using his songs in dia churches.~BONARIO~ says so via NOKIA3310.

kkdlegend said...

Fire on the mountain

iamfascinating said...

hmmn, it is well,

Olay Regenerist, Likas soap and Diana Stalder Papaya soap now available at www.thestunninglady.blogspot.com

hitnshit said...

wake up call. nice

First of all there is no set rules that govern nigerian copyright, and who can sale or play whatever on their stations. MOre than anything wazobia and other stations are helping these artist, and these people filing this lawsuits are jobless and in need of money to steal. Second of all Nigeria has no mandatory copyright infringment law approved by the constitution or supreme court of nigeria. Infact wazobia should ignore these idiots and keep rocking the music. Even in the U.S most artist dont get royalties from their songs played on radios, they are lucky to get it played and some even pay the radio stations. So I hope artists careers dont get hurt because of these individuals greed.

QF
Ridiculous demand

Chei God d funniest comment is d one dat said "post comments what kind of stupid girl re u sef.lwkmd.

Let them leave this radio station alone ooo! Here in Canada this is the only radio station I like to hear in my iPhone app!

Laugh one tear my belle,you people won't kill me .....

If not for all the radio stations that play all their songs, they think people will use their hard earned money to buy the crap they call songs? Abeg COSON free Wazobia joor.

You are very very stupid, does this warrant insult, is it a do or die affair. Please get ur Smelly fingers and stupid self out of this blog. Funny enough linda posted ur STUPID comment.FOOL

All this small small children in this blog. Linda is there no way they can be screened out cos am sure dat dis one calling someone stupid is one of dis little kids dat want to do what his/her elders are doing

this guys are court robbers.

See dem sitted like hawks dat r waiting 2 devour flesh. 1 billion naira? No wonder Nigerian artistes are so wretched! See Onyeka Onwenu wey nova sell albumn since 19kolongo, she 2 dey COSON dey chop money 4rm new artistes!

WHO CARES!!!!!!! via....Nokia 3310

Oyeka don return to Conson,after all the yabis

Copy that. Absolutely no sense.

haba, nigeria iz caryio out indirect criminality o, 2 much money named hia.

Dear Anon June 16th 12:55am,

You have a serious disease called ignorance that has eaten so deep into your cells that it cannot be cured. It is people like you that would refuse to move forward and also prevent other people from moving forward.
How can you say Nigeria has no Copyright Laws??? If you are ignorant about something, please shut your mouth and close your fists. Don't say or type rubbish. You don't have to mislead other people with your unintelligent ignorant comments.
"... Nigeria has no mandatory copyright law approved by the constitution or the supreme court..."
Who told you it's the constitution and supreme court that approve other laws??? olodo rabata.
Do yourself a favour and read the Copyright Act Cap C28 Laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004. Thank you, God bless you as you do so.

Sincerely,
Disgruntled tatafo