Gbenga Daniel takes Gov Amosun to court; demands M500m for defamation | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 11 June 2012

Gbenga Daniel takes Gov Amosun to court; demands M500m for defamation

Former Governor of Ogun State, Gbenga Daniel has instructed his lawyer to file a N500 million defamation lawsuit at an Abeokuta High Court against his successor, Governor Amosun and some of his commissioners for what he called ‘persistent character assassination’. 

Two different lawsuits have been filed by Otunba Gbenga Daniel and his commissioners by their Attorney, Dr. Ope Banwo, a human rights lawyer and public commentator at the Abeokuta High Court. 

In the Suits, filed under Suit# AB/152/2012 and AB/154/2012, the former Governor Otunba Gbenga Daniel and six commissioners in his former cabinet are seeking N500million damages in a representative class action lawsuit against Governor Amosun for various defamatory statements credited to the governor and some commissioners in his government to the effect that members of his former cabinet were corrupt and fraudulent. The plaintiffs in the lawsuit filed by Barrister Ope Banwo on their behalf include Otunba Gbenga Daniel, Mr. Sina Kawonise (publisher of Compass Newspaper), Mrs Toni Soboyejo, Dr. Isiaq Kunle Salako, Mr. Raheem Ajayi, Mr. Ifekayode Akinbode and Mr. Deji Kalejaiye. The defendants in the suit also include Governor of Ogun State, Commissioner for Information, Yusuf Olaniyonu and Commissioner for Finance, Kemi Adeosun.  

20 comments:

Are they not all the same

Sadly enough,my four years old nephew knows the answer to dat your question is a yes smh

Birds of the same feathers!

Jero, Ode! He has used up all the money he stole. There's no character to assassinate. Common roads he couldn't construct. Character Assassination ko, character murder ni. Mscheeww

Pls,How on earth does this ogidi "ole" (thief) still have mouth to talk in Nigeria? our judiciary system is dead, and we have no law system in Nigeria. After all he did to my dear state, he still has the guts to want to take extra 500 M Naira? this man should be tried exactly the same way Ibori was tried here in London. I will personally leave my hos to go watch his case proceeding, if he's brought here. Stupid man that should be looking for how to r3deem his family name, instead
he's opening his dirty again. God punish all corupt politicians.

Now lemme go and eat my delicious food jare.

Suing anyone for money seems to be the new trade in Nigeria...

sleemcheek said...

shey dey av finished all d money dey stole on runs girls and now dey are looking for 500million, oloshi's...

blunt said...

E ba mi ki gbe ole.ole,ole!! This country is finished...so the likes of Gbenga Daniel that we all know milked Ogun state dry still has the guts to talk.I weep for my country!

Hmmm. I think OGD is right to challenge these guys to prove all the stuff they have been saying. The fact that a man is called a thief does not mean he is one and we should really be careful about condemning anyone without proof. Remember the efcc accused him of stealing N53Billion only for the facts to show later they do not have proof and case was dismissed. In as much as we are all not happy with these crazy politicians, we need to condemn only on proof of wrong doing. IT COULD BE YOU TOMROW!

Lie lie!!! Hw did u knw d food z delicious wen u r yet 2 eat it. Smh 4 u

Woman of Virtue said...

So funny enuf.smh.so Daniel get mind 2 open mouth 4 dis naija????

I can bet that Amosun himself is not a saint. We shall know this, at the end of his term. Granted that Daniel has been accused of fraud by EFCC, he is presumed innocent until proven guilty by a competent court of law. Hence Amosun should leave Daniel alone until the end of the case.Amosun was chosen to be governor in order to provide the Ogun people with dividend of democrasy and not to prosecute Daniel. At the rate that Amosun is going, he is going to fail as a gov. Daniel was a very good governor. He did many things for his people.He laid the foundation for Ogun state that in coming gov will follow. Amosun will not achieve half of Daniel's accomplishment if he does not concentrate on his job.

Hahahahahaha @ persistent character assassination

@MR. IT COULD BE YOU TOMORROW! I think say your father dey among his associate abi? Share don reach your pocket before I believe, for your to have the confidence to say EFCC got no proof. OGD, maradona Himself that knows his way. Omo wey don destroy all necessary proofs... You think we are fools abi? If say your father dey among those wey the guy don kill when him dey power you go stay there dey say it could you. Bros or na sister, be careful. You for put your contact information make you come see how Nigerians go react to your comment. I wasn't interested in writing anything but your comment force words out of my mouth. Talk you a wise person boss! I no dey fight you.

@anon4:21 u must either be his spokesman or younger bro 2 say bcos der was no prove he is not a tiff,and if u r not then u r a bigger fool..pass d mic jor ode oshi

one word idiot

ibori was adjuged innocent in naija but confessed in d uk. Congrats naija judiciary. Gbengas days lie ahead

Please change the figure in the title of this post to N500m and not M500m. Attention to details is key my dear; the whole world is reading!!!

I think it is about time Gbenga Daniel forces this Amosun guy to start backing up his claims with proof! I have often wondered how OGD could be said to have Killer Squads when there are no dead bodies. I think we only know of the case of Dipo Disu that was killed and there is no evidence that he had anything to do with it. The guy who was killed recently, Apagun, has actually turned out to be a witness for OGD from the proofs of evidence efcc filed!.so how could OGD have killed somebody speaking in his behalf? THERE IS A LOT OF STUFF SMELLY IN OGUN STATE and maybe this lawsuit will make people bring proofs out if they have it.

I am sick and tired of baseless allegations only for charges by efcc to be dismissed later...LETS ALL ATTEND THE COURTS TO HEAR THE SORDID DETAILS BETWEEN THESE GUYS IF THERE IS ANY

Because someone sues does not mean that they are confident of their position, Its is just a PR gimmick to deflect attention from the fact that the man pkundered Ogun State. Even a half qualified lawyer knows that a serving Governor can not be sued. So the case will go no where and OGD knows this.