Money Laundering: US Freezes Nigerian Embassy's Accounts | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 17 June 2012

Money Laundering: US Freezes Nigerian Embassy's Accounts

Bank of America, M&T Bank and Wells Fargo received directive from the US government to close the accounts of the Nigerian embassy in Washington and its consulate in New York on suspicion of money laundering after traffic on the various accounts raised a red flag. 

$3.6 million dollars was said to have entered and left the accounts in under a month, the latest transaction being the withdrawal of $50,000 in hard cash by a top embassy staff.

The decision to freeze the accounts is sequel to intelligence report generated by a panel comprising representatives of the US Department of Justice, the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) and the Department of Treasury, unknown to Nigerian embassy officials, to monitor wires and traffic in all the accounts operated by the embassy.

As part of efforts to resolve the issue, the auditor-general of the federation and a team of auditors left for the US to begin auditing the accounts of the embassy. Efforts by embassy officials to open new bank accounts with other American banks have so far been politely turned down. 

The US have also ignored all requests by the federal government to unfreeze Nigerian embassy’s bank accounts in Washington, DC, and New York. The move, according to sources, is setting the stage for a potential showdown between the two countries with Nigeria also threatening to reciprocate by freezing the US embassy’s accounts in the country. 

Source: Leadership

97 comments:

ghen ghen, action film toh quality........brings out guguru ati epa

Lobatan

kkdlegend said...

Now the just blew let's see who gets de suka punch

Oya nau we dey wait for the next gist......lol... Action!!! Movie don start

Na wa ooooo....hhmmm, wat a story. Another country helping to put a stop to our shameful act while our leaders behave as if they don't care...infact, wat do dey do wt all ds monies dey steal? May God help us.. Amen.

madetycoon said...

Stupid idiot's, always looking 4 ways 2 extort d nation - So much 4 our international image.

Y Must we always disgrace ourselves, y can't we just follow procedures,

we need anarchy in Nigeria, that's the only solution but its a pity tribalism is not allowing us to fight our common enemy: GOVT OFFICIALS!!!!!.

Complete utter disgrace. It's bad enough that Naija High Commission in London only accepts payment via postal order, because they cannot be trusted with money.

Lawdy!lawdy!!lawdy!!!corruption has eaten soooo deep into the bone marrows of nigeria!this is soo pathetic.stupid move made by those nigerians to freeze US' acct cz we are so gonna lose in the long run.they think its like the 1 that happened with S.A abi?lets wait and see.

abeg! make dem also check the one in Atlanta...rubbish and ingredients!

Na O O....Barca vs Madrid le le yi o.... lobatan gan gan, kilonsen le

lol at rubbish and ingredients

ONOME says.....
These Nigerians will not cease to amaze me.The disgrace from every corner is choking.SHAME ON YOU CRIMINALS,SHAME SHAME SHAME.
THIEVES.Tuaaaa.I spit on u and ur generations.

U re sooooo right....all d policians should be shot dead and let start afresh...

*politicians*

Blasted idiotic politicians! Accursed be ALL of u!

What a dIsgrace, these guys are so shameless. Boko H is striking, they are looting #misplaced priorities(of the highest order). Dayo

Omo ti o gba eko nile, ati ita lo ma ti ko
(pikin wey no get home training from hin house na outsiders go teach am)

Jessica said...

i hate NIGERIA. Shamefully Nigerian. Aru!

SHAME!!!

So even our diplomats overseas are spending their time moving money from one account to the other???? As if doing this in Nigeria was not enough but thank God these americans saw fit to freeze the account!!!

ok what are u doing to make Nig better we complain about our leaders when we r doing same only fowl yansh never open. We all need to repent from the President to the so called least one of us. U who hate Nigeria pls dont we r going to get better i BELIEF IN NIGERIA N GOD HASNT GIVEN UP ON US YET

I've been wondering when america will get involved with this bs,boko haram etc,y'all just gave them an excuse to deep into naija oil and u know america won't wait a sec when it concerns a country with oil

ghen ghen can you say jail time. Are they MAD!!!! threatening the USA?

yk said...

Can we ever get any thing right........I weep for ma nation ,a failed state !

Did I just hear say naija wan reciprocate? Ebi like say they wan enter America black lIst. If the ode leaders where not doing illegal transactions, non of this could have happened. What a disgrace.

yk said...

Can we ever get any thing right in dis nation.....I weep for ma country,a failed state !

1. Why must auditor General and team of auditors go to America and collect ridiculous amounts as estacode? Are they claiming ignorance that it is the federal government officials that are laundering money.
2. Nigeria will not dare close the US embassy accounts in Nigeria. I repeat will not DARE.
No be South Africa level be dis o.

isis said...

Well said @anon.

George_O said...

Nigeria is one of the US largest suppliers of crude oil (on a good day), and currently a lot of OPEC members aren't too friendly with the US (which further narrows their options); but all these aside, both countries are allies.

Corruption has eaten so deeply.........BIG SHAME. Thieves every where you turn left, right, center. so shameful

Disgrace of the highest order. Nigeria is drowning too fast. I wish all the politicians can be hanged, all of em starting from state to fed govt!

#Nnewi Son#

my fellow nigerians wetin don happen don happen,na prayer we go dey pray 4dem,make den do right

Hmmm wot a shame.. Ñigeria Ís drowning..

sexiest said...

i cant wait to lose this green pali..shit mehn..awon oloriburuku alakoba oshi....

stupidity on Naija's part. I wonder who will win. DUH!ITS NOT ROCKET SCIENCE. UNTIL THE US PLACES A 2 YEAR BAN ON NIGERIANS TRYING TO GET VISA TO COME TO THE US B4 THOSE IDIOT POLITICIANS REALIZE THAT YOU DONT BRING A KNIFE TO A GUN BATTLE. THEY BETTER BE SMART AND STOP THIS THEIR NONSENSE GRA GRA... COS THE US DONT PLAY WITH FINANCIAL CRIMES. ITS A FELONY!

No be only Naija get oil. Ghana our neighbor get oil too. so ifNigeria wants to play tit for tat, then the US will show them.

Wts d use of commenting in yoruba if u were gona translate it in english. Ode! Omo yrouba!

DEEFLAMEZ said...

I SHAKE MY HEAD IN DISMAY...NOW THIS IS ROT BEYOND REMEDY. MY HEART WEEPS FOR THIS COUNTRY, OVER 50YEARS, YET IN THE SHADOW OF ITSELF. WHAT A SHAMEFUL DEATH OF AFRICA'S GIANT, I TENDER MY CONDOLENCE

*sighs* *walks away*

@willadebo

It's abt time we try something else than Democracy... Which should be government for the people by the people..
Abt time we try Plan B...
Monarchy, Capitalism, Anarchy, even military any of the Narchy will work than whatever the country have Now...

deekay said...

I agree!!

deekay said...

*joins in the spitting *

deekay said...

Pls if your friend or family or relative is part of the mess in naija talk to them ...hopefully they will have a change of heart and repent. Remind them "everyday for the thief one day for the owner". Do your part in getting naija back on track. Say no to corruption. Name and shame the enemies of progress. Let's rise against corruption. X

47vids.com said...

Everyday bad news. This is just irresponsible and if true, they should arrest all the people in high positions at the embassy. Looting, Bombing, Mercenaries attacking students, plane crash, kidnapping, subsidy corruption the list goes on. This is becoming spiritual o...47vids.com

GlamNotchApparels said...

smh..

Umu oshi

When I say I'm Nigerian but not proud pple get vexed. You see our lives?? You see our nakedness??? God punish them all! Idiot govt officials. Ole!!!

Gather them all including jonathan and burn!!!! Rubbish

Sany says so via... iPhone 2

Shey they thought u.s. is naija abi? Thieves! They should check the one in Atlanta ooo! Those unprofessional nitwits! They showed me pepper just becos I wanted passport! Fire burn them all!

My vexing is of the highest order!!! Kai!! I hate our leaders ehnnn! Boko haram should leave innocent citizens alone and go set fire to them idiot govt officials, ole burukus
*amadioha will catch up with them all...rme!*

I'm with u. We gats to burn them leaders Mehn.

Sany says so via... iPhone 2

Ok. Is it that we have been cursed with this money thing??! We need to shut up with the counter-threats! We never follow through especially when it comes to the U.S and the U.K. British Airways anyone?

One thing about the US government is that they don't make such bold moves against a friendly government with lots of oil without credible evidence. I suspect somebody in Jonathan's government tried to move bribe proceeds/stolen money under diplomatic cover but God don catch am!

"$3.6 million dollars was said to have entered and left the accounts in under a month, the latest transaction being the withdrawal of $50,000 in hard cash by a top embassy staff".....when does an embassy becomes a forex where large volume of cash re transacted? This is clear money laundery. dem wan freeze US embassy accounts in naija as retaliatory attack. LMAO! Fools...dont knw whn naija became dis debased!

The one in Atlanta is the worse embassy in the word.

I am Nneka,
Everyone knows the American government is a bully to most countries. First they threatened to withdraw funds if the homo bill wasn't removed, now its our accounts
All of u in the US(with fake or real papers) shld pack your 9jamustgo bags,cos when this shit turns ugly,the 9ja-southy thing could happen again!

Professor X said...

This is why the US stays getting attacked. I totally hate their guts. How is a country just gonna decide it is king of all other countries? Constantly interferring in other people's affairs. Constantly wanting to take charge where it does not concern them. The US has no right to freeze another country's accounts. None whatsoever. And you people that are here talking about you're ashamed of Nigeria are disgusting simpletons. Can't see beyond your fat African noses. Kind of people who won't protect their families when the need arises. Yes Nigeria has issues. Yes the country is a mess. Yes our politicians disgrace us. But this is outright insulting. I hope the Nigerian government finds the courage to freeze their accounts over here too. Stupid country carrying on like they built the world and created all humans.

You want to fight the mighty USA. Even when the are wrong, who dares it. Political suicide. Federal govt Find out if the new assay is guilty before retaliating.

Funmie said...

ah! they have come to mess with the wrong people... I live in the U.S and this place is a freaking cashless society... so the withdrawal of fucking 50,000 cash SCREAMS for FBI.... since our Nigerian government has no common sense, abeg let the United states teach them some good sense! BASTARDS (naija government that is)... *Hiss* gosh i'm so upset, i'm fuming... and to think they have the nerves to say that they will retaliate... abeg which fraudulent activity yankee government do for Naija... e no go betta for them! killing people and making people suffer 'cos of greed

I think I want military back into power again compare to dis shameful democracy we haff, God help us IJN

Shame!shame!! Shame!!! On ur government.instead of them to investigate en punish d offenders they want to unfreeze account.but wait they are d offenders.pshew

Dey r just preparing for a big time disgrace from d americans. Dey think dis is do me: i do u. Awon were.....dey r making being a 9ja abroad so difficult, cos u get dis funny look, when u mention u r from 9ja to ANYONE. Even our own african bros nd sis r scared of us.

sakara said...

useless politicians, theieves, freeze US account na, when they pack their bags and close their embassy na una go suffer na, dd Canadian embassy not relocate to Ghana n d 90's? who dey suffer am, if American Embassy leaves, its even better, no more visas for the looting thieves n govt, useless people, they'll steal money run to US, wan born pickin run to US, when they r sick - run to US, when they finally kaput, dem go carry their stinking and rotten corpse to Nig, let God hammer all of una and release His judgement upon u all

Pls what does this mean? Is it Yoruba?

Smart said...

Smart say's:letz wait nd see wah they are up to!

MAXIMUS™ said...

I have said it before and I'm saying it again, we need the British to take over this country...AGAIN

#No Longer @ Ease

Shameful country!

Its only a foolish mother that hits her child in public. Yes its shameful but its not talk bad about Nigeria on the net like this and also not the fact that if we investigate the US activity u will see how evil de so called Americans can be too. For de record am also a Nigerian American who have worked the Govt too.

Show of shame!!!

Amadi Cynthia said...

Is there an end to the disgrace these top government officials will bring to this nation????????
Am ashamed to be a Nigerian, never knew there will be a day i will admit it.

why must this country embarrass us!!! all these politicians should be executed!!!

​​​​​​​​​​=))º°˚˚˚°ºLmaoº°˚˚˚°º‎​°º‎​=)) @ action film toh quality

Fearless! said...

I'm so sad at dis disgrace,we travel abroad and our passport and person is treated with so much disdain and we still continue in our corrupt ways!
How I wish I was not born a Nigerian,any other african country will do!
Sad much

mehn we don see fow yansh as the wind don blow oya make we grab groundnut and garry and see how many movie part this would transcend in LOL

Eya Ayambem said...

Where is lilspicer, let me tell him not to talk about his Nokia phone here because I saw him with a Nokia 3310, black colour in my dream! I dare you to deny this1

Linda, is there any way the presidency can c d way we feel about him, since we can act thru d web, we flood the web with questions to the presidency, maybe ppls comment on ur blog should be published, so it can get 2 dem how we feel, cos we talk but nid 2 be heard, lib pls tell me what u think.Nigerian beliver

D Nigerian Govt is full of ignorance for saying dey wil retaliate by freezing d US consular's in Nigeria accounts. I dont knw if r government is sensible or otherwise. If dey do dat dey r going to be shooting demselves in d foot as dey will be d ones to loss. Instead of dem to cooperate with US to help dem flush out d bad n corrupt eggs in d system dey busy playing d protect my own game. May God help us in dis nation of FRUSTRATION.

The u.s govt is as guilty as the nigerian govt.the u.s top politicians have crafted means where by the perpetrate their own corruption and no body raises a lip.bt they are quick to condemn us and tell the world who we are.u.s are the greatest world enemies.if u think the love u...hell no...this is the truth.

Shame on the government , bloodly thieves, they all need to die one after the other . They don't have Nigeria interest in mind. Looters

This no bi small thing....naija embassy account freezes for money laundering......this made image to the country
www.naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

Shameless government, they all need to die one by one and Nigeria will be good again, looters. Stealing has become cancer in the life, this disease should kill them all.

WONU; even ıf U.S polıtıcıan are corrupt atleast we run dere to wash deır toılet en brıng d money to ınvest ın Nıg en deır cıtızen's are lıvın comfrotably en dey hv got gud securıty ıf our polıtıcıans can do dat nobody wıll be complaının. Dey are just greedy old fools. Hope ur popsy ıs nt one of dem?

Allegra said...

For those of us who live abroad, when applying for a Nigerian psprt or visa, we do this online which takes you the the Nigerian Portal in the US. I am assuming it is to centralize payments. This should have been notified to the US govt then as clearly it would have a high traffic of money entering and leaving in this case being forwarded to the Abuja office. So, do not see why there should be a problem unless the US is just looking for trouble or the 9ja govt rep in the US has not sorted out the machinations that go with this and expect that everything works as in 9ja.

SUE JORDAN said...

WE NEED MORE FACTS. WHY IS THE NIGERIAN GOVERNMENT NOT RESPONDING???????????????

SUE JORDAN said...

I AM SOOOOOOOOOOOOO ASHAMED TO BE NIGERIAN....FACT...

If only boko haram will focus their bombs on the corrupt politicians! Via UAE blocked IP

WHAT ELSE CAN GO WRONG UNDER JONATHAN LED ADMINISTRATION.BRITISH GOVT HELP SOLVE IBORI PROBLEM AND NOW AMERICA IS HELPING TO SOLVE ESTACODE CORRUPTION, WHAT NEXT, MAY BE EUROPEAN UNION WILL RESCUE US FROM PATIENCE UMBLERAA VOCABULARIES. MAY GOD SAVE US

Ness said...

Again.... FUCK NIGERIA!!!! I HATE THAT COUNTRY!!! *Spit*

DEEFLAMEZ said...

HAD TO CAREFULLY SCROLL DOWN THROUGH THE COMMENTS SEVERAL TIMES AND...EMMM...LINDA!!!!!!! WAH DA HELL HAPPENED TO MY COMMENT?????? PLEASE DONT MAKE ME GO ALL >>>KOLA BOOF<<< ON YOU OH

*sharpens cutlass*

@willadebo

My dear American embassy here robs nigerians blind! millions of nigerians pay 24k something jst for visa application, den dey wait endlessly 2 get a date after which on d said day of ur interview, d wicked pple whu issue visas at d American embassies in naija just reject Dem for virtually no honest reason! Without proper interview! And dey tell u d money is non-refundable, u shud pls reapply! Can u imagine howmuch dey make from nigerians!! I tell u, Americans r jst heartless! By d way, wats dia bizness wit anoda country's embassy? Absolutely no respect! Useless pocknozing ppls! Msheww! Quote me! I'm filing a law suit against us embassy in abuja as we speak! Crooks! Abeg naija shud freeze dia own fast! Let's see whu go suffer pass! Wit dia economy Dat is going down at d moment! Mshewww

Thank u somuch my dear! I'm shocked at d way dez pple r badmouthing Nigeria! Funny dey r nigerians! I no blame una! Go US na! Na toilet una go wash tire! Nonsense! If u r sick of dis country, get DA hell out and hear d tune of d music playing outside d shores of dis country! Naijas economy may not be d best right now, buh its much more viable Dan wat u find else where! And d conditions allow for pple 2 survive atleast!, Dats d truth! Wen last did ur relatives in US or UK send u money?? Ask urselves b4 u start praising anoda country and cursing ur own! Bfore u talk trash about d country, be d change in it! Or get ready 2 be addressed as trash too! Mshewww. I love naija abeg! We dey try!

Pls tell Dem oo! US worshippers! Shame on u pple! D US is sooo fast 2 jump in2 oda country's affairs and expose Dem make Dem look terrible 2 d world, meanwhile dey r worse!How dare US say Dat naija will divide in few years 2 come?? How dare dey say Dat?? And naija no talk anything sef!! I will not be surprised if I hear 2moro Dat dey HAV been funding or influencing boko haram!!! Dis is very possible! Cos der are speculations Dat Boko H has some international influence!! terrible terrible Americans! Mshewww

yes let them expose us since we cant expose ourselves, I know ur fathers are involved. I can imagine the sort of curses God has laid on the young generation who support this looting

Jessica said...

ShhhhHh... Don't mention KOLA BOOF here. Dat name is pure evil, don't resurrect the DEAD. *shudders* -Miss PDP

The mumu that thought they could pull out 3.6 million dollars without FBI noticing or the Banks flagging IRS of what is going on. I say Nigerians just copy bad behaviors; they are not original at thieving, thats why they make big news when they do steal. Naija folks leave the profession of thieving to the Oyibos that invented it.

Chei... God give us a Jerry Rawlings nah... Where are all the military boys in this Country? Anything is better that the times we have found ourselves in.

God abeg remember us nah? UI know a lot of innocent blood has been shed but please dont turn your back on US> Forgive us please...