Up-coming actress puts up billboard for Tyler Perry | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 21 April 2012

Up-coming actress puts up billboard for Tyler Perry

An up and coming actress, Racquel Bailey from New Jersey spent her last $1,500 to put a billboard on Campbellton Road near Tyler Perry Studios in Atlanta, pleading with the 'top film maker' to make her his next leading lady.

Go girl! that's the spirit. Even if she doesn't get a role from him...we now know her name! Mainstream media is now talking about her! $1.500 well spent!

28 comments:

Dats d spirit o! I'm sure she'l get sumtg,even if not frm tyler perry...bravo raquel!

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

Aaaaw,that's a Thinking Brain! Really Courageous of her tho...these americans just know ow to break barriers in everything.

And the violence taketh it by force!good move

Yes oo, that's determination. Hope she gets a role.

Even if he dsnt grant her request,he may give her a Bentley...lol

Otis Redding said...

Whether mainstream or minorstream talks bout her, the move would be a flop if eventually she doesnt get movie roles in the future. If shes got talent, she gotta work hard, audition for roles and she'd eventually get great roles frm beytter film makers than TYLER. Puttin up a billboard doesnt translate to having talent. WORD!

If it was a nigerian, she'll be thinking of how to get the man's phone number, call him, sleep with him to get a role...

Deyinka Onabanjo said...

Lmaoooo na so

mama na girl said...

she's already getting calls, and thats a very good way to get famous and also good roles, not all our own wannabes posting nude pictures all over blogs & facebook n d name of getting famous, just put ur brains to work and u r on ur way to being famous and rich

Deyinka Onabanjo said...

Lmaoooo na so

At least she was sensible enough not to go d nude route! Hoping she does get a role

Blackknight! said...

Folks, below are 50 life lessons - Some of these lessons, you probably believe in.They may or may not be the principles on which your life is being guided today. Now, I want YOU to pick your BEST 5 that touch on your life and LIVE within that 5 lessons for two weeks, in all sincerity.

Believe it or not, You will be amazed at how much your life would be transformed by this singular step that you are about to take today.

Trust me,~(don't hate/curse) your best 5 lessons to grow on will give you a deep understanding of who YOU are, and the direction your life is taking. And when you discover that, every other thing doesn't matter for they will all fall into place.

TRY THIS NOW!Which are your best life Lessons below, that you believe.Live it for two weeks and see the result.

1. Life isn't fair, but it's still good.

2. When in doubt, just take the next small step.

3. Life is too short to waste time hating anyone.

4. Don't take yourself so seriously. No one else does.

5. Pay off your debts as soon as you can - every month.

6. You don't have to win every argument. Agree to disagree.

7. Cry with someone. It's more healing than crying alone.

8. It's OK to get angry with God. He can take it.

9. Save for retirement starting with your first paycheck.

10. When it comes to chocolate, resistance is futile.

11. Make peace with your past so it won't screw up the present.

12. It's OK to let your children see you cry.

13. Don't compare your life to others'. You have no idea what their journey is all about.

14. If a relationship has to be a secret, you shouldn't be in it.

15. Everything can change in the blink of an eye. But don't worry; God never blinks.

16. Life is too short for long pity parties. Get busy living, or get busy dying.

17. You can get through anything if you stay put in today.

18. A writer writes. If you want to be a writer, write.

19. It's never too late to have a happy childhood. But the second one is up to you and no one else.

20. When it comes to going after what you love in life, don't take no for an answer.

21. Burn the candles, use the nice sheets, wear the fancy lingerie. Don't save it for a special occasion. Today is special.

22. Over prepare, then go with the flow.

23. Be eccentric now. Don't wait for old age to wear purple.

24. The most important sex organ is the brain.

25. No one is in charge of your happiness except you.

26. Frame every so-called disaster with these words: "In five years, will this matter?"

27. Always choose life.

28. Forgive everyone everything.

29. What other people think of you is none of your business.

30. Time heals almost everything. Give time time.

31. However good or bad a situation is, it will change.

32. Your job won't take care of you when you are sick. Your friends will. Stay in touch.

33. Believe in miracles.

34. God loves you because of who God is, not because of anything you did or didn't do.

35. Whatever doesn't kill you really does make you stronger.

36. Growing old beats the alternative - dying young.

37. Your children get only one childhood. Make it memorable.

38. Read the Psalms. They cover every human emotion.

39. Get outside every day. Miracles are waiting everywhere.

40. If we all threw our problems in a pile and saw everyone else's, we'd grab ours back.

41. Don't audit life. Show up and make the most of it now.

42. Get rid of anything that isn't useful, beautiful or joyful.

43. All that truly matters in the end is that you loved.

44. Envy is a waste of time. You already have all you need.

45. The best is yet to come.

46. No matter how you feel, get up, dress up and show up.

47. Take a deep breath. It calms the mind.

48. If you don't ask, you don't get.

49. Yield.

50. Life isn't tied with a bow, but it's still a gift.

Modupsy said...

If na naija do that one now, una go say she's jobless. Becos she's American, its innovative thinking. Smh

Nice one!

Looking foward to seeing her on the big screen :)

I thought it was only here that it is almost impossible for new talent to be appreciated and inspired.

I've gone for a number of auditions too,there's nothing worse than allowing people to kill your dreams.

Apparently Nigerian directors would prefer to rely on old faces than try the new...
I really hope she gets the attention of Tyler Perry or any other big name.

She's certainly got determination in spades.

Thanks for this Linda,I was almost giving up.

Maya.

By force, by fire

truthhurts said...

This is the definition of the phrase- 'you got to spend money to make money!!!'

Franklyyours said...

lemme be yo next boooory call *Winks

Brave heart.love her guts

And the sad thing about it is that, some people who aren't in the industry yet, or who are not opportuned to enter into the industry, are even more talented than some of those already in the industry

truthhurts said...

Black knight-thanks for theses wonderful words!!!

Black knight d words re so inspiring

wemimo said...

lolz.....nice one..i used to think of putting my pics on third mainland bridge and write 'i need a handsome and wealthy husband'.....tanx for encouraging me raquel..

thenigerianexperience said...

hahha @ wemimo comment...but yea very unique form of PR thats for sure...

This is someone who is smart!!! Not that good for nothing Ashawo Afrocandy!

Bellaz said...

I'm already googling her name. That is soem marketing strategy mehnnnn.

Is it me? or doesnt she look a bit like Genevieve?