D'banj signs with Mercury Records UK | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 20 April 2012

D'banj signs with Mercury Records UK

According to its Wikipedia page, Mercury Records is a record label operating as a standalone company in the UK and as part of the The Island Def Jam Music Group in the US; both are subsidiaries of Universal Music Group... and it seems the Kokomaster is signed to the label as he was listed on their official website as one of their acts alongside international stars like Neyo, Rihanna, Elton John, Taylor Swift, Bon Jovi, U2 etc.

63 comments:

Atobatele said...

ds guy is making way no doubt.

I don tire of d'banj news. Sign for Kanye today, sign for Mercury tomorrow, which is it??? Abeg no sign with everybody including the devil

the white enchantress said...

congrats bro but hope they wont start curbing your africanism in your music bc dats wat we enjoy most abt.

Croixxx said...

Ok NEXT

perfection said...

All things come to an end, I guess D guy is looking to go to bigger places than Don J could take him. No hard feelings. He should make peace with Don J n all should move on . Dear Linda love ur blog . Give us more gists jor!!! Lol

perfection said...

Very soon he'll sign with me wink wink lol

Linda, when he drops an album, make you ping me. Till then no more D'banj gist. I don tire!

its not about signin so many deals but about delevering good musiq to ur fans,wondering what kind of musiq he ll be singing now,,,will they produce beats lik don jazzy's?cuz in my own opinion thats wat makes dbanj,,,,ok now show us what u can achieve on ur own.Godbless ur hustle

BLOGBABY said...

Dbanj i know say one day u go make am big...to succeed in life you have to first let go of some limitations..God go make you bigger Dapo!

I luv dbanj but d way is going i knw 4 sure very soon is going down & 'll not be relevant again*not hater* wants 2 go international bt dont have wat it takes**SMH 4 him**
nicedavo

he's still signed with GOOD music but his music will be distributed by Mecury records, which is part of Island Def jam. So basically he's a GOOD Music/Mecury/IDJ artist.

I don't know what is wrong with D'banj. Typical Nigerian attitude....he wants more and more and more. That's how he will be signing from one company to another until he looses everything. The people around him need to advise him. This is how the beginning of the end usually starts. Dapo be content and allow God to glorify Nigeria through you!!

~ Menakaya's Baby.

Oj said...

D'B Move on...f...k all ya haters

Oj said...

D'B Move on...f...k all ya haters

 to the next gist linda. The guy jus dey vex me sha. Why wld he diss the dude who saved his struggling ass from the JJC n 419 squad those mouth organ days. Even if he wants to move  to bigger things (which is all good) he no need dey chew rotten turkey dey yarn say hin buy moto for don J,  prince and som oda below  belt gist. In the words of Uti; Abeg Abeg Abeg! Mk dbanj to straff yellow toad jor! Month hits rules!!!

very soon now he would sign with the devil that is if he has not already done so....

No be by signing oh, let him release an album and let the numbers speak, then I will have respect for him, other than that he is full of bs....... Am sha waiting

YINOTINTO said...

SIGNING ON TO EVERY LABEL IS NOT WHAT UR FANS NEED. GIVE THEM D KOKO. I HOPE U CAN STILL SING A DANCEABLE SONG WTOUT DON BABA, IF NOT U DON FINISH BE DAT

Globalistic said...

Dats very serious... D'banj will soon break up soon.

produce beat without don baba well let use see ohhh as the oliver twist just showed that don had nothing to do with it as it was one of the worst music video i have seen of dbanj

oshodi said...

all u haters of dbanj,pls continue d beef while he keeps himself,his family, and his fans happy.una no dey tire? if he is ur your broda,would any of you stl write all this nonsense about him?
enemies,shame on to you,dbanj dey make money,una dey beef.

base said...

hmmmm..........gud for dbanj if this is true ooo.

Proudly Igbo said...

Mercury Records is part of Island Jef Dam which gives him & his songs more clout in Europe.

Menakaya's baby, read your post where you said you are 20. No wonder! I won't take issues up with you anymore. You still have a lot to learn. It's "loses" BTW and not "looses."

WRITTEN BY ME:

Jack of all trade, i think this guy is loosing it. Don't be confuse o because i see confusion.

oshodi said...

for all dbanj haters,did u read this or u decided to overlook it? "he's still signed with GOOD music but his music will be distributed by Mecury records, which is part of Island Def jam. So basically he's a GOOD Music/Mecury/IDJ artist"

pls be constructive in your criticism.

A little profile of G.O.O.D music:

Parent company Island Def Jam

Founded 2004

Founder Kanye West

Distributor(s)
Def Jam (U.S.)'Mercury (outside U.S.)

Genre Hip hop, contemporary R&B
Country of origin United States

Location New York City, New York.

Do you now understand why he is in Mercury Records? HE WHO GOD HAS BLESSED,NO MAN CAN CURSE,INCLUDING ALL U HATERS OF Dbanj.

Y.Tee said...

Congrats to D'banj. i hope he did the rit thing sha.

=))º°˚˚˚°ºнaĦaнaº°˚˚˚°º‎​=))

vroomangel said...

Haters Hater Haters. Jealousy Jealousy Jealousy. Live him alone and let him progress. African mentality they always want this local thing hisssssssssssssss

BLOGLORD said...

he is just an Oliver, oliver oliver twist!

be like i don get baby for this blog. i can see a "blogbaby"

lol

Lin lin!!! Next time u post stuff about dis boring peeps, i wld never visit ur blog again.... I FIT?????? Loool love u hun. Yommizle

for all you haters don baba did not save dbanj they were just partners. the problems u haters have is that you know no shit about music and you just yearn rubbish. most of you are loosers in your fields and instead to support a dude going up you begin looking for his downfall.must dbanj be with don? is it by force? 2 baba left the group and today its beetter for him.if he had listen to all the fools around him then like all you square heads who hate dbanj that will have been his end.the truth you guys fail to undrestand is that it will be very had for don to hit it without dbanj and very easy for dbanj without don. Dapo move on jor....change is the constant thing in life. to all you haters baba e loma run down.

Dbanj might have left Mo'hits,but he is swelling up internationally BIG TIME,it goes to show you that no matter who God has blessed,no matter how many haters,so peeps stop hating and do your own thing.

fortysevenvids.com said...

Wow, the guy is really taking naija music to the next level.
www.47vids.com

Maypril said...

Let's wait and see the king of beats they'l produce for dbanj

To be honest, he excelled well under don jazzy,but I am not sure Kanye and co will deliver quality beat that will make fans dance.I am not going to hate sha,because if God has set him to succeed,he will grow bigger.

All the best dbanj. It seems like more than half of naija have turned against you. So do your job and prove them wrong. Just go and make music and let's see if you have evolved. good luck to the other guys on the other team idja and them too. Evolve into something greater

Producer$

linda wetin i do you na..u no dey publish my comment

My dear Anon April 20, 2012 3:20 PM even my own oh. I hardly see my comments these days.

i feel disgusted with some comments i read here....its so shameful hoe nigerians keep on sitting and waiting for the downfall of this guy...he has done so much for himself but here in nigeria and world at large .instead of us all asking and praying for this kind blessing una day hate abi.. na wa . just saddening

live and let live. we should be happy this guy is putting naija name on the map. mercury is a distribution arm of universal . ......at least oliver twist must be released tru an outlet in uk na .... if you don't know ask and u shall be filled with knowledge rather you find our people dissing and venting evil on artiste that are progressing . don jazzy is on a local parole now and dbanj has moved on to bigger class . i rest my case

How e take affect me now! Abeg put beta kist jare!!

Bellaz said...

This one no dey taya to sign to different labels? shooooo

So much envy, wish other people well when they are doing well so you too can excel in life! Welldone jare D'banj very soon some people will drink bleach on top your issue

U say make him no sign wit devil abi,who d illuminatis dey worship huh?abegggi wetin don lost,don lost.

mimi said...

i think dbanj need to go and lick stew in the corner..... ashenene *winks*. linda i know i am off poin but please post this

The height of ignorance on this your post is insanely annoying. Its so sad that most folks here still live in the cave era that they are so blinded by hate!!!

doll (retired blogger) said...

God bless your hustle

NecFix said...

Lol. Exactly my thought. Was like 'So BLOGLORD has been preggy all this while'? Congrats though. Lol

BLOGLORD said...

@ ZIZOU

Lmao! @ Was like 'So BLOGLORD has been preggy all this while'?

no be me born blogbaby ohh! dont know where he/she sprung from.
lol

If you are in Nigeria, whether or not you are into internet marketing or Network marketing, and you're tired of "old school" MLM programs like Edmark, Tasly, Tienshi, Oriflame, FLP, GNLD, DXN, and Green World where you have to build 7-20 teams depending on the company to reach the top and then have to wait until the middle of next month to get paid, you are going to love this! Build just 2 teams, get paid WEEKLY, + top achievers receive a new C-class Mercedes PLUS cash bonuses of $25,000-$375,000 USD!
Kindly get a preview here:www.richmenssecret.robertkiyosakivideo.com

I am sorry to say, but until i see or hear music from him, i cannot pass my judgement. record deals and all, doesnt matter if you dont produce good product. But congrats to him, but i hope he uses that pedestal to better his music. I am just waiting to hear his first songs off these labels.

Oninye ekwensu.. O ka o na adi.. Sum1 mentioned tuface but he didn't go abt claiming he owed kennis music and all.. He moved on.. Banjo should have done same amicably.. All dat glitters well let's kip waitn.. His nu singles would confirm hw far and d end eventually will justify d means!!

No matter how international a star goes, it is the naija residents there that will support him. A few whites may appreciate the music but only if there is an african sound to it. Most importantly, the artiste must have a good voice. Dbanj CANNOT sing, he cannot dance, so what's his talent really? We were just mesmerized by the BEATS to his songs, and performing in a towel. Is he more sexy than trey songz? Oliver twist video was a complete joke, he looked lost. We thought he had swag, but compared to big sean, he looked like a puppy. A bit like d'prince when he's with mohits crew.

I'll say it again, instead of fighting for cheap change from mohits, he shud go and make dollar. He's moving up, why's he still looking back?

He should ask craig david what happened when he left d UK to americanize his music. #dead

Blak kofee

iamfascinating said...

congrats dude. never be scared to reach for stars. Just keep God on top. Do you!

the top skincare products now available at www.thestunninglady.blogspot.com
Order now!

Ambition!

9ja blog, full of ignorant comments. They think everything has to go through ALABA market.

GOOD Music official distributors are:
ISLAND DEF JAM (U.S.A)
MERCURY RECORDS (outside U.S.A)
They belong to the same (Universal Music) Group.

D’Banj GOOD Music songs will normally be distributed outside the US by Mercury Records. So, it is normal practice for D'Banj to sign a legally binding agreement with Mercury to market his songs in the UK.

shirley said...

Nigerians should understand that s if Dbanj is known worldwide for his talent, it will be referenced back to where he came from (which is Nigeria), and that will add to the country's reputation.

pls tell me which of you that won't be proud to see a African- Nigerian dude progressing internationally? and i will show you a 'witch' or 'wizard'.

ya''ll 2-face, diarrhea, running mouths will eat your ignorance words some day.

The sage said...

Na u joh! No deny am!! Besides when u born am wey she don dey get opinion? Lol.

Obie said...

More blessings to D'banj

Let's av a song dapo oyebanjo....tired of u being a b**** n dissin Don baba J...mk a song dt wud mk us no u actuai talented witout the DON

naijaninja said...

The best move d'banj ever made was to leave the clinging talentless and croaky voiced wannabe called "don jazzy"
To all the hating ignoramuses don jazzy was a mere back up singer with solatek the London Owambe group before teaming up with d banj and would never have amounted to nothing if not for him.

My dear, go and get urself educated about how the music industry works okay? It's really not cool to see people display so much ignorance while they criticize others stupidly. Know before u speak

You have to learn to deal with flake outs, multiple rejections on a nightly basis, and a lot of time in
front of women.

Feel free to surf to my web blog web site