Judge bans woman, 29, from having sex as she lacks the 'mental capacity' to consent | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 6 February 2012

Judge bans woman, 29, from having sex as she lacks the 'mental capacity' to consent

A judge in the UK has banned an autistic woman with an IQ of 64 from having sexual intercourse on the grounds she does not fully understand she could say no to such actions.

Mr Justice Hedley said the 29-year-old lacks the mental capacity to consent to having sex, and made the order to protect her best interests. He said she had to be protected from 'potentially exploitative and damaging' relations in the future, as she had already been involved in risky behaviour with people.

The order prevents the woman from having sex and also means anyone trying to have sex with her can be charged with sexual assault or rape.
Mr Justice Hedley said: 'It is strange, but nevertheless true, that even the freedom to make unwise decisions is one that the court is required to guard and only to restrict if and when the best interests of (the woman) so require.'
The case was seen at the controversial Court of Protection, which was set up in 2007 to decide on medical treatments for individuals judged by psychiatrists to lack mental capacity.
It controls the finances of some of Britain’s most vulnerable people, and the fund is believed to run into several billions pounds.
The court has come under criticism for being secretive but it has insisted it is acting in the best interests of the individual concerned.

Justice Hedley is no stranger to very difficult moral cases, last year he oversaw a case where a mother tried have her 21-year-old daughter sterilised due to her ‘significant learning difficulties’.
The bid was subsequently withdrawn.

He was also in charge of a case in which a gay man and his lover took the lesbian mother of his children and her partner to court for access rights.
He said the impact of the couples’ conflict on the two sisters in the case, had caused at least one of them had suffered significant emotional harm.

Culled from Daily Mail UK

16 comments:

na wa, even if she want to have sex out of her free will she can't

Priestess said...

How wil she cope, wen there is network n 4 how long? Dis white guys r jst.....

dreamz said...

i would like to keep such woman in my huz for better protections lol.....

Naija ladies need this kind of protection as they find it difficult to say NO, particularly when money is involved.

Imma said...

Interesting!

www.sazistopsecret.blogspot.com

Blackmon said...

Well, i hope the court will remember to buy vibrators of various speed for her cos CONJI must to hold am! Gbam!!!

Spiritual Konji must nt catch her o. Even 21yrs old pipkin sef can't cope. May God help her

maybe dem wan use her do masonic ritual,u know its virgins they use

Abeg mk dem bring dat kin court 4 naija; to prtct mad wmn on d streets 4rm ds wckd sx obssd men.

kambinachi said...

Nawa o! Maybe a fairer judgement would have been that noone should demand sex from her, but if she demands it of her own free will, 'she can get it'... The woman will need to marry at some stage now. Body no be firewood. Alternatively, she can be assigned a 'carer' of some sort who she can run her decisions through before she executes them.

I just dont think you can just impinge on a person's God-given right all in the name of protecting them. Lawyers in the house, wat do you think about this? Can a judge truely make this decision for someone? It seems almost like banning a fat person from visiting fast food joints to help them control their obesity.

NA TRUE, COM N BAN ME NOW FRM HAVIN SEX MAKE I CHOP OFF UR SUGAR CANE

Psheeeeeeeeew!

Fearless! said...

​​​​​​​​​​=))º°˚˚˚°ÂºLmaoº°˚˚˚°Âº‎​°Âº‎​=))
No comment!

Vikany B said...

Ok,dats just nuts,so if she does hav sex wetin go happen sef?,i mean d woman body no be fire wood.

She doesn't have d mental capacity to have a free will

She's autistic! Her Iq iz below 70! Trust me, she doesnt even understand what sex is! She has the mental capacity of Ã… 7 year old!