Tweets of the day: Genevieve Nnaji on Fuel Subsidy Removal | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 5 January 2012

Tweets of the day: Genevieve Nnaji on Fuel Subsidy Removal

Trust Naija people...they came after her. Continue to see some of it...

108 comments:

tina said...

Lord! Is Genny that stupid, when u retweet someone, meaning u agreed with what the person is sayin... now everyone is going in on her.

Thank you Genevieve for ignoring em all. If u want to change Nig strt with urself, as d pple who responded to her in such an unruly manner r no different from the many unruly Nigs.
Errbody is entitled to his or her opinion.

Shakara Natural Tips said...

couldn't resist sharing this on FB! again!

linda pls tell genevieve nnaji to go and wax her hairy ass and shut the fuck up!!! what does she know about activities goin on in nigeria? shes only speaking so she becomes relevant espicially as the internet is goin crazy over omosexy achievments. biko, shut up.better still, go hug a transformer

CITIZEN said...

THIS IS WHEN THEY GOT PAID TO SUPPORT THE PRESIDENT HERE: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uv4jM1_EM8&feature=youtube_gdata_player

WETIN TWIRRER GO CAUSE

I'm not suprised bout her comment wen she is sleeping with the person that backed badlucks presidential race mr dbanj himself dat fool hasn't tweeted since 1st jan so its only fair his mistress tests the waters for him naw so she can go back n tell him not 2even tweet nonsense cuz he will get a sweet reply kmt, av lost all respect for her but its not her fault wen she is rich but no thought for the pple already extreemly poor she is madt n a fool! Wen u RT it means u agree with the comment no fool RT's on twitter if they don't like what the tweet says pls o let's call a spade a spade no excuse for this local bish abeg KMT!!!!

This is why most nigerians don't take this nollywood people seriously,reality is very far away from them.

@CITIZEN i av just seen that youtube post no wonder the bish get mouth wen she gets free petrol why wont she talk DICKHEAD! i was managing her b4 but now dat bish can hug a modafokin transformer!

tunmi said...

I actually agree with with Genny, and whomever she tweeted. Subsidy removal is a good thing, but not right now in Nigeria and definitely not how the government is handling it.

Abeg, slow down on the insults. please.

chukzy1 said...

No mind genevieve , itz d right move @ d wrong time, coz dia is No current Bobo in her life to help take care of d high cost of tinz, *** u knw naw***lolz

She has a right to her own opinion,pls stop crucifyin her jare.

@tunmi slow down for where she deserves all the insult that comes her way. if she was blonde i would have said she is dumb but i would still say she is dumb whether blonde or not.

imagine you go to sleep with fuel at 65 naira and you wake up to fuel at 250 naira or is she not aware that in calabar for example that is how much it is sold

abeg gene shut that your yeye dey smell mouth if you know you have nothing tangible to say useless thing. nobody asked you to comment as it is obvious you are one of the cabals bleeding nigeria dry silly woman just BEWARE BEFORE SOMEBODY WOULD BEAT YOU TO PULP AND POUR ACID ON YOU NONSENSE AND INGERDIENT

LINDA MAKE SURE YOU POST MY COMMENT AS I KNOW THAT YOU ARE A FOLLOW FOLLOW FOR GENE!!!

The woman ia an illiterate so am not suprised,i understand.She doesnt knw how to use twitter at all.A gal twitted to her frnd dat genny collects 20dolls to take picha with fans,den d gal's frnd replied LMAO instead of genny to blast the one who wrote she collects 20dolls rather she insulted d one who replied LMAO,can u imagine.I knw it cos omotola retweeted dose pple who blasted dbanj and donjazzy and pple where hailing her,genny to wey no knw d meaning of retweet dey retweet anyow.

This is what I hate about 9ja....It doesn't take dem time to get insultive.Yes,they are people in support of subsidy.Must all opinion be same?instead of allowing them air their views or participate in constructve criticism,they jump on the bandwagon of insults....that's y the politicians never say the truth.they never say anything constructive cos 9jerians are simple minded.Either its black or white and even the Educated ones think the same way.
This is a message circulating around bb since

Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala threatens to resign from cabinet if President Goodluck Jonathan bows to pressure on fuel subsidy. Who the heck does this imperialist agent thinks she is; Mother Nigeria? Does the idiot thinks she's the most knowledgeable economists in Nigeria? She must even resign sef. 'Ode oni gele gegere'. I pray boko haram catch her and rape her before she resigns. With her face like 50 naira puff-puff. Silly IMF/World Bank errand girl. Idiot with over-sized ego. Ugly bitch suffering delusion of grandeur! Pls re-broadcast till it gets to her & her family

What more can I say??ISN'T this folly @ its peak?

hahah after ple go say funke akindele local,funke is a graduate of law and speaks correct english with correct pronunciation and am sure jenifa knw d meaning of retweet is u concur,u go dey hype dis genny,genny is dumb as hell.

fashionforward said...

Honestly All of u are very stupid, the subsidy removal is ofcourse the right move at the wrong time in the wrong country, the standard of living in Nigeria is just too poor that's y it shuldnt be applicable to us. That's wat the bitch is trying to say u uneducated morons; half of u have fuckd some1 to get where u r. Bloody hypocrites. Leave the babe alone. That's her opinion. Get urs and stfu

See stephnie okereke no talk and pple no insult am if only genny would have shut the fuck up.She dumb mehnn

Genevieve is a selfish rich woman with little education and a child to show for it.

She is only protecting the millions she got with her stupid MFR title or whatever.

When you have a selfish opinion like that; it is better to shut up or freeze your fingers than tweet rubbish because you are a 'fallen' star.

Any stupid Nigerian who believes that subsidy removal is good has allowed Aso Rock to brainwash him or her. Oil subsidy is a fraud.

Who should we listen to, a PhD zoologist/dullard president or a professor of virology like Tam David West, who is a former minister of petroleum and energy? I believe the prof than the liar dr. Oil subsidy does not exist.

For once am a fan of Genevieve. the removal has more GAINS than Losses. if only people can see.

Kevin
UK.

MrsD said...

Wow Linda,
It appears some of your blog readers do not understand the twitter basics.
Ok students, you tweet for the #ff reasons;
1) when you agree with the original tweet and
2) when you do NOT agree with the original tweet BUT want your followers to pay attention to it's absurdity.
Mscheww

@ chukzy1....who says she has no man in her life?...she secretly goes to sleep wit big men o....and all these politicians weneva dey need her services and dey pay her heavily...corporate pro....dis is confirmed....why wont she support d govt?....empty skull...abeg do and go back to school,drop-out like u... linda post my comment o

The Manny Enajeroh Blog said...

People should stop being antagonistic towards other who don't share their views. Genevieve actually raised a good point that this is thr right thing at the wrong time. Anyway, wetin be my own inside sef! Check out my top 5 Hoochie-Mamas in Nigerian Music Today!! On my blog @ http://www.urhoborant.blogspot.com/?m=1 ...happy strike!

Truth said... I wasnt going to comment but this chick needs to sit doen. Just cause in Nija theres no basis of what defines a celeb seh dey feel important. I just think on political issues these wannabee celebrities shld shut the fuck up. its not everyone that F*cks their way up to the top. This is such a sensitive topic affecting the lives of the average joe and she yan. No Government abroad works like this. She needs to educate her self and stop been a puppet. like her opinion even counts. Why do people mke these celebs feel so important please I beg. next she'll be commenting on economic affairs. Its patronizing and annoying. Since she states there are benefits and is so smart why not educate the public then. She has no argument and isn't articulate. Everyone is entitled to their opinion but mke a smart case. Not just dey yan and then when people ask you educated questions you can't answer. Please did she go school. What University did she go to i beg som1 please tell me. Cause she need to represent something more than showing her face for every parry in Lagos dey feel like she's a celeb. Nijas are going hungry and she dey yan shit. Instead of parrying why not go bck to gd Uni and study Economics or Politics so that when you mke a stand its an educated stand and a stand that people will respect. I personally hate puppets. educate urself first especially if you are a celeb so you can stand for something more than Gucci shoes and Loubs. As dey wld say in the states Hoe sit the fuck down. Delusion on the highest level. I think that the Gov is sticking two fingers up at the people cause dey 'think ' they can't do anything about it. This chick shld stich to acting or fame whoring I beg

There is no amount of explanation that will suffice for taking away the subsidy (if there was any at all)
It is economic, political and morally wrong on all levels. If the government is trying to deal with the oil cabal, it should not be done on the back of the common man.
And for Genevieve, Please you need to get an education, if people like Prof. West says its all boohoo, then who are you to say it is not so.
You need to understand that the people that buy your movies the most are the people that will be affected most. They will not even have the energy to turn on their TVs after walking home from work everyday nor even the money to buy your movies because it would all have gone on transportation. And those are the real hardworking people. if you think what you are doing is hard work, then ask George Clooney http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2070468/George-Clooney-takes-swipe-Hollywood-stars-Acting-hard-work.html
Nuff said.

subsidy removal is not a bad thing for the country, you can not continue to subsidies goods that you do not produce.it has to stop at one point,but what is wrong is the way and manner in which the federal government went about it,necessary materials and infrastructures were not but in place before this was done.e.g free or subsidised transportation,effort to reduce the level of corruption in the sector,awareness,make effort to improve the life of the people,cut unnecessary government expenditures.etc clearly they did not plan they just acted, nigeria needs to remove fuel subsidy but not with out a proper plan or if not you get what we are seeing today.the only thing most people know is that FG has increased fuel and anyone that says the removal is good we be attack.we should have been well informed and then will know exactly what we should be fighting for,you cannot continue to subsidies a goods you don't produce it is bad market. which should ask govt not to remove fuel subsidy until they have put all necessary provisions on ground to ensure that the ordinary nigerian will not feel it.

nigerians always looking for who to blame for our problem. its not wrong to express your self now is it.

Oloshi she don go chop campaign moni finish con dey yarn rubbish....Why she sef no take time to educate herself on badluck questionable qualities as a leader before she back the goat.

Kemikal said...

Genevieve Nnaji did NOT say the things she retweeted. Retweets are not endorsements. Every sensible person on Twitter knows that. If I retweeted someone's tweet, "Boko Haram rejoices at killing 20 Christians.", it don't mean I approve or agree with Boko Haram, their activities or killing anyone. It means I forwarded and brought the tweet / news / bad news to the attention of my followers (or / and) wider audience - so that they're aware of what's going on / or just happened. 

Genevieve Nnaji did nothing wrong and said nothing wrong.

As Genevieve rightly pointed out, the masses were not educated / properly informed (on the subject). It was the fault of the government. It was deliberate. The government wanted it so. They knew its an unpopular policy. 

Though it is wrong of government to deceive or wrong-foot the public, the press and the public, too, have to share in the blame. It's not the job of the government to educate the public on anything. The press and public are not paying attention at what the government are doing. The press and the public need to hold the government accountable for their actions and policies, by NOT (being fooled into) voting for the wrong party or person or persons again.

Most people use Twitter to get information, knowledge or create awareness, etc. As one of Genevieve's followers pointed out:

“@BenedictaB6: @GenevieveNnaji1 lol! Take it easy ma'am. No be everybody go school. U get?”

I tell you, many Naijas are uneducated. You can quote me. Just think of how stupid, ignorant and cluelesd the average Naija person is, then realise half of them are even more stupid. Some of our fellow Nigerians that are online are damn too gullible, painfully ignorant and easily misled. They chat so much shit and too quick to gang up against opinions they don't agree with.

AHHHH!!!! Sacrilege!!!!!!! So linda ikeji fit blog about genevieve misfortune???? Linda so u don subsidize your genny follwership???LMAO!!!! I know shes your person so i commend you for posting this story. I just hope you and genny havent quarreled o, hence your bloging negatively about her. Im sure city people will tell us the true story behind this blog eventually. And please dont know do damage control by posting yet another irrelevant achievement of your friend (or ex friend) genny. In fact im sure you took permission from genny before you blogged this cos i swear i am shocked. If you like post, if you like no post my comment. E concyn u

all those who are insult her are dull, that is why nigeria is still where she is today. someone gave an opinion, the next thing dull nigerians do is to open their mouth and insult the person because actuall you guys have nothing in your head and nothing to offer nigeria.nobody that insulted her said anything to surport fuel subsidy staying and to think the person their insulting in actally on their side and to a large extent right.

Who the hell is that writer telling bloggers not to use social media against the government on fuel hike?

So writing one or two books (with typographic errors) from the United States can make a person the controller of what others should do on fuel hike.

If people don't protest and sit at home, they cannot fight for their rights. Another Genevieve telling us what to do. Rubbish. If you are a coward shut up! Mind your tongue.

http://www.mynewhitmanwrites.com/2012/01/on-fuel-subsidy-removal-protests.html

grace said...

linda are u spporting her by that your statement: 'trust naija people...they came after her'?because if you are then im sorry but you are miss two-face(d)!!

grace said...

...and linda post my comment oh this one that people are beginning to say that u dont post their comments!

Segun said...

The problem with we Nigerians is that we are often judge, jury and executioner. You don't agree with the removal of subsidy but she does (even if she never clearly stated that), and we all go crucifying her, yet we speak of how dumb she is lol...

The earlier we start agreeing that there's always gonna be people who disagrees with what we think is the agreeable term, the faster Nigeria as a nation will grow.

To all you retards going on and on about removal of fuel subsidy, maybe y'all should also educate yourselves and understand the merits that it provides... Like the ladies retweet, the only thing rather foolish about the subsidy removal is the timing and not putting more infrastructural amenities in place before it was done... For a developing nation, paying 25% of our budget into fuel subsidy is rather stupid and unsustainable.. And here is hoping the money gets put into better use for the betterment of Nigeria

I guess Jim Iyke was the Only one who stuck to his guns and did not promote for Goodluck. I dont care for Jim Iyke but today i kinda respect his reasoning and now it makes sense.

Justasking said...

Can i ask you nigerians something. And please be honest with me - dont lie.

Apart from the fact that we all know the price for petrol has doubled for you all.

What do you all truly define and truly understand by fuel subsidy

many of you are insulting Genny - but i can bet my bottom dollar majority of the nation does not even truly understand what is meant by FUEL SUBSIDY - dont be offended oh - just tell me the truth - do you really understand the definition and the advantages (or disadvantages of it)

SPEAK ON....... am listening

Genny! your opinion matters and it's good but everybody saying otherwise have reasons to do so because alot of pple are suffering. We all know the advantages of removal of fuel subsidy and halting the money given to some ''BIG BOYS & COMPANIES" who bring in fuel in this country. You can't put in laws and regulations without putting in place or thinking of the comfort of the good citizens of Nigeria. Nigerians don't need the govt to educate them, even the market women know alot about fuel subsidy. A govt that promised education,security,good roads,clean water, electricity etc.. what have they done so far? you can't stay in your comfy car, and tell me that all is well when pple are standing under the hot sun, no bus even if you see one, the bus fare has gone up x5( pls, this is not beef so don't get me wrong!). Even if am doing well here, i still have someone out there, family, friends,orphans, widows etc going thru hell. We all should stand up and say ' enough is enough". ♥ u Linda!

Uche said...

@Anonymous. January 5, 2012 9:26 PM

Get a life, dumbass.

You are either stupid or completely lost control of your senses. Why the personal attack? 

Genevieve owe you money or took your man? What's with the envy? You are unbelievably ignorant, brainwashed and mad. You are jealous of Genevieve. 

The Linda Ikeji Award for this week's Moronic Commenter goes to you. There are no runner ups.

I hope you are tracked down, prosecuted and jailed for life for threatening to grievously harm / kill Genevieve Nnaji. You will regret your stupid threat. 

May God have mercy on your rotten and evil soul, you stupid scumbag. AMEN.

@tina..retweets on twitter DO NOT ALWAYS mean you agree with what the person is saying..you retweet when u like what someone said,when u want people to read another person's opinion or when something is funny..its twitter,thats what its for..retweets are not(always) endorsements!! @toluogunlesi can tell u more about that...ish

The only thing nigeria need now and will help nigerians is a national conference,where every tribe will help to develop there land,,and if this dont happen,,hehe,,it means that name called one nigeria,will never called again,,divisions ahead,just watch and see

i told genny on election time,just one year now,,that she must regret one day for voting jonathan badluck inn,this is my words,and it real now,,stupid lady,

Bianca said...

Genny is allowed to have her opinion.
I agree and also disagree at the same time. Like she said, wrong timing.
If you speak, they will say, shut up. If you shut up, they will say speak up, you can never win with Nigerians.

spmmoi said...

People, while I am not saying Genny's retweets do not translate to an endorsement of those opinions, I just want to point out that a retweet DOES NOT always mean you're in support of the retweeted info. You can retweet for the following reasons/purposes, but not limited to:

1. For lolz
2. I concur/agree/endorse
3. I find this amusing
4. Help me see this person's stupidity

Etc etc

So y'all go easy.

i wasn't going to read this cuz i'm not a Genny fan but i did...
pls - what's with the insult abeg! see haters o, sipping on some hateorade! every one is entitled to their own opinion. what's with the attack on Genevieve abeg free her...and who says re-tweeting means u agree with a persons point?? she was just sharing information,the other person might have had a valid point...if GEJ tweets that he's removing fuel subsidy and i re-tweet does that mean that I agree? NO! i am just sharing the information and it's as simple as that!
If she supports the president and his policies so what???
abeg linda don't make me get heart attack for Genevieve. pls, nigerians - if u want to vent your anger pour it out on the politicians...
did someone say - boycott genny movies? LMAO pls don't kill me
z

NK said...

Ok, this has to be the height of hypocrisy, how is it that everyone gets to express their opinion, you as her to express hers and when her opinion does not aline with urs, she is all of a sudden an idiot. Besides, it seems most people responding to this tweet and post didn't even read the actual thing. She simply echoed what most of you have been saying which is that the govt. should have given something to the citizen before doing this and that this is the wrong time for such thing especially with all the tension around. Please enough of the insults its absolutely unnecessary and does not make ur argument any more relevant than hers. It is a democratic country and everyone is entitled to their opinion!

LINDA PLEASE POST THAT FUCKERY AD GENEVIEVE & CO DID FOR JONATHAN.

She's totally lacking in knowledge and its obvious her brain is limited to acting. She got money and car from the govt and even a national honour so why wont she blab?
SHAME ON THEM ALL
Genevieve Nnaji, Stephanie Okereke, Dbanj, Monaliar Chinda, Iniodong Edo, Pa Olu Jacob, and that one i had so much respect for but lost it Ramsey Nouah

Oge (NR) said...

I no fit shout because I am not paying the fuel money way una dey pay. But I do agree with everyone who says that people are allowed their own opinions, "Free Speech".

Uhm... may someone pour acid on the person who wants someone to pour acid on Genny... because you do not like what someone is saying is not enough grounds to want acid poured on them mscheww.

Dotty said...

Genevieve is using her "pussy" very well. She suddenly became very visible and prominent during Badluck Egbere Jo-Lantern's Presidential campaign. Pronto she got a Merit Award.Now she
feels obliged to insult the Nigerian masses. My advice to her is to make it work with D'Banj or one of her sugar daddies in the corridors of power and settle down to be a good wife and mother to her child she had when she was too young to have sex. She should henceforth keep her mouth shut, permanently shut.

Fearless! said...

First and foremost,I will like to state clearly that I'm indifferent about Gene and I'm not a fan.Therefore I cannot follow her on tweeter.

But I will not take her talent and beauty away from her though,
Today, she don enter my trap sha!!!

This is what happens when u put a big dream in a small head.With all the fuss, u pple see what you have caused now!!! Suddenly, Gene thinks she has the brains to comment on a national issue like the fuel subsidy and to my amusement, she fell on her face!
​​​​​​​​​​=))º°˚˚˚°ºLmaoº°˚˚˚°º‎​°º‎​=))

That said, I am not surprised at her comment because I don't see her as someone that has the brain capacity to comprehend the situation of Nigeria now!
Gene dear, this is not a home video that you have read in a script, this is real life and that retweeted theory of yours will only work if the government is not corrupt and have the the interest of the country at heart..
Forget GSM, this is oil money, "owo yato sowo!the re situation in Nigeria.

MY VIEW said...

Could someone, please explain what these insults on Genevieve is all about?
Why is it that whenever a woman is successful in Nigeria, people,even fellow women will conclude that she is sleeping around.
So all the men that got award from GEJ slept with him too?
As an accomplished Nigerian woman, these allegations drive me nuts!
Genevieve, like everyone else is entitled to her opinion..accurate or not.

biko hapu nu gennie, she no dey live for d real world. dats why she dared to retweet smone's viewpoint....anyways nigerians dont crucify her, at least she has more sense dan don jazi who shud be d one in support of his oga GEJ...instead he rebukes him... May God help naija. xoxo

GENE, D Banj, SAmMY OKPOSU etc. WERE D CERLEBRITY RATS GEJ USED 2 ACTUALISED HIS MANIPULATED VICTORY AT D POLLS. WHAT MORE WLD ONE EXPECT FROM THIEVES LIKE DEM. SMH

lol. All of you are dumb. Retweeting someone means you agree with what the person says??? I can retweet something I find quite stupid/ignorant just to expose the persons stupidity/ignorance to others. Retweeting doesn't necessarily mean anything. Twitter isn't for everybody. Abeg

riri said...

Genny is entitled to her own opinion just as you are entitled to yours.Leave her alone,haters.

Most Nigerians need to be educated. Information theY say is power. Genevive is saying the truth. Removal of the fuel subsidy is the right thing but the president did it at the wrong time.

Paschal Corleone said...

Most Nigerians need to be educated. Information theY say is power. Genevive is saying the truth. Removal of the fuel subsidy is the right thing but the president did it at the wrong time.

JUAT SHUT UP ALL OF U,,,HAVE U READ PROPERLY WHT SHE SAID U FOOLS,,,,WHAT KIND OF WAHALA BE DIS? LEAVE GENNY ALONE,,,,IRRITANTS

if you keep quiet, people will mistake your ignorance and dullness for intelligence.

i agree with your views Genny! i wish we have more ladies like you in naija and for all of you saying shit about her i dnt have a word for you but pray that you guys will wake up to reason and understand better some day. (Nigerians are scared of goats but chase lions)

mikeayooye said...

who posted dat bold comment to genevieve !!! I GUESS IT MUST BE U LINDA

im not suprise at this usless gen,she has noting good to say ,pls tell her to shut up.

vroomangel said...

GENNY DIDN'T SAY SOMETHING BAD, SHE SAID THE TRUTH, I DON'T WHY NIGERIANS LIKE ATTACKING STARS

ETHAN said...

Na wa for o na oh.oh na forget say she no go school u guys should pardon her now.cos she is an illiterate.Genny no dey fall our hand nw.lol

ibo boy said...

As a celeb, you should always support majority, even if they are wrong.

Linda where is my comment,i commented on that foolish whore called genevieve.she goat

Nonye said...

She's entitled to her opinion and she's is quite brave for putting it out there even though she knew it would be unpopular. It would have been much easier for her to shut up and not rock the boat so as to protect her popularity, but she didn't. That shows strength of mind and character whether you agree with her opinion or not.

And most of the critics didn't read or understand her comments, there is nothing there that suggests that she is not aware or is not affected by the hardship subsidy removal creates.

Genevieve is so primitive in her thinking.she earns her living from primitive industry called Nollywood.

ITSMEAGAIN said...

@Kemikal HEY YOU MUST BE READING MY MIND. chai i can't thank you enough. Good to know this nation has a few sensible people like yourself other than the dullards around who unfortunately have access to the internet and display their extreme level of stupidity around

Every1 dat keeps saying oil subsidy is MADT sha wot planet are u on dint u hear der was no subsidy in the fst place u fool and gen is a bigger fool as far as I am concern she agrees with her RT cuz its a sensitive subject rite now so her RT is her wot she believes and agrees with just like linda's tweets on the 2nd jan was her views on the matter. Don't make excuse that she is just bringing it 2our attentions or for her fans to discuss it er we all know the situation thank you very much it has been overly discussed in the past few days so wot more discussing does it need on her twitter page abeg?...u pple are fools if u still believe a subsidy actually exsisted in the fst place cuz it dint the government was swallowing that and also now want to form removal of subsidy to swallow more money from the society das jst EVIL! Please read the wiki of occupy nigeria so dat you fools who still agrees with the removal @the wrong time buit its rite thing to do can be educated...mtchew!

@vroomangel shut up that your yeye mouth if you have nothing better to say abi you think going to sleep at 65 naira and waking up at 250 naira per litre of fuel is not trouble if it is not then i wonder when trouble would start

@Nollywood REinvented probably she deserves the acid bath and that would make her to shut her yeye mouth in a topic that they did not ask for her opinion or to comment on yeye dey smell

This is why Genevieve made the list of Forbes most influential celebrities in Africa. Despite many celebrities have made their stand on fuel subsidy known, its Genevieve's stand that is gathering a lot of attention. Isn't it funny? BBC's Africa Have Your Say has carried the report, perhaps more will soon.

Fellow Nigerians, let's keep embarrassing ourselves by raining abuses on Genevieve Nnaji... International media is reading our comments and I bet they are wondering how uncivilised we are as a people. When they call us animals we shouldn't rant but accept it because its evident majority of us can't express ourselves without name calling and swearing which is totally ridiculous and animalistic.

What's even worse is that most people criticising Genevieve are doing it for all the wrong reasons. Are you guys reading her OWN tweets at all or you guys are just slow and unreceptive or find pleasure in attacking her? THE LADY IS CLEARY AGAINST THE REMOVAL OF FUEL SUBSIDY AT THIS MOMENT. Na wa o for these my country people! I shame for una!

I SAID IT AND I WILL SAY IT AGAIN,,,HALF OF NIGERIANS ARE SO DUMB,,,THEY DO NOT EVEN HAVE A CLUE WHT FUEL SUBSIDY MEANS AND THEY ARE RUNNING THEIR MOUTH DOWMN,,,,PLS GO BACK TO SCHOOL AND COME BACK & MAKE VALID OPINIONS,,,GENE MADE HERS AND LET HER BE

Omotola is d only respctable actress who didnt campaign for Jonathan so she has d respect of Nigerians.

We should stop doing follow follow. Apparently, none of you backing the protest knows the meaning of fuel subsidy removal and why!!!! Ask if you don't know instead of doing follow follow!!!

Gene it takes years 2 build reputation but minutes 2 destroy it,b swift in listening n slow in talking especially vex national issues

grace said...

anon 9:30pm stop contradicting yourself juh!

Its not a genevieve thing Jor , leave her awy frm it n let face d matter , genny is not d president etc , her opion

missy said...

sometimes i wonder how these local nigerians get access to internet, so does RT mean you agree with the tweet?biko stick to watching your 'home videos' and log off now!!

Tina and Co are STUPID, when did re-tweeting become a crime. So retweeting means one concurs?

Maybe Genny, the self-appointed spokeswoman to Badluck Jonathan could explain to us the benefits of subsidy removal!...its obvious she can afford the new price of fuel, but her uneducated mind can't wrap her brain cells around the fact that most Nigerians can't afford it and the price of pretty much everything else will skyrocket!!
stupid Genny!!!

Even the so called Twitter activists are agents of different oppositions. They can't stand the GEJ administration because there is no chance for them to benefit. TWITTER IS FULL OF HYPOCRITES. I know people who are paid by the government, go on vacay with govt. money etc yet come on Twitter ranting to side the masses so as to look good. I'M so sorry for Nigerians, BE WISE PEOPLE!!!

Abisola said...

OMG!nigerians,it doesn't take u 60 seconds to bring someone down.no matter what height dat person is.i hail thee.

And when Nigeria starts working, those who spoke against GEJ will plead for forgiveness SELAH.

1) If you think leading a group talk more of Nigerians is easy, go try heading your village group. Give a report of experience. Human beings are SO DIFFICULT TO HANDLE.

2)So if a lady is successful, she slept with a man (Men)? I'm getting you all.

As i said on another post. Nigerians, hypocrites for life! first fools were asking celebrities (particularly Genny, Steph, Dbanj nko) to come out and speak about the fuel subsidy since they supported GEJ. NOW (being the typical hypocrites) are telling her to keep her mouth closed and calling her an illiterate because she has an opinion that is different from theirs. SMH. Nigerians quick to shoot someone down if they dont necessarily agree with them. the same way people were outraged because NBC supposedly wants to censor the radios and TVs from talking about the fuel subsidy? right? Yet, folks wanna shoot Genny down for her freedom of speech. GET OVER YOURSELVES.
THIS IS THE SAME INTOLERANT BEHAVIOR THAT LEADS BOKO HARAM TO THINK THEY CAN KILL CHRISTIANS LIKE FLIES. And then folks turn around and ask why such happens?
NIGERIANS, WAKE UP!

Wetin be twitter sef?is it for twits or what?
How can u follow somebody wey dey anoda place?
I get anoda question but I just see one whitey dey cross warri/sapele road....hol on

and as for the person that mentioned Omotola, PLEASE!! So Genny now tweets because of Omotola or because Omotola was named an ambassador of amnesty international? if you have nothing reasonable to say, please scram. and what internet is going "CRAZY" over Omotola? HAHAHAHA, lets not exaggerate here..

why all these attacks on genny? Nigerians and illiteracy! Was this not the same words used by IBB and he was nationally applauded. Abeg make una leave genny alone cos she knows what shes talking about. shes an accomplished woman and if she no go school nko? U wey go school, what have you achieved? Nothing!!! U hide in your face me i face you dey write rubbish. Nonsense!!!!

hahahhaha linda i don laugh tire ooo see how dem want choop gene for pieces but that serves her right illteracy dey worry am.

marketer imports at 138 naira we pay 65 naira and govt pays 73 naira with the subsidy but if refineries are working then there would be no nedd for importing fuel in the 1st place. when subsidy goes marketer import at 138naira and we the poor masses pay the FULL 138 NAIRA may be gene did not know this i hope now she knows why the subsidy must stay. that is the only thing that we the poor get from our vast and vast resources imagine that.

so next time gene if you do not understand a topic don't open that your stinking yeye mouth to talk as noboby send you in the 1st place okay.

as you are aware there is no good roads,hospital, education is in shambles even now that the UK does not recognise some medical doctors degree from our own naija uni but she would not know as she no kuku go uni.

let her know that the country would ground to a halt on monday as i never believed that nuj and tuc get power like this and i wonder why they have not used it since since.

bravooo linda continue with the exposure!!!

@ ibo boy..your ignorance is at its peak..what a stupid and senseless comment..wow!!

Y'all need to take it easy with the insults ah ah!

This is all the government's fault because even as i type this, i don't know whatta heck this fuel subsidy thingy is all about. If the government properly educated the masses about what this whole thing is all about and told us the pros and cons way before hand before springing this on us, it will be more bearable. But for them to treat us like we don't even count and not give us a heads up, then just having us wake up to such a drastic increase in fuel price is outrageous! That is all people see. The people are thinking about their cars, generators, businesses, increment in basically everything they'd have to buy.

So that is the problem; lack of education and information...which equals lack of respect!

Gloriyah June said...

I wish I could slap y'all with dirty comments... Are u aware that u are the uneducated ones??? How can u just start insulting someone because of their opinion? Seriously??? Do you know what effect the removal of fuel subsidy has??? And do you know that things are gonna stabilize sooner or later??? And that fuel is even gonna be cheaper???
But in so many ways, the government was wrong...
By the Goodluck J is the president and not the government...... You bloody Nigerians!!!

@arinzetessy said...

NA WAH OOOOO... PEOPLE CAN BE SOOO STUPID. ACTING LIKE ILLITERATES. Y'ALL REALLY NEED THE EDUCATION(PRIMARY, SECONDARY ABI UNI) PROPERLY TO UNDERSTAND WHAT RE-TWEET ACTUALLY MEANS. BESIDES ITS A DEMOCRAT WORLD AND EVERY ONE HAS GOT THEIR OPINIONS. GENEVIEVE SHOULDN'T SUCCUMB TO WHAT YOU ILLITERATES FEEL!!!!! SHE'S ENTITLED TO WHAT "SHE FEELS". MOST OF YOU TALKING OF SCHOOL NEEDS TO CHECK YOUR GRADES/TRANSCRIPT PROPERLY.

LEAVE GENEVIEVE ALONE!!!!! AND YES SHE IS A CELEBRITY!!! DON'T HATE.

Chipmunk said...

I cant believe the rubbish I'm reading.So we are all sheep and must have one opinion. If people would pull their heads out of their butts for a second and actually read her argument, you would see she makes valid points. I might not agree, but she's entitled to an opinion. Why shd anyone be attacked for offering their opinion. She's a nigerian, she's entitled to one, however unpopular. Dumb f*cks!

Iknw genny is entitled to her opinion o buh dang she needs to get an education.Illiteracy is a disease na now i knw.

people i think we should attack the govt and not Genny..the only issue is our leaders dont have a vision and the oil subsidy issue if we interview the presdent to explain it to us the man doesnt even know what it freaking means?instead of the removal of the freaking oil subsidy 1.the president should reduce his carbinet and save more money for the country 2.go on a diet so the money they spend on food in aso-rock would be used for other purposes 3.cut down on their allowances i.e the number of cars he uses on his convoy and that of all the senators and special advisers...so with all said dont you think all the money they would have saved would help develop the country without removing the oil subsidy? and as for genny i have something for you (please never forget your humble beginning thats why oprah is where she is today..i know you mean no harm and i still love you but it would be nice to put yourself in other peoples shoes ok.

alicia says said sometimes you reason like a goat! im sorry but you do! why do u want to tear pant for the matter? abeg find chair siddon.

i don't have the rudiments of economics,and because of that i'm still trying to wrap my head around the fuel subsidy removal thingy and all the commentaries it has precipitated. One thing i know is that i'm having a helluva excruciating experience due to the general hike in prices of goods owing to the increase in the price of fuel (i feel like telling GEJ " ko ni da fue(l)," but that would be mightily inappropriate). Since i'm yet to be convinced of its holistic advantage and efficacy ( bearing in mind the fickle and corrupt nature of our leaders), my hand is remains raised against the immediate removal of fuel subsidy.
A bunch of inept administrators can not turn sagacious leaders overnight... for what its worth, Genevieve is a dumb b..ch!!

now i believe illteracy is a disease

LMFAO!!!!9ja for life. Always entertaining. We wey no sabi the use of/how to use twitter(mind u some of the social networks profs wey dey insult am spelt it "tweeter").
Fuel subsidy removal makes sense just NOT IN 9JA. We can be sure that the money will go into infrastructural development(the same way all the un accounted zillions did). GEJ should set an example as a leader & show his willingness to better the nation by cutting down on his expenditures(including that of our useless pack of nat assembly memebers that only know how to steal,imagine the fools have not sat nor said anything during this crisis and they r supposed to be representing us). The reaction of nigerians is what you will get anywhere in the world if the situation(corruption) was the same. BTW Gene should hire a PRO or sumthing to help her. It's important in her line of work. She can afford it since she can afford an overnight increase(over 100%)in the cost of living.
LINDA BETTER POST THIS COMMENT OH!U NO KNOW SAY INTERNET SERVICE DEY COST?U DIDN'T POST MY LAST COMMENT ON YOUR 1.2MIL DOLLARS BLOG.Muah

Why is it dat wen a woman is sucessful she's got 2 be sleepn around in Nigeria?dats so wrong!how cum nobody says beyonce is sleepn around or madonna or angelina jolie(knowing her history)why do we kill ourselves?I really don't know if genevieve is or isn't sleepn around but if she is...its her body init?as for fuel subsidy d only issue isn't dat d timing is wrong,its also dat why shld I bear d brunt for wastefulness for a wasteful govt?u c d pple hu say removal of fuel subsidy is gona help,u make sense but @ d same time ur not thinkin!deregulation has been goin on in this country for a while...where are d benefits?diesel was subsidised,where are d benefits?kerosene was subsidized,where are d benefits....u dnt get d point do u?dats cos u haven't bothered to ask urself d ryt questions or maybe cos u can afford to still be comfortable no mata what and I will also be comfortable no mata what but what of those pple hus salaries are 18500...what happens to dem?hu will fyt dier battles?

I personally do not agree with the insults that have been hurled at Genevieve as she is entitled to her own opinion.

However i can understand why people are outraged by her RTs as she is a public figure, a grass to grace story that alot of Nigerian people look up to and are inspired by.

I do not see this as an act of confidence as she doesn't clearly state her view. Its almost as though she is afraid to take sides, i find her views slightly two-faced.

For decades Nigerians have suffered in the hands of the ruling elite, they have stolen more than the so-called subsidy costs them. As a country we have only moved backwards, we have not seen the gains of a democratic government. We are insecure people, how can we trust the government to use these funds for development when we have nothing to show for the past 50 years of independence.

Furthermore, if Genevieve feels so strongly about the dire situation of our country and its people why has she not contributed to the improvement of society in anyway. I have never read anything about Gene giving back to her fans talk less of the society as a whole.

As a public figure she has the responsibilty to promote a positive message and i don't think she has done a good job at that. Instead all we ever hear about are here personal acquisitions and achievements.

Being a famous celebrity is not just about looking pretty and dating fellow celebs or members of the political elite. Take tips from angelina jolie.

Take a stand for the good of your people and do not sell your soul for dirty money.Nigerians have shown you nothing but love, they deserve more from you than such a vague opinion.

@anonymous January 9, 2012 2:01 AM

Which Genevieve has not contributed to the society? Genevieve Nnaji? So you didn't hear about her sponsoring a cervical cancer screening for hundred Nigerian women just last month? Or you are not aware that her clothing line - St. Genevieve- gives certain percentage of its gross income to charity? Can you even define what you mean by contribution?

Genevieve is probably giving more than we know but because she making a press release of it like some actors do doesn't mean she ain't giving. Never be too confident when accusing people of such allegation.

In addition, her opinion wasn't vague a bit. You don't expect her to come and tweets insults or derogatory stuffs about the government in the name of protest; I personally loved her approach to it and feel it was classy. She tweeted and I quote "Truth is if the removal is not saving money in our pockets then the benefits r lost and purpose defeated. Who r they looking out 4 in d end?".

If that's vague to you I believe then you might just be one of those who do not see any good in Genevieve. You even already said "As a public figure she has the responsibilty to promote a positive message and i don't think she has done a good job at that." so why do I even bother? Carry on cherry!

In addition, her opinion wasn't vague at all. You don't expect her to come and tweet insults or derogatory stuffs about the government in the name of protest; I personally loved her approach to it and feel it was classy. She tweeted and I quote "Truth is if the removal is not saving money in our pockets then the benefits r lost and purpose defeated. Who r they looking out 4 in d end?".

If that's vague to you I believe then you might just be one of those who do not see any good in Genevieve. You even already said "As a public figure she has the responsibilty to promote a positive message and i don't think she has done a good job at that." so why do I even bother? Carry on cherry!

Str8FrmDaHips said...

I feel sorry for all this igbos supporting Jonathan!!..From Okonjo that sold us out in the first place..no one uses all their assests to settle their debts..you can still get profit margins and repay the Paris Club..since we paid what has happened to our infrastructure??
Genny like the rest are mere stooges playthings and mouthpieces nothing more!!..just stick to acting and singing..

emelie said...

linda thank u for not posting my comment. all i wanna reiterate is that u sold out too. u took money from jonathan and u defended it. so u have no moral justification to incite pple to backlash gene or dbanj or any other person for that matter