Thousands Show up for Lagos Auditions of Nigerian Idol Season II | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 11 November 2011

Thousands Show up for Lagos Auditions of Nigerian Idol Season II

It was a spectacular showcase of talents as Nigeria’s biggest music reality show Nigerian Idol held its final Season II auditions at the Dream Studios in Lagos. From Friday November4 to Sunday November 6, thousands of young talents trooped in to take a shot at being the next Nigerian Idol.

The-3 day event recorded a massive turnout as registration lines stretched across Bamako Street and up to the main road, obstructing traffic in some instances.

The audition train started in Abuja in October, breezing through thousands of talents in Enugu and Port Harcourt along with Etisalat-sponsored mini-concerts which provided extra entertainment. “I
am very happy to be here,” said Ronke Adeniji , a petite 21 year old Nigerian who travelled all the way from Abidjan, Ivory Coast to be a part of this year’s show. I followed the show on Facebook and
Twitter throughout the show last year and I made up my mind to be a part of this one. Once the time came, I packed my bags and came to Lagos.”

Abdul Bolu, unemployed graduate, travelled all night from Nassarawa to take part. “I actually borrowed my transport fare from my elder sister, he explains as he practices on his guitar. I could not afford it
to the Abuja auditions; I had to convince my family members how much this meant to me. Luckily they believed in me and here I am today.”

Ronke and Abdul are just two from thousands of young Nigerians who travelled to Lagos from far and wide to take part in the auditions with the dream of becoming the next Nigerian Idol.
“But of course, this is Idol so that is only expected,” said Tiwa

Medubi, who is Project Manager. “There is a reason why Nigerian Idol is called the real deal, and that is the reason these young people are mega-excited to be part of the next season. I daresay that this year will be an even more spectacular show than last year’s. The prize haul this time around is bigger and better and we have an immensely talented pool of contestants on the show this year. This definitely helps our focus - maintaining the international standard of the show with infusions of our distinct Nigerian flavour to give the audience the very best entertainment anywhere across the continent.”
Nigerian Idol Season II is brought by Etisalat, in conjunction with Pepsi and Sony. Other partners include Air Nigeria, Megalectrics and Beat FM.

Judged by the trio of international music icon Jeffrey Daniels, Charles “Charly Boy” Oputa and diva Yinka Davies, the show begins airing on 4 December, until the winner is announced at a grand gala on 1 April 2012.

10 comments:

Joseph george said...

He dey gud 2 prove ur skill and not hunt mainly 4d cash alone wen d talent is dr well i wish all una d very best of luke dr is no harm in tryin keep it up

galore said...

i shake my head for d future of my dear country.....This is a sign of Unemployment..........hmm

Engr Don Chris said...

what???? thats a mammoth crowd. To me it really shows that we have tallents in the land and there is a burning desire from these youths to showcase it. We need more of this engaging programs.The organisers should keep it up.......

Please peeps,one of my friends wants to buy bold 4( UK or 9ja used) at a cheap price(cheaper than computer village price...lol). Please buzz me on this number 08035715121 if u have or know anybody that wants to sell.

PoLyMaT said...

Enuf jobless youth roamin d street..**everybody wan blow,weda na huk or by crook** recently,i witness sum1 goin 2 do jazz 4 nigeria IdOLs[dnt ask me wat i went 2 do dere], so dat judges wldnt tink 2ce beta givin him d green card**datz 2 tel u d extent dis az gooone!..

kkdlegend said...

too many ppl damn bt are they all talents

Terry Teddy said...

Our youths are wasting away. Who will help us?

Terry Teddy said...

Definitely Nigerian politicians are all mischievous and they will surely pay for all this sins against our youths. I weep for my country Nigeria. This is just a shame to the government and their agents. They are perpetually causing problems for Nigerians. They can’t govern well. They can’t provide jobs and regular electricity. They can’t maintain/construct roads. They are perpetually fighting each other and promoting violence, destroying lives and property. And when they mount the rostrum, instead of telling Nigerians what they want to do with power and office, they choose to abuse and divert attentions. They are class of rascals.” All these youths will one day fight back if they have their brain intact.

Nigerian politicians are all cheeky. See how they take all of us for granted. No respect for the Nigerian citizen. They have caused enough problems to derail our reasoning.

Even persons that we ordinarily respect have turned out to be rascals. They don't think on how best to create jobs,
They all want access to Nigeria’s oil wealth or a share of it. Every day, we encounter symptoms of the underdevelopment of the Nigerian state. Nothing surprises me anymore.

We, the people of Nigeria must solemnly resolve, affirm, confirm, agree, conclude, concur, admit and ask questions about our future with this governments. No sons and daughters of the rich, National/State assembly members, Government officials, State governors and their deputy is among the crowd. All this armies of unemployed youths are sons and daughters of common man.
Correct me if am wrong. I weep for my country.

God ... Jobless People ... As long as if you killed someone is a crime then if someone give birth to a baby he or she can not take care off should also be a crime and linda what i post about charle boy U deleted it abi... Na true ooo.

Thinking out aloud said...

this is sign in the right direction, at least they are not out there carrying all kinds of things aka arms to take from their neighbours. Bravo Nigerian youths.

www.personaedeve.blogspot.com

How on earth does showcasing of talents depict unemployment? Some of these people have jobs but are determined to live better lives if given opportunities like this. millions of people turn out for auditions like this in developed countries yet unemployment isn't the first thing that comes to mind.